Victoria is a state known for its wine. With more wine producers than any other state in the country, there’s no shortage of wine country to tour. Wine regions in Victoria are broken up by points of the compass, with some of the best wine being ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After an early start we were picked up at our appointed place and taken to Federation Square where we transferred to the coach for the winery tour.

Our driver / guide Mark was very good, both in being a careful driver and a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. The tour went off on schedule and kept to the schedule throughout.

Our first stop was for morning tea at Grants Picnic Ground café where we had a cup of tea or coffee with warm scones with cream and jam really nice, after an early start on a cold day.

We then went to Belgrave to take the Puffing Billy steam train to Menzies Creek. The train experience was really very interesting with several steam engines to see and then a 25-minute trip through the forest behind 2 steam engines.

From Menzies Creek we went to the first of the three wineries we were to visit. This was the Rochford winery a very small producer. The tasting was well done with the hostess giving a good introduction to each of the 4 wines.

Lunch was included in our tour and this was taken at Rochford. It comprised a main course a choice of 1 out of 4 dishes on the menu with a glass of red or white wine. I chose the lamb shank while my wife had swordfish. The lamb was very nice, tasty and tender. The fish however was mushy and not very good at all. A small piece of cheesecake and coffee or tea rounded out the meal. If I were to go again I would not take the lunch inclusive option, instead selecting from the quite extensive la carte menu.

After lunch we went to the Dominique Portet winery, the only French owned one in the area. It was a very small operation and here the tasting was quite brusque with the hostess rather rushing through the process of introducing the 4 wines.

The third and final winery was the Yering Farm. This too was an individually owned boutique place and the gentleman introducing the wines was very entertaining, knowledgeable and just plain fun. The tasting was very informal and those who wished could

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Gregory D H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tony was an excellent tour guide, friendly and informative. Delicious lunch, beautiful scenery. Needed nibblies or crackers during wine tasting as some people enjoy but have low tolerance to alcohol.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Aleksandra Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing!
We especially enjoyed a company of our guide tour/driver who was able to get everyone attention by telling his amazing stories and jokes! He also had an extensive knowledge about wines and champagnes, the production processes and the wineries. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Olalekan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were up before the crack of dawn. Fortunately for us it didn and #39;t rain. The view from Yarra was stunning. I highly recommend the winery tour that comes with the package. You and #39;ll have a swell time.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight and Winery Tour

kerlyn24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was very impressed with this tour and thought the value was excellent. The guide was sure to tell us points of interest along the way and the drive was beautiful. He had an excellent knowledge of wine and lunch had an excellent view and upscale food. The vineyards were A and time at each stop was adequate to see and taste without feeling rushed or bored.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Deborah L D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an amazing time! Our tour guide was so fun and knowledgable and made the trip such a joy. We met a lot of other friendly people on our tour as well. Each of the wineries offered something different. We just wish we had had more time at each of them! This tour could be hours longer and still not feel like too much. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lucky to have a partime person name John who is a university wine professior who gave us a super tour. Gave us so much info made this tour worth a million. Ask for him if you are going to the tour. Ask for him remeber. Such kind person with so much knowldege I would recommend this person anytime anywhere to anyone. Once again thanks John. Thanks John. Thanks John. Good things say 3 times.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lucky to have a partime person name John who is a university wine professior who gave us a super tour. Gave us so much info made this tour worth a million. Ask for him if you are going to the tour. Ask for him remeber. Such kind person with so much knowldege I would recommend this person anytime anywhere to anyone. Once again thanks John. Thanks John. Thanks John. Good things say 3 times.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lucky to have a partime person name John who is a university wine professior who gave us a super tour. Gave us so much info made this tour worth a million. Ask for him if you are going to the tour. Ask for him remeber. Such kind person with so much knowldege I would recommend this person anytime anywhere to anyone. Once again thanks John. Thanks John. Thanks John. Good things say 3 times.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Hilary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although we weren't able to do the winery tour and balloon flight on the same day due to weather conditions both events were spectacular and we enjoyed them immensely. The views on the balloon flight were amazing and the crew exceptional. The hosts on the winery tour were knowledgeable and accommodating.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight and Winery Tour

Mindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and informative. Overall, the tour and wine tasting sessions were enjoyable. It was not rush and ample time given for your to explore and roam around.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a lovely day in the Yarra with our knowledgeable driver, Mike aka Spud. The wine tasting was great and we had a nice lunch too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Max our driver arrived on time, was informative and very knowledgeable about the Yarra Valley. Visiting 4 wineries was a bit rushed though, definitely think a bit less time where there is no food, and perhaps 3 wineries is plenty. Would be nice if visited crafts and local delicacies as well with this tour. But was a lovely day with a lovely group, my favourite was Chandon winery but a love sparkling winechampagne.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

mvg Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this tour was fabulous, we were pleasantly surprised with how well we were treated at each winery and the lunch at Balgownie Estate was sensational, would highly recommend this tour. Only downfall was a 1 hour drive back after a few drinks could have used a toilet stop halfway but that was the only bad thing on the day, still 10 out of 10 from me and my group on the day, totally enjoyed it and looking forward to booking again for another tour.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The rotten weather could not spoil our day out here. We loved feeding the wild parrots at our morning coffee stop. The little train was great and went through lovely temperate rain forest. We enjoyed our wine tasting, and eded up at a chocolate factory. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Klawa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an excellent day with this tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome to Melbourne and it was a very memorable day. The way that we were introduced to the wineries from the bigger one to the small family one was a very clever way of showing us the production of wine in the Yarra Valley and how different they all taste. The Puffing Billy Steam train was a wonderful experience. Every experience on the day was done with utmost professionalism and very informative. Visiting the park and seeing the birds and feeding them, was an incredible experience. It was also lovely to be able to sit in the lovely cafe and have our tea and lamington in a relaxed atmosphere with incredible views, rather than the other tour group where they just had a table set up with some lamingtons in a packet and tea in a polystyrene cup outside. Overall we highly recommend this tour if you want excellent organisation and comfortable surroundings/travel combined with wonderful experiences. Thank you!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

These two senior citizens felt like teenagers buzzing along in a classic Chevy convertible. The valley is is a scenic, peaceful drive, especially with the top down on the Chevy. We visited three wineries and a brewery and had a delicious lunch board at one of the wineries. Our driver/guide, Emma, was an accommodating, professional, and knowledgeable person and it was a joy to spend the day with her. This tour is highly recommended. The only negative very minor was they did not pickup/drop-off at the South Wharf Hilton.
Take this tour!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A completely wonderful day. Our driver/guide Emma made it a really special day. She is a lovely lady. These two seniors felt young again, buzzing around in a classical Chevy convertible! We visited 3 wineries and 1 brewery. And... She took us to a cheese factory. The luncheon was light and exquisite. We were disappointed that were not picked up nor dropped at the Hilton South Wharf.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

Paulette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the wine tour and the fantastic lunch. The tour guide and staff at the different locations were very knowledgeable/ I only wish that the driver would let us take pictures of the kangaroos at one of the stops.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Russ P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide, John aka Spud, was very knowledgeable, informative and entertaining. The wineries we visited were great choices, from large operations to very small, each with their own unique character and product. The lunch was terrific as well. An all around great day!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was excellent. Our driver John Spud was very informative with a great sense of humor. The staff at each Winery were welcoming and pleasant. The lunch was delicious. We enjoyed the tour very much and would recommend it to our family and friends.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

ksav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent day, John the tour guide/driver was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The wineries visited were great. Lunch was beautiful. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Cameron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was amazing, the lunch was great and of course the wines were fantastic. Highly recommend visiting these lovely wineries.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Kira P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was great! We had many many tastings. All the wineries were generous and our guide Spud was the best! There are so many wine tours to pick from in Melbourne and it was hard to decide. We were very happy we picked this tour.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was fantastic, Phil our guide was very friendly. Couldv'e stayed longer at the springs and less time at the winery, but that is only our taste. The gardens are magical and the strawberry picking was yum. Very enjoyable and a worth the money tour. I would do this again.

Doing what: Mornington Peninsula Hot Springs and Wine Tasting Day Trip from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message