Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery contains the graves of soldiers of every war the United States has fought since the American Revolution. It is also a resting place for such American leaders as John F. Kennedy, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Medgar Evers. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2207 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ben

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I planned on using it more, but I ended up using it only one day, and only the green line. We walked the rest of the time. But...it was worth it. The driver was VERY NICE and we had an enjoyable time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

robert p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very informative. The tour guide had all the information foe each stop. Even though the temp. was 102, we had a great time.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Boas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent deal - 2 days hop -on hop-off, bus stops at central locations, 4 different bus lines, you can get everywhere, additional bonuses: Free night tour, Free museum entrance, Free 1 Hr rent-a-bike and free coffee.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mt Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well run, good your guide and very little wasted time

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip! The Big Bus really helped us get around the city. Everything worked great.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

knowledgeable tour guide transfers was great night tour was great some bus trouble day 2 but overall it was great

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

TAMARA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and great service provided by drivers and occasional tour guides. Very convenient hop on and hop off locations. Highly recommend this tour if you want to see the sights in DC and on a limited timeframe. Purchased the 48 hour tour and enjoyed it thoroughly. Buses run on schedule unless special event in city causes traffic backups.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

nuttydeb45

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had the best luck of being the only ones on this tour this day. Dexter was great, educating us with all we needed to know about the places we went to. Four hour tour was a bargain for the cost involved. Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour of Washington DC War Memorials and Heros by Van

farmgirl2005 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great experience and Dexter was the best. The weather was extremely warm and he was concerned for our wellbeing. Definitely request him again.

Doing what: Private Tour of Washington DC War Memorials and Heros by Van

ANTONIO L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice!!! Good tours!!!
I get the tickets very fast!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sven V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mount Vernon is a real must if you stay a week in DC. The view over the Potomac, and the quality in which the plantation and mansion have been preserved were incredibly beautiful. The audio-guide included in the ticket, the guides in the mansion and the actors playing the original plantation workers gave interesting insights in how life during George and Martha's time must have been.

The afternoon visit to Arlington Cemetery was a nice filler for the whole day. One point of note, not diminishing the tour's worth in itself: if a summer storm breaks out while visiting the cemetery, do not get off the trolley unless you want to risk getting soaked as there is hardly any shelter on the grounds.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day spent touring Mt. Vernon and Arlington national cemetery. Bus was very comfortable and driver was extremely knowledgeable. Had lunch in the restaurant at mt Vernon. It was very good and the service was great. There were period dressed actors on the grounds which added to the pleasant experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

David E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

the staff was friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Noreen P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our first stop at union station was a great one. The guide was fantastic. Then we got on near the white House and the Guide was NASTY. JUST RUDE. NEEDS TO FIND ANOTHER JOB.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Donald L M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

the half an hour stop at the three Memorials is, by far, way to limiting, increase the time spent at those memorials to at least an hour would make the trip much more enjoyable, worthwhile and memorable. decrease the time spent in the Nations Capitol would be an easy way to accomplish the increase the time limit at the Lincoln, Viet Nam and Korean War Memorials. Would I take this trip again with the same time restraints, that is very doubtful.

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Eva T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

While the tour was nice the driver very friendly. The fact that we were picked up at the Hyatt in Washington DC and left to find our own way back to DC from the Arlington Cemetery with no warning I found very un professional. I understand that is considered a walkable distance there was an older couple on the same tour and they were not able to walk the distance. I feel that should be spelled out specifically at the time of signing up.

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Christina E

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

After taking me 1.5 hours to FIND THE STOP to get the trolley, the driver Slim B was very unsympathetic that I was so frustrated. Directions on where the stops are when you first begin are not clear. They said Dupont Circle was one. But the actual stop is about 2 blocks to 4 blocks in either direction from Dupont Circle. So without knowing, you're stuck standing there in the 97 degree heat wondering where the stops are. When I finally found the trolley, Slim B did a good job narrating the Green line tour. The rest of the Tour with the yellow line was good also. But I didn't find any of the information the drivers shared to be too in depth interesting or funny like most tour guides attempt to do. I'd opt next time for another company truthfully.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Bernadette B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Convenient but they need AC especially when it is so hot in DC or at the very least put fans in the buses.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

EDWARD L R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Didn't really care for experience.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bplath1

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Enjoyed this Big Bus Hop on / Hop off adventure until the last ride. We had just got on a Yellow Loop bus at 430pm to go to Georgetown. We were informed upon boarding the bus that it would not complete the entire loop of the route dropping off at stop 35. We had plans in Georgetown that evening and was counting on the bus to complete its route. Very disappointed and it cost us a taxi ride to our final destination.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mark G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Didn't really come very close to the monuments, and the canned narration was a little hard to hear over the engine noise. On the other hand, it was a very pleasant twilight cruise.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

Michele G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A good way to see the sights and get to different locations in a day. A bit disorganised as to when / which bus was arriving and sometimes we were asked to produce our e-tickets and not others. Tours with a guide proving a live commentary were way much better than the pre-recorded ones. It would be useful if headphones were placed more prominently and made clear that you needed them - saw many people having to go back downstairs to get a pair. Overall good but a few quibbles. Michele G UK

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rubennia W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Only one of the attendees was actually into doing his job. He was very informative and funny at times. I got off at the Madame Tousaint Museum to grab a bite to eat around 5pm with the intention of getting back on to get to the Union Station by 7pm because I had purchase the 48 hour pass so I could view the city at night. Well the bus never came and calls to the 1-877 number went unanswered. As I looked over my information packet, no where did it say that the buses stopped running at a certain time. It did say that the hours which I assumed was the office hours ended at 4pm. I was stranded and had to take a cab back to my hotel. On my next visit and there will be a next visit I'll book another tour bus company.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

RT

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We were extremely disappointed in this Tour. On the bus trip to Mount Vernon the George Washington Memorial Parkway was closed because of the George Washington Patriot Run and our bus driver didn't know how to get around the road closure. We ended up stuck in Fort Hunt Park, circled around the park and then ended up at another dead end. After helping the bus driver back up and get turned around we almost end up back at Fort Hunt Park but luckily another passenger helped direct him to an alternative route. Because the Patriot Race was a planned event Grayline Bus company should have at a minimum informed the driver about the road closure and had an alternative route for him. Also I wish Grayline would have informed us as paying customers about the potential delays and congestion created by the race. The bus driver was very nice when the trip started, pointing out landmarks in Alexandria but I know he became extremely frustrated by the delays created by the road closure, so much so we didn't get much instruction about what to expect or do once we got to Mount Vernon, he just told us since we were late to go to the house first. We didn't know that there was a walking tour of the house, we didn't have enough time to see everything at Mount Vernon and we really didn't have enough time to see everything at Arlington. If you book this tour know that it's more just transportation to Mount Vernon and Arlington and check yourself if there are any events in the area that could create delays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message