Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Belvedere Palace (Schloss Belvedere)

The two Baroque palaces were built in the 18th century as a summer residence for Prince Eugene of Savoy. They are known as the Upper Belvedere - full of huge rooms for entertaining - and the Lower Belvedere - the former living quarters - and are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 294 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bev.godwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour of city by bus, then photo stop at Belvedere, and knowledgable skip the line tour of Schonbrunn Palace. It was November so Christmas market was in full swing and we had free time to look. My only complaint is the tour write up said we would have option reduced price entrance to the Belvedere. It was never mentioned during the tour when I asked the guide she said the Belvedere would be closed when our tour was completed. This was misleading in tour write up. I'd still recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Wan Hoon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour for first-time visitors to Vienna. The coach tour covered the many buildings around the famed Ringstrasse and the guide provided detailed explanations about them. The Schonbrunn Palace is very beautiful and definitely worth the visit. As it is only a 3.5 hour tour, I find the time at Schonbrunn a rush and would be better if we have more time to explore the gardens a little.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Hanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, very interesting, recommend taking the discount to the Belvedere and highly recommend the coffee and strudel there.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour provided a good introduction to a beautiful big old city as Vienna. Not only did the coach tour covered the famed Ringstrasse but also covered the considerable distance among the palaces at a reasonable time. Highlights, of course, are the guided tour of Schonbrunn Palace with amusing stories of the life and times of the royals, vast photo opportunities during the tour, and a visit to Belvedere Palace. We took the time on our own to explore Belvedere Palace, it actually took us a few hours to move around the museum and to enjoy the splendid gardens...an excellent way to cap our tour for the day.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

karina s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and well organized! I do recommend to take a walk by yourself in Belvidere Palace which is the last stop from the trip. I love Vienna!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great overall tour of the city and getting fast-track into the palace with a guided tour definitely helps. The palace is packed with people and probably not a good idea to do a self-guided audio tour. We also had some free time to visit the garden or to roam around the area.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our hotel pickup was on time and after been taking to a central trip changeover point we were on our way for the historical tour based on the ring Strass

We received good information on each spot as we passed
The Palace visit was very good even allowing for all the other people there at the same time
This is an exceptional palace and needs several days to do it justice

The tour ended at the opera house and we continued on our own to St Stephens square for lunch

Needed to head back to our hotel to get ready for our evening dinner and concert

See my next posting

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Celia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I love old History. Schonbrunn Palace is absolutely Beautiful. A must for every tourist..

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great overview of the city and the Schonbrunn Palace was amazing.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

dangia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had the beginner package and it was absolutely vital for my trip to Vienna! Access to Upper Belvedere where you can admire the Klimt Kiss and the cake at Cafè Central are a must in Vienna! The transport card is great, giving the freedom to travel anywhere anytime with any line around the city! Totally recommend for your first visit to the capital of Austria!

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace and Vienna Card

Karla A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was fabulous- fluent in several languages. Although the palace was crowded with lots of tourists, we thought the tour most informative and efficient. Pick up and delivery right on schedule. Thumbs up.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

J W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. We were collected from our hotel and taken on an interesting journey through Vienna before arriving at the Schonbrunn Palace. Our tour guide was friendly and helpful and it was a joy to beat the queues no need to queue when you're with a tour guide. We didn't feel rushed inside the palace but would have liked an hour once the tour was finished, mostly because there was a Christmas market. We had a little over half an hour and had to choose between the gardens and the market at the front of the palace. I would recommend this tour though, it's good for the price.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

KATE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Great tour around the city center and the palace.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The history of Vienna is all about the history of the Hapsburgs. This tour is a must for helping to appreciate the splendor and grandeur of the 600-year ruling family. This is the summer palace of the Hapsburgs. For the winter haven, a visit to the Hofburg is a must.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

lbryantbogard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic Tour Guide! Very knowledgeable!! During the Historic Tour she constantly repeated herself to make sure we got the information. She always asked if there was any questions. Inside of the Schonbrunn Palace she kept the group together. As she was giving explanations, she would pause when another group mingled with ours because it caused an interruptions on the earphones. After the group passed, she would continue. She was great!!!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Madalina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful tour! We enjoyed the Schonbrunn palace and the labyrinth! the gardens are beautiful!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Nicolas C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very useful flexible package which included entry to the Klimt gallery at the Belvedere Palace at a time of our choosing, coffee and cake at the Cafe Centrale at a time of our choosing and the Vienna Card allowed us free travel on trains/trams/buses for 72 hours which we used extensively.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace and Vienna Card

Charles O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Overview of city by bus was a great starting point for a city stay. Guide was very easy to listen to and had a great knowledge. The Palace was simply amazing and a great addition to the city tour.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

ERIKA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Both the Albertina and Belvedere Palace are beautiful buildings in their own right. They also house wonderful collections that are well worth visiting. The vouchers were waiting for me at my hotel as promised. Using public transport in Vienna is very easy.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace and Vienna Card

my travels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. The palace was beautiful and really enjoyed having apple strudel at the restaurant. It was soo good as well as the coffee. The atmosphere at the restaurant was truly a great experience.
would do it again.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Wendolin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. We road in air conditioned buses and had a very humorous guide. The palace was beAutiful!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

virginia.lass4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour and the tour guide was full of information. She took us thru all the best rooms at the Palace and knew everything about the city. She answered individual questions and suggested a restaurant that became our favorite lunch place in the five days we spent in Vienna. Unfortunately I do not remember our guides name but she was very interesting and informative and made our trip very easy. My husband and I had certain things we wanted to do and see while in Vienna and she spent time with us explaining how to get places, best times to go, etc. great tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

suzanne.lenne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I would thoroughly recommend this as a good way to get an introduction to Vienna. I was only there for 2 days but I am glad that I did this tour on the first day. There was a lot to see and you only get a small amount of time at each grand building but I was able to return later to the places where I wanted to spend more time. Hotel pick up worked well - right on time. The Schonbrunn palace tour was also good and we had a bit of free time to visit the christmas market and the museum shop. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Hyun Joo Kim Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good for skim looking! Schonbrunn Palace guide tour was really good.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

misticat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour with an excellent guide. Her intimate knowledge of historical events and of the city and its landmarks kept us entertained throughout the duration. Her professionalism and dedication were readily apparent. The tour provided us with a detailed overview of the city and palace. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message