Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery contains the graves of soldiers of every war the United States has fought since the American Revolution. It is also a resting place for such American leaders as John F. Kennedy, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Medgar Evers. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2275 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Brilliant way to see the sights,if like us,you only have a couple of days.Knowledgable drivers,great way to learn interesting facts about this wonderful city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was terrific! So knowledgeable and well spoken.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

elizadevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The night tour was amazing. Our tour guide Vern was so knowledge and entertaining. Highly recommend the night tour

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Binks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to introduce kids to the Capitol. Fun, fact-filled, allows for physical activity while learninghop-off, walk, hop-on. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

First, wasted 2 hours of our morning trying to find the pickup location nearest us. No one answers their phone or returns calls. Then got stuck in gridlock traffic for 2 hours due to planned road closures. We were told there would be detours, but no mention of expected traffic mess until we were stuck in it on the other side of town. Debating whether to use 2nd day ticket.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Clara J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. I got to see all the major sites in DC. I only wish I had more time to actually get off and see more things. I have taken the Hop-on Hop-off tours before in other cities and I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was 95 while we were in Washington so the open windows and breeze helped with the heat. The narrative was well done and informative. In the future I'll check train stops to coincide with tour stops ahead of time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

the best tour was the War Memorials and Arlington
Out tour guide was very knowledgeable, I am so glad we had him as a guide

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Clara B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The driver was knowledgeable, kind and gave enough time in the stops or even stops for a couple of minutes so we could take nice pictures from the bus.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Harry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We used the bus tour as a way to see how Washington,DC is put together, where things are in reference to each other as well save our legs. It accomplished all that!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Renee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My son and I had an amazing day on the bus! It was SO convenient being able to jump on and off as we pleased based on our interest level at each stop. The buses were always on schedule and easy to catch. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Especially if you have a short amount of time in the city, I would definitely recommend this option for one day!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

MARGARET P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! We went to Mount Vernon and stopped in Alexandria at Christ Church where George Washington worshiped. We had plenty of time in Mount Vernon and enjoyed a great lunch at Mount Vernon Inn. Then the tour at Arlington National Cemetery was excellent. This is a good value. It was nice to see so much and travel in such a comfortable coach.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Margaret V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good for an over view of Washington

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WildliferJess United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop-on and hop-off at our own pace. The most we ever waited for a bus was 30 minutes, and that's because we arrived at the stop right after a bus had just been there. The guide was informative and we learned some new facts about the DC area. My only complaint is that the guide sits on the top, and when the bus is moving it makes it hard to hear him as the microphone picks up a lot of air noise. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laurence W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We had wonderful weather so we really enjoyed being upstairs and outside to see all the wonderful sights around D.C. Our tour guide was wonderful, funny, and helpful although he tended at times to talk too fast. Our only complaint is the long wait time after getting off to see the White House, going back to the bus stop, and then waiting . . . waiting . . . waiting.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

shara

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This is a commentary on the booking process and false information. Not so much about the tour itself, which was good. After we already lost a whole vacation day paid for a two-day tour, and lost that first day to the run-around of misinformation.

So much confusion and misinformation presented absolutely ruined our first day of vacation. We were told there was a trolley stop at Dupont Circle. Walked there, around and around looking for the signs we were told would be there. No. Finally called the local company and they said no stop there. Walk another mile uphill to the actual stop. Get there and it is the wrong line. They tell us to use their web link to see trolley stops and arrivals. We do so. The app does not work. We try and try, wasting more and more time. Give up. Later, when we actually board a trolley, the driver says Yeah, that app doesn't work. They discontinued it. After we finally arrived where we were supposed to be another hour later, we were told we'd need to get off at Union Station to exchange our phone voucher for paper tickets! We had been assured by Viator the phone voucher was all we needed. Anyway, we basically lost our first day we paid for two days to complete frustration and wasted time and no time to hop on and off at all. It was awful.

Our second day was good and more what we expected. It was helpful to know there were hotel pickups that we were not informed of originally.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

sueofh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

We were disappointed in our guide. He had a heavy accent and it was difficult to understand what he was saying if you were sitting in the back of the van. Two of the memorial's were closed and he did not substitute any others. It stated in the ad that MLK would be included and when asked he would not take us to it. I also chose this tour as it stated we would be on the Trolley at Arlington and we were not. It was difficult for some of us to hike up the hill. We were also told we would be getting a bottle of wqter and that didn't happen either. Greatly disappointed and it was not worth the price.

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience. We are sorry to hear about any possible incidents that may or may not have caused our Viator travelers any kind of inconvenience or disappointment. At this time, we have escalated your claims to our Customer Support Team for further investigation. We thank you for your continued patience for the time being.

jac_4819

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We were very disappointed in the bus. It was extremely hot and no a/c on the bus. Also, the bus was filthy. We forego all of our money and was picked up by another bus line that had a/c.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vincent.schirripa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very good and knowledgable

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

jytayl2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of Mount Vernon and the Arlington Cemetery were great.
The driver has been with the company for 25 years and he did an excellent job of
describing things on the way to both places besides telling us extra stories about
things.
Joyce Taylor

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message