First-time visitors will be forgiven for assuming Capitol Hill, the geographic and legislative heart of the city, is all about the majestic icon that sits atop its hill. While the U.S. Capitol—with its towering cast-iron dome topped by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1935 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dr G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Generally I am not one for bus tours of cities in general, but I was pleasantly surprised. This tour was exccellent, hit many of the important monuments and the commentary was EXCELLENT! Our guide was Mr. Holiday - not joking. You could tell he really loved his job and he was a pleasure to listen to. This was our first day ever in DC and we certainly got our moneys worth.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Jacque H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoy the interesting night ride through Washington DC! Driver was engaging and full of neat facts. Plenty of time to visit ! Well worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Constance C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw so much in one day. We so enjoyed the stories of our guide Ralph. He was both knowledgable and entertaining. I recommended the tour to friends.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver I think his name was Nick was very knowledgeable and even more importantly fun. We had a great time and such a beautiful way to see DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Julia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Just Joe, was AMAZING!Tour itself was wonderful,great way to see key points in a short amount of time,seeing the memorials at night puts a whole new,beautiful perspective on them.Joe was funny and SO RESPECTFUL of our soldiers.He spoke so highly of them. And he and #39;s got MAD driving skills :)

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Janie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved the tour the only problem I had was there was not enough time to see three memorials....Vietnam, Lincoln and Korean...only got two of them and it was at a dead run...tour guide Virginia was wonderful! Again, Virginia was so good.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Timothy R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Chris guide and Lee driver were excellent, spot-on, punctual, funny and informative! Definitely a must do for first-time DC visitors.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cindy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. HW was a wonderful guide. I saw things up close and he shared lots of knowledge.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour guide named Jewel. She was very informative as well as friendly. The night we went was our 16th wedding anniversary and the moon was full. It was the perfect night four our Monuments by Moonlight tour. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting DC!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Barbara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour. The meeting and lining up process,not so much. We were to meet our tour bus in front of Union Station this is a very busy, congested, confusing place. We eventually found where we belonged. On the trolley/bus I was stunned to realize that a bus driver who was skillfully maneuvering this large vehicle through the D.C.streets and even parallel parking it at many of the sights was also narrating as we went. He was amazing and he gave a wonderful narrative. Trouble was, we were near the back and very rude people in the seats behind us were having their own private party oblivious to the tour going on in front of them and we had a difficult time hearing much of the really interesting narrative. The driver/tour guide told many fascinating stories about the history related to the landmarks we passed or stopped at. Because it was summer about half the tour took place in the daylight. That meant we could see many of the famous buildings and sights in the daylight. The driver often went by landmarks in both directions so people on both sides of the bus could get a good view. As night fell we were at the Martin Luther King, Jr. monument and we could look across the basin at the Jefferson Monument and the Washington Monument in the distance and enjoy the sight in the twilight. We stopped at the Lincoln Monument and Korean War Memorial in the dark and the lighting was striking. As we passed the White House lit in the dark, the driver informed us stopping in front of it is now illegal and Secret Service watch closely ready to give a 600 ticket to any bus that dares stop. He crept by hoping to catch the red light at the signal directly in front but failed. Still we got a really great night time view. Our party of 4 thoroughly enjoyed the ride, the narrative and the may sights of D.C. It was a great overview of the city and a spectacular view at night. Finally, the driver was really service minded and we appreciated the little courtesies he extended.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour with a well informed, helpful and very pleasant tour guide, Amanda. We would recommend it.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We've taken several tours in DC and this was by far the best. Our tour guide MJ made the tour a wonderful experience! He was incredibly knowledgable, funny, and personable. Best tour guide by far! Thank you for a great tour MJ!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Cblindley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful tour, despite being a record breaking hot day in Washington DC. Mary, our guide, and Rahel, our driver, did everything possible to keep us moving and as cool as possible. The boat tour on the Potomac was a welcome respite. We spent and adequate amount of time at each stop and saw all the highlights of DC and some of the less visited areas like Korean War Memorial and FDR Memorial. Mary's knowledge and passion for sharing were evident throughout the tour. She is amazing! Rahel did a spectacular job of driving and assuring the bus was as cool as possible when we returned from our site visits. The only surprise, but not a real issue, was more walking than expected. Mary did make sure we found elevators in the Jefferson and Lincoln Memorial. Overall, fun and educational day. We will definitely visit some of the free options Mary noted during the tour, e.g., Newseum.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Rosemarie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great seeing everything at night with all the lights. Our driver. Was excellent. Best guide i have ever had. He knew all the history on everything. He made our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific, knowledgable driver, extensive and inclusive tour. Only wished we didn't have a big rainstorm with thunder and lightening! Didn't expect the tour company could control the weather!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide... provided historical perspective, and funny stores/jokes to make the ride even more enjoyable. Monuments at night were awesome.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Sharon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and top notch driver/tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

sjb331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really a great way to get an overview of the city and see the most important venues. 6 Hours is a good amount of time to get the feeling of each venue, then go back later to the ones we were most interested in to spend more time. Our tour guide Christopher was incredibly personable and well versed in American history so he made our tour extra meaningful. Our driver as well was very courteous and accommodating. Our family was thrilled with this experience.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sharon A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a team Mary and Rajell!!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Hilario B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing and was even made so special by our tour guide Esau and our driver Rahel.. Esau kept us fully engaged and was fun.Gave us some cool informations of bygone days. The tour l should say is a semi-private tour with us less than 25 that day. Must do when first time in DC. Thanks Esau!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

mariann p

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Mike, was incredible. Full of knowledge, attentive to the guests and got to know everyone by which state they were from.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Trevis C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The monuments are fantastic. The only downside of this tour was the hot, muggy weather. I would suggest booking a tour with A/C if possible. There's simply no relief in the trolley. Also something they don't tell you is that you have to go inside and check in before getting in line. Even though you don't need to print anything, they will print the tickets out for you. As other reviewers have noted, the Iwo Jima Memorial is great, but I'm not sure why they insist on spending so much time there. Perhaps because it's less crowded. In retrospect, I probably should have paid more attention to this. All in all, though, it was an informative tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Dawn L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A must see and do. The tour guide gives great historical info that really ties it all together.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Joanne R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Traffic was very busy at Union Station so we got a later start than advertised because trolley couldn't get to pick up point but didn't deter from our experience. Tour was pleasurable and a nice overview of all the significant monuments and sites of interest in D.C. and nearby VA. Highly recommended in the hot days of summer.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message