Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

St Charles's Church (Karlskirche)

The Church of St Charles Borromeo, or Karlskirche, is the finest baroque church in Vienna and was built between 1716 and 1739, after a vow by Karl VI at the end of the 1713 plague. It was designed and commenced by Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ron l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

easy breezy!
the meeting spot was right next to our hotel........so lucky Le Meridian
great tour guide, friendly people, good exercise, beautiful city to bike.
we decided that we will use viator on all future trips and excursions. Much less expensive than cruise excursions.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

wrmknox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Incredible setting, wonderful music.

Doing what: Vivaldi Four Seasons Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Edith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our gal tour leader was delightful, informative and the bikes were great. We were so glad we had made these arrangements and would do one of your tours again in a second.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Alex K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

When we booked this concert, we expected to be sat in some rickety old church somewhere in the outskirts of Vienna and I have never been happier to have my expectations proved wrong. Entering Karlsplatz and, consequently, Karlskirche, we were completely blown away by the grandeur and complete beauty of our surroundings. The concert itself was sensational, with an immense sound created by such a small, in-sync group of musicians...overall, an absolutely brilliant experience that I would highly recommend to anyone who would like to embrace Vienna's title as the World City of Music.

PS...we booked category 3 tickets, meaning we were sat towards the back of the church but, in all honesty, it made absolutely no difference...definitely not worth paying the extra money just to sit slightly closer to the musicians, in my opinion.

Doing what: Sacred Music Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

smin United Arab Emirates

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

We expected it to be a fun ride through the city! The meeting point was a bit of a hassle as it was in front of Schillerpark and it took us a while. We later reached our point and found out to be exactly behind Le Meridien! Even the operator at City Bike tours didn't mention that. It's hard to find taxis and the tram is your best option.
Despite the rough start, me and my wife began our bike tour and our tour guide was Kasburg. He was friendly at first but later turned out to be rude and disappointing!! He was rushing the tour and hardly gave us enough time to take photos! We saw our fellow riders rushing to take photos along the way! He gave us just 10 mins to see the famous St. Stephen's Cathedral and 15 mins at the Hundertwasserhaus! Me and my wife went to pray at the cathderal and while we we returned to our spot, our tour guide was very rude for us being just 2 mins late. This was really disappointing! It's supposed to be a fun bike tour, not a strict timely military style ride!
Later, we went to the famous Mozart statue and we just saw it from a far distance and he didn't even bother to allow us to take photos! Someone should tell this guide to be more polite and humble towards tourists! It was like as if he was doing us a favour! We pay for his salary! Don't waste time on this bike tour, its 80 riding the cycle and just 20 sightseeing! Disappointed!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

DR Antoine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well played by professional musicians. Well worth attending.

Doing what: Vivaldi Four Seasons Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Aleksander K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very thorough tour! Maybe a little tough if you're not comfortable on a bike because she moves quickly!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Erin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time with Max seeing the beautiful city and enjoying his sense of humor. He was very knowledgable and entertaining. Highly recommend spending an afternoon with Max on the tour!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Christy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to see the city!!! Our guide, Franz was awesome, He was incredibly knowledgeable and a wealth of information!! Wonderful wonderful wonderful!!! Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

MARK G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great way to see the city and get an overview and history before venturing out on your own. Wolfgang was funny and informative.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Stephen D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The pace was fine. Do it at the beginning of your trip to Vienna, then you can revisit sites you like at your own pace.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Anthony W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good overview of Vienna. The tour was a little disorganised at first as too many people were booked and they needed to split the group into 2 which required getting another guide who must have been on call. Our guide seemed like he didn't want to be there. Anyway, we still enjoyed cycling around the streets of Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

kenyonl

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was so knowledgeable, and so accommodating! I only wish she had a microphone on so that she could have described what we were seeing as we rode by, we missed a lot at the end of our trip.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Brad E

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour guide was efficient and well informed but 12 riders to one guide seemed like too many to be responsible for. For a 3 hour ride I required a few more rest stops! This was a good way to see a lot of Vienna in a few hours!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Brad E

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The guide was efficient and well informed about Vienna, however I felt that 12 riders to one guide was too many considering the high traffic and pedestrians around. I also needed more than two short breaks in a three hour tour. This was a great way to see Vienna in a short amount of time!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

DANA I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful music in beautiful setting.

Doing what: Mozart Requiem Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Isabelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good but do not hesitate to take a ticket to be at the front. Sound is not as good as I though it would be... and a warm jumper!

Doing what: Mozart Requiem Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Sayat T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing professionals. Guide was so helpful and understanding. Helping with every single issue. Highly recommend! Thank You very much. looking forward to coming back to Vienna! :

Doing what: Private Vienna Half-Day Small-Group Tour: City Landmarks and Highlights

Jana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to see the city. Horst was an amazing guide.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

hglgutch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Mozart Requiem was well performed by the choir, orchestra, and soloists. It was sold out, glad we had tickets. We enjoyed the concert and the church. Outside we were amazed at the beauty of the church in the reflecting pool as the sun set and the lights came on. Wonderful evening.

Doing what: Mozart Requiem Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Ana-Maria S Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Karlskirche is a must, you get to see it and hear such beautiful music, different from Mozart and Strauss.

Doing what: Vivaldi Four Seasons Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna

Mrs C T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Vienna. I had done a similar tour in Paris a few months ago. Luckily Vienna is a compact city, so we saw a lot in the three hours that we cycled. We were a little concerned that it might be very hot as the temperature was around 27C but much of the tour is under the shade of the trees. Our guide Renata, supplied us with interesting facts about the city as we stopped off in various places. Having done the Ring Tram the day before helped us to piece together where we had ridden. Perhaps a map of the route at the end of the tour might have been a nice idea. I highly recommend this as a way of seeing Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Leanne C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Unfortunately it was wet and cold but our guide Elizabeth was great

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message