Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 681 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This concert at the palace is amazing! My husband and I loved it! Dont miss it if you do anything in Vienna you must do the palace evening.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

bev.godwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour of city by bus, then photo stop at Belvedere, and knowledgable skip the line tour of Schonbrunn Palace. It was November so Christmas market was in full swing and we had free time to look. My only complaint is the tour write up said we would have option reduced price entrance to the Belvedere. It was never mentioned during the tour when I asked the guide she said the Belvedere would be closed when our tour was completed. This was misleading in tour write up. I'd still recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Daniel D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Give 1.5 hour for the palace tour, and more if you plan to visit the gardens, mazes, and zoo. Best to visit in spring. In fall/winter, many sections are not open due to nature taking its course i.e. the living mazes lose their leaves. Dinner is so-so, if only there are some choices to the menu, pay for your own beverages even for coffee and tea. 5 STARS for the Concert, 20 songs by a team of 8, with excellent dynamism and performances by professional opera singers and ballet dancers.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Theresa V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The performance was exceptional. The dinner at the local Marriott hotel was good - but sad that we were diverted to an alternate location. The palace is beautiful. It would've been better if we could go from the palace tour straight to the dinner/show. waiting for an hour and a half in between was not convenient at all.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Erin J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The food was solid, not mind blowing. The concert was good. We were lucky to attend on a night when the concert was played in the actual main palace as opposed to Orangerie. Because the location of the concert moved to the palace, there was no dancing during the performance just orchestra and opera.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Lev Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There is no Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert. There are - separate in time and to some extend in space - 1 Palace tour which we were late for - there was absolutely no indication that we could not do it right before the dinner 2 dinner quite forgettable standard big-name hotel fare, nothing Viennese at all and 3 concert touristy, but ok musicians did their job fine. So, one would expect that the 3 thing loosely bundled together should be priced lower than the sum of components - customer gives up flexibility. Instead the bundle is about 30 overpriced. I would strongly recommend against this deal.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Analiese D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent evening for a Viennese cultural night for a visitor. The palace tour was great 16.50 euro grand tour ticket included. The dinner was very good -pre-fixed 3 course meal, drinks not included at a nice restaurant in the palace front courtyard indoor seating followed by a 1.5 hour show with a mix of orchestra, opera and ballet. Overall a lovely evening. We arrived at 2pm to enjoy the gardens and tour which finished around 5pm.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

sj.nift

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth having the experience of watching the concert in the palace. The tickets said that the venue gets changed many a times, but luckily for us it was in the palace, and it was a sight worth witnessing. The concert was really good too.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Susanne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The meal was delicious! We got to the Palace a little too early, about 1 pm or so. Would recommend going there about 3 pm or so, then you can go through the Palace tour, take a carriage ride through the garden and then walk around the garden before settling into dinner at 6:30 pm. The weather did not cooperate the day we were there...cold, drizzly...but we still enjoyed the entire experience. The concert was very entertaining...would definitely recommend book ahead of time...

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Wan Hoon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour for first-time visitors to Vienna. The coach tour covered the many buildings around the famed Ringstrasse and the guide provided detailed explanations about them. The Schonbrunn Palace is very beautiful and definitely worth the visit. As it is only a 3.5 hour tour, I find the time at Schonbrunn a rush and would be better if we have more time to explore the gardens a little.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Wolfgang Christian, was the most informed and prepared guide we have ever had. His ability to give us the full historical view of the history of the palace and the families who lived there was amazing. 3 hours went by to fast and I could have done 3 more. One of the best tour experiences I have ever had. Without this guide, we could have walked through the palace and missed 80 of the details he called to our attention.

Doing what: Small-Group Schönbrunn Palace Half-Day Tour with a Historian Guide

Shalini A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Schonbrunn Palace is well worth visiting. Tour guide gave a good account of the history and important facts related to the palace

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

See

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Consolidated big group tour. Not much time allocated to Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

nian_gu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The package is great with the Sightseeing Combo of two palaces and dinner and concert. We love the little souvenirs. We had very high expectations on the concert. It was the third concert we attended in Vienna, after the Mozart concert at Musikverein and Mozart and Strauss Concert at the Volkstheatre. Probably due to the venue, the day of the week Monday night or the weather, the performance and the sound effect were not as good as the previous two. We were a little disappointed at the concert.

Doing what: Empress Sisi Sightseeing Combo in Vienna Including Schonbrunn Palace, Hofburg Palace, Dinner and Orangery Concert

michael t

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This tour was a bit rushed. The Palace was amazing. The grounds beautiful and the rooms over the top. Very crowded though and
a lot of interference from other headset devices.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Joyce S USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the Opera where we boarded our bus. The drive to the palace was interesting as our guide pointed out various sites. This includes a limited tour of the palace, in case you might be wanting something more extensive. We had time to go to the gift shop by the entrance. The stop at Belvedere Palace was rather short. We had a short walk to the gardens with limited time for photos . I would call this an adequate introduction that may have you doing more extensive follow up visits if you have the time.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Sonia M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

3 hour boat tour was 2 hours too long since there was no music to listen to and not enough information about the country. The dinner was vry good and the concert was wonderful but hot in the palace.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

marj

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

2 stars because it was just ok and really could have been better. The tour to Schonbrunn was quick and short, we were only give 40 minutes on our own, we weren't able to go see the garden and glorietta because we were rushing to go back to the tour bus, mind you the walk from the palace to the bus takes 15 minutes already. The tour guide was not friendly, felt like she was just there to do her job but was not really engaging and accommodating. If i knew it was gonna be like this, we would have done the tour to the place ourselves.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

lcharlton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide Ilse was incredibly knowledgable about Schonbrunn Palace, its history and the history of the monarchs who ruled Vienna and Vienna in general. She really brought the place to life with interesting stories as we visited each of the public rooms and the gardens. Would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day History of Schönbrunn Palace

Peter C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great place to visit the rooms are amazing. Very easy to use audio system. If you want to buy the book about the palace you can't take photos inside the rooms get it in a bookshop in Wenceslas Platz as it is half the price of the ones at the palace. The concert is agreat experience as well.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Bella B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the concert ad the palace and the meal was acceptable. We arrived in Vienna too late to take the palace tour the day we were booked for, so they very kindly allowed us to go the next day. A

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

ellen.a.nastase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is a Don't get stressed, get Strauss-ed! One expression I learned here in Vienna and I applied it well last evening when we went for dinner and concert at the Schonbrunn Palace. The concert was at the Orangerie the room where the emperor listened to music, and where Mozart and Strauss performed. And I had a seat in the front row and was fantastic! The concert ended with The Blue Danube and Radinsky March. It was like a preview of the New Years Eve Concert where I keep trying for years to get a ticket.must to have dinner and to listen to the concert

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour provided a good introduction to a beautiful big old city as Vienna. Not only did the coach tour covered the famed Ringstrasse but also covered the considerable distance among the palaces at a reasonable time. Highlights, of course, are the guided tour of Schonbrunn Palace with amusing stories of the life and times of the royals, vast photo opportunities during the tour, and a visit to Belvedere Palace. We took the time on our own to explore Belvedere Palace, it actually took us a few hours to move around the museum and to enjoy the splendid gardens...an excellent way to cap our tour for the day.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The setting in the palace was beautiful, sitting where Mozart and Strauss actually had performed was moving, the food was fine desert was the best part, and the music was very good. If they had played a few more melodies were familiar with, it would have been 5 stars.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message