Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you enjoy beautiful scenery and good company with wine tastings, this tour is for you. On a sunny September day, our guide Stelios shared his knowledge of Vienna, the journey to the Wachau Valley, history and wine knowledge of the area. In addition to tastings at two wineries, we spent time in the Danube River town of Durnstein, lunched at another winery and cruised for an hour to Melk Abbey. We arrived back in Vienna late afternoon after a wonderful informative day. Thank you Stelios!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver was very flexible and when we told him that my father was having trouble walking that day, he offered to change the itinerary and we took a tour of Melk, Hallstatt and the surrounding lake country instead. It was awesome!

Doing what: Private Tour of Melk Hallstatt and Salzburg from Vienna

Gordon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip,well worth doing. The vineyards were stunning and the wine tastings exceptional. Our guide, Stelios, was very informative and went well out of his way to make sure our trip was fantastic. Really enjoyed the trip up the Danube and seeing Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

ribeiroantonio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. The Melk Abbey is one of the most beautiful abbeys I have ever seen. wonderful place. The boat trip was also very good with an excellent weather.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

mbrittb00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. It was a great relaxing day after two packed days in Salzburg and Halstatt. Love the boat ride and the Abby was beautiful. Which we were allowed to see a little more of the Abby and more time to explore Melk, but I would highly recommend this trip for anyone.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Phooi Yeing L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was amazing and both my husband loved it so much. The visit to Melk and the Abbey is a must visit though we do hope we have more time to explore the little town. The bus trip is comfortable although we had to wait an hour for our hotel pick up which is a little annoying.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the country side of Vienna. The tour of Melk Abbey was very well done and informative. The boat ride on the Danube was spectacular.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day out. Picked up from our hotel by coach at 08:45. Guide was very entertaining, speaking English, German and French. Spitz was beautiful, the boat trip allowed you to relax and take in the scenery with a range of beers, wine, cold and hot drinks. Did not order food as we chose to eat in the restaurant at Melk Abbey, which was wonderful and reasonably priced. The tour of the Abbey was excellent and abbey guide was easy to understand, speaking English and German and was very knowledgable when asked questions. All in all a highly recommended tour, well worth the money.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sylvia.good United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Danube Valley and river was picturesque and enjoyable. The abbey was very interesting with a rich history and ornate decor. Although the boat ride on the Danube offers food and drink we enjoyed ordering from the restaurant in Melk at the abbey. It has wonderful Austrian food and drink.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

D W B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended excursion to Melk Abbey. Commentary was excellent. Cruise on Danube was real experience. Melk Abbey was magnificent, including gardens.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Melk Abbey was well organised and very enjoyable
The

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being picked up from the hotel was very helpful. The cruise down the Danube River was a great way to start the tour. The river was beautiful. Melk Monastery was interesting and the abbey was amazing. So baroque! The trip back to Vienna was easy - being dropped off outside the Opera House, at Karlsplatz station makes it easy to get back to your hotel. A nice country break from Vienna.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2chaynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have been to many Chapels in Europe and none can compare to the Melk Abbey. The river cruise was wonderful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Rosemary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything about this tour was amazing! Our tour guide was extremely enthusiastic and very entertaining to listen to. Spitz and Melk oozed olden charm and were very beautiful places. The boat was very comfortable and nicely decorated. And of course, the scenery was breathtaking! Absolutely worth it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

stephen.schaller60

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic day trip. Well organized and efficient tour guide. The bus was very comfortable and the running commentary by the tour guide was informative. The cruise on the river, the old castles, the vineyards on the hills and the quaint towns with narrow winding alleys- just like the movies.
the town of Melk is a must see and you should take the walk down the hill into the heart of town. The Abbey is breathtakingly beautiful and an architectural marvel. Do allow three hours to enjoy the splendor and absorb the history. The end of my tour was in the chapel -wow! Make sure you go on this tour.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

alice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Melk Abbey is amazing! The river cruise was also enjoyable. We had a lovely time on this tour and would recommend.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sharon p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb trip down the blue danube to the Melk Abbey. The weather was perfect. Our guide George was funny and entertained us along the way. The view of the abbey amd the journey to the abbey were breathtaking.Im so glad i took this trip. Highlight of my holiday in vienna....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

patriciarodrigueznas ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience. The cruise was very enjoyable and Melk abbey is a jewel.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a guide who was passionate about wine and the region. The tour varies the wineries and lunch locations depending on opening days/times. The wines at all locations were excellent, lunch options were superb, and beautiful vistas plentiful. Note- if you are interested in staying to see Melk Abbey it is possible to do so and catch a train back to Vienna, but you will be a little pressed for enough time to see the whole abbey due to closing times.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

MARK H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really nice trip well worth taking , a coach from vienna to spitz then a great trip along the Danube to melk by boat worth it alone , then on to the abbey half an hour to look round the little village and the gardens next to the abbey are really special the view from the back and the wooded area are worth checking out ,then into the abbey we were met by our tour guide Bettina first rate guide we went on a 50min tour of the various rooms courtyards etc well versed and witty polite etc, the abbey is stunning worth the trip alone ,then back on the coach all the way back to vienna ,do yourself a favour take this trip....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day trip! The Mercedes mini-van was comfortable and the scenery was lovely. Mario was a superb driver.

Mario was extremely well informed and kept our small group interested. He also kept us warm on a cold and windy day! Mario ensured our group got on very well and had many laughs.

The Abbey in Melk was glorious! Wine tastings were generous and very well explained. We also tasted apricot brandies and apricot chocolates - very nice.

We really couldn't improve on this tour. It was outstanding!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jackie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was one of the highlights of our trip. It was amazing to see the Valley and Melk Abby outside of Vienna. Our tour guide, Stelios was so nice and knowledgable. He did a fantastic job and was made it a lovely experience. Stelio took us to amazing vineyard for lunch where the proprietors made all the cheeses and meats there on the farm/vineyard. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Douglas M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must for people visiting Vienna. Unfortunately we arrived before the river boats were operating but the trip by bus was most emjoyable and the visit to Melk Abbey was fantastic and a must visit for tourists.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johnray E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The river cruise to Melk Abbey is worth the ticket. So many things to enjoy on the river, and then the incredible Abbey itself is priceless. We had toured many major attractions through Europe, and this ranks with any of them. worth the time and the money

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message