Victoria is a state known for its wine. With more wine producers than any other state in the country, there’s no shortage of wine country to tour. Wine regions in Victoria are broken up by points of the compass, with some of the best wine being ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 587 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Greta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were very impressed with the trip. Morning tea was unexpected addition. The hot scone with cream and jam tasty. The lunch at the first winery we visited was excellent. Beautiful surrounding with delicious lunch and the wine tasting very well presented. The driver of the coach was very informative

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Teresa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day to remember, Nick was very knowledgeable about the wineries and the area. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Catherine I G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was well worth the money and had such variety. Will, our guide was really good and even joined in serving us wine.

Morning tea and bird feeding - One word of advice, take something long sleeved as the cockatiels descend fast if you're the first in. All good fun though having them on my head and arms eating from the dish.

Puffing Billy - Lovely train ride through the Dandenongs dangling our legs over the side of the train.

Wine Tasting - A good variety of different sized vineyards. The highlight was Yering Farm which was so relaxed, the wines and cider were great.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Ann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was well organized and covered a lot of ground without feeling rushed or hurried. The tour guide/bus driver was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Melbourne who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The countryside and views were very relaxing and beautiful. Loved the ride on Puffing Billy. Such a historic train and fun to ride. Two of the 3 wineries were lovely, especially the last one, sitting outside the rustic building looking out over the countryside.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It would have been a typical mini-bus tour, except that Brett, our guide, had a great sense of humor! He personalized the tour with local color, history of winemaking in Yarra Valley, and a few zingers thrown in along the way. We visited 2 boutique small producers and a medium sized winery along with the big time Chandon facility. I learned a couple winemaking trivia points, and only wish we could have taken home a whole bunch of bottles! Very much recommend the tour as a great day out in country. Brett made it a really fun day.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Durette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful country, fabulous wine, need I say more?

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Neil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was my fourth Wine Tour each in a different country. This one definitely rates number one. Tour guide Spud extremely knowledgeable with great communication skills. Tour was well balanced. A most pleasurable experience.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

cweinzettl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Love the trip!! Nice wineries with good quality wines and lots and lots of tasting. Great location and lunch!!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Xuan Mandy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very educative day tour! John is our tour guide and he gave a lot of knowledge about different kinds of wine and how to taste them. Highly recommended if even if you just have one day out of the town and enjoy a break with friends.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Yi Qiang Derick O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The wineries in this tour is just really beautiful and the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, willing to answer all questions posted and help in all issues met

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Mason S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful day trip through beautiful countryside, with a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide John, helpful and friendly staff at each winery, an excellent lunch, and a very good selection of wines covering the gamut of tastes. I also met interesting fellow passengers from a number of countries and enjoyed talking with them, as well. As a Big Red kind of guy, of course I bought a few bottles of Cabs and Syrahs. Thanks for the experience!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

elizabethwingate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a last minute booking for me and my friends and we had a blast. We were so glad we did this tour. Our guide, John, was so knowledgable in the world of wine ex-professor and provided us with lots of information to make us appreciate what we were seeing/tasting. Better yet, once we were at the vineyards, he let us loose so we could relax and enjoy the location on our own. This was a great day, only complaint was that it wasn't longer--would have liked a little bit more time at each place. Also, lunch was delicious in case you were wondering.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Janet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a great day Loved the food and the wine Would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic time and our guide was the best. The drive was relaxing as the driver new the Valley so well and was a very good driver. Went to some great wineries and enjoyed a love lunch. We would go again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome tour, knowledgeable and humorous tour guide, great wines and a wonderful lunch. Throw in a great group of people on our tour and nice weather and it all added up to a great day that I would highly recommend to anyone. Spud was a great tour guide and bus driver and had a wealth of knowledge of the area and each of the wineries as well as the processes of each.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was great. We had plenty of time at each winery. The lunch was fabulous. A great day to spend the day sampling the fruits of the Yarra Valley.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Marilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Mark was a really great guide for the Yarra Valley wineries. Very entertaining and very accommodating. He even circled back to one of the earliest wineries we visited so that we could make a purchase there after sampling wine at 3 other places. Although it was too cool to put the top down, enjoyed riding in his vintage car. Highly recommend including this in your Melbourne experience.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

Fiona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lots of fun! Loved the wineries. Lunch was awesome!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

joyceklp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

To start off- we had an amazing driver/ tour leader- Roger from AAT Kings who was pleasant, informative, friendly and entertaining. He was calm and patient throughout the trip and had a big smile to start up a groggy morning amazingly.

We went to have tea and scones, and headed to the puffing billy which was one of a kind and oh so fun! Visited 3 wineries and had lunch at one of them- all three were different and had a great wine tasting session at each.

Thoroughly enjoyable and one experience to treasure.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Derek M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After an early start we were picked up at our appointed place and taken to Federation Square where we transferred to the coach for the winery tour.

Our driver / guide Mark was very good, both in being a careful driver and a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. The tour went off on schedule and kept to the schedule throughout.

Our first stop was for morning tea at Grants Picnic Ground café where we had a cup of tea or coffee with warm scones with cream and jam really nice, after an early start on a cold day.

We then went to Belgrave to take the Puffing Billy steam train to Menzies Creek. The train experience was really very interesting with several steam engines to see and then a 25-minute trip through the forest behind 2 steam engines.

From Menzies Creek we went to the first of the three wineries we were to visit. This was the Rochford winery a very small producer. The tasting was well done with the hostess giving a good introduction to each of the 4 wines.

Lunch was included in our tour and this was taken at Rochford. It comprised a main course a choice of 1 out of 4 dishes on the menu with a glass of red or white wine. I chose the lamb shank while my wife had swordfish. The lamb was very nice, tasty and tender. The fish however was mushy and not very good at all. A small piece of cheesecake and coffee or tea rounded out the meal. If I were to go again I would not take the lunch inclusive option, instead selecting from the quite extensive la carte menu.

After lunch we went to the Dominique Portet winery, the only French owned one in the area. It was a very small operation and here the tasting was quite brusque with the hostess rather rushing through the process of introducing the 4 wines.

The third and final winery was the Yering Farm. This too was an individually owned boutique place and the gentleman introducing the wines was very entertaining, knowledgeable and just plain fun. The tasting was very informal and those who wished could

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Gregory D H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tony was an excellent tour guide, friendly and informative. Delicious lunch, beautiful scenery. Needed nibblies or crackers during wine tasting as some people enjoy but have low tolerance to alcohol.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Aleksandra Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing!
We especially enjoyed a company of our guide tour/driver who was able to get everyone attention by telling his amazing stories and jokes! He also had an extensive knowledge about wines and champagnes, the production processes and the wineries. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Olalekan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were up before the crack of dawn. Fortunately for us it didn and #39;t rain. The view from Yarra was stunning. I highly recommend the winery tour that comes with the package. You and #39;ll have a swell time.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight and Winery Tour

kerlyn24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was very impressed with this tour and thought the value was excellent. The guide was sure to tell us points of interest along the way and the drive was beautiful. He had an excellent knowledge of wine and lunch had an excellent view and upscale food. The vineyards were A and time at each stop was adequate to see and taste without feeling rushed or bored.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message