A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 823 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience! It was fun, well planned, and the day cruise was very enjoyable. The scenery is very beautiful.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was great. the boat was great by tell what we past by

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip is a must do if you are visiting DC. Big Al was an amazing tour guide! Plenty of time to explore the sites and Big Al gives you great suggestions as to how you can get the most of your experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Dr. Walter P. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Heat was only drawback.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The entire family enjoyed this tour. The grounds are beautiful and we all learned new things about George Washington.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Mary E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide , Wayne , was phenomenal . He knew more about Washington DC, Alexandria , General Washington , and Mount Vernon than any book or website I have ever seen ! He also showed us the church where General Washington worshipped , and Fort Washington with a photo opportunity . Wayne also recommended the amount Vernon Inn for lunch , and it was a great restaurant with friendly service and delicious food . I can think of nothing negative to say about our day . My husband and I were with our two daughters , who are in their 20s . Something for everyone . Awesome day !

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good guide ,comfortable bus always ontime, alot of time to enjoy the sites

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved our tour to Arlington and Mount Vernon...Even thought it was 100 degrees!! The sites were great and amazing to see but the tour was amazing because of our tour guide AL. I was traveling with myself and 3 teenagers Age 14-16 and Al was so great to include them and make them feel part of the tour. They have mentioned numerous times that Al was the best part of their trip to Washington DC. Book and ask for AL...you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked a private tour and it was well worth it. Our guide Gail K. was fabulous and we got to see some of the behind the scenes stuff. Also, we got to ride around the property on a golf cart which was good for us due to arthritis. It was a great place to visit on a beautiful day and there were not a lot of tourists. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

dan_vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our tour through the home of George Washington, but walking through the estate was the best part. The tour guides around the area were so informative and it was wonderful to stroll around the places that Washington loved. I was so surprised by how many presidents and dignitaries have visited his tomb and home.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Patricia L M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip - although it had been 15 degrees cooler. We plan to go back and take some of the other tours offered possibly the cruise. The only thing I wish is that each of the tour guides would have expanded their talk to another minute or two. I did feel like we were rushed through the mansion just a tad.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Christopher S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not what we expected. We were expecting a guide at each location to provide the facts but instead we had to find at the locations any available tours and had to try to fit them in the schedule before the bus left. This is more of an expensive cab ride.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Randy.L.Perry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our VIP Tour Guide, John Marshall, was simply the best and I'll be recommending him............

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great piece of property and history. Made me want to live there. The new museum is very nice. The larger than life size painting of The president and company on the back porch was impressive.
It was amazing how smart and innovative the President Washington was.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Liza N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Would book another tour with him.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Jenifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great tour. I would and #39;ve liked having a guided tour included in the ticket price, but all in all the tour was really good.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sherry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved Wayne from Trinidad. (Our driver). Great tour

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

joy_gauthier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip/cruise.
Beautiful scenery and the time frame was perfect to see everything and tour everything!
I would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. The scenery on the bike ride was beautiful. The ride is all trail and pretty easy except the last quarter mile into Mt Vernon is one big hill. I ended up walking the bike to the top. Mt Vernon was good to see. I recommend the boat ride back to Alexandria and dinner in town.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message