Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 647 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great overall tour of the city and getting fast-track into the palace with a guided tour definitely helps. The palace is packed with people and probably not a good idea to do a self-guided audio tour. We also had some free time to visit the garden or to roam around the area.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

karina s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and well organized! I do recommend to take a walk by yourself in Belvidere Palace which is the last stop from the trip. I love Vienna!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Yumi S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour of Schonbrunn Palace was wonderful, but I would rather walk around the city to see the historical sights than through the bus window.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kirsten E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with a fantastic guide, Eric, who was extremely knowledgable about the history of Austria and Vienna. We took a 3hr bus tour around the significant sights of Vienna and visited the Schonbrunn Palace. Our guide Eric took our group of 22 people on a personalised tour of 20 rooms in the Palace providing expert information. We were able to spend just over 1/2hr in the gardens, which are amazing. We were able to stop at Belvidere Palace for a photo opportunity. This tour is kept at a fairly quick pace which may not suit all people. However, we highly recommend this tour as an overall history lesson as well as highlighting the significance of the Hapsburg dynasty in Austria.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

fryrobert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was unclear that we had to pick up our tickets at another end of the palace and not the ticket area.

we did not have time for the tour as the service in the restaurant was painfully slow. The food was excellent. It was disappointing that the service was so poor. And disappointing not to be able to go on the tour due to this.
the concert was excellent, however, every other venue allows photos and I think you should too.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Carol Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The palace was breathtaking! We really enjoyed the delicious dinner provided with this tour....the restaurant was charming and the service was excellent! My husband and I enjoyed the concert as well...it was a surprise to hear opera and watch dancing as well!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Marlene g Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was disorganized chaos where the buses met up at the main railway station so consequently i ended up on the spanish speaking bus... really needed the english tour to understand where i was....was on the top of double decker bus so didn't feel safe to walk down the stairs. ... luckily met up with the other bus and did the schonbrunn palace part of the tour with an english speaki g guide... palace well worth it.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour is too short. We only had 15 minutes to view the Schonbrunn gardens. You can easily spend 1-2 hours in the gardens. The tour inside the Palace was great.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

renata g

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

just ok. palace great but no guide tour. having a stick to listen to some very basic information is ennoying. dinner -average, didnt get the famous vienna apple strudel as supposed to.concert-looks much better on picture ha ha. it was more like a rehearsal than a concert.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Vlago

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

- The pick up time from the hotel was too early. Two and a half hours before the beginning of the tour. Then, because of guides' miscommunication we were loaded onto another bus, then unloaded and then loaded again. They were sorting the guests out by their speaking language and they made a little bit mess there.

- I've also found the organizers not the guides very rude. Rude to the bone.

- The tour is too fast. Everything is going by computer time as one of the guides was naming the pace.

- You'll see only the first floor of the Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Xavier G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Very little time to visit the Shonbrunn Palace - just 30 min. Also did not receive properly info how to bought the ticket for Belvedere as was notify in the program.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

prateekv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour of schonbrunn was amazing. Look of other monuments were from with in the bus so was not very good. Walking tours of these place is better.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Simply a must do in Vienna.........I recommend that one arrives three hours prior to supper as it takes a couple hours to tour the Palace. Plus there is the beautiful gardens which is worth a quick tour on the little train which has a audio tour this is extra from aviator but worth the 7 euro. ENSURE you follow the instructions on how to procedure with the tour from your aviator voucher upon arriving to Palace as one is doing three activities in one ticket.
Would do it again!!!!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our hotel pickup was on time and after been taking to a central trip changeover point we were on our way for the historical tour based on the ring Strass

We received good information on each spot as we passed
The Palace visit was very good even allowing for all the other people there at the same time
This is an exceptional palace and needs several days to do it justice

The tour ended at the opera house and we continued on our own to St Stephens square for lunch

Needed to head back to our hotel to get ready for our evening dinner and concert

See my next posting

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

To make the evening special we arranged for a private driver to take us and bring us back 80euros

We had already visited the palace inside so used this visit to see part of the gardens

We then had dinner in the palace very nice meal in a very nice setting. - good value

We then walked to the Orangery for our concert. Beautiful setting
18 piece orchestra dancers and singers gave a marvelous performance

Together with our morning tour this was an amazing day

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spending the day touring the palace and gardens, a delightful dinner, and a magical concert which included music both instrumental and vocal, and dancers.....a wonderful sampler platter of some of the best of Vienna!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

sanshella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the Palace was well worth the visit, the audio pack guided us through the various aspects of the Palace and its rooms. You can wander around in the general gardens for free or pay a few Euros to visit the private garden. The general garden was beautiful in itself so we opted to skip the private garden. The Palace was walking distance from our Hotel. The dinner was superb and all three courses were top quality with excellent service. After dinner we strolled through the Palace grounds to the Concert hall where we enjoyed a lovely evening of Mozart and Strauss. We highly recommend Viator for its excellent package and experience. Would we use Viator again, Yes!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Joan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It is a pity they cannot post tickets out or accept the voucher for the cruise as our hotel was very close to where the cruise started but we had to go by train to the Palace to collect our tickets and then go back again. We were aiming for the 10.30 cruise but as there were no outside seats when we got back from picking up our tickets, we waited for the 11.30. A glass of champagne was included in our category A tickets but at 5 euros for half a small glass it is very poor value and my son and daughter in law were charged 3 euros each for a glass of water. I would definitely recommend taking a bottle of water with you. Having said all of this the Schonbrunn Palace is stunning, the dinner and concert were excellent and it was a very special way for me to spend my 70th Birthday.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Honore R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The palace is a must see and adding dinner and a concert was perfect. The program was lovely. The office for ticket pick up was a bit hard to find since it is not really marked outside the building as you cross the street from the U stop . It is left not right to the main gate.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Margaret B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Schonburn Palce and Tour is a must see. Do not miss the Palace Gardens as they are spectacular. The Dinner is a set menu and was quite delicious. Drinks are extra as stated in the Tour Information . The Concert was good. The picture in the brochure is misleading. It looks like it is in a concert hall, but is actually in the Orangerie on the Palace grounds. The 16 piece orchestra provided the audience with a wonderful classical musical experience. The two opera singers were excellent and the two dancers were delightful. The evening was fun and a good time was had by all.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed my trip to Schonrunn Palace tour and felt it was very informative. I wish there had been about a two hour time line to visit the gardens instead of the 40 minutes. But overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Ronald M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A nice, typical dinner and a wonderful concert rounded off a great evening after touring the magnificent Palace.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Janet F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Didn't appreciate that you actually needed two trips to do the audio garden tour. Palace shuts early evening - you really need to go down at 2. Then back again at 6.30 for the dinner.
Dinner was in the cafe/restaurant and felt like canteen food delivered with flourish. You were left to feel very second class as you were parked on the back rows of the co certain area too.i thought it was really rather expensive for what we got!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Andrew E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We got little more than on your left is....on your right is... on the drive through the city...no context. The Schonbrunn Palace, was beautiful, but somehow we got shoe-horned into a French tour and the guide spent MORE than half the time in speaking in French for the four french ladies present. So I figure we got half a tour. and we got dropped off far away from where the tour started.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kevin B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour reminded me why I don't like to go with organised groups on tours. While the guide was a very nice person, it was a bit annoying to be constantly reminded that we shouldn't talk on the bus so we could listen to her. It was also distracting to attend a tour in both Italian and English, especially since I assumed that the tour would only be in English.

While on the site, I expected to be given a ticket that gave us access to the house and gardens. Instead, we didn't receive a ticket or a sticker. When the tour of the palace ended, we were supposed to have access to the gardens, but without the ticket/sticker, we would have had to pay. Either way, we only had 10 minutes to tour the gardens and resume the tour. Very disappointing.

Next time, I will save my money and do a Hop on Hop Off tour where I can avoid touring in a group.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message