Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Mall (The Mall)

Stretching from the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial, the National Mall is a wide, tree-lined expanse of open space between the Constitution and Independence avenues. The Mall is the center of D.C. tourist attractions, fringed by the Smithsonian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marcia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

With USA Guided Tours, our driver and tour guide were fantastic!!! Tony, the great driver, quickly checked us in. He was a super careful, friendly, safe, prompt, and courteous driver! John A., our wonderful tour guide, was very friendly and provided a lot of enjoyable, personal touches for our small group used a comfortable, air-conditioned, small bus/vehicle. He was so informative, detailed, personable, and kept us engaged with stories, explanations, humor, added in personal experiences, and talked to us as individuals. He guided us on our stops--making sure we got a lot of photo moments, offered to take our pictures, and made sure we stayed together. My husband said he was the perfect tour guide expert knowledge, super patient and alert, fun, humorous, careful, and much more! John along with Tony made sure we were provided with cold, bottle water during the summer heatwave. This team was a 5 stars!!! Choose this super tour for your Washington DC highlights! John said he did a Washington at night tour that provided an even more impressive view of the monuments/memorials, too. If you can get them, John and Tony are THE dynamic duo! At the end, John made sure everyone was safely leaving and knew where to go and provided directions and help! That's just one example of his personal touch. Another is John's recommendations for food. There were general places he directed to all of us, but we were able to go to the two yummy local chili eateries he recommended to just us. At one, Hard Times in old town A., I had a 3-way, but my husband had the 5-way chili mac...Mmm. Also, Viator under TripAdvisor had helpful and patient workers to inform and helped sign up for their tours. They're available 24/7 since I think of questions at odd times and have great prices did online comparisons before booking.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

sap_houston United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I only had a day in D.C. and did not have the energy left to try and get around by myself. I found this tour recommended on Fodors.com and took a chance. The fact that I had to show up at one stop then ride a bus all day was the icing on the cake plus got to the major sites and a boat cruise with light lunch. I can not say enough good things about our tour guide Nick and our driver Tony. Nick was fun and energetic which was especially nice since we started early morning. He told us funny relevant side notes and kept everyone together which was no small feat. He was extremely accommodating to the elderly veteran who was in the group. Highly recommend this tour and the Nick! well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Henni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nick and Tony made a good job. Nick is full energy and happy person who love history and kept the trip interesting and funny. I can suggest for everyone to book this trip
It and #39;s worth the price
You will see everything what you need to see in the Washington mall

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour. Em, our guide, was very knowledgeable and helpful. This is a great way to see and learn about many of the famous places on the DC Mall.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

CAROLYN P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour locations and guide Sam rate 5...THAT SAID, we had to keep stopping and waiting...and waiting....and waiting for a family that had a small child who was very very slow. Also we kept waiting ...and waiting.... for everyone to get thru the light. You cold easily separate by age and also make groups smaller to accommodate street crossings in one fell swoop. I could not actually pay for another tour because it was just to stop-and-state not the guide's fault. I would simply buy those vests and duplicate the tour myself.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

kyle c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lots of fun for us and the teenagers, informative and interesting, very helpful and friendly tour guide. Saw all the main monuments on the Mall and was a great way to get acquainted with the area. Would definitely recommend this!

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Jeanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great! our tour guide was very knowledgeable and was able to point out small things that we would have never seen his name is Ralph..good job Ralph! It had rained a bit that day and they also provided us with ponchos and the bus was nice and warm when we returned..wonderful tour

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tony and Christ our guide and bus driver were great in providing lots of interesting facts, information, and humor as this trip was truly the Washington DC Mall in ONE DAY.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Arahy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was a fiasco from start to finish. Instead of the big new bus shown in the advertising we get an old, small, airport shuttle type vehicle that was dirty and smelly and whose air conditioning did not work with windows that would not open. Then figure on being made to walk long distances in the heat. It was horrifying having to watch them make a 70 something year old woman and her husband try to navigate a long concrete stairwell outside the Capital Bldg. so we can be marched on foot to the White House. The lunch cruise was an organizational fiasco, was late leaving, and was shortened by wind out of their control obviously. Save your money and find another company. We had a wonderful night tour that was a much better and less expensive experience. And don't worry about not getting into the Capital, the tour there doesn't even allow you to see the current House or Senate chambers.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was perfect for our family of four. We covered all the memorials at the National Mall with a great narrative to go along with all the sights. We saw the Washington Monument, the WWII Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean Memorial, the FDR Memorial, the MLK Memorial and the Jefferson Memorial. So much more interesting when a knowledgeable guide tells a story along the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a brilliant tour - we had John as our tour guide and Tony was our driver. I cannot fault either of them. It was a wirlwind tour and there is a lot of walking - probably about 8 miles! However you do get to see a huge amount of Washington's main attractions and we really didn't feel rushed. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The included lunch is quite basic so if you are a big eater you may want to take more supplies. They do supply small bottles of water and ponchos if it rains. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jeffrey C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Trip to the Capital was a bust. Plan on being hungry the lunch was the worst, 3 slices of turkey and the smallest bag of chips I have ever seen. The other parts of the trip were great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MissLouise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Not worth the money. Everything in DC is free to access but I thought by booking this tour we would be given priority access skip-the-lines but all the museums DC have airport-style security which you still have to line up for. At the National Archives we stood in line just like everybody else, even after clearing security, and no we did not get to visit some part of the museum not normally accessible to the public as the title of this tour implies. Guided tours of the Capitol are free anyway. With the amount of walking we did in the rain between locations where the bus would meet us, it would have been cheaper and easier to just grab taxis from the street. The Potomac River cruise was freezing and with the rain, it was difficult to see anything. The lunch was a salad roll and a soda. The tour itself was fine but it's just not worth the money because not only is everything free anyway, but it doesn't give you any kind of priority access.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

das n

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Late start on tour
small shuttle vehicle, very bumpy ride
not sticking to itinary
boat tours cancelled without notice after arriving at the dock

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

S C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

destination A to B takes way longer time, almost takes 1 hr 45 mins to 2 hrs. Very infrequent, big bus should increase the frequency as well as should cover at least until 9 pm during summers. The good thing was I had 48 hr ticket but was able to use it for 72 hrs. But given the 72 hrs I was only able to board it 3 times in total since it took long time from going destination A to B, rather people should use Circulator service which runs every 10min and is 1 per person per ride and takes you around all the memorials and national mall.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mrs Nicola J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Chris was very informative. Didn't have time to visit the gift shop at 'The Capitol Building' however you can easily go back as it is free to enter. We were not able to visit 2 of the monuments due to road closures however Chris took us to another monument that is not normally included on this tour and it was enjoyable. Well recommended tour to give you an overview of the Washington monuments

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Damian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This is a great way to get a taste of the sites in D.C. If you are in D.C. for an extended stay, I would recommend doing this early on so you get a sense of what areas you might want to revisit the tour doesn't allow a lot of time at each site, which is understandable since you only have 3 hours to essentially tour the entire National Mall.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Eileen B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Emily was great--she really knew her way around. Hit many many monuments/memorials, stopping almost too often--but that's what you get on the National Mall! Plenty of time to walk around each stop where appropriate. A very easy ride since the area around the Mall is pretty flat, except for Capitol Hill--which really is a bit of a hill!

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This Bike Tour was great. A small group and we covered most of the fantastic monuments in DC. Doing the night bike ride meant there were less people about and the cooler evening temperature made it most enjoyable. The ride was easy, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Your employees were very friendly in the Washington DC area. I only have one small complaint and that was one of the buses we hopped on had no air conditioner. And it was over 90 degrees that day... Anyway I did enjoy how your employees treated our family. We are from NY and are considering taking a tour hear in NYC....

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ssauer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I have booked numerous Viator tours in the past, in both the US and Europe, and unfortunately I have to say this was the worst organized tour I have been on with Viator. The tour company USA Guided Tours was so unorganized to begin with. We started the tour off at the US Capital Building. There were no instructions given as to what we were going to see at the Capital Building, where we needed to be, etc. It felt like we were left on our own to figure things out. Then after, we walked outside to meet up with our shuttle buses, and that's when the confusion really started. The buses weren't there so they kept calling them to come pick us up. They had 4 extra passengers to accommodate and find spots for. We must have wasted about 45 minutes while they tried to sort this all out. This confusion continued on at our first stop - The White House. We were on a smaller 13 - person passenger bus which I believe was added at the last minute but there was no speaker system so the guests at the back of the bus could not hear the tour guide. Then they weren't really sure when the Boat Ride on the Potomac would be, which seems odd to me as you think it would be a standard schedule for this tour that runs every day. Our driver, Marvin was excellent. He was very courteous, helpful and a good driver. Our tour guide for the monuments was Lynette, she was fine too. Once they got past their logistical problems the tour went better and we did get to see all the main monuments and buildings in Washington. Would I recommend this tour - unfortunately I would say no simply because of the lack of organization.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Bonnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was so much better than walking!!! All of the people trudging around the National Mall were looking at us with envy and we breezed by on our bike with our fabulous guide from Bike and Roll ! I have recommended this to many friends. Thx

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour filled a good day.
It was a shame that they were doing remedial work on the Capitol Building, it had scaffolding around it, and the Mall was dug up with turf replacement going on.
We missed out on the Jefferson Memorial but all the others gave us a good insight to the pride and respect Americans give to their history and armed forces. It was a moving experience.
Our guide was knowledgeable and gave a good, humorous, commentary of each site.
Seeing Washington DC from the Potomac River was also good, but lunch on the boat was a bit of a shambles. There werent enough tables and chairs for the number of tourists on the boat.
I would recommend this tour to get a good look at Washington Mall and the associated Memorials when time is restricted by a short visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Shauni H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Allows you to see the majority of the must see monuments in the city. My only recommendation is a more formalized tour. Although I loved Chris's jokes, but he too is a knowledgeable man. I would have loved more information at the sites and moving as a group opposed to here is the mall, go explore.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lane J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From expierence, bike tours are the best way to orient yourself to a city and get basic facts about a lot of attractions. We were a small group and were able to do more than a larger group but still didn't cover as much as I had expected for a 3 hour tour. Most of your time is spent at memorials.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message