A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 842 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brought our 12, 11, 9, and 5 year old on this bike tour. Some of the hills were a bit hard to do when going uphill dragging a 60 lb kid on a bike attached to mine but going down was better then any roller coaster. Plenty of water fountain and benches along the trail made it very manageable and fun. You should be in relatively good shape though to do this. Old Town Alexandria is beautiful to just walk around in. Good deal for your money considering entrance to George Washingtons plantation is 20 a head. Overall we had an incredible experience.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Paul Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WONDERFUL,SCENIC AND INSTRUCTIVE.IT WAS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE THANKS

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

greg h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There are some hills the last mile. Loved the boat trip back.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Mt Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well run, good your guide and very little wasted time

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

paul.messenger82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely day out and views on the Potomac were superb. Really enjoyed this day and worth every dollar
The staff on the boat and around Mt Vernon were brilliant making it a really special day.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Bernadette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great place to see. Loved walking through Washington's house and gardens

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Fanny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Much better than taking a bus tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

REV C C KEVILL- K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This visit was extremely well organised. The house is fascinating, and we learnt a lot. The cruise was very comfortable and relaxing, and the whole experience made a lovely day out.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

lacourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a brilliant day on this trip! The boat ride was smooth and with great commentary down the Potomac, a three hour round trip well worth the money alone. Also only a 1.50 for coffee and 1 for a bagel and cream cheese which was welcome after the early start! We were left to our own devices once at Mount Vernon and there was lots to see, the house is beautiful as are the grounds and the views of the Potomac. The tour guides at Mount Vernon were extremely knowledgable and open to questions. I'm not sure if this is there every day but there was a lovely marketplace selling homemade goods by sellers in traditional dress, with traditional games and music. Thoroughly recommended

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Manda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours on both days. Drivers were very informative and clearly had a lot of experience. One driver even varied the route to show us things that were not necessarily part of the tour which was greatly appreciated. Lots of walking on both days and it's rain or shine so bring rain gear if it's looking grey.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took the two day DC tour and enjoyed an excellent overall city tour with two knowledgeable and personal drivers, Wayne and Bob! Thanks for a favorable first trip to DC.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide. My third time to tour Washington DC and learned more out the history of the United States. Very interesting. However, the heavy rain did not allow us to see the home of George Washington because my traveling companion was unable to walk the distance to the home in the heavy rain. Otherwise, everything was ok.

Especially enjoyed the second day tour and had an excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the sites, plus his presentation and personality really made this tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Frances S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The cruise was very nice. We enjoyed being on the water. The crew were friendly and courteous. We loved Mount Vernon.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

RT

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We were extremely disappointed in this Tour. On the bus trip to Mount Vernon the George Washington Memorial Parkway was closed because of the George Washington Patriot Run and our bus driver didn't know how to get around the road closure. We ended up stuck in Fort Hunt Park, circled around the park and then ended up at another dead end. After helping the bus driver back up and get turned around we almost end up back at Fort Hunt Park but luckily another passenger helped direct him to an alternative route. Because the Patriot Race was a planned event Grayline Bus company should have at a minimum informed the driver about the road closure and had an alternative route for him. Also I wish Grayline would have informed us as paying customers about the potential delays and congestion created by the race. The bus driver was very nice when the trip started, pointing out landmarks in Alexandria but I know he became extremely frustrated by the delays created by the road closure, so much so we didn't get much instruction about what to expect or do once we got to Mount Vernon, he just told us since we were late to go to the house first. We didn't know that there was a walking tour of the house, we didn't have enough time to see everything at Mount Vernon and we really didn't have enough time to see everything at Arlington. If you book this tour know that it's more just transportation to Mount Vernon and Arlington and check yourself if there are any events in the area that could create delays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Lina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience! It was fun, well planned, and the day cruise was very enjoyable. The scenery is very beautiful.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was great. the boat was great by tell what we past by

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip is a must do if you are visiting DC. Big Al was an amazing tour guide! Plenty of time to explore the sites and Big Al gives you great suggestions as to how you can get the most of your experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Dr. Walter P. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Heat was only drawback.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The entire family enjoyed this tour. The grounds are beautiful and we all learned new things about George Washington.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Mary E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide , Wayne , was phenomenal . He knew more about Washington DC, Alexandria , General Washington , and Mount Vernon than any book or website I have ever seen ! He also showed us the church where General Washington worshipped , and Fort Washington with a photo opportunity . Wayne also recommended the amount Vernon Inn for lunch , and it was a great restaurant with friendly service and delicious food . I can think of nothing negative to say about our day . My husband and I were with our two daughters , who are in their 20s . Something for everyone . Awesome day !

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good guide ,comfortable bus always ontime, alot of time to enjoy the sites

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved our tour to Arlington and Mount Vernon...Even thought it was 100 degrees!! The sites were great and amazing to see but the tour was amazing because of our tour guide AL. I was traveling with myself and 3 teenagers Age 14-16 and Al was so great to include them and make them feel part of the tour. They have mentioned numerous times that Al was the best part of their trip to Washington DC. Book and ask for AL...you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message