Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful tour. We were able to see all the highlights of Vienna including Schonbrunn Palace and the Belvedere Palace.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Sankalpa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I did this tour with Ilse as my guide. She was brilliant and knowledgeable. She and #39;s also great at sharing her knowledge in an interesting as well as informative way. The Palace is beautiful with a rich history that and #39;s definitely worth learning about. Schonbrunn was my favourite palace in Vienna.

Doing what: Small-Group Schönbrunn Palace Half-Day Tour with a Historian Guide

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was my first ever trip out of the UK to another country, so it was very special for me anyway. The Guided tour of Schonbrunn Palace and historical city tour was absolutely fabulous. The tour guide, Martin, gave a first class and very clear commentary in English, and his added humour gave it something more. I was very impressed indeed with the city of Vienna, and even though I was only there for a few days, I got to know my way around to some extent, and was able to enjoy the time beyond expectations. One thing which stood out for me in the city was that compared to many of the British towns and cities I've been used to all of my life, I saw absolutely no litter anywhere in Vienna, a wonderfully clean and bright city, with a massive amount of very interesting history to see and experience. I did have a specific reason for visiting Vienna, which was to attend two musical events one a concert by the Schonbrunn Palace Orchestra at the Schonbrunn Orangery, which was very beautiful. The second was the premiere of a new opera - Cinderella by Alma Deutscher - at the Casino Baumgarten, which was my main reason for being in Vienna, and was very special indeed. I would recommend Vienna to anyone, and the Guided Tour of Schonbrunn Palace and the historical city is an absolute must. A fantastic trip that I shall remember always.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Smiles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a breathe taking experience!! A most beautiful room in this well known palace and the entertainment was absolutely superb. Would definitely attend this one again, if given the chance.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Kimberlee G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. loved seeing the inside and outside of this spectacular palace. Learned a lot and enjoyed seeing this Vienna classic.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Anita W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a very rainy day in Vienna. This was the best most of the day activity: boat ride noisy but we got to see lost of the Danube, Schonbrunn Palace castle dinner, and concert the concert could have been better, but it was just OK. They even included subway fare and we spent the entire day....without getting wet!

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Galina N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Concert was great. Food was horrible. The food is good everywhere in Vienna except this place. Service was excellent. It takes time to come to the place in advance. Nobody mentioned that palace tour should be started 3 hours earlier, so we missed it.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

amerovich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is a good tour for people with limited time in Vienna to get an overview of Vienna and see Schonbrunn Palace without waiting in line. It's also good if you're not very mobile since you stay on the bus for over half of the majority of the tour. If you want to get off at every stop, stay with a hop on hop off bus tour. Our guide was sweet and gave us chocolate to start our tour. Then as we drove through the city, she'd point out sites and the history. We able to get off the bus when we got to Schonbrunn, it was very crowded. She had us wait while she got the tickets, then we followed her to get the headsets, and then we walked through the palace. There was plenty of time to look through the rooms. FYI pictures aren't allowed. I highly recommend this for a nice tour of Schonbrunn without waiting in line. Then we drove to Belvedere Palace and those wanting to stay could look around and purchase tickets to go inside. I highly recommend the apple strudel go downstairs at the strudel show to purchase a piece if you don't want to wait upstairs for one. At Christmas, there is a lovely Christmas market so you may want to just stay to tour the grounds.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Pamela R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour was an excellent way to see beautiful Vienna and the Ringstrasse. We also did the Hop on Hop Off bus but this tour took us to different areas we had not seen yet. Hotel pickup was prompt and our guide was great but a little harried. The visit to Schonbrunn Palace was very crowded so we could barely get through the narrow hallways to see each room. We had a hard time hearing our guide through the headsets because of static and bleed over from other tour groups. We went on Christmas day so this may have been the reason. Needed a little more time in the gift shops before having to get back on the bus. There were Christmas markets in front of the palace but we had no time to visit them. Stopped at Belvedere Palace and took some photos but did not go inside as it was about to close.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Morag H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Our visit to the palace , with dinner and concert on 16th December ,was the finale of my birthday visit to Vienna. I expected it to be the highlight on my last day there.
We had to collect our tickets from the office in the Orangerie that day. Having collected the tickets we were told we could visit the palace at any time until closing at 4 pm. that was incorrect - the tickets had to be exchanged in a different building, which we did. Finally we reached the palace , through security, only to be told that the tickets were time stamped and we had to wait a further 30 minutes with nowhere to sit. Had this been pointed out we could have gone for a coffee etc before entering.
After the tour , as the palace was closing, there was nowhere to go but head back in to town to kill time for a couple of hours.

On to the dinner at 6.30pm- the meal had been changed to the nearby Marriott Hotel. We arrived off the train about 6 but we couldn't get dinner then , having to wait for a set time. There were only us and three other couples eating but we all had to be served at the same time. The meal was a huge disappointment - certainly not the standard I would expect from a Marriott Hotel. We were served beef consommé, then roast beef very dry a potato tower heavily seasoned with herbs through them UGH - they were not eaten and two cherry tomatoes, no other vegetables. Dessert was fine -apple strudel.
The concert was enjoyable. The venue was in a small white and gold room in the palace , next door to the grand ballroom, with 6 musicians and two singers. Had they just had people in the ballroom, or even opened the connecting door to look into the ballroom, it would have made up for the day . NOTHING felt special , rather an anti-climax.
Having come to Vienna from Scotland, expecting a wonderful end to my few days, it was a great disappointment
Would I do the palace/dinner/concert again? No I'm afraid not.
I would recommend the palace to change times i.e. time events so that you could visit palace, head straight for dinner and on to concert.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Jacqueline B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The palace tour was a bit of a problem to organize. We had to go to the Orangerie to get vouchers, but then we had to go back to the palace ticket office to get the tickets proper. No queue, that was a small mercy. But the problem was that there was a time on the tickets.... 2 hours later ! We had not been told we had to take waiting time into consideration. Had we arrived a bit later, I suppose we would not have got in at all.
The dinner was held in the breakfast room of the Marriott, not a nice room by any standards, and the food was bland. The waiters should not ask if we had liked the meal. They would not get an unpleasant answer.
The concert was pleasant but nothing to write home about. We had the best seats, at the front. Problem. When it was time to leave, we were the last, of course, to be able to leave the room, the exit being at the back. We waited nearly 15 minutes.
The whole day was not too bad, but expensive for what we got, and quite badly organized.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Jennifer K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

While our guide was informative about the artwork it isn't a tour I would recommend because it was very dry and somewhat boring... Unless you are a historian or academic. We had 3 children with us aged 12-18 but the guide didn't tailor the tour to be more interesting for them, in fact he was frustrated by the children. It was 521aud for 10-2pm but he finished at 1pm because we wanted a coffee break it was -5 degrees and everyone was tired. That means 1/4 of the tour was wiped off. It should have been made clearer we had to organise our own transport to the palace, the tickets should have been included for that price, and there should be an arrangement for a coffee break. We would have been better off with the audio guides

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day History of Schönbrunn Palace

Walaa A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

A lovely way to spend our first night in Vienna. We arrived for the palace tour around 2pm to make sure we had enough time to pick our tickets up and enter the palace by closing time. By 3:30 we had completed the 1 hour audio tour, and were enjoying the christmas market at the palace. The only issue we had was having to wait almost 2.5 hours for our 6pm dinner reservation in the cold. We walked the palace grounds/park area but it was quite chilly. Dinner was great - we had it in the cafe, and the concert was beauitful. Definately worth upgrading to premium seating since the concert took place inside one of the palace rooms and there's no stage and the audience is sitting on one level. Not sure how people more than 3-4 rows back could see the orchestra.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This concert at the palace is amazing! My husband and I loved it! Dont miss it if you do anything in Vienna you must do the palace evening.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

bev.godwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour of city by bus, then photo stop at Belvedere, and knowledgable skip the line tour of Schonbrunn Palace. It was November so Christmas market was in full swing and we had free time to look. My only complaint is the tour write up said we would have option reduced price entrance to the Belvedere. It was never mentioned during the tour when I asked the guide she said the Belvedere would be closed when our tour was completed. This was misleading in tour write up. I'd still recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Daniel D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Give 1.5 hour for the palace tour, and more if you plan to visit the gardens, mazes, and zoo. Best to visit in spring. In fall/winter, many sections are not open due to nature taking its course i.e. the living mazes lose their leaves. Dinner is so-so, if only there are some choices to the menu, pay for your own beverages even for coffee and tea. 5 STARS for the Concert, 20 songs by a team of 8, with excellent dynamism and performances by professional opera singers and ballet dancers.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Theresa V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The performance was exceptional. The dinner at the local Marriott hotel was good - but sad that we were diverted to an alternate location. The palace is beautiful. It would've been better if we could go from the palace tour straight to the dinner/show. waiting for an hour and a half in between was not convenient at all.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Erin J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The food was solid, not mind blowing. The concert was good. We were lucky to attend on a night when the concert was played in the actual main palace as opposed to Orangerie. Because the location of the concert moved to the palace, there was no dancing during the performance just orchestra and opera.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Lev Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There is no Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert. There are - separate in time and to some extend in space - 1 Palace tour which we were late for - there was absolutely no indication that we could not do it right before the dinner 2 dinner quite forgettable standard big-name hotel fare, nothing Viennese at all and 3 concert touristy, but ok musicians did their job fine. So, one would expect that the 3 thing loosely bundled together should be priced lower than the sum of components - customer gives up flexibility. Instead the bundle is about 30 overpriced. I would strongly recommend against this deal.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Analiese D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent evening for a Viennese cultural night for a visitor. The palace tour was great 16.50 euro grand tour ticket included. The dinner was very good -pre-fixed 3 course meal, drinks not included at a nice restaurant in the palace front courtyard indoor seating followed by a 1.5 hour show with a mix of orchestra, opera and ballet. Overall a lovely evening. We arrived at 2pm to enjoy the gardens and tour which finished around 5pm.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

sj.nift

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth having the experience of watching the concert in the palace. The tickets said that the venue gets changed many a times, but luckily for us it was in the palace, and it was a sight worth witnessing. The concert was really good too.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Susanne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The meal was delicious! We got to the Palace a little too early, about 1 pm or so. Would recommend going there about 3 pm or so, then you can go through the Palace tour, take a carriage ride through the garden and then walk around the garden before settling into dinner at 6:30 pm. The weather did not cooperate the day we were there...cold, drizzly...but we still enjoyed the entire experience. The concert was very entertaining...would definitely recommend book ahead of time...

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Wan Hoon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour for first-time visitors to Vienna. The coach tour covered the many buildings around the famed Ringstrasse and the guide provided detailed explanations about them. The Schonbrunn Palace is very beautiful and definitely worth the visit. As it is only a 3.5 hour tour, I find the time at Schonbrunn a rush and would be better if we have more time to explore the gardens a little.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Wolfgang Christian, was the most informed and prepared guide we have ever had. His ability to give us the full historical view of the history of the palace and the families who lived there was amazing. 3 hours went by to fast and I could have done 3 more. One of the best tour experiences I have ever had. Without this guide, we could have walked through the palace and missed 80 of the details he called to our attention.

Doing what: Small-Group Schönbrunn Palace Half-Day Tour with a Historian Guide

Shalini A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Schonbrunn Palace is well worth visiting. Tour guide gave a good account of the history and important facts related to the palace

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message