Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 317 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maniam Raju V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great one day trip to Danube Valley and Melk Abbey. Melk Abeey was simply outstanding and Danube Valley was a treat to the eyes. Possibly it could have been better if we had gone during summer/spring.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Matthew O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Travel to the abbey was well provided. The boat for the cruise on the Danube was especially nice, with a fine restaurant. The museum exhibition at the abbey was a bit clunky and didn't convey well enough the significance of the religious institution. Just enough time to see everything.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our highlights of our 3 country trip. The wine valley is beautiful and it was a delightful day from beginning to end. And if you have decent cyclist on your tour you can take a dip in the Danube, Demos was knowledgeable and a wonderful host.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

bev.godwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful ride in the vineyard countryside and then boat trip on the Danube to Melk. Beautiful even on a rainy day. Melk is a delightful town and the abbey is gorgeous. Great day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Philip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best day tours we have been on. Our guide Thomas was great. The cruise on the Danube was good and Melk Abbey is well worth visiting.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Nirmala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a wonderful time at the Melk Abbey and a beautiful cruise down the Danube.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The bike-wine tour was excellent. We really enjoyed the tour with Jose he was extremely knowledgable about the region and personable. The bike ride was easy - riding along the river, in small towns and very small hills. The lunch stop was a nice break for local food and a hike to the castle and shopping. The swim in the Danube was a great break on a very HOT summer day. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Wes P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful boat ride along the Danube River spotting castles/fortresses along the way, topped with a guided tour through Melk Abbey with its beautiful architecture and setup.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

bhsmith62

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Danube River trip to Melk Abbey was beautiful. Please know that you cannot take pictures in the Abby, this was very disappointing but the trip was still worth it and it was amazing.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

June B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Pick up the bus station a little confusing. Coach trip gave added chance to see more of Vienna. Danube cruise good, though hadn't realised that lunch needed pre-booking to be sure of good seating. A lovely day out.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Carol Ann W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This trip was a fun day that included a boat trip down the Danube and visit to the beautiful Melk Abby. The only criticism we have is that the Abby does not allow photos to be taken but ends in the gift shop where you can buy them. Our guid, Thomas gave good information in three languages and made the trip even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Anne S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent way to see the countryside with a lovely lunch you pay for the lunch on a boat sailing the Danube. The Abbey is spectacular in its surroundings and the guided tour was informative. Don't miss the gardens. Well worth the time and money. Our guide was very informative throughout the trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

cquan

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Not enough time at the Abbey and no time at all to see Melk. I would not recommend this tour. The three stars is for the ride on the Danube...The Abbey and grounds is worth four stars but again... Not enough time to see it all!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Judith Levy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

lovely day trip outside of Vienna. There were 18 people in our group - ages ranged from about 20 to 63 years. Jose was a great guide. - Biking was relatively easy and pleasant. The views of the vineyards and Danube were beautiful. Most of the vineyards cultivate grapes for white wine. Many of the people in our group had been traveling around European cities and were glad to spend the day outside the city getting fresh air and relaxing and seeing some of the countryside up close. i highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Rakitha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent day out in the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube, highly recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is absolutely incredible! If you like wine, cycling and beautiful scenery, then I'd highly recommend this tour. Our guide was fantastic, the tour was incredibly well organised and the amount of free time, cycling and wine tasting was perfect.

It was truly idyllic - AMAZING. Lunch is also lovely and you can enjoy free time to explore a quaint Austrian village, relax on the beach of the Danube River and shop for souvenirs. We loved every minute!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ashwin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a cold rainy day in September,2016 when we went on this trip. But the views along the Danube were stunning and the guided tour of the Abbey was very absorbing and interesting. The guide also gave us sufficient time to have a nice meal at the restaurant in the Abbey and we got an opportunity to try the specialities of the area. He also enriched us with information about Austrian culture, the history and about day to day life in that region. Please note that there was hotel pickup but the drop off is at the Opera house in Vienna which wasn't a problem for us as we explored the area around St.Peter's cathedral in the evening.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ellen.a.nastase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A day on the Danube River. I loved the beautiful hills around the riverbank covered with wineries. However what really impressed me was Melk Abby's elegant, pure baroque style. For more than 900 years Benedictine monks lived and worked there. The most spectacular areas, the Marble Halls and the Church we were not allowed to take pictures of. But I have to say, it competes with St Peter's Basilica in Vatican. It was beautiful beyond expression. At the same time I knew that they have some of the best wine in Austria. We checked this and it is true!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

LUIZ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a beautiful trip along the Danube River and the Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Delia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful time. Not being very fit, it was great that most of the time the riding was on flat ground. Our guide I think Jose was really good and friendly with everyone. We stopped four times, 3 to taste and once for lunch. At no time did we ever feel rushed. On the way back got caught in a lovely thunderstorm. Would highly recommend this to anyone who would love to spend the day sipping wine, beautiful countryside and cycling next to the Danube. You definitely don't need to be very fit to do this.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Margaret United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A long day but well worth the trip, although I was disappointed that we did not stop somewhere en route to Spitz, where we boarded the boat for our one and a half hour trip along the Danube. It was a lot of driving. The Danube boat trip was nice but the best part of the day, was our visit to Melk Abbey. What an incredible place to visit. Such a beautiful building with so much history. Easily compares with the Vatican. Would recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

JimKreutzer

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The visit to the Danube Valley, including the cruise on the river were very good, as was the subsequent visit to the Abbey in Melk. Tommy was our tour guide and one issue we had concerned the disappearance of a small travel bag we had left on our seats on the bus. There was no mention by the tour guide about leaving things on the bus, as there usually is, and upon return to the bus from the Danube cruise, there was a bit of scrambling around by the tour participants as people were not going back to their original seats. Because of our travel bag, we were able to keep our initial seats as expected. But at the conclusion of the Abbey tour, there was some scrambling around again, and our bag was not on our seats this time. We advised the tour guide of this and asked him to check with the driver to see if he had collected things that were left on the bus, but he insisted that he hadn't and also that the bus was locked up during the tour. We never did get our bag back, though fortunately, there was nothing of much value in it though the bag itself was part of a set. There was also a strange situation at the trip's start in that we were picked up by a mini-van at our hotel, as expected, and taken to the Vienna Opera House were the larger bus was waiting. After settling in on that big bus, we were then taken to the train station where we had to get off this big bus and get on another big bus for our tour. And many others were also doing this at the train station, so there was bit of confusion going on there even though they had placed signs for each of the tours leaving the train station. Having done dozens of Viator tours, we had never experienced this before. It would have been good to have been advised of this second transfer, perhaps even by the driver of the first big bus, so as to alleviate some of the confusion.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Phillip M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

nice boat ride down the danube to the town of melk its a nice town typical old world charm

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Warren C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the city tour and visit to Vienna Woods prior to our boat trip on the Danube. Our guide was very informative and even though he had to repeat his information in 3 languages he never missed any points of interest. Recommend this tour especially if your stay in Vienna is short.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

karenlwu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were fortunate to have the perfect bike riding weather. The vineyards are always beautiful to look at. The tour was well organized but the group was a bit too large. We had 20 people in our group. It was our last day in Vienna so it was nice to see something outside the city. The lunch was delicious, I really enjoyed the goulash. The wine tasting was also superb. I think the best part was hiking up to the castle and getting a great view of the Danube. It was definitely a tough hike so it was not for people who are not well conditioned.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message