Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lcharlton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide Ilse was incredibly knowledgable about Schonbrunn Palace, its history and the history of the monarchs who ruled Vienna and Vienna in general. She really brought the place to life with interesting stories as we visited each of the public rooms and the gardens. Would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day History of Schönbrunn Palace

Peter C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great place to visit the rooms are amazing. Very easy to use audio system. If you want to buy the book about the palace you can't take photos inside the rooms get it in a bookshop in Wenceslas Platz as it is half the price of the ones at the palace. The concert is agreat experience as well.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Bella B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the concert ad the palace and the meal was acceptable. We arrived in Vienna too late to take the palace tour the day we were booked for, so they very kindly allowed us to go the next day. A

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

ellen.a.nastase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is a Don't get stressed, get Strauss-ed! One expression I learned here in Vienna and I applied it well last evening when we went for dinner and concert at the Schonbrunn Palace. The concert was at the Orangerie the room where the emperor listened to music, and where Mozart and Strauss performed. And I had a seat in the front row and was fantastic! The concert ended with The Blue Danube and Radinsky March. It was like a preview of the New Years Eve Concert where I keep trying for years to get a ticket.must to have dinner and to listen to the concert

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour provided a good introduction to a beautiful big old city as Vienna. Not only did the coach tour covered the famed Ringstrasse but also covered the considerable distance among the palaces at a reasonable time. Highlights, of course, are the guided tour of Schonbrunn Palace with amusing stories of the life and times of the royals, vast photo opportunities during the tour, and a visit to Belvedere Palace. We took the time on our own to explore Belvedere Palace, it actually took us a few hours to move around the museum and to enjoy the splendid gardens...an excellent way to cap our tour for the day.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The setting in the palace was beautiful, sitting where Mozart and Strauss actually had performed was moving, the food was fine desert was the best part, and the music was very good. If they had played a few more melodies were familiar with, it would have been 5 stars.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Phillip M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

loved the palace, and the tour was good gave me an insight of what i wanted to see in vienna

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

carolinejones855

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We missed the bus the first day as we had two bits of paper with different pick up points and times,We sorted it out by the afternoon and had the tour of city and palace on the Monday .The palace tour was too short so we spent the whole day there and forgo the rest of the city tour, The tea and dinner was good and the concert superb,

Doing what: Imperial Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Mozart Concert, Sightseeing Tour, Schonbrunn Palace and Lunch or Dinner

Karyl W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable. Thr palace is beautiful.
However, the palace is mobbed and even though we had headsets programmed to our guide, there was s lot of interference. We could hear and understand very little.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

margat

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour could have been better, if it had not been so rushed - only 15 minutes after seeing the inside of the palace, to walk to the gardens, try to see them, and get back to our coach, which was parked 8 minutes' walk away outside the palace gates.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Derralynn F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour would have been great, except the tour guide was very difficult to understand. I felt I understood her French more than her English and I don't speak French. She was very monotone and I got the impression she did not like her job. I felt we were inconveniencing her by being on the tour. She also scolded the tourists on the trip like they were children when they dared talk.

The tour itself is nice and the palace is amazing but very crowded.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

kiranhc

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The meeting point was easy to locate. Once you board the bus, you just pass through the important places. The only place you get down is at Schonbrunn palace. Bus they took us there was good and the driver was courteous. The guide did not provide clear instructions and left us when we went to deposit our backpacks where we took less than a minute. Thanks to the palace personnel who helped us to locate the group. Her voice was low and not so clear. And she ran through the rooms giving very little time for the group. Many of the folks in the group got lost due to this. My suggestion is to take metro/bus to reach the palace and buy your own tickets to the palacewith audio guide and the garden and enjoy the place at a lesser price than this tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

lalaswad2k

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not very delicious food. The palace visit worth but concert no

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

lisa g

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

NOT HAPPY AT ALL!! AFTER DINNER AT THE COURTYARD YOU LOST US.
ARE WAITER WAS GREAT, BUT DINNER AT A PALACE WAS THE EXPECTATION.
WE LEFT DURING INTERMISSION OF THE CONCERT. ODDLY SO DID THE OTHER COUPLE FROM THE COURTYARD. MY SUGGESTION IS IF YOU CANT GIVE SOMEONE THE FULL EXPERIENCE CANCEL IT.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great overall tour of the city and getting fast-track into the palace with a guided tour definitely helps. The palace is packed with people and probably not a good idea to do a self-guided audio tour. We also had some free time to visit the garden or to roam around the area.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

karina s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and well organized! I do recommend to take a walk by yourself in Belvidere Palace which is the last stop from the trip. I love Vienna!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Yumi S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour of Schonbrunn Palace was wonderful, but I would rather walk around the city to see the historical sights than through the bus window.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kirsten E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with a fantastic guide, Eric, who was extremely knowledgable about the history of Austria and Vienna. We took a 3hr bus tour around the significant sights of Vienna and visited the Schonbrunn Palace. Our guide Eric took our group of 22 people on a personalised tour of 20 rooms in the Palace providing expert information. We were able to spend just over 1/2hr in the gardens, which are amazing. We were able to stop at Belvidere Palace for a photo opportunity. This tour is kept at a fairly quick pace which may not suit all people. However, we highly recommend this tour as an overall history lesson as well as highlighting the significance of the Hapsburg dynasty in Austria.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

fryrobert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was unclear that we had to pick up our tickets at another end of the palace and not the ticket area.

we did not have time for the tour as the service in the restaurant was painfully slow. The food was excellent. It was disappointing that the service was so poor. And disappointing not to be able to go on the tour due to this.
the concert was excellent, however, every other venue allows photos and I think you should too.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Carol Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The palace was breathtaking! We really enjoyed the delicious dinner provided with this tour....the restaurant was charming and the service was excellent! My husband and I enjoyed the concert as well...it was a surprise to hear opera and watch dancing as well!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Sanjay S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with Franz. Very patient, very organised. Would have liked to have seen the rooms at the Belvedere Palace. That was the only real disappointment. We went at a leisurely pace. Good fun

Doing what: Private Tour: Vienna City Highlights Tour

Marlene g Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was disorganized chaos where the buses met up at the main railway station so consequently i ended up on the spanish speaking bus... really needed the english tour to understand where i was....was on the top of double decker bus so didn't feel safe to walk down the stairs. ... luckily met up with the other bus and did the schonbrunn palace part of the tour with an english speaki g guide... palace well worth it.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour is too short. We only had 15 minutes to view the Schonbrunn gardens. You can easily spend 1-2 hours in the gardens. The tour inside the Palace was great.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

renata g

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

just ok. palace great but no guide tour. having a stick to listen to some very basic information is ennoying. dinner -average, didnt get the famous vienna apple strudel as supposed to.concert-looks much better on picture ha ha. it was more like a rehearsal than a concert.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Vlago

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

- The pick up time from the hotel was too early. Two and a half hours before the beginning of the tour. Then, because of guides' miscommunication we were loaded onto another bus, then unloaded and then loaded again. They were sorting the guests out by their speaking language and they made a little bit mess there.

- I've also found the organizers not the guides very rude. Rude to the bone.

- The tour is too fast. Everything is going by computer time as one of the guides was naming the pace.

- You'll see only the first floor of the Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message