Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Wachau Valley

The Wachau Valley, formed by the Danube River west of Vienna, is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Austria. The valley, located between the towns of Melk and Krems, has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000 and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jose was an excellent guide and we very much enjoyed the bike tour and our time in the Wachau Valley! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Silvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful, relaxed tour of the wine growing region of Wachau. Our guide, Dimos, was personable, knowledgeable and intelligent. The new Mercedes Benz 8 seater van was clean and comfortable. The tour was a great day trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sylvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great time meeting others and exploring the Wachau wine valley. Nice wine tasting and learning about the area. Definitely recommend for those wanting to do something outdoors and get outside the city.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Drcookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day with Stelios wine tasting, river touring, and hearing about the rich culture and history of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sangeetha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!
Although I am not an expert or an avid biker, I was able to do this trip almost 25 Kms of riding . Its well paced and we went through gorgeous wine yards and village of Dürnstein in the Wachau. The scenic route and good Austrian wines made it worth every penny.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mario was an excellent guide. He is knowledgeable, friendly and well prepared to explore the Wachau Valley. We learned much about the wines grown in this region as well as the history and culture of the area.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was AMAZING! Our tour guide, Eszter, was great, very friendly, funny and informative. Our group was small, 7 people including the guide, which was nice and a highlight of the tour, getting to know everyone. The Wachau Valley region is beautiful and on the tour you bike through the heart of the valley, the towns within the valley and the vineyards. It was an incredible experience an worth a day. I would do it again the next time I return to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Kyra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There are no words to say how much this tour should be recommended. To start with communicating with Viator in regards to my booking was great. I was traveling alone, but they not only contacted me through email - but checked in with my hotel. Honestly, if I had not done this tour my time in Vienna would have not been as exceptional and magical as it was. To begin with, our guide Mario was not only extremely knowledgeable of the Wachau wine region but was so gracious and so much fun. The day is so full. Our small group of four felt like a family at the end of the day! One word of advise, if you like wine, people, and a beautiful experience of the Wachau Valley you must partake in this beautiful tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

jonesc700

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really good tour even though the weather wasn't optimal. The guide Adam was very personable and with our smaller group, it was very informal and the group gelled very well. The scenery in the Wachau Valley is beautiful, and this is probably the best way to see/experience it. The lunch at the family winery house was a highlight, and the other winery stop was good although the winery itself was closed. There were a few ad-hoc moments on the tour, but all handled well - just need to check that the group doesn't get too far strung apart on the bikes. Would recommend this if you have a free day.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

patches5687

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bike tour was absolutely amazing with breathtaking views of the Wachau Valley, wonderful company, and amazing wine. Vera was extremely knowledgable regarding the wine and area, and even gave great recommendations for food, drinks, and sites in the area. Overall, I would recommend to anyone traveling to Vienna and looking for an activity during the day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ronald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fun trip, even in the rain! We were fortunate to have the owner of the tour company as our guide. He is a delightful young man who was a fantastic guide. He's very informed about the wines of the area as well as the geology and climate that contribute to the complexity of the wines. This is a bike trip much like the locals might undertake on weekend to the Wachau Valley. It's not a marathon bike ride by any means, nor is it intended to be. The bike trail from Krems runs alongside the main road and there are many local wineries that can be accessed from this trail. We happened to run into quite a bit of rain and rain ponchos were provided. The other two members in our tour were game as were we and none of us minded getting a bit wet! It was all part of the experience. The lunch on the tour was amazing. All of us commented on how delicious the steaks and sausages were! Our tour guide also introduced us to a drink peculiar to Austria and the Wachau Valley called Sturm! If you have a chance to try it, you should. It's only available during the crush and as billed, Austrians love this stuff. After our tour, we'd mention to waiters in restaurants that we'd been to the Wachau Valley and tried Sturm! Their eyes would light up and the normal Austrian reserve would melt away. We would do this tour again in a heart beat! Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Nancy v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Wachau Valley is lovely and our guide, Amir, was warm, informative and a pleasure to spend time with. He knows a lot about wine and we loved seeing the small family-owned wineries. The small village of Durnstein was lovely and I appreciated the time to wander. The food we had at lunch was wonderful. The only drawback was the rain during the boat trip but we were nice and dry inside and Amir provided excellent customer service, there to pick us up as we got off the boat. A trip highlight!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Vienna, and our favorite tour. Our two guides, Jose and Karin, were very knowledgeable and experienced not to mention patient. They took the time to get to know the group, and were very good at handling a large about 15 amount of cyclists. This tour offers the greatest sights you can get from the Wachau region, not to mention the wine tasting three stops, 3 glasses on each were quite good! The ride is about 18 km, but the terrain is plain and the pace is comfortable. If you do one thing at the outskirts of Vienna, this should be it.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Arnold R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Emir was a great guide! Our introduction to Wachau Valley wines was informative and fun. Great contrast to the historic center of Vienna. Views from Durstein and the Danube were awesome!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Michael P S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our Wachau Valley tour was outstanding. Our guide Stelios was personable and extremely knowledgable. The wine valley, midevil towns visted, the lunch spot and the river trip were all first class. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Not to be missed. Great tour of the Melk Abbey and the Wachau Valley via the Danube

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this wine tasting bike tour through the Wachau Valley in the beginning of August and loved every minute of it. The main guide was Vera and Jose was her assistant for the day. We initially were thinking of just renting bikes ourselves and finding our way around but I am glad that we took the organized tour. Vera and Jose were both very organized, knowledgeable and fun to be with. We met the other riders at their office in Vienna and then took a train ride out to the Wachau Valley. They had a large group of about 20 and were able to get everyone fitted on their bikes in no time. Then we had a safety demonstration and we were off to visit the wineries. We had a great day riding through the valley. It is an easy ride. We stopped at a Durnstein Castle and Jose gave us a brief history of this very famous place. The views were amazing! I think this was one of the best day trips that we have taken in Europe. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to get a little exercise while seeing one of the most beautiful places in Europe.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

gliderman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Stelios is a great guide. Very informed of all aspects of the tour and the Wachau area. There were 4 in our group. Max tour size was 7. Lots of interaction and the itinerary was just right. Thx Stelios.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

arlenelowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour!! The scenery was beautifuly and the weather was perfect for us. Going through the countryside, I had to pinch myself. Our tour guide was great and so was our lunch. Wine tasting was a bonus. Definitely got a workout in the most beautiful countryside in Wachau well worth it.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Jessica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Mario, was great. I was surprised to have an Italian tour guide in Wachau, but he knew his wines and was very personable. The small tour max size is 8 we had 7 and it is a nice pace with plenty of opportunity to taste local wines. The hour long cruise down the Danube was relaxing. I highly recommend Mario!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Dawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I agreed it was one of the highlights of our trek thru Eastern Europe! Wish we would have had more time so we could stop off in some of the cute villages we passed thru but we were a big group! The scenery was like something out of a movie set or a fairy tale. The Wachau Valley Is absolutely stunning! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Matt W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour to see a beautiful part of the world. Great wine sampled while viewing some lovely villages on a pleasant bike ride. The tour went off without a hitch and was well organized. Would highly recommend it for anyone that enjoys a nice ride through the wine country of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Anand N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was an extremely satisfying trip and the whole day was enjoyable. The town the food at Wachau and the cruise at the end was such a pleasure and simply tireless. Credit goes to guide Mario.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Kathryn Jean O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a fantastic day with Stelios in the Wachau Valley! In spite of a few rain drops here and there, our day was sunny tasting wine with new friends from all over the world. So relaxing traveling with a small group of people and having Stelios share his knowledge of this wine region.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. We went in May 2015. Colder, kinda dreary day. Biking along the danube and in the wachau valley was surreal. Knowledgeable tour guide. made it very fun for us. This should be a priority if you visit vienna

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message