Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town Alexandria

Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Only wish I'd had more time. So much to see at Mt. Vernon. Don't miss the education building!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joe and Bobby gave me a great history lesson. I learned a lot from them. I wished we had time to stop in Alexandria and look at the sites.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Tunda, was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

greg h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There are some hills the last mile. Loved the boat trip back.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Rachel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brought our 12, 11, 9, and 5 year old on this bike tour. Some of the hills were a bit hard to do when going uphill dragging a 60 lb kid on a bike attached to mine but going down was better then any roller coaster. Plenty of water fountain and benches along the trail made it very manageable and fun. You should be in relatively good shape though to do this. Old Town Alexandria is beautiful to just walk around in. Good deal for your money considering entrance to George Washingtons plantation is 20 a head. Overall we had an incredible experience.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Amkinzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Encountered friendly fellow bicyclists on a hilly, but doable trail. Water stops along the way. Leafy trail. The history at Mount Vernon was palpable. Bike pick up and drop from was easy. The Potomac River Cruise was a perfect end to a hot, yet enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trail was excellent! It was so nice to have a well-maintained trail that is off the road and family-friendly. Mount Vernon was very interesting and informative. It was unfortunate that the mansion was under renovation on the outside so we didn't get to take good pictures, but they need to do the work sometime. We used the second-day option to ride up to Arlington National Cemetery...what a great trip both days.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Robin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was alone during this trip on a weekday. The driver, tour guide was very nice, very informative about the sites and I was happy w/ this company. Good job!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Connie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip. A beautiful day for a bike ride to Mt Vernon. The self guided tour of grounds was fun and Potomac cruise on way back informative and very relaxing.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Liza N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Would book another tour with him.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. The scenery on the bike ride was beautiful. The ride is all trail and pretty easy except the last quarter mile into Mt Vernon is one big hill. I ended up walking the bike to the top. Mt Vernon was good to see. I recommend the boat ride back to Alexandria and dinner in town.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Joe I think that's his name told us a lot of very interesting information on the way out and Mount Vernon was just great. Paul showed up on time to give us a ride back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. The trip was good and very informative. The bus driver, Big Joe, was great to ride with and kept us on our toes with facts and questions. I would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Thane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were only two couples on this tour so it was very personable with each other and the tour guide.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Anthony J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a great day, well worth the time. The history was very interesting as we're both the educational centre and museum. The tour guide was good fun and had very good knowledge on the history but also on golf.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message