Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Luca P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

RIP OFF!!! or.. RAP-OFF Tour.. ?
I did not rate it 1 star just because Washington is beautiful. The tour itself is definetely not worth, at all. First of all, everything you are taken too would be free nonetheless, with the exception of the boat tour which is a complete waste of time. So you are basically paying 120bucks for a tour leader and transportation. The tour leader.. OMG!
Not being American as the majority of our group, I did not understand a single thing he said because of his accent. I mean, i work in US and live my way here with no probs.. but this guy.. was way more concentrated on himself and his pretending-to-be-a-rapper attitute than on the message he was trying to transmit. Which is ALL a tour guide should be about. He introduced himself with an apparently funny story all rapped-up his his hands shaking ups and downs all the time. I did not even get his name right. His attitude was like the one of a gansta, did not ask if we had questions at any point, was just telling quick stories on the bus and on the memorials.. with a clearly marked accent which left the majority of our group foreigners unaware of what he was saying.. AT ALL! When you are a guide you should make sure the message is delivered, that is what you pay for! He wouldn't care.. He called the presidents A for Abraham Lincoln or TJ for Thomas Jefferson... My wife and me are still laughing about his let's go see A sentence in front of the memorial of President Lincoln. at least he made us smile once. Took us a while to get the right rythm and try to understand at least a bit of what he was saying. Tour leader not even worth 1 star. You will get more information by reading a guide or on the internet. Transportation ok but then you'd rather take a hop on hop off and do it your self. The boat tour is a wast of time. You see nothing, trust me NOTHING more than what you see on the bus.. There is no need for a rapper tour of Washington. We were ripped-off, or rapped-off!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Janie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved the tour the only problem I had was there was not enough time to see three memorials....Vietnam, Lincoln and Korean...only got two of them and it was at a dead run...tour guide Virginia was wonderful! Again, Virginia was so good.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Barbara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour. The meeting and lining up process,not so much. We were to meet our tour bus in front of Union Station this is a very busy, congested, confusing place. We eventually found where we belonged. On the trolley/bus I was stunned to realize that a bus driver who was skillfully maneuvering this large vehicle through the D.C.streets and even parallel parking it at many of the sights was also narrating as we went. He was amazing and he gave a wonderful narrative. Trouble was, we were near the back and very rude people in the seats behind us were having their own private party oblivious to the tour going on in front of them and we had a difficult time hearing much of the really interesting narrative. The driver/tour guide told many fascinating stories about the history related to the landmarks we passed or stopped at. Because it was summer about half the tour took place in the daylight. That meant we could see many of the famous buildings and sights in the daylight. The driver often went by landmarks in both directions so people on both sides of the bus could get a good view. As night fell we were at the Martin Luther King, Jr. monument and we could look across the basin at the Jefferson Monument and the Washington Monument in the distance and enjoy the sight in the twilight. We stopped at the Lincoln Monument and Korean War Memorial in the dark and the lighting was striking. As we passed the White House lit in the dark, the driver informed us stopping in front of it is now illegal and Secret Service watch closely ready to give a 600 ticket to any bus that dares stop. He crept by hoping to catch the red light at the signal directly in front but failed. Still we got a really great night time view. Our party of 4 thoroughly enjoyed the ride, the narrative and the may sights of D.C. It was a great overview of the city and a spectacular view at night. Finally, the driver was really service minded and we appreciated the little courtesies he extended.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Cblindley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful tour, despite being a record breaking hot day in Washington DC. Mary, our guide, and Rahel, our driver, did everything possible to keep us moving and as cool as possible. The boat tour on the Potomac was a welcome respite. We spent and adequate amount of time at each stop and saw all the highlights of DC and some of the less visited areas like Korean War Memorial and FDR Memorial. Mary's knowledge and passion for sharing were evident throughout the tour. She is amazing! Rahel did a spectacular job of driving and assuring the bus was as cool as possible when we returned from our site visits. The only surprise, but not a real issue, was more walking than expected. Mary did make sure we found elevators in the Jefferson and Lincoln Memorial. Overall, fun and educational day. We will definitely visit some of the free options Mary noted during the tour, e.g., Newseum.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip itself was worth the money but I felt rushed as there was too much crammed in to the allotted time and we actually didn't get to the end of the itinerary. The trip should have been split so if you are not interested in all the war memorials choose a different trip and then you will perhaps have more time at Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial. I regret not being able to go down to the reflecting pool, so make sure you do what you intended-no regrets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Sean W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the tour - DC is beautiful at night! I think my one complaint/suggestion was that it was a little rushed at the end. At the final stop, we're only given 30 minutes to visit the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam War Memorial, and Korean War Memorial. So if you want to see all 3, you're practically running from one to the next and don't get too much time to soak it all in. Otherwise, the tour was fun and also very insightful, and I would recommend it to others!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour of the relatively uncrowded monuments bathed in light. Driver/guide was very entertaining and informative. Iced cream was available near the Lincoln Memorial. Reasonable price as adjunct to Hop-on Hop-off Bus. Stop for FDR and MLK memorials was rushed, but otherwise we had plenty of t ime to stop, look, and photograph.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

William T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Started out rainy but ended up being a perfect night for a tour. The trolley tour is nice because it doesn't drop you off at every monument, even though you get good photo ops and a good view of them. We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, FDR and MLK Monuments, and Marine Corps War Memorial for about 20 min each. We had a very entertaining tour guide, the trolley was clean, and it was a fun way to experience DC. The city is beautiful at night!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Betsy T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The best part of the tour for us was the driver/guide, who was courteous and full of useful facts and historical information. He kept us entertained during the in between parts of the tour when we were just sitting at traffic lights. I don't think you get a particularly good view of the monuments on this tour though. It's nice to see monuments located far from each other without having to walk or worry about transportation like the FDR memorial and the Lincoln, which were pretty far from each other. And being able to go to Arlington was a big plus. Really cool driving by the cemetery at night, and seeing the Marine Corps memorial up close.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Melissa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this!! Our driver was Mr. History, a former high school history teacher. He was so knowledgeable and entertaining. My 8 year old daughter enjoyed all 2.5 hrs from 8 pm-1030 pm, even after sight-seeing all day too. Our first stop at FDR and MLK Jr.'s memorials was really crowded so our driver decided not to take the typical next stop at the Lincoln Memorial and instead switched up the route so we didn't spend all night stuck in traffic and lines. It worked out great and we were able to see everything we wanted to. it was very informative and a great experience!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Robert U M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Long night for grandchildren 7 and 11 but well worth it. You have to see the monuments lit at night to truly appreciate their splendor. Ali was our driver and negotiated the DC traffic with ease. Ralph was our guide and he had lots of jokes, stories and secrets to share. Be sure to ask him about the secret at the Lincoln Memorial. I do wish there had been time at the Jefferson Memorial rather than just a drive by.
We had a beautiful summer evening.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and stops at the Lincoln MLK and Iwo Jima memorials were good choices. We would not have been able to see as many monuments any other way and enjoyed the insights given by and #34;the Professor and #34;. The only downside was that it was too dark to see the Vietnam Nam memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Celeste S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Mike was awesome. Very knowledgeable and not at all cheesy. The loading process needs to be refined two employees should be loading the buses. Also would like a stop at Jefferson memorial and time at Lincoln should be at 40 minutes not 30 so you can hit all three monuments

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Carla H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not good. We were given wrong information about where to pick up the trolley by Viator. We then had to walk an extra mile to pick one up. We paid 200 for 4 people to go anywhere and see the sites. We were only able to see 3 sites because the trolley did not show up every 30 minutes, it showed up every 45-60 minutes. With the loss of time from the wrong itinerary and the trolley always late, we did not get our money's worth. In fact, we had to take a cab back to our hotel from the Lincoln Memorial because by the time we got there, we would have enough time to see it take another Trolley back to the main station by 5 so we could hop on a trolley to get back somewhere close to our hotel...This was a very bad representation of a service that we should only had to pay half for what we saw. We could of taken a cab, we did the math, and pay a lot less....

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Patricia C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

So sad to have a tour guide, Smiley, with an agenda. SLAVERY and SELF PROMOTION. While Smiley was fun to the kids, he used that to make sure we listened and they did at his attention to slavery comments. Washington and Jefferson passed quickly by, but MLK and Lincoln glorified through scavenger hunts. Lincoln was probably our best president followed by Reagan, but the focus should've been on keeping union together. Smiley said that on Lincoln's statue.. one leg is set back representing slavery and one leg forward for freedom. This is not true. He should mention however that sheaves were bound together representing 'strength through union' and the 36 columns represented the bound states of the union. At MLK and FDR stop, Smiley put the people on a scavenger hunt at the MLK memorial making sure that more time was given that memorial than FDR who was more important to our history if not our preservation! At Arlington- no mention of the thousands of fallen soldiers from all wars, but only mention of slaves' graves who dug the civil war soldiers' graves. Then saying 'friendly reminder'. You would think tour guides could be hired who would want to glorify the country America instead of continue to racially divide it. I would sincerely like to talk to his supervisor. To boot- at the end of the tour, Smiley asked for excellent marks on his tour so that he could be the Guide of 2016! He needs reminding that the FOCUS of the tour is the history of our country and the people being honored by the monuments.....certainly not SMILEY. I was sorely disappointed and sickened by the obvious racial discriminatory tour. I certainly wouldn't recommend Smiley as a guide. He should be reprimanded if not let go.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was perfect for our family of four. We covered all the memorials at the National Mall with a great narrative to go along with all the sights. We saw the Washington Monument, the WWII Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean Memorial, the FDR Memorial, the MLK Memorial and the Jefferson Memorial. So much more interesting when a knowledgeable guide tells a story along the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Debbie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am giving a bed review because of the following reasons:

1. The tour guide left 10 minutes before the meeting time.
My daughter and I arrived in front of library of congress and the Neptune water fountain at 9 sharp. There were no sign of a tour group. I did hear one gentlemen calling the company and question the group where about. It turned out they have left us 10 minutes prior to 9 am, which was not responsible. Since the instruction was to meet at 9 am.

2. Really late lunch service, if any.
After the Us Capitol the shuttle bus took us to many walking sites the front of White House, World War ll memorial, Vietnam Memorial. and Lincoln memorial. We ended at infront of The National Archives around 1 pm and were told to return on the bus at 1:50 pm. There were no lunch discussion at 1 pm yet. I really don't know when my group ate, since I decided to feed my daughter in the National Archieve cafferteria. I also told the tour guide we were returning at that point.

3. They changed the agenda around. According to their advisement we were to end at the National Archieve. But the switched and went to the Archieve in the middle of the trip, without prior worning. Which caused problem for me.
This DC trip was my first trip treviling with just my daughter and I. I planned metro ride back to our hotel at the stop of the National Archieve. Since the company changed the order of the tour. I felt I eased to continued with the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting from Ireland and we took the 3 hour tour and it was fantastic. Sally our guide was so informative about all the various aspects of Washington. She was helpful and friendly as also was our driver Krishna. The tour took in all the famous sights and we got to get out of the bus at The Capitol Building, White House, War Memorials and the LIncoln Memorial among others. The weather was fabulous and added to a great day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. Our host was friendly and informative and took us to see lots of great monuments, including the Lincoln, FDR, Korean and MLK jr monuments.

The bus was pretty chilly, though it was in November, so that was understandable.

I thought overall it was well worth the price and was one of the highlights of my trip

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

JAMES C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

having taken day tours and moonlight tour I was not impressed with what you saw at night.
The Roosevelt memorial in particular was so dark you could not see anything.
The Lincoln Memorial was beautiful
Would not recommend this tour. Felt the check in process at the train station was not clear. Big place if you are not familiar with your location.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

karen e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really a must see. The monuments at night are a must. There are so many and the only way to see them is a tour. I wish you had more time at the monuments we stopped at. For example, there was plenty of time to see Lincoln only if we did not go to the Vietnam memorial at the same stop. Vince is great

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Mary Lou D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Not enough stops. If you know which sights you want to see and don't need the monologue you're better off taking a cab. 2 miles between the White House and Lincoln Memorial and there is a lot to see in between.... Would be much cheaper and more convenient to just take a cab.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Leonard J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Linda was our tour guide and was outstanding, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. She really cared about her job and wanted everyone to have a good time. We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, Korean War, Vietnam, and World War II Memorials, Martin Luther King Memorial, White House and more. Our tour guide, Linda even took pictures for us. Well worth the price, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Linda for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took our grandson who is 8 to see DC and we all enjoy the night tour very much. It was very informative and we loved the lights on the buildings at night. He really wanted to see the Lincoln Monument and I am so glad we saved it until after hours. Would recommend this company and tour to anyone visiting DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message