Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 395 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

junkmgpf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best tours we have ever taken. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable of the wines we tasted and the vineyards we visited. And it truly was a small group with just 6 of us. We also visited the Melk Abbey instead of the river cruise because we were late in the season and I have to say, I was glad we weren't able to do the cruise as the Abbey was wonderful. We have been on many wine tasting tours and this was by far the best.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Maniam Raju V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great one day trip to Danube Valley and Melk Abbey. Melk Abeey was simply outstanding and Danube Valley was a treat to the eyes. Possibly it could have been better if we had gone during summer/spring.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

bhsmith62

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Danube River trip to Melk Abbey was beautiful. Please know that you cannot take pictures in the Abby, this was very disappointing but the trip was still worth it and it was amazing.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Wes P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful boat ride along the Danube River spotting castles/fortresses along the way, topped with a guided tour through Melk Abbey with its beautiful architecture and setup.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Philip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best day tours we have been on. Our guide Thomas was great. The cruise on the Danube was good and Melk Abbey is well worth visiting.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Nirmala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a wonderful time at the Melk Abbey and a beautiful cruise down the Danube.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a cold and rainy day. We could not walked outdoors too much. However, the Melk Abbey would have been a great place to walk outside. Hallstatt was a beautiful little town. Good choice of the places along the route from Vienna to Salzburg.

Doing what: Private Tour of Melk Hallstatt and Salzburg from Vienna

bev.godwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful ride in the vineyard countryside and then boat trip on the Danube to Melk. Beautiful even on a rainy day. Melk is a delightful town and the abbey is gorgeous. Great day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

LUIZ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a beautiful trip along the Danube River and the Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent trip. Very varied. The boat trip was impressive. Good to spend time at Melk Abbey which is magnificent. Guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ellen.a.nastase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A day on the Danube River. I loved the beautiful hills around the riverbank covered with wineries. However what really impressed me was Melk Abby's elegant, pure baroque style. For more than 900 years Benedictine monks lived and worked there. The most spectacular areas, the Marble Halls and the Church we were not allowed to take pictures of. But I have to say, it competes with St Peter's Basilica in Vatican. It was beautiful beyond expression. At the same time I knew that they have some of the best wine in Austria. We checked this and it is true!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you enjoy beautiful scenery and good company with wine tastings, this tour is for you. On a sunny September day, our guide Stelios shared his knowledge of Vienna, the journey to the Wachau Valley, history and wine knowledge of the area. In addition to tastings at two wineries, we spent time in the Danube River town of Durnstein, lunched at another winery and cruised for an hour to Melk Abbey. We arrived back in Vienna late afternoon after a wonderful informative day. Thank you Stelios!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver was very flexible and when we told him that my father was having trouble walking that day, he offered to change the itinerary and we took a tour of Melk, Hallstatt and the surrounding lake country instead. It was awesome!

Doing what: Private Tour of Melk Hallstatt and Salzburg from Vienna

Gordon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip,well worth doing. The vineyards were stunning and the wine tastings exceptional. Our guide, Stelios, was very informative and went well out of his way to make sure our trip was fantastic. Really enjoyed the trip up the Danube and seeing Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

ribeiroantonio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. The Melk Abbey is one of the most beautiful abbeys I have ever seen. wonderful place. The boat trip was also very good with an excellent weather.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

mbrittb00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. It was a great relaxing day after two packed days in Salzburg and Halstatt. Love the boat ride and the Abby was beautiful. Which we were allowed to see a little more of the Abby and more time to explore Melk, but I would highly recommend this trip for anyone.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Phooi Yeing L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was amazing and both my husband loved it so much. The visit to Melk and the Abbey is a must visit though we do hope we have more time to explore the little town. The bus trip is comfortable although we had to wait an hour for our hotel pick up which is a little annoying.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the country side of Vienna. The tour of Melk Abbey was very well done and informative. The boat ride on the Danube was spectacular.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day out. Picked up from our hotel by coach at 08:45. Guide was very entertaining, speaking English, German and French. Spitz was beautiful, the boat trip allowed you to relax and take in the scenery with a range of beers, wine, cold and hot drinks. Did not order food as we chose to eat in the restaurant at Melk Abbey, which was wonderful and reasonably priced. The tour of the Abbey was excellent and abbey guide was easy to understand, speaking English and German and was very knowledgable when asked questions. All in all a highly recommended tour, well worth the money.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sylvia.good United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Danube Valley and river was picturesque and enjoyable. The abbey was very interesting with a rich history and ornate decor. Although the boat ride on the Danube offers food and drink we enjoyed ordering from the restaurant in Melk at the abbey. It has wonderful Austrian food and drink.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

D W B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended excursion to Melk Abbey. Commentary was excellent. Cruise on Danube was real experience. Melk Abbey was magnificent, including gardens.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Melk Abbey was well organised and very enjoyable
The

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being picked up from the hotel was very helpful. The cruise down the Danube River was a great way to start the tour. The river was beautiful. Melk Monastery was interesting and the abbey was amazing. So baroque! The trip back to Vienna was easy - being dropped off outside the Opera House, at Karlsplatz station makes it easy to get back to your hotel. A nice country break from Vienna.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2chaynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have been to many Chapels in Europe and none can compare to the Melk Abbey. The river cruise was wonderful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message