Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Riding a bike through the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube was a fantastic experience. I'm so glad that I booked the trip. There were 14 bikers and our great male guide who was attentive and thoughtful the entire day. The bikes are comfortable and the gears are easy to change. We rode 24 kilometers but there were plenty of breaks so all levels of riders can have fun and make the journey.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

D W B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended excursion to Melk Abbey. Commentary was excellent. Cruise on Danube was real experience. Melk Abbey was magnificent, including gardens.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sylvia.good United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Danube Valley and river was picturesque and enjoyable. The abbey was very interesting with a rich history and ornate decor. Although the boat ride on the Danube offers food and drink we enjoyed ordering from the restaurant in Melk at the abbey. It has wonderful Austrian food and drink.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the country side of Vienna. The tour of Melk Abbey was very well done and informative. The boat ride on the Danube was spectacular.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Margaret B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a relaxing day away from Vienna. The Melk Abbey is beautiful and the gardens fantastic. We didn't have time to go down to the village of Melk but that's okay. I have enough tchotchkes to last me a lifetime. The boat ride down the Danube was relaxing and nice. You can have lunch on board and the lunch was just okay. Lunch is not included in the tour. Lovely day on the river for us.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Mark D B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall experience very good. On time pick-up from our hotel to waiting coach. Sylvia, our guide was great, alternating between five languages for benefit of our group. Very nice cruise down the Danube with lunch being admireable, although service a bit slow especially when requesting the bill. Wonderful view in the approach to Melk Abbey. The Abbey was beautiful to behold, including the gardens and out buildings although more time in doing so would have been beneficial. Two things about the coach itself should really be addressed. 1 it was a very hot day and the air conditioning was not working properly. If say on the upper level, the discomfort was much more noticeable. 2 the intercom system that Sylvia was using kept breaking up so often times we missed what was being said about the surrounding areas through which we were driving. In this day and age, neither of these issues should have happened. Hopefully on other coaches used, this is not the case. Would I do this exact same trip again as a full day adventure out to Melk Abbey - most definitely.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Helen A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Abbey amazing and the boat ride on the Danube was really nice with great views. A little confusion at the beginning of bus pick up but worked out well. Would recommend it

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

tkeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Generally I don't bother with reviews but I wanted to warn off people, this is a total tourist trap. If you can't manage to sit outside which we couldn't because there was a very few seats which was suitable for that it is completely pointless. The route the boat takes is very industrialised, it is not pretty at all. The lower half of the boat smells heavily of fried oils and if you choose not to eat, it could be very nauseous. We also had a raucous group of drunk teenagers who did not stop screaming and singing whole the way, which was a painful 75 minutes, let me tell you. To resume, do not buy this. Complete waste of time, there are better ways to enjoy both Vienna and Danube.

Doing what: Danube City Sightseeing Cruise in Vienna

Andy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The boat trip on Danube was a surprise and for me, the best part of the trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being picked up from the hotel was very helpful. The cruise down the Danube River was a great way to start the tour. The river was beautiful. Melk Monastery was interesting and the abbey was amazing. So baroque! The trip back to Vienna was easy - being dropped off outside the Opera House, at Karlsplatz station makes it easy to get back to your hotel. A nice country break from Vienna.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Cecilee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an incredible trip! The bus ride to the Danube was beautiful, the boat ride itself was stunning, and the abbey was spectacular. PLEASE GO!

Oh, and a side note for people with disabilities: my husband has cerebral palsy and uses a walker. The docent who gave the tour was very helpful, there is an elevator to take us up and down, and ramps along the way.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Linda B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Bus was pleasant. Tour guide gave information as we passed sights. Trip down Danube was great. Saw beautiful places. Made new acquaintances. Time at Melk Abbey was too short. Not much time to look around and purchase souvenirs. By the time we had a quick lunch we had to go to our tour of the abbey and then back to the bus.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Took awhile for the tour to start some logistical issues getting the different language groups organized at the beginning, but once the tour started, it was well worth it. The tour guide was knowledgable and approachable. The trip down the Danube was the highlight, even though we had a cloudy day. The Abbey and grounds are beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Dianna G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. Pleasant tour guide on the way to the ship. Wonderful ride down the Danube to Melk. Good balance of free time and organized tour at the Abbey. Lovely and knowledgable tour guide at the Abbey. Bus portion was comfortable in both directions.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

mark s

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This was a bit disappointing actually. I wanted to see so much of Vienna but the bus never stopped at any of the sights we wanted to see. We drove around through the streets where things and places were just pointed out. The tour guide was nice and tried hard but doing the commentary in two languages made it quite tiresome. The Danube boat ride was nice and the best part and I was particularly impressed going through the lock. Now although all passengers got drinks, not all got meals as the organisation of it all was a bit messy. After the cruise we were taken up to vienna woods where we could get out and stroll about. We were quite over it by this stage and the bus was very crowded. So glad we saw Belvedere palace in the morning otherwise we would have seen very little of Vienna. Could have been much better. Disappointed

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Stephen D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Coach trip was ok, maybe a little long. The boat was relaxing, but seating was limited, and were told you couldn't sit in the restaurant without buying something. The boat was ok, Danube was nice and relaxing, but the view tends to get monotonous. The worst part was Melk Abbey, didn't get ticket early enough, had to wait for lunch period, the guided tour was through some very bizarre rooms with projectors and monitors, very unlike a monastery. Marble hall and church was good, but NO TIME for the gardens before the bus left. I suggest you do you own thing, visit the village below, allow time for the gardens, and skip the bits you don't like.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Yuxin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very beautiful Abbey including great library and church, and wonderful view of the town and Danube river.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Harriet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip to the countryside. Well worth it. Lovely day out of Vienna to Danube riverboat cruise and small towns dotting the river and onto Abbey.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sharon p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb trip down the blue danube to the Melk Abbey. The weather was perfect. Our guide George was funny and entertained us along the way. The view of the abbey amd the journey to the abbey were breathtaking.Im so glad i took this trip. Highlight of my holiday in vienna....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Patrick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Austria. Josef was a wonderful guide. Biking along the Danube with vineyards and beautiful scenery....what's not to love? The wineries were wonderful, lunch was great, the other bikers fun and friendly. The biking was not too strenuous, but you will definitely work up a sweat. We had three in our party and everyone loved it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Leslie G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide told us some interesting facts on the bus and the Danube Cruise was memorable even though it was cloudy. Melk Abbey was beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Travellor

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Pleasant day seeing the countryside and the Abbey but found the guided tour quite rushed. Our guide Bettina was excellent, but they are moving people through pretty quickly. The cruise on the Danube was a highlight.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Paul B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great day and experience close to Vienna ...we had a superb, relaxed day along the Danube and the local guide was terrific as he spoke several languages. Remember if picked up at your hotel you end up all getting of at Opera House.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable trip up the Danube, monastery worth seeing.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message