Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Wachau Valley

The Wachau Valley, formed by the Danube River west of Vienna, is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Austria. The valley, located between the towns of Melk and Krems, has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000 and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rakitha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent day out in the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube, highly recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Neil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Wachau Valley Bike Tour was one of the real highlights of our trip. We were paired with 11 or 12 other bikers and rode about 16 miles along the Danube and through wine country. On the way we stopped for two wine tastings 3-4 samples each and lunch. Our tour leader, James, was fabulous and added to the fun for the day. The group asked to stop and a third winery and James was happy to extend our trip, even though it was well past the scheduled time. This is a must-do trip!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous! Beautiful country and wine tastings with 3-5 tastings at three distinctly different wineries. Wines were good and a great introduction to the grapes of the Wachau Valley. Guides were awesome and winery hosts very pleasant and informative. Logistics were well organized from meeting at the Vienna office to trains and bike rentals. Nice city bikes too!
One of the best highlights of our Austrian trip. Highly recommend this tour and this company!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you enjoy beautiful scenery and good company with wine tastings, this tour is for you. On a sunny September day, our guide Stelios shared his knowledge of Vienna, the journey to the Wachau Valley, history and wine knowledge of the area. In addition to tastings at two wineries, we spent time in the Danube River town of Durnstein, lunched at another winery and cruised for an hour to Melk Abbey. We arrived back in Vienna late afternoon after a wonderful informative day. Thank you Stelios!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One would assume that traveling to the beautiful Wachau Valley on a gorgeous Sept day for sightseeing and wine tasting would be just about perfect... and one would be correct in that assumption. What made this trip particularly memorable, however, was our guide, Stylianos, and his ability to bring 8 strangers together and make us all feel like we've been friends for years. He had exceptional interpersonal skills and a tremendous wealth of knowledge in his subject manner. All of us felt very comfortable sharing thoughts and opinions with one another, something not always easy to do when you have 8 people coming from diverse backgrounds. It was a day shared with new friends enjoying the beautiful Austrian countryside, sampling some wonderful wines and capped off with a scenic boat ride on the Danube, all perfectly orchestrated by Stylianos. He is certainly a great ambassador for Vienna Explorer Tours and Day Trips. Thank you, Stylianos, for a great day!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Chris S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Before you book this tour, check where the Wachau Valley is in relation to Vienna. That will help you understand the different components of the tour and avoid the disappointment expressed in some comments appearing in other reviews. On our day the weather was fine, all the arrangements worked, the guides were friendly and forthcoming. We were not disappointed.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Riding a bike through the beautiful Wachau Valley with its charming villages, vineyards, and the lovely Danube was a fantastic experience. I'm so glad that I booked the trip. There were 14 bikers and our great male guide who was attentive and thoughtful the entire day. The bikes are comfortable and the gears are easy to change. We rode 24 kilometers but there were plenty of breaks so all levels of riders can have fun and make the journey.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a rainy day when we did our tour but it did not take any of the magic away from it! It was beautiful and amazing. Very fun experience and well organized. I definitely recommend this unique way of seeing the beautifu, Wachau valley while also getting to know it's wine culture.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Eban w as a generous and knowledgable guide. A good group who got to be friends in the course of the day. Wachau valley was breath takingly beautiful.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

srbussell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. We had a great time seeing the Wachau Valley by bike. You see and experience the towns much better by bike then by bus! We stopped at fun, local wineries and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Jason D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Melk is just something to do on a nice day. You will take some photos and have another excuse to drink cafe or wine in another setting. I had learn more about the Melk Abbey from the Wachau Valley Wine Bike Tour and from my general reading. The Abbey sells a lot of stuff like wine but does not mentioned the monks made wine in their free time nor where. They don't mentioned anything about selling an original bible to Yale that went to Harvard. All you see is mostly smoke and mirrors display of relics that are mostly important to the local Catholics. Many references on the relics are not so believable. There is no mention of the book or movie Name of the Rose that uses Melk as a setting when you figure the period of powerful bishops and monks, making money to support their general work.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jose was an excellent guide and we very much enjoyed the bike tour and our time in the Wachau Valley! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Silvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful, relaxed tour of the wine growing region of Wachau. Our guide, Dimos, was personable, knowledgeable and intelligent. The new Mercedes Benz 8 seater van was clean and comfortable. The tour was a great day trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sylvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great time meeting others and exploring the Wachau wine valley. Nice wine tasting and learning about the area. Definitely recommend for those wanting to do something outdoors and get outside the city.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Drcookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day with Stelios wine tasting, river touring, and hearing about the rich culture and history of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sangeetha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!
Although I am not an expert or an avid biker, I was able to do this trip almost 25 Kms of riding . Its well paced and we went through gorgeous wine yards and village of Dürnstein in the Wachau. The scenic route and good Austrian wines made it worth every penny.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mario was an excellent guide. He is knowledgeable, friendly and well prepared to explore the Wachau Valley. We learned much about the wines grown in this region as well as the history and culture of the area.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was AMAZING! Our tour guide, Eszter, was great, very friendly, funny and informative. Our group was small, 7 people including the guide, which was nice and a highlight of the tour, getting to know everyone. The Wachau Valley region is beautiful and on the tour you bike through the heart of the valley, the towns within the valley and the vineyards. It was an incredible experience an worth a day. I would do it again the next time I return to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Kyra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There are no words to say how much this tour should be recommended. To start with communicating with Viator in regards to my booking was great. I was traveling alone, but they not only contacted me through email - but checked in with my hotel. Honestly, if I had not done this tour my time in Vienna would have not been as exceptional and magical as it was. To begin with, our guide Mario was not only extremely knowledgeable of the Wachau wine region but was so gracious and so much fun. The day is so full. Our small group of four felt like a family at the end of the day! One word of advise, if you like wine, people, and a beautiful experience of the Wachau Valley you must partake in this beautiful tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

jonesc700

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really good tour even though the weather wasn't optimal. The guide Adam was very personable and with our smaller group, it was very informal and the group gelled very well. The scenery in the Wachau Valley is beautiful, and this is probably the best way to see/experience it. The lunch at the family winery house was a highlight, and the other winery stop was good although the winery itself was closed. There were a few ad-hoc moments on the tour, but all handled well - just need to check that the group doesn't get too far strung apart on the bikes. Would recommend this if you have a free day.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

patches5687

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bike tour was absolutely amazing with breathtaking views of the Wachau Valley, wonderful company, and amazing wine. Vera was extremely knowledgable regarding the wine and area, and even gave great recommendations for food, drinks, and sites in the area. Overall, I would recommend to anyone traveling to Vienna and looking for an activity during the day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ronald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fun trip, even in the rain! We were fortunate to have the owner of the tour company as our guide. He is a delightful young man who was a fantastic guide. He's very informed about the wines of the area as well as the geology and climate that contribute to the complexity of the wines. This is a bike trip much like the locals might undertake on weekend to the Wachau Valley. It's not a marathon bike ride by any means, nor is it intended to be. The bike trail from Krems runs alongside the main road and there are many local wineries that can be accessed from this trail. We happened to run into quite a bit of rain and rain ponchos were provided. The other two members in our tour were game as were we and none of us minded getting a bit wet! It was all part of the experience. The lunch on the tour was amazing. All of us commented on how delicious the steaks and sausages were! Our tour guide also introduced us to a drink peculiar to Austria and the Wachau Valley called Sturm! If you have a chance to try it, you should. It's only available during the crush and as billed, Austrians love this stuff. After our tour, we'd mention to waiters in restaurants that we'd been to the Wachau Valley and tried Sturm! Their eyes would light up and the normal Austrian reserve would melt away. We would do this tour again in a heart beat! Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Nancy v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Wachau Valley is lovely and our guide, Amir, was warm, informative and a pleasure to spend time with. He knows a lot about wine and we loved seeing the small family-owned wineries. The small village of Durnstein was lovely and I appreciated the time to wander. The food we had at lunch was wonderful. The only drawback was the rain during the boat trip but we were nice and dry inside and Amir provided excellent customer service, there to pick us up as we got off the boat. A trip highlight!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Vienna, and our favorite tour. Our two guides, Jose and Karin, were very knowledgeable and experienced not to mention patient. They took the time to get to know the group, and were very good at handling a large about 15 amount of cyclists. This tour offers the greatest sights you can get from the Wachau region, not to mention the wine tasting three stops, 3 glasses on each were quite good! The ride is about 18 km, but the terrain is plain and the pace is comfortable. If you do one thing at the outskirts of Vienna, this should be it.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Arnold R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Emir was a great guide! Our introduction to Wachau Valley wines was informative and fun. Great contrast to the historic center of Vienna. Views from Durstein and the Danube were awesome!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message