Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

romanjm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide and tour, good wine.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Mrs Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had booked this tour to celebrate my 60th Birthday.
We were part of a group of eight: two from the US, two from the UK, two from Finland and two from China.
The wine tastings were well presented with clear explanations. There was the option to not actually drink the wine once it had been tasted. Most of us drank ours but there wasn't really enough to cause any effect.
Lunch was very pleasant. I had the fish. Others had Wiener Schnitzel, Pork steak or Deep Fried Chicken - of which there was a lot!
Our Italian Guide, Mario, was really lovely and everything we expected, having read all the other reviews about him!
The Cruise was wonderful. Not many people on board and good facilities.
There were occasional announcements about points of interest - in English and German - but these were not intrusive.
We were reasonably lucky with the weather which is always a bonus.
We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was delightful. Jeff, our guide was excellent. The wines wonderful and wine bars so charming. So nice to be in a small group. If you have the time this is a great tour.

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

Rajat G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip was well organised. Guide was where the email said he would be. Everything was on time, no fuss.

Our guide Ace knew the wine, the region and took good care of the group, catering to different pace of different group members. The group was also a good size, not too small or too big.

The views and the scenery are great. The vineyards that we stopped at had pretty good wine. The lunch is an extra but was tasty and filling.

Only problem, it was extremely hot on the day of our tour. We were all getting tired and thirsty very quickly. Can't blame anyone for that, but we still enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to get out of the city! Tour was fantastic. Easy to do if you're a little fit and can ride a bike. Lots of tasty wine, exceptional scenery and I highly recommend the extra little hike up to the monastery. Well-priced, too.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Drcookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day with Stelios wine tasting, river touring, and hearing about the rich culture and history of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

logoswork

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was even better than we expected, and Marco was an excellent tour guide. Our small town visit and 2 wine tasting stops were perfect. A must do tour when in Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sylvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great time meeting others and exploring the Wachau wine valley. Nice wine tasting and learning about the area. Definitely recommend for those wanting to do something outdoors and get outside the city.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Silvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful, relaxed tour of the wine growing region of Wachau. Our guide, Dimos, was personable, knowledgeable and intelligent. The new Mercedes Benz 8 seater van was clean and comfortable. The tour was a great day trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Christy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fun and perfect way to see a bit of the Austrian wine country. We were placed in a great group, we laughed, rode bikes, ate lunch, drank wine, visited an adorable small village, and kept on laughing. The countryside was breathtaking gorgeous!!! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Holly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was fantastic and the scenery was stunning. It was a wonderful day learning about the history, land, and culture. The wine was a fabulous perk.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

didicapo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was wonderful. Our tour guide Ivan was very knowledgeable about wine.Riding though this beautiful area is a once in a lifetime experience .

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

kaylavickaryous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide and group members truly made this trip. We stopped at two wineries, walked around a beautiful village, and rode along the river. Highly recommend this all day excursion - getting out of the city for a day was just what we needed.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our Guide Jeffrey was great. Very knowledgable about Austrian wines and wine in general. A highlight of our trip to Vienna. Be prepared. You will consume a lot of wine before the tour is finished...

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

Honore R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great to get out of the city and enjoy the valley, wineries and the ride on the Danube. Small van trips are the best.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Mari K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Dominick was great. We loved the wineries and the restaurant we stopped at for lunch. Well worth the price of this tour! Would do again and would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

bkbaggs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful excursion. Our guide Stylianos was spectacular! He was very informative, interesting, and friendly. It was a beautiful region to visit. If you like dry white wines then you will definitely enjoy the wine tasting. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jonathan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was incredible. Beautiful sights and great wine. We did it in extreme heat and even then it was beautiful. Great way to get out of the city and experience something breathtaking

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

elizabeth m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dominic was a great host! Hottest day of the year and he made it fun and interesting. Climb to the top of the hill for the view was spectacular. Wine was wonderful! One of the best days of our trip!
Elizabeth

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Nancy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The most amazing experience ever. The guide knew so much about wine and grapes and the locations we stopped at were exceptional. I and #39;ll never forget this part of my trip to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Patrick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Austria. Josef was a wonderful guide. Biking along the Danube with vineyards and beautiful scenery....what's not to love? The wineries were wonderful, lunch was great, the other bikers fun and friendly. The biking was not too strenuous, but you will definitely work up a sweat. We had three in our party and everyone loved it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

mmacrow1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Need to be fit and wine was not the premium stuff.
But a good day away from cities and crowds.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Raymond J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Surroundings, meal and concert was fantastic. Not worth paying extra for the glass of wine in the interval-you can purchase a glass in the foyer, if you really want it but its not the best of wines!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Phillip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The highlight of my Vienna trip! Easy ride, stunning scenery, beautiful wine, fun mix of people and Doninic the tour guide was GREAT. Do it.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

C v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and Giovanni, our tour guide was amazing! He knew the locals, walked or pedaled the extra mile and had a great sense of humour. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was also wonderful to visit smaller, family-run wineries, which really sets this tour apart. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message