Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Vienna Opera House (Staatsoper)

Staatsopera, the Vienna Opera, began in the early 18th century. Since then it has continuously produced performances every year. The building was opened in 1869, part of Franz Joseph's expansion of Vienna which has left such a magnificent legacy of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

iosif v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing restaurant, night trip on horse carriage to opera, imperial 1st row seats.1st class.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Ejvera05

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Horst was fantastic,. Very informative and very funny! We would do this bike tour and anything else the tour operator would lead in a heartbeat! Loved Vienna and all his restaurant recommendations

Doing what: Vienna Highlights Bike Tour

Nadia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

very uplifting concert! lovely night out.

I think that online description of Electronic Vouchers failed to explain that these vouchers have to be presented in the ticket office across the road from Opera House, so that you get SEAT NUMBERS.
We discovered it just by chance. Seat numbers are important - we were presented with available choices and selected the best available at the time ( morning of the concert day).

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

VIJAPURAPU V L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Dinner at Bristol Lounge was very good- meal was good and staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful! Vienna Mozart orchestra concert was excellant and Vienna opera house was amaging!! We both, my wife and I enjoyed the evening!

Doing what: Vienna Mozart Evening: Gourmet Dinner and Concert at the Vienna Opera House

Camelia Rizea Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was an interesting experience! The concert at the State Opera of Vienna shouldn't be missed!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

kiwibuddy1 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Absolutely amazing! Do not see myself as an "opera guy! ... more Grand Old Opry, lol ... but this was incredible. Historical costumes, 18th century palace, magical evening. This is what heaven will sound like.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Colette W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This tour was a blast-Vienna is a great city for pedaling on a bike. The weather was cooperative and the guide was thourough-I would do this again in any city, except maybe San Francisco. People-guides need the TIPS!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Isobel D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

At last I got to sit in the Opera House, and Viator made it possible!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A perfect evening at the Opera, and great seats too!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

AngelDisney Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We enjoyed the concert with its variety of musical pieces being played, particularly my favourite Blue Danube and the Magic Flute. The conductor was fun and got the entire audience involved in clapping with the music. Though its performance is not as good as that of the Schönbrunn Palace concert, it is worthwhile to experience a concert in such beautiful opera house and also get a complimentary CD. It is a bit disappointing that the CD was not for each person, but for each party attended the concert.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Ian B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The cycle tour was a great way to see the highlights of central Vienna. I certainly recommend the tour but I would make the following 2 points which seem to appear on other reviews:
1. Some participants still went to the wrong corner of the Opera house, the tour waited for them and caused everybody to lose 30 minutes of the tour.
2. Initially we were told that 2 guides would take us but at the last minute only one guide looked after 15 people (mostly German) so the commentary was then predominantly in German and there was no translation of the answers given the time shortage.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Dorothy S Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

We missed the tour departure because we were waiting at the wrong corner of the Opera House....the corner Viator sent us to. One of the group walked all the way around the Opera House and was still unable to connect. Pedal Power advises that they have notified Viator of this problem previously. Fortunately, they were able to hook us up with their Segway tour and save the day. Go to the LEFT corner as you face the Opera House, not the right! Viator, get your act together!!!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

It was a pleasure to go to the state opera house, but the show was a little disappointing. Not enough real opera, which would have made the evening even more special.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Naomi S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Being in the Vienna State Opera is a memorable experience. Mozart is always delightful but overalls this was a kitschy, touristy concerns. Not for regular sophisticated concert goers. The consumes made it even more kitschy. And the prices wer too high for what the concert offer re.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Enza D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The concert location was NOT the state opera house...rather a less grand location several blocks away from the opera house. Also ...I was expecting a representation of a complete Mozart opera...not snippets of several of his works. The orchestra and male opera singer were good...the soprano ....not so much. Also the staff there was rather rude...but I found this to be the case throughout my visit in Vienna

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

MARK S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

There are many concerts like this one offered in Vienna.

Although the concert, costumes, and Opera singers were fairly good, the venue of the Opera House was MUCH too large and the acoustics were WAY below satisfaction due to the large amount of air/space. The string section simply got "lost".

I suggest future travelers pick a concert at another venue, which you offer, that will be much smaller and enjoyable.

Mark

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

smin United Arab Emirates

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

We expected it to be a fun ride through the city! The meeting point was a bit of a hassle as it was in front of Schillerpark and it took us a while. We later reached our point and found out to be exactly behind Le Meridien! Even the operator at City Bike tours didn't mention that. It's hard to find taxis and the tram is your best option.
Despite the rough start, me and my wife began our bike tour and our tour guide was Kasburg. He was friendly at first but later turned out to be rude and disappointing!! He was rushing the tour and hardly gave us enough time to take photos! We saw our fellow riders rushing to take photos along the way! He gave us just 10 mins to see the famous St. Stephen's Cathedral and 15 mins at the Hundertwasserhaus! Me and my wife went to pray at the cathderal and while we we returned to our spot, our tour guide was very rude for us being just 2 mins late. This was really disappointing! It's supposed to be a fun bike tour, not a strict timely military style ride!
Later, we went to the famous Mozart statue and we just saw it from a far distance and he didn't even bother to allow us to take photos! Someone should tell this guide to be more polite and humble towards tourists! It was like as if he was doing us a favour! We pay for his salary! Don't waste time on this bike tour, its 80 riding the cycle and just 20 sightseeing! Disappointed!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

priyankas131

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The opera itself was great, but the seats we got by paying for Cat A were lousy. I would suggest booking directly on viennaconcerts or booking while in Vienna so you get good seats for the category you pay for.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message