Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 633 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

prateekv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour of schonbrunn was amazing. Look of other monuments were from with in the bus so was not very good. Walking tours of these place is better.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Simply a must do in Vienna.........I recommend that one arrives three hours prior to supper as it takes a couple hours to tour the Palace. Plus there is the beautiful gardens which is worth a quick tour on the little train which has a audio tour this is extra from aviator but worth the 7 euro. ENSURE you follow the instructions on how to procedure with the tour from your aviator voucher upon arriving to Palace as one is doing three activities in one ticket.
Would do it again!!!!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our hotel pickup was on time and after been taking to a central trip changeover point we were on our way for the historical tour based on the ring Strass

We received good information on each spot as we passed
The Palace visit was very good even allowing for all the other people there at the same time
This is an exceptional palace and needs several days to do it justice

The tour ended at the opera house and we continued on our own to St Stephens square for lunch

Needed to head back to our hotel to get ready for our evening dinner and concert

See my next posting

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

To make the evening special we arranged for a private driver to take us and bring us back 80euros

We had already visited the palace inside so used this visit to see part of the gardens

We then had dinner in the palace very nice meal in a very nice setting. - good value

We then walked to the Orangery for our concert. Beautiful setting
18 piece orchestra dancers and singers gave a marvelous performance

Together with our morning tour this was an amazing day

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Joan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It is a pity they cannot post tickets out or accept the voucher for the cruise as our hotel was very close to where the cruise started but we had to go by train to the Palace to collect our tickets and then go back again. We were aiming for the 10.30 cruise but as there were no outside seats when we got back from picking up our tickets, we waited for the 11.30. A glass of champagne was included in our category A tickets but at 5 euros for half a small glass it is very poor value and my son and daughter in law were charged 3 euros each for a glass of water. I would definitely recommend taking a bottle of water with you. Having said all of this the Schonbrunn Palace is stunning, the dinner and concert were excellent and it was a very special way for me to spend my 70th Birthday.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Honore R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The palace is a must see and adding dinner and a concert was perfect. The program was lovely. The office for ticket pick up was a bit hard to find since it is not really marked outside the building as you cross the street from the U stop . It is left not right to the main gate.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Margaret B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Schonburn Palce and Tour is a must see. Do not miss the Palace Gardens as they are spectacular. The Dinner is a set menu and was quite delicious. Drinks are extra as stated in the Tour Information . The Concert was good. The picture in the brochure is misleading. It looks like it is in a concert hall, but is actually in the Orangerie on the Palace grounds. The 16 piece orchestra provided the audience with a wonderful classical musical experience. The two opera singers were excellent and the two dancers were delightful. The evening was fun and a good time was had by all.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed my trip to Schonrunn Palace tour and felt it was very informative. I wish there had been about a two hour time line to visit the gardens instead of the 40 minutes. But overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Ronald M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A nice, typical dinner and a wonderful concert rounded off a great evening after touring the magnificent Palace.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Janet F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Didn't appreciate that you actually needed two trips to do the audio garden tour. Palace shuts early evening - you really need to go down at 2. Then back again at 6.30 for the dinner.
Dinner was in the cafe/restaurant and felt like canteen food delivered with flourish. You were left to feel very second class as you were parked on the back rows of the co certain area too.i thought it was really rather expensive for what we got!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Andrew E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We got little more than on your left is....on your right is... on the drive through the city...no context. The Schonbrunn Palace, was beautiful, but somehow we got shoe-horned into a French tour and the guide spent MORE than half the time in speaking in French for the four french ladies present. So I figure we got half a tour. and we got dropped off far away from where the tour started.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kevin B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour reminded me why I don't like to go with organised groups on tours. While the guide was a very nice person, it was a bit annoying to be constantly reminded that we shouldn't talk on the bus so we could listen to her. It was also distracting to attend a tour in both Italian and English, especially since I assumed that the tour would only be in English.

While on the site, I expected to be given a ticket that gave us access to the house and gardens. Instead, we didn't receive a ticket or a sticker. When the tour of the palace ended, we were supposed to have access to the gardens, but without the ticket/sticker, we would have had to pay. Either way, we only had 10 minutes to tour the gardens and resume the tour. Very disappointing.

Next time, I will save my money and do a Hop on Hop Off tour where I can avoid touring in a group.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

patriciarodrigueznas ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! The concert was great and so was the dinner. One advice, make sure to arrive at the palace the latest by 1 pm. We arrived by 4 pm and we're not able to see the palace . However, the staff arranged for us to see it the following day.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

Celia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I love old History. Schonbrunn Palace is absolutely Beautiful. A must for every tourist..

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Jeremy M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would definitely have given this 5 stars if it wasn't for a couple of wrinkles. On arriving at the Palace we did not know we would have to 'book' our tour time so we wasted an hour hanging around. Dinner was excellent although the menu was limited. The concert was brilliant but VIP drinks consisted of a half glass of fizzy wine. The ticket also did not cover 'extras' like entrance fees to certain parts of the gardens.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Grant R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I and #39;m not really into symphony concerts but that aside this was well done and organized. Also got the opportunity to listen in the palace great room as a bonus.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

SAMI M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hi,
We had a wonderful evening at the Schonbrunn Palace.
The orchestra was magnificent and so were the opera singers. The room in the Palace was magic .
The only problem : there was a very hot day and there is no air condition, but even so we enjoyed the evening.
Esther Metser

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Josie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

NOT ENOUGH EMPHASIS ON WHERE TO PICK UP VOUCHER--WE WENT TO pALACE--WRONG!

STARTED ON WRONG FOOT AND ENDED WITH A WONDERFUL DINNER AND PERFORMANCE

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

LamSam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The instructions to obtain vouchers are not clear! It sent me on a wild goose chase to obtain the vouchers to catch the Palace Tour!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Dieter V

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The concert was very good - dinner would not do again
The guests expectations were to get dinner and concert truely in the palace not in the orangerie and the tourist cafe or else in a congress hotels restaurant. The ambiance was not as expected.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

bkbaggs

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a good overview of the city. The visit to Schonbrunn Palace was nice. The guide wasn't the best, but she wasn't horrible either. It was just an average tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Nitya

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

City trip was just OK - pretty rushed and you don't see much close up. Useful for a very brief overview of main attractions, but not so good for having a close look or taking photos. Palace tour was disappointing - huge crowds meant you saw very little. Guide was authoritative, but not very friendly.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Erminia G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our guide was arrogant
The Schonbrunn Palace tour was minimal it best
Would do this tour on my own in the future

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Rajesh K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was not very good. Guide was absolutely rude to us . She had very big attitude in her.
Only thing the tour offered was schunbrunn palace. Nothing else was good.
Not worth d price ! NOT RECCOMENDED!!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kushal S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Cruise was poor and waste of time Vienna offers little by way of riverside views anyway. Dinner and concert was okayish. There was noise from another event in the palace which was unacceptable. Wouldn't recommend this excursion. Instead go to concert in the opera or a number of other places in the town centre. Or maybe trip to Salzburg if looking for day trip.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message