There is so much to see in romantic Vienna, from Baroque palaces to world-class museums and classical concerts. And if that is not enough, any of the suggestions below make a diverting day trip from the city of Strauss and white horses. Wachau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One would assume that traveling to the beautiful Wachau Valley on a gorgeous Sept day for sightseeing and wine tasting would be just about perfect... and one would be correct in that assumption. What made this trip particularly memorable, however, was our guide, Stylianos, and his ability to bring 8 strangers together and make us all feel like we've been friends for years. He had exceptional interpersonal skills and a tremendous wealth of knowledge in his subject manner. All of us felt very comfortable sharing thoughts and opinions with one another, something not always easy to do when you have 8 people coming from diverse backgrounds. It was a day shared with new friends enjoying the beautiful Austrian countryside, sampling some wonderful wines and capped off with a scenic boat ride on the Danube, all perfectly orchestrated by Stylianos. He is certainly a great ambassador for Vienna Explorer Tours and Day Trips. Thank you, Stylianos, for a great day!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Judith Levy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

lovely day trip outside of Vienna. There were 18 people in our group - ages ranged from about 20 to 63 years. Jose was a great guide. - Biking was relatively easy and pleasant. The views of the vineyards and Danube were beautiful. Most of the vineyards cultivate grapes for white wine. Many of the people in our group had been traveling around European cities and were glad to spend the day outside the city getting fresh air and relaxing and seeing some of the countryside up close. i highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Joel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this because my flight left at 6:30 the next morning and I needed a simple and reliable way to see something other than Vienna. Exactly as advertised. A day trip is not sufficient for Salzburg and the area, but if it's all the time you have this is the way to do it. The Guide Ava was superb, and the ride comfortable and scenic.

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent Day Trip from Vienna - recommend getting the boat back. Unfortunately my guide Bruno was terrible - our group was split into two - apparently the other guide Sonia was excellent.

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

Kate R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic day trip! Bus trip was quick and clean. Tour was just long enough, guide was very knowledgeable. Easy walk. Took the boat back which allowed a little more time to explore on our own, about 3 hours of sightseeing on our own time. The only thing I would have changed is to let us know where bathrooms/coffee shops are available before the bus departs Vienna. I got picked up from the hotel about an hour before we left and there were a couple stops to pick up more folks before we got underway. But overall, I'm so happy I decided to add this to my trip to Vienna. It's a real gem

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

fran c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day riding with our small group through the valley.
A perfect day trip from Vienna.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Liv United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Budapest day trip was fantastic! The tour guides were friendly and told us interesting facts and history on the way to Budapest and whilst there. There was an accident on the road that day which delayed us by an hour which in the end didn't effect the trip. We still had personal time to explore the place before going back to Vienna. The tour guide also took us to a nice restaurant where the food was delicious and you can either pay in euros or forints but be aware if you pay in euros you will get change in forints. Overall, it was a great day, I learnt a lot and already want to go back to spend more time in that beautiful city.

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

IRINA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a nice trip, but I did not realize that it is far away from Vienna. You should make a call the day before to confirm pick up time, because they pick up people from different hotels and bring them to the bus. So your pick up time is much earlier the departure time. Be aware of it. Out of 14 hours of the day trip it was about 4 hours in Prague. I hope one day to get back to this beautiful city to spend more time and enjoy it.

Doing what: Prague Day Trip from Vienna

Kaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day trip from Vienna. There were so many shops and places to see we thought the free time we were given wasn't enough. We also wished that we were given a city map so navigating the city would have been easier, especially we had to find our way back to the starting point on our own not an easy grid to follow without one. Overall we were glad that we took the trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was excellent....our guides were wonderful....would recommend to anyone looking for an enjoyable day trip from Vienna.

Doing what: Salzburg Small-Group Day Trip from Vienna with Luxury Transport

Madalina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful day trip from Vienna! The bus leaves at 10 am after it collects all the passengers and returns around 6 pm. The boat ride was 1.5 hours and we were able to eat on the boat. It's a very large boat restaurant with a top open deck. The top deck gets full very quickly. If you are a non smoker, I would suggest you stay inside, otherwise there is a strong smell of cigarette smoke on the deck. Everybody smokes there. That was one of the annoying parts of our entire trip.
Also, make sure you order water and ice instead of just water, or you will pay 2 euros for a small glass water bottle that you can't even carry with you for refil, because they don't leave you the lid....
The Melk Abbey was beautiful, our guide was very knowledgeable, although difficult to understand at times.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

SUSAN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent day trip to Bratislava....confortable coach journey,excellent guide and lovely boat trip back to Vienna,although we were so lucky with weather!! Everything went very smoothly.

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

CARLOS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a wonderful easy day trip from Vienna. The bus ride is very informative and the boat trip is scenic and lovely. Drinks and snacks are available on the boat. The Abbey is impressive and the grounds and panoramic views of Melk are breathtaking. I highly recommend this tour. Note of caution: the bus leaves from the actual bus terminal, NOT from a Viator office. Walk toward the end of the terminal to locate your particular tour guide and group identified by a sign indicating destination/language.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this wine tasting bike tour through the Wachau Valley in the beginning of August and loved every minute of it. The main guide was Vera and Jose was her assistant for the day. We initially were thinking of just renting bikes ourselves and finding our way around but I am glad that we took the organized tour. Vera and Jose were both very organized, knowledgeable and fun to be with. We met the other riders at their office in Vienna and then took a train ride out to the Wachau Valley. They had a large group of about 20 and were able to get everyone fitted on their bikes in no time. Then we had a safety demonstration and we were off to visit the wineries. We had a great day riding through the valley. It is an easy ride. We stopped at a Durnstein Castle and Jose gave us a brief history of this very famous place. The views were amazing! I think this was one of the best day trips that we have taken in Europe. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to get a little exercise while seeing one of the most beautiful places in Europe.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Probably the best tour we did in our 10 day trip. You should definitely take the time to do this. Again the guide made it very enjoyable. This was handled through Vienna Explorer. The group was small we had 7 people. The mini van was very comfortable. The trip to Melk was an hour long and enjoyed seeing the monastary. Then off to tast wine. Again our guide was very informed and the vineyards he chose were quite tasty. We got to see the countryside and stopped in the little town of Durnstein.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If in Vienna,definitely do this day trip to historical Bratislava,the food was nice also

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

MARIBELLE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was great. From Vienna, a day trip to Salzburg through the stunning Austrian alps and lakes is spectacular! The side trip to Gilgen island, a picturesque village aka "Mozart Village" was an added delight.

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

cortni419

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I absolutely recommend this tour. We were in Vienna for only 3 days and did this tour on one of them and were so happy we made that decision. This city is absolutely overlooked. It's a perfect city for a day trip, beautiful and a lot of history that I didn't know much about at all. Great guide too!

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

Kelly J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of my two-week trip this summer. Stelios, our guide, was probably one of the most amazing, intelligent guides I have ever had on any tour with the accommodating personality to match. The scenic drive to the Wachau was lovely in a small Mercedes van with our group. The wines coming from the Wachau are really crisp and fresh, and the tastings were informative as each winery took its time in explaining its individual process to us. Lunch at a traditional tavern in the countryside was lovely. This is the perfect day trip from Vienna-- a must for all wine lovers!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Meaghan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was amazing! If you are in Vienna you should definitely take this day trip! Salzburg was wonderful and the views and stops along the countryside on the way to Salzburg was wonderful also! Loved!

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

Karmen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! The guideways interesting and knowledgeable, and Bratislava is intriguing. An easy day trip from Vienna.

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

PETER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The day was fantastic, great service from Vienna Sightseeing. Melk Abbey was unbelievable, had a great lunch there. The day trip was a major highlight of our 10 days in Vienna

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Larry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I took the day trip to Budapest from Vienna on the 28th of November 2013. I have never been to Budapest and wanted to take a quick day trip there and this tour really impressed me. The tour will arrange for a pickup at your hotel, but just make sure you are ready on time. The bus was VERY clean and comfortable and the ride to Budapest was only a couple of hours. Elizabeth was our tour guide and she did a fantastic job in taking care of the details of the trip and was always advising us on places to go and where to meet up. The trip started on the Pest side of town at "Hero's Square", where we were able to get out and spend some time taking pictures. We then went to eat at the Buda side of the city and got to see some beautiful views of the city and visited Fisherman's Bastion where the views of the Hungarian Parliament were just incredible. We then went downtown and had a couple of hours to explore Budapest. I walked the Chain Bridge and went to the Christmas Market. I consider myself a pretty experienced traveler and I was going to take the train from Vienna to Budapest for a day, but I estimated that it would have taken longer to see the sites I wanted to see in Budapest if I would have taken the train. I also have heard the Budapest metro system authorities can easily ruin a trip to the city and I wanted to avoid them. This tour is well worth the money if you are in Vienna and want to tack on a day in Budapest. I got to see all the sites I wanted to see and I got a good feel of Budapest. Next time I will travel there by myself. I am so glad I took this trip. "Köszönöm" Viator

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A beautiful day trip from Vienna! We enjoyed the scenic cruise from Spitz to Melk. The abbey tour was interesting, and we appreciated the unguided time to spend in the marvelous church. A nice, no-hassle way to enjoy this area.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message