Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 409 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day touring and tasting with Mario. I'm a red wine fan and found this white wine region to be excellent. Small group tour made the experience more enjoyable. Cruising the Danube on a foggy, misty day made it memorable.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jodie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highlight of my trip! Jose was an amazing guide.mwine was delicious, the scenery was amazing. Unreal value. Do this trip and tip generously!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Micci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a spectacular tour. Cruising down the Danube and then visiting the Melk Abbey. Just enough time spent on every activity along with time to relax, have a glass of wine and great lunch options.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a rainy day when we did our tour but it did not take any of the magic away from it! It was beautiful and amazing. Very fun experience and well organized. I definitely recommend this unique way of seeing the beautifu, Wachau valley while also getting to know it's wine culture.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Duane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable and informative. Nice relaxing pace. Stelios had wonderful info for wine tasting!

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour, Melk Abbey Visit and Wine Tastings from Vienna

Isabel B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Horst was an entertaining, enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. The tour was an excellent overall introduction to Vienna's history, architecture, green space and café culture. The pace was brisk but leisurely enough to soak in the relevant facts about important monuments and other points of interests. Horst is truly proud of his city and interesting anecdotes were included during our tour hidden underground wine cellars for example. After two and a half hours of walking, hunger set in and Horst
recommended an excellent local restaurant away from the tourist trap! Highly recommend this tour and the guide.

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day out. Picked up from our hotel by coach at 08:45. Guide was very entertaining, speaking English, German and French. Spitz was beautiful, the boat trip allowed you to relax and take in the scenery with a range of beers, wine, cold and hot drinks. Did not order food as we chose to eat in the restaurant at Melk Abbey, which was wonderful and reasonably priced. The tour of the Abbey was excellent and abbey guide was easy to understand, speaking English and German and was very knowledgable when asked questions. All in all a highly recommended tour, well worth the money.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ofer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

was great! the combination of touring this beautiful valley by bikes stopping to taste wines and do some walk in the old village is a true winner .The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of our favourite tours throughout Europe. Our guide Giovanni was excellent. It was a fun way to explore the beautiful countryside. It was very special to visit the very small wineries and receive such personalised attention. We had wine tastings that weren't available to the general public. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed making friends and getting to taste wine in some beautiful locations! Our guide, Ace, was fun and also did a good job encouraging us on the bikes it had been a while since we biked and we brought up the rear, but Ace always made sure he knew where we were. The biking is mostly flat and easy if you're a less comfortable biker, the hardest parts will be the beginning and end as you go from the train station through the city of Krems. But nothing beats the views along the Danube and in the vineyards.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Cory C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip! Wonderful Guide, Mario. Personable, knowledgeable. Delicious wine, beautiful scenery. 100 recommend. Bring shoes if you hike up the hill to the castle!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide, Demos, was engaging, knowledgeable and personable. The sites were amazing, and the wine and schnapps were great. Even with a bit of a drizzle, it was an almost perfect day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

barbara g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day biking through cute Austrian towns and through the vineyards. Loved the scenery and had a great visit to an awesome family winery. I would do the trip again. We biked about 16 miles so be prepared for a little exercise and a few small hills.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Chris U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome experience. Good variety of wines, natural beauty and picturesque villages. Friendly, funny and very knowledgable guide. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Vienna.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

romanjm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide and tour, good wine.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Mrs Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had booked this tour to celebrate my 60th Birthday.
We were part of a group of eight: two from the US, two from the UK, two from Finland and two from China.
The wine tastings were well presented with clear explanations. There was the option to not actually drink the wine once it had been tasted. Most of us drank ours but there wasn't really enough to cause any effect.
Lunch was very pleasant. I had the fish. Others had Wiener Schnitzel, Pork steak or Deep Fried Chicken - of which there was a lot!
Our Italian Guide, Mario, was really lovely and everything we expected, having read all the other reviews about him!
The Cruise was wonderful. Not many people on board and good facilities.
There were occasional announcements about points of interest - in English and German - but these were not intrusive.
We were reasonably lucky with the weather which is always a bonus.
We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was delightful. Jeff, our guide was excellent. The wines wonderful and wine bars so charming. So nice to be in a small group. If you have the time this is a great tour.

Doing what: 3-hour Small Group Vienna Wine Walk

Rajat G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip was well organised. Guide was where the email said he would be. Everything was on time, no fuss.

Our guide Ace knew the wine, the region and took good care of the group, catering to different pace of different group members. The group was also a good size, not too small or too big.

The views and the scenery are great. The vineyards that we stopped at had pretty good wine. The lunch is an extra but was tasty and filling.

Only problem, it was extremely hot on the day of our tour. We were all getting tired and thirsty very quickly. Can't blame anyone for that, but we still enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to get out of the city! Tour was fantastic. Easy to do if you're a little fit and can ride a bike. Lots of tasty wine, exceptional scenery and I highly recommend the extra little hike up to the monastery. Well-priced, too.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Drcookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day with Stelios wine tasting, river touring, and hearing about the rich culture and history of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

logoswork

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was even better than we expected, and Marco was an excellent tour guide. Our small town visit and 2 wine tasting stops were perfect. A must do tour when in Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Sylvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great time meeting others and exploring the Wachau wine valley. Nice wine tasting and learning about the area. Definitely recommend for those wanting to do something outdoors and get outside the city.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Silvia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful, relaxed tour of the wine growing region of Wachau. Our guide, Dimos, was personable, knowledgeable and intelligent. The new Mercedes Benz 8 seater van was clean and comfortable. The tour was a great day trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Christy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fun and perfect way to see a bit of the Austrian wine country. We were placed in a great group, we laughed, rode bikes, ate lunch, drank wine, visited an adorable small village, and kept on laughing. The countryside was breathtaking gorgeous!!! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Holly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was fantastic and the scenery was stunning. It was a wonderful day learning about the history, land, and culture. The wine was a fabulous perk.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message