Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 302 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith Levy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

lovely day trip outside of Vienna. There were 18 people in our group - ages ranged from about 20 to 63 years. Jose was a great guide. - Biking was relatively easy and pleasant. The views of the vineyards and Danube were beautiful. Most of the vineyards cultivate grapes for white wine. Many of the people in our group had been traveling around European cities and were glad to spend the day outside the city getting fresh air and relaxing and seeing some of the countryside up close. i highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Rakitha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent day out in the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube, highly recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is absolutely incredible! If you like wine, cycling and beautiful scenery, then I'd highly recommend this tour. Our guide was fantastic, the tour was incredibly well organised and the amount of free time, cycling and wine tasting was perfect.

It was truly idyllic - AMAZING. Lunch is also lovely and you can enjoy free time to explore a quaint Austrian village, relax on the beach of the Danube River and shop for souvenirs. We loved every minute!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ashwin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a cold rainy day in September,2016 when we went on this trip. But the views along the Danube were stunning and the guided tour of the Abbey was very absorbing and interesting. The guide also gave us sufficient time to have a nice meal at the restaurant in the Abbey and we got an opportunity to try the specialities of the area. He also enriched us with information about Austrian culture, the history and about day to day life in that region. Please note that there was hotel pickup but the drop off is at the Opera house in Vienna which wasn't a problem for us as we explored the area around St.Peter's cathedral in the evening.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ellen.a.nastase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A day on the Danube River. I loved the beautiful hills around the riverbank covered with wineries. However what really impressed me was Melk Abby's elegant, pure baroque style. For more than 900 years Benedictine monks lived and worked there. The most spectacular areas, the Marble Halls and the Church we were not allowed to take pictures of. But I have to say, it competes with St Peter's Basilica in Vatican. It was beautiful beyond expression. At the same time I knew that they have some of the best wine in Austria. We checked this and it is true!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Margaret United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A long day but well worth the trip, although I was disappointed that we did not stop somewhere en route to Spitz, where we boarded the boat for our one and a half hour trip along the Danube. It was a lot of driving. The Danube boat trip was nice but the best part of the day, was our visit to Melk Abbey. What an incredible place to visit. Such a beautiful building with so much history. Easily compares with the Vatican. Would recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

JimKreutzer

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The visit to the Danube Valley, including the cruise on the river were very good, as was the subsequent visit to the Abbey in Melk. Tommy was our tour guide and one issue we had concerned the disappearance of a small travel bag we had left on our seats on the bus. There was no mention by the tour guide about leaving things on the bus, as there usually is, and upon return to the bus from the Danube cruise, there was a bit of scrambling around by the tour participants as people were not going back to their original seats. Because of our travel bag, we were able to keep our initial seats as expected. But at the conclusion of the Abbey tour, there was some scrambling around again, and our bag was not on our seats this time. We advised the tour guide of this and asked him to check with the driver to see if he had collected things that were left on the bus, but he insisted that he hadn't and also that the bus was locked up during the tour. We never did get our bag back, though fortunately, there was nothing of much value in it though the bag itself was part of a set. There was also a strange situation at the trip's start in that we were picked up by a mini-van at our hotel, as expected, and taken to the Vienna Opera House were the larger bus was waiting. After settling in on that big bus, we were then taken to the train station where we had to get off this big bus and get on another big bus for our tour. And many others were also doing this at the train station, so there was bit of confusion going on there even though they had placed signs for each of the tours leaving the train station. Having done dozens of Viator tours, we had never experienced this before. It would have been good to have been advised of this second transfer, perhaps even by the driver of the first big bus, so as to alleviate some of the confusion.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Phillip M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

nice boat ride down the danube to the town of melk its a nice town typical old world charm

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Warren C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the city tour and visit to Vienna Woods prior to our boat trip on the Danube. Our guide was very informative and even though he had to repeat his information in 3 languages he never missed any points of interest. Recommend this tour especially if your stay in Vienna is short.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

karenlwu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were fortunate to have the perfect bike riding weather. The vineyards are always beautiful to look at. The tour was well organized but the group was a bit too large. We had 20 people in our group. It was our last day in Vienna so it was nice to see something outside the city. The lunch was delicious, I really enjoyed the goulash. The wine tasting was also superb. I think the best part was hiking up to the castle and getting a great view of the Danube. It was definitely a tough hike so it was not for people who are not well conditioned.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Izzytrevisan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Our group of 6 took the bus tour of Vienna which was followed by the boat cruise on the Danube. It was great to be picked up at our hotel to start the bus tour! On the other hand it was very difficult to understand our guide and we weren't sure if it was our guide or the sound system on the bus. We had the same issue on the boat cruise so overall the tour was a total disappointment.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Riding a bike through the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube was a fantastic experience. I'm so glad that I booked the trip. There were 14 bikers and our great male guide who was attentive and thoughtful the entire day. The bikes are comfortable and the gears are easy to change. We rode 24 kilometers but there were plenty of breaks so all levels of riders can have fun and make the journey.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

D W B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended excursion to Melk Abbey. Commentary was excellent. Cruise on Danube was real experience. Melk Abbey was magnificent, including gardens.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sylvia.good United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Danube Valley and river was picturesque and enjoyable. The abbey was very interesting with a rich history and ornate decor. Although the boat ride on the Danube offers food and drink we enjoyed ordering from the restaurant in Melk at the abbey. It has wonderful Austrian food and drink.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the country side of Vienna. The tour of Melk Abbey was very well done and informative. The boat ride on the Danube was spectacular.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Margaret B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a relaxing day away from Vienna. The Melk Abbey is beautiful and the gardens fantastic. We didn't have time to go down to the village of Melk but that's okay. I have enough tchotchkes to last me a lifetime. The boat ride down the Danube was relaxing and nice. You can have lunch on board and the lunch was just okay. Lunch is not included in the tour. Lovely day on the river for us.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Mark D B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall experience very good. On time pick-up from our hotel to waiting coach. Sylvia, our guide was great, alternating between five languages for benefit of our group. Very nice cruise down the Danube with lunch being admireable, although service a bit slow especially when requesting the bill. Wonderful view in the approach to Melk Abbey. The Abbey was beautiful to behold, including the gardens and out buildings although more time in doing so would have been beneficial. Two things about the coach itself should really be addressed. 1 it was a very hot day and the air conditioning was not working properly. If say on the upper level, the discomfort was much more noticeable. 2 the intercom system that Sylvia was using kept breaking up so often times we missed what was being said about the surrounding areas through which we were driving. In this day and age, neither of these issues should have happened. Hopefully on other coaches used, this is not the case. Would I do this exact same trip again as a full day adventure out to Melk Abbey - most definitely.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Helen A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Abbey amazing and the boat ride on the Danube was really nice with great views. A little confusion at the beginning of bus pick up but worked out well. Would recommend it

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

tkeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Generally I don't bother with reviews but I wanted to warn off people, this is a total tourist trap. If you can't manage to sit outside which we couldn't because there was a very few seats which was suitable for that it is completely pointless. The route the boat takes is very industrialised, it is not pretty at all. The lower half of the boat smells heavily of fried oils and if you choose not to eat, it could be very nauseous. We also had a raucous group of drunk teenagers who did not stop screaming and singing whole the way, which was a painful 75 minutes, let me tell you. To resume, do not buy this. Complete waste of time, there are better ways to enjoy both Vienna and Danube.

Doing what: Danube City Sightseeing Cruise in Vienna

Andy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The boat trip on Danube was a surprise and for me, the best part of the trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being picked up from the hotel was very helpful. The cruise down the Danube River was a great way to start the tour. The river was beautiful. Melk Monastery was interesting and the abbey was amazing. So baroque! The trip back to Vienna was easy - being dropped off outside the Opera House, at Karlsplatz station makes it easy to get back to your hotel. A nice country break from Vienna.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Cecilee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an incredible trip! The bus ride to the Danube was beautiful, the boat ride itself was stunning, and the abbey was spectacular. PLEASE GO!

Oh, and a side note for people with disabilities: my husband has cerebral palsy and uses a walker. The docent who gave the tour was very helpful, there is an elevator to take us up and down, and ramps along the way.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Linda B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Bus was pleasant. Tour guide gave information as we passed sights. Trip down Danube was great. Saw beautiful places. Made new acquaintances. Time at Melk Abbey was too short. Not much time to look around and purchase souvenirs. By the time we had a quick lunch we had to go to our tour of the abbey and then back to the bus.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Took awhile for the tour to start some logistical issues getting the different language groups organized at the beginning, but once the tour started, it was well worth it. The tour guide was knowledgable and approachable. The trip down the Danube was the highlight, even though we had a cloudy day. The Abbey and grounds are beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message