Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 462 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joeline A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Augustinerkeller is an amazing place. For the price we paid it was quite reasonable. We had an expert server explaining the 4 types of wine we tasted and we were also served with some local appetisers. The place is beautiful!

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Wine Tasting in a Traditional Augustinerkeller

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was in neighborhoods near the Naschmarket. The tour was so small that in fact, it ran with just my husband and me. Our tour guide was Jeffrey, a Canadian and a trained sommelier. He took us to four wine bars that were quite varied, in size, personality and offerings. One was in the Naschmarket with the hustle and bustle of tourists and locals, then to a tiny one that opens in late afternoon, one that only serves sparkling wines and one that also served some food cheese and sausage to snack on. We tried about a half dozen wines in our tour and had a very mellow evening afterwards!. Jeffrey taught us much about different types of Austrian wine, production methods, wine regions and gave us a handout to help us remember where and what we learned. His enthusiasm was contagious. We were able to feel competent ordering wine for the rest of our stay in Vienna. I would definitely recommend this tour as a good way to introduce yourself to local vinoculture!

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

Wai C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good tour. Had an amazing day tasting different wines. Highly recommend to everyone :)

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

juliemachak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Philip was our instructor and was very patient and fun. When we arrived we were offered to buy a glass of wine or champange before the start of the lesson. Then lesson lasted about an hour and went by in a blink because we had so much fun. My husband and I enjoyed this way more than we thought we would.

Doing what: Explore Vienna: Daily Waltz Dance Lessons for Couples

Lindsey Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a very fun tour along the river and through the vineyards. We had opportunities to stop for some photos, but not much time to walk around in the small towns. We only visited two wineries, but drank a lot of wine! We had a nice lunch together in a restaurant. We also had a chance to hike up to see some ruins and amazing views. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

junkmgpf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best tours we have ever taken. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable of the wines we tasted and the vineyards we visited. And it truly was a small group with just 6 of us. We also visited the Melk Abbey instead of the river cruise because we were late in the season and I have to say, I was glad we weren't able to do the cruise as the Abbey was wonderful. We have been on many wine tasting tours and this was by far the best.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Brian.c.johnson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jeffrey was fantastic. Very knowledgeable in Autrian wine. Would recommend this tour for wine geeks and newbies to the wonderful world of wine!

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

Susanne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a day trip from 9 am to 5 pm or so...Marco I think that's his name, our guide and driver, is very informative and entertaining...we enjoyed the vineyard as well as the lunch of cold cuts and wine...definitely recommend

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Reyer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Wachau Valley is wonderfully beautiful. James a great guide. We enjoyed the wine tasting.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Rachel O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Adam led a group trip with two of us on a cold, rainy day! He was friendly and knowledgeable and made the day feel like a day among friends rather than a tour - which for me is everything you could ask for when traveling abroad! He also made everything very seamless and travel easy. The scenery was absolutely stunning and I'm sure it would have been even better in good weather. But the provided ponchos made the rain pretty fine. The wine was delicious as was the lunch. All in all a great day, from the scenery to Adam's leadership.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

dekotwani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent Tour and Must Do!! Our Guide Took wonderful care of everyone. Cycle was good and comfortable. Veg Lunch was good
At the Wine tasting session we were given information related to wine and Valley in general

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

sj.nift

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great tour, and Marco was a great guide too. A small group, makes it well as one doesnt waste time waiting for everyone to come, the information is well delivered and it is not crowded too. We went for two wine tasting places. The lunch stop was also a very good place that offered good food and wines. The Durnstein village was quite beautiful too!

Highly recommend it to all as its worth experiencing

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

lasantha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The whole experience was amazing. Stylianos is very personable guide that gave great information about the wine.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The bike-wine tour was excellent. We really enjoyed the tour with Jose he was extremely knowledgable about the region and personable. The bike ride was easy - riding along the river, in small towns and very small hills. The lunch stop was a nice break for local food and a hike to the castle and shopping. The swim in the Danube was a great break on a very HOT summer day. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Stanislas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing, even if it was really cold and windy, our guide MARCO was great and very knowledgable. He took the time to explain a lot of great things about the wine region. thank you so much!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our highlights of our 3 country trip. The wine valley is beautiful and it was a delightful day from beginning to end. And if you have decent cyclist on your tour you can take a dip in the Danube, Demos was knowledgeable and a wonderful host.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ken G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Just an amazing day! Beautiful scenery ... fun biking....great wine tasting, lunch and then a hike to the castle! Everything is handled so well by this company...our tour guide was great, as was the whole experience!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Timothy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Just do it. It is more about the white wine though.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

asiabryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a highlight of our trip to Vienna. The tour was very well organized and we really appreciated all the transportation was take care of. We just had to meet at the office location and the rest was taken care of. We had a larger group 19 ppl but it still felt very personable and our guide was fantastic. The bike ride was fairly easy with majority of it being flat with some hills. The break for lunch was great so each person could personalize their experience shopping, hiking, walking around. We made it to 2 wineries and both were fantastic. The wine was delicious! The Wachau Valley is spectacular and the scenery was so beautiful. Our guide stopped a few times during our ride so we could take pictures and he would also tell us bits of information. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes wine, enjoys a little exercise and wants to do something off the beaten path and not be a typical tourist. Cheers!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Gail H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice day on the Wachau with delicious wine and great information. You can't beat the scenery from the boat tour :

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Deborah Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an amazing time! Giovanni was an excellent host. The views were incredible, the wine superb and the biking enjoyable. We will recommend it to friends and family.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

See

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice place to visit. Friendly tour guide Mario Casalone. Good selection of wine tastings. It will be better if the wine paired with food/ tapas.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Delia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful time. Not being very fit, it was great that most of the time the riding was on flat ground. Our guide I think Jose was really good and friendly with everyone. We stopped four times, 3 to taste and once for lunch. At no time did we ever feel rushed. On the way back got caught in a lovely thunderstorm. Would highly recommend this to anyone who would love to spend the day sipping wine, beautiful countryside and cycling next to the Danube. You definitely don't need to be very fit to do this.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Tina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was so much fun! Our guide, Jose, was a blast and made the whole biking trip fun and educational when we were at each wine tasting. At some spots on the trail, the hills were a little tough, but nothing too crazy and definitely worth the sites. We also hiked up to some castle ruins. The hike was pretty intense, but had a clear pathway of stairs up the mountain. Also definitely worth the destination at the top. I highly recommend this to future Vienna visitors!!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Tina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was so much fun! Our guide, Jose, was a blast and made the whole biking trip fun and educational when we were at each wine tasting. At some spots on the trail, the hills were a little tough, but nothing too crazy and definitely worth the sites. We also hiked up to some castle ruins. The hike was pretty intense, but had a clear pathway of stairs up the mountain. Also definitely worth the destination at the top. I highly recommend this to future Vienna visitors!!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message