Vienna is a city awash with history, culture and music, ornate palaces, fabulous museums and galleries and it’s impossible to catch everything in one visit. Taking a tour guarantees that you’ll see all the amazing sights, and as all these walks are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My girlfriend and I took this tour at the beginning of our first full day in Vienna in the hope that it would help familiarise ourselves with the city and give us some ideas of the hotspots to visit on our first visit to Austria...it definitely did not disappoint. Our guide, although we didn't manage to catch his name, was informative and very entertaining and we felt as if, after the 2.5 hours, we were well acquainted with the city, its history and its quirks and best qualities.

We would definitely highly recommend this tour as a way to get to know Vienna or maybe find out some historical and cultural information you maybe didn't already know.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our hotel pickup was on time and after been taking to a central trip changeover point we were on our way for the historical tour based on the ring Strass

We received good information on each spot as we passed
The Palace visit was very good even allowing for all the other people there at the same time
This is an exceptional palace and needs several days to do it justice

The tour ended at the opera house and we continued on our own to St Stephens square for lunch

Needed to head back to our hotel to get ready for our evening dinner and concert

See my next posting

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

lbryantbogard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic Tour Guide! Very knowledgeable!! During the Historic Tour she constantly repeated herself to make sure we got the information. She always asked if there was any questions. Inside of the Schonbrunn Palace she kept the group together. As she was giving explanations, she would pause when another group mingled with ours because it caused an interruptions on the earphones. After the group passed, she would continue. She was great!!!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Tanya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Horst was a wonderful tour guide -- he quickly showed us the highlights of the First District while entertaining us with historical facts and memorable stories. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Russ H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent orientation tour of Vienna. The tour guide was very friendly and entertaining. The pace was good and the guide gave us a lot of background and historical information that made the event well worthwhile. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

T CROWLEY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was wonderful showing us many hidden parts of the city. He catered for all ages a granny me, my daughter, my grand daughter aged 8, newly weds plus 4 young people of different nationalities who had just arrived in Vienna on work placements. He gave us a very informed insight of Vienna on our 3 hour cycle.
Having been born in the city and lived there all his life his knowledge, historical facts and topical stories were a delight to listen to, we really enjoy our day.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Laurence W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were very pleased with this walking tour. Not only did the guide (I can't remember his name) know the movie very well, but he also gave a nice brief historical overview of the war as a backdrop of the movie. We highly recommend this tour which takes you through the streets of Vienna. Very charming!

Doing what: Vienna Walking Tour: In the Footsteps of 'The Third Man'

misticat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour with an excellent guide. Her intimate knowledge of historical events and of the city and its landmarks kept us entertained throughout the duration. Her professionalism and dedication were readily apparent. The tour provided us with a detailed overview of the city and palace. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lazlo, our guide was excellent! We moved at a comfortable pace and received individual attention to our questions . The "strudle stop" was especially enjoyable (and delicious). In spite of next-day festival preparations at Heroes Square and crowds at the castle venue which was set up with festival vendors, it actually presented additional photo ops for our group. The two underground transport legs gave us comfort to use the system later. Lazlo's "language lessons" were also helpful, as was his historical viewpoint, having lived under communism and learning Russian in school to age twelve, followed by English after the velvet revolution. A great way to acclimate one's self to Badapest.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

gabby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a very good, energetic, informative and knowledgeable guide, Natalie Bauer (I think)..She filled us on the archetectural, cultural and historical details of the sites that she took us on the walking tour. Very enjoyable tour, I would not hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting, insightful and entertaining. Even though it was pouring with rain, our guide kept us enthralled with the history of Vienna. His humour engaged us. Gave us a sense of how the city linked together both geographically and historically. Thank you

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Zamira O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well organised tour . Guide lady was perfect. Very knowledgable and did her job excellent. You have to see this historic place and everything before that that she was taking us to.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

UK2012 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Nice drive around the city center pointing out historical buildings, but the inside of the palace is not to be missed!

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Dale A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour for film buffs! Christopher presented photos of origional film locations and a great narration with not only film info but historical as well. There is a pleasant suprise at the end of the tour!

Doing what: Vienna Walking Tour: In the Footsteps of 'The Third Man'

Laurie Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Covered every historical part of Vienna. The guide was as professional as you can get. His commentray was very informative and his sense of humour great. We got plenty of info and plenty of laughs. Marko gave us history as well as glimpses into the present in Vienna. Perhaps the only downside was the very short tour of inside the Schonbrunn. Although very good it was the shortened version which was not known until you entered the Palace. In all though only a minor point in a magnificent tour with the world's greatest guide.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

As a first time visitor to Vienna I found this tour invaluable as a tool to get orientated and soak up the riches of historical facts supplied by the tour guide.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Gary K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was not a long tour, but it was great, hitting most of the high points in central Vienna, including the government, historical, and cultural institutions. The tour was in both German and English, and the guide split the group but gave complete descriptions to both. The pacing was very good, and the guide was very careful to take advantage of bike lanes where available, and to walk through pedestrian areas when necessary. I would absolutely recommend this, and perhaps even suggest the longer afternoon tour as well.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Margaret J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Highly informative historical city tour and very interesting visit to the magnificent Schonbrunn Palace and impressive gardens. Great trip thanks to knowledgeable tour guide and considerate coach driver.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Yumi S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour of Schonbrunn Palace was wonderful, but I would rather walk around the city to see the historical sights than through the bus window.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Noah K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Walter was terrific. He provided excellent historical commentary with an excellent sense of humor. It never felt like too much walking. The location for the start of the tour was a little out of the way. This tour plus opera house on your own is all you need to get a feel for Vienna!

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Jacqueline G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Thomas, was friendly and very knowledgable about the local history. The palaces visited were impressive and very pretty. The tour of Schonbrunn Palace was okay, but can be a bit difficult, particularly if crowded. I would have preferred to spend more time at Belvedere Palace. However, this is a good way to get a historical view of the city.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

DONALD C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the historical tour and guide took us through the palace. Huge palace with very large courtyard and the garden in back was a couple of football fields. Well maintained. Enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Sara C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Pick up from the hotel was 35 minutes late so we were concerned and had to get the hotel to phone. Apparently the pick up that morning for all our group and others was a fiasco. However the guide for our trip around historic Vienna and the State Apartments of the Schonbrunn Palace was really good and the tour itself was excellent and we thoroughly recommend this. The delayed start meant that we had little time to explore the gardens of the Schonbrunn or take a train ride around the grounds. A beautiful sunny day and the quality of our guide did make this a really worthwhile day.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Dee United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour is great because it gives an overview of many historical sites in Vienna and of the Schonbrunn Palace. After the tour you will probably want to go back so you can spend more time visiting the sites mentioned during the tour at your leisure.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Nayeni F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The Schonbrunn Palace was very beautiful and a must see in Vienna as it is part of the historical past of not only Vienna but other European Countries as well. The guide was good and her explanations had a touch of humour. We were picked up from our Hotel but dropped off somewhere else and had a bit of trouble finding our way to our Hotel.

Doing what: Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message