Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town Alexandria

Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Must not miss! Beautiful location! Pick up and drop off is very convenient as Mt. Vernon is about 45 minutes from D.C. city center probably longer if there's a lot of traffic

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

barry w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour very interesting easy to get to meeting place and guide was very informative and fun loved the fact we were dropped back to our hotel after a great day.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Rafael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was great, a lot of history and memories. really interesting all the places, Gettysburg, Mt vernon, Arlington it was a fulfilling experience

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Only wish I'd had more time. So much to see at Mt. Vernon. Don't miss the education building!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joe and Bobby gave me a great history lesson. I learned a lot from them. I wished we had time to stop in Alexandria and look at the sites.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Harry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Tunda, was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide. My third time to tour Washington DC and learned more out the history of the United States. Very interesting. However, the heavy rain did not allow us to see the home of George Washington because my traveling companion was unable to walk the distance to the home in the heavy rain. Otherwise, everything was ok.

Especially enjoyed the second day tour and had an excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the sites, plus his presentation and personality really made this tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took the two day DC tour and enjoyed an excellent overall city tour with two knowledgeable and personal drivers, Wayne and Bob! Thanks for a favorable first trip to DC.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Manda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours on both days. Drivers were very informative and clearly had a lot of experience. One driver even varied the route to show us things that were not necessarily part of the tour which was greatly appreciated. Lots of walking on both days and it's rain or shine so bring rain gear if it's looking grey.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

marypaulah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bob, the driver on the DC in a day portion was so hilarious and considerate, I didn't think we could get a better driver. The second day proved to be equally awesome, and David was excellent, especially in the horrendous traffic.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Robin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was alone during this trip on a weekday. The driver, tour guide was very nice, very informative about the sites and I was happy w/ this company. Good job!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Jayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was wonderful and bus drivers were very informative and nice!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Liza N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Would book another tour with him.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great tour. drivers were courteous and very knowledgeable. Had time to walk around Dc and also My. Vernon. Also went to Arlington cemetery. A very emotional place. The ceremony at the tomb of the unknown soldiers very moving.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Andres P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just spectacular, awesome.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message