Designed in 1818 for the War of 1812 naval hero Stephen Decatur, Decatur House holds the honor of being the first and last house on Lafayette Square to be occupied as a private residence. Decatur is best remembered for his skills fighting Barbary ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Starla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a great way to see a large portion of DC all in one day. Some of the guides were better than the others. The evening tour was spectacular and the guide was by for the best.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Jim W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Guide was knowledge and entertaining. We thought the stories were interesting.

Doing what: Washington DC Haunted Houses Walking Tour

Gayla S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Drew was very knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

JAMES C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

having taken day tours and moonlight tour I was not impressed with what you saw at night.
The Roosevelt memorial in particular was so dark you could not see anything.
The Lincoln Memorial was beautiful
Would not recommend this tour. Felt the check in process at the train station was not clear. Big place if you are not familiar with your location.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We used the Hop-on Hop-off Trolley during the day and we took the Monuments by Moonlight Tour. We were very satisfied with both but the moonlight tour was really nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

rich64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Tour and narrator. Would recommend this to everyone and would do it again.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Victoria D Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A great way to get to know the city. So many sights to see!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Timothy A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time, Just Joe made it informative and fun.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Both the day and Eric'S evening tour were outstanding. There are so many points of interest ,but they covered them well. So glad we hopped off at The National Cathedral So glad to sit down for the nice long Moonlight tour. We did not vAlidate out tickets so the driver took us to the ticket location. Very helpful
Thank you so much

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Linka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is the best way to see the city in the shortest possible time. Make sure that you get an early start as this is a one DAY ticket and not a 24 hour ticket. The drivers were funny and well informed and we had a great day. The Monuments by Moonlight is a MUST as it is definitely the best way to see the monuments. If you only have one day, this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Laurie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent way to see everything at your own pace. The drivers were very informative Hoya Hank was a little over the top, though.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The driver also told us the brief history of othrt buildings thst we passed as well as the places at the stops.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic way to get around and see the sights of this impressive city. Trolleys run regularly all day up until around 5 and drop off and pick up at key locations. Guides are knowledgeable and entertaining. The Moonlight Tour paces itself with a couple of stops that you can get off at and walk about at before continuing and gives you a different view of the city than the day tour. Trolleys are open-sided but have plastic roll-down covers for when it rains, although this does limit the view!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Louis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time in Washington. We decided to do this tour both day and night. Our only mistake was spending too much time seeing all the sights during the day. It was too long of a day because the night tour just repeated all the stops we had seen during the day. Cudos to the staff that helped us get back to Union Station. We missed the last shuttle and they ran a special loop out to get us saving us a lot of steps to get back to the pickup point. Thanks again to them.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Cathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

my cousin and I really enjoyed the tours. We booked a hop on, hop off day trip followed by a night tour in DC. The drivers were very knowledgeable about the city. The night tour driver was especially good giving many tidbits about each monument to make sure to see. We would highly recommend these tours, especially if you have a limited amount of time to spend in DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our last tour guide was excellent.I don't know his name but he was African-American. Very infornative......the others tried harder at trying to be funny!!
Otherwise the tour was good.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Tammie D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time! The Trolley service made it so much easier to see the sights! The friendly drivers were great and knowledgeable too! Would strongly recommend both tours!!! Thanks for making our trip memorable!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

christy e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see DC at your own pace. We really enjoyed the different drivers comments as well.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the fact that we could get on and off where and when we wanted. the drivers were very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Lyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the day and night tour were great and we were very impressed with the tour guide as we were waiting at the wrong spot for the bus and when we hailed him he just stopped and picked us up. loved Washington with all the memorials and beautiful buildings and thoroughly enjoyed the illuminations of the memorials at night. Weather was perfect and hot.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Aviator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Totally enjoyed the hop on hop off trolley. Very informative and delightful trolley drivers. The night tour was very scenic and enjoyed every moment

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

TRACY O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The monuments by moonlight tour was the best 2 1/2 hours of the whole trip. Congo Ken was our guide and he knew everything about DC. I have told everyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was perfect! Our tour guide, VINCE, was incredible! We had toured the same areas during the day with a tour guide, but Vince artistically wove details ( so many we had not heard during the day) into the history surrounding each monument in such a way that every site will be unforgettable!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!!!' Mr. History was very informative and knowledgeable!!!! We bought another one for Arlington we'll see if it would be as good.... We all loved this one

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Dancing Mike, Smiley, and Anthony were all superb tour guides--appreciated their great narratives!!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message