A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 766 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hpj52299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Tour! If you take kids, make sure they do the kids program. We had 3 kids - 12, 13, 14 - and they loved it!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

jeastlack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great service, safe, clean, and on time. Because it was the day after Thanksgiving, our driver went above and beyond to show us things that he wouldn't normally have time for. Wonderful and would recommend to everybody!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judith m

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

it was a good tour but you have to go to a location to meet your guide. he was on his cellphone on the first of the trip.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Marilou F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

A good day out to explore away from the hustle and bustle of Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Peter B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Didn't happen because not enough people, but no advance notification.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Must not miss! Beautiful location! Pick up and drop off is very convenient as Mt. Vernon is about 45 minutes from D.C. city center probably longer if there's a lot of traffic

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pay the extra money and take the private tour. It's so worth it. My daughter was able to lay a wreath at Washington's tomb, we didn't have to wait in line, we were able to go into the basement of the home, and we were able to see the top cuppola. Our guide was so passionate about the history and the man who was George Washington. I cannot say enough about this tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour with a great guide. Well worth seeing.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Joseph H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Normal tour of mansion and then time on your own to explore the rest of the grounds. An overall enjoyable day learning about our first president and his life at Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

barry w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour very interesting easy to get to meeting place and guide was very informative and fun loved the fact we were dropped back to our hotel after a great day.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Chuck

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I showed up for the bus tour and was told that they needed 10 people for the tour and only 3 had showed up so far. No tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Deanne S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour was terrible. We got picked up for the tour in little old vans. The driver, who was also apparently the tour guide, rattled off a few facts, as he sped through Alexandria. He never spoke the rest of the trip. Mount Vernon was a good site to see, but we should have taken Uber.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Amberley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get to Mt Vernon, rather than in a bus or car. Was very smooth sailing down Potomac, bit chilly in the morning so everyone stayed inside, but on return journey sun was out and we had no wind so made the most of top deck to view the mansion from afar. On arrival at Mt Vernon you are given timed entry to the mansion - had a quick stop at Washington's tomb then made way to line for mansion. Whilst it looked like along wait, it was well organised to get people moved through the mansion - had enough time to take in every room in the mansion. Still had plenty of time to see everything on the estate, stop for lunch and some souvenirs and then back to dock for return cruise home.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

number

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab tour. Loved the boat trip down the Potomac. The grounds of Mount Vernon were lovely and it's an easy walk up to the house. Tour of the house was rather regimented - not able to go at your own pace, but then they did have to manage 100's of people. House much smaller than expected but well worth a visit.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Barbara C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I really enjoyed my tour. Joe was extremely helpful. I wish the church had been open to tour that morning but it gave us more time to explore Mt Vernon

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nigel S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good. Very interesting. The cemetery for the slaves makes one's hair stand on end. All those unmarked graves, so sad.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

MARGARET P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! We went to Mount Vernon and stopped in Alexandria at Christ Church where George Washington worshiped. We had plenty of time in Mount Vernon and enjoyed a great lunch at Mount Vernon Inn. Then the tour at Arlington National Cemetery was excellent. This is a good value. It was nice to see so much and travel in such a comfortable coach.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Lisa P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Interesting, 2 times tried to post this review and it wouldn't go through no such problems with my higher ranked tours!

Anyway, this was advertised as a bus tour. What we got was a small beat up mini van that the group barely fit into. The driver was a nice guy, but a thick accent made it difficult to understand him. Also, his radio/speaker system was not working so he instead spoke VERY loudly so anyone on the front it was like being screamed at, but the people in the back said they could not hear. Because of the van set up, most couples were split up for the rather long ride, and sitting extremely close to people they did not know. One person had to ride up front in passenger seat alone with driver.

The driver was a bit challenged with talking and driving at the same time - whenever he was talking he would drive very slowly and cars were flying past us. At one point I could see the speedometer and we were 20 miles under the posted speed limit.

Our group stopped at Old Town Alexandria prior to arriving at Mt Vernon. It consisted of about 3 minutes in front of Gadsby's Tavern for photos, and a few minutes at Historic Christ Church which was nice but very brief. Other than that, we didn't see anything other than a couple blocks of the business district.

Arriving at Mt Vernon, the driver got our tour tickets - and we were on our own and didn't see him again until it was time to leave - so most of the day is pretty much self guided. There was a brief film, and then up to the mansion for a tour. The tickets were timed so you had to enter during certain time slots. Unfortunately, we arrived just when a large school group did, with at least 100 kids. Sadly, we did not see one teacher/chaperone in the area, and the kids were pretty loud and disrespectful, making it near impossible to hear the docents as we walked through the home. Once the tour was over, there was still almost 2 hours until it was time to meet the driver. We walked the grounds which are beautiful - but only guidance was a map. Tried to eat lunch at the on site restaurant but the wait for a table was an hour - so went instead to the food court which was terrible. The gifts shops were quite nice - and they had it divided into two separate shops, one with more inexpensive/juvenile items where most of the school groups went and one with more high end stuff that was pretty relaxing.

Ride home was uneventful, but again uncomfortable - poor air temperature control, people jammed into seats and separated. For the price - I would instead rent a car and have more time to explore and see what you wanted. The tour really is only providing transportation and mansion tickets, and the transportation was subpar. Mt Vernon and Old Town are both absolutely worth seeing, but this tour was not the best way to do it.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Tunda, was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

jytayl2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of Mount Vernon and the Arlington Cemetery were great.
The driver has been with the company for 25 years and he did an excellent job of
describing things on the way to both places besides telling us extra stories about
things.
Joyce Taylor

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyable, peaceful. So worth it

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message