Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 426 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you enjoy beautiful scenery and good company with wine tastings, this tour is for you. On a sunny September day, our guide Stelios shared his knowledge of Vienna, the journey to the Wachau Valley, history and wine knowledge of the area. In addition to tastings at two wineries, we spent time in the Danube River town of Durnstein, lunched at another winery and cruised for an hour to Melk Abbey. We arrived back in Vienna late afternoon after a wonderful informative day. Thank you Stelios!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Joanne T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a gorgeous experience this was. Our guide, Stylianos, was absolutely delightful. His knowledge and sophisticated warmth made this a premier experience on our trip to this gorgeous location. The vineyards are breathtaking and the wine tastings at just the right pace. A wonderful experience with an outstanding professional guide. Don't miss this one.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Katherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderfully relaxing and informative day. Marco was the perfect guide, friendly with a sense of humor, knowledgeable, and able to create a friendly environment among a small group of strangers. The day was very well paced, stops selected all very interesting, wine tastings perfect, and the variety of activities made the day very special. Well worth it even though the Danube wasn't blue.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

mhmyrah Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The right amount of exercise and wine tasting.
Our guide Jose was good. He kept us organized and safe which was a bit tricky as one couple wasn and #39;t very comfortable riding bikes.
The biking is fairly flat and easy. A serious cyclist might find it too slow and boring.
recommended if you can bike

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Debbie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour was wonderful!! Jeffrey, our guide, was absolutely amazing. He was incredibly knowledgeable, delightful to be with and gave us a great family outing. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Vienna. We learned about the regional wines and tasted some great bottles and were treated to a great spread of cheese and other delights at one of the bars. Run, don't walk!

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

jgrupski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This bike tour was one of the highlights of our trip to
Austria. There was a group of about 14 of us. We met at a bike shop and jumped on a train ride approx. an hour long. The bike garage was within walking distance from the train station. We were all given helmets and off we went. Beautiful, stunning scenery. It was early in the summer so the grapes were very small, but the vineyards were breathtaking. We made 3 stops at wineries all white wines. We also stopped at a very nice outdoor restaurant for lunch, food was good and we had a short time to shop in the nearby village. Mario was very informative, and safety was a priority. This bike ride was not too strenuous, although there were a few small hills. Water was not provided, so be prepared to bring your own drinks. We arrived back at the train station about 7:15 that evening.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Dom was the best! He was a very professional and considerate guide. The wine is delicious as is the scenery. A great experience all around.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Mario was a great guide Some good wines and excellent food too.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Gordon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip,well worth doing. The vineyards were stunning and the wine tastings exceptional. Our guide, Stelios, was very informative and went well out of his way to make sure our trip was fantastic. Really enjoyed the trip up the Danube and seeing Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is absolutely incredible! If you like wine, cycling and beautiful scenery, then I'd highly recommend this tour. Our guide was fantastic, the tour was incredibly well organised and the amount of free time, cycling and wine tasting was perfect.

It was truly idyllic - AMAZING. Lunch is also lovely and you can enjoy free time to explore a quaint Austrian village, relax on the beach of the Danube River and shop for souvenirs. We loved every minute!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very fun trip. Our guide was great, the scenery was gorgeous and the wine was delicious. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Neil J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day out. Good company, beautiful landscapes, ancient vines and lovely wines. Easy riding along the banks of the Danube and our guide James was excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Judith Levy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

lovely day trip outside of Vienna. There were 18 people in our group - ages ranged from about 20 to 63 years. Jose was a great guide. - Biking was relatively easy and pleasant. The views of the vineyards and Danube were beautiful. Most of the vineyards cultivate grapes for white wine. Many of the people in our group had been traveling around European cities and were glad to spend the day outside the city getting fresh air and relaxing and seeing some of the countryside up close. i highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Neil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Wachau Valley Bike Tour was one of the real highlights of our trip. We were paired with 11 or 12 other bikers and rode about 16 miles along the Danube and through wine country. On the way we stopped for two wine tastings 3-4 samples each and lunch. Our tour leader, James, was fabulous and added to the fun for the day. The group asked to stop and a third winery and James was happy to extend our trip, even though it was well past the scheduled time. This is a must-do trip!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Doug O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had such a great time on this tour. Our guide, Ace, was awesome in every way. He was very knowledgeable about the wines, the region, the history and did a good job of making everyone feel welcome and safe. The lunch was perfect and all taken care of by Ace well in advance so we didn't have to wait long once at the restaurant. The bike ride was easy and we were never riding more than about 20 minutes between wineries. This was by far the best experience we have had in all our travels in Europe and would recommend this to anyone and everyone. Thanks for such a great day, Ace!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

srbussell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. We had a great time seeing the Wachau Valley by bike. You see and experience the towns much better by bike then by bus! We stopped at fun, local wineries and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day touring and tasting with Mario. I'm a red wine fan and found this white wine region to be excellent. Small group tour made the experience more enjoyable. Cruising the Danube on a foggy, misty day made it memorable.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jodie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highlight of my trip! Jose was an amazing guide.mwine was delicious, the scenery was amazing. Unreal value. Do this trip and tip generously!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a rainy day when we did our tour but it did not take any of the magic away from it! It was beautiful and amazing. Very fun experience and well organized. I definitely recommend this unique way of seeing the beautifu, Wachau valley while also getting to know it's wine culture.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Duane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable and informative. Nice relaxing pace. Stelios had wonderful info for wine tasting!

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour, Melk Abbey Visit and Wine Tastings from Vienna

Isabel B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Horst was an entertaining, enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. The tour was an excellent overall introduction to Vienna's history, architecture, green space and café culture. The pace was brisk but leisurely enough to soak in the relevant facts about important monuments and other points of interests. Horst is truly proud of his city and interesting anecdotes were included during our tour hidden underground wine cellars for example. After two and a half hours of walking, hunger set in and Horst
recommended an excellent local restaurant away from the tourist trap! Highly recommend this tour and the guide.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day out. Picked up from our hotel by coach at 08:45. Guide was very entertaining, speaking English, German and French. Spitz was beautiful, the boat trip allowed you to relax and take in the scenery with a range of beers, wine, cold and hot drinks. Did not order food as we chose to eat in the restaurant at Melk Abbey, which was wonderful and reasonably priced. The tour of the Abbey was excellent and abbey guide was easy to understand, speaking English and German and was very knowledgable when asked questions. All in all a highly recommended tour, well worth the money.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ofer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

was great! the combination of touring this beautiful valley by bikes stopping to taste wines and do some walk in the old village is a true winner .The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of our favourite tours throughout Europe. Our guide Giovanni was excellent. It was a fun way to explore the beautiful countryside. It was very special to visit the very small wineries and receive such personalised attention. We had wine tastings that weren't available to the general public. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message