Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town Alexandria

Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide. My third time to tour Washington DC and learned more out the history of the United States. Very interesting. However, the heavy rain did not allow us to see the home of George Washington because my traveling companion was unable to walk the distance to the home in the heavy rain. Otherwise, everything was ok.

Especially enjoyed the second day tour and had an excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the sites, plus his presentation and personality really made this tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took the two day DC tour and enjoyed an excellent overall city tour with two knowledgeable and personal drivers, Wayne and Bob! Thanks for a favorable first trip to DC.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Manda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours on both days. Drivers were very informative and clearly had a lot of experience. One driver even varied the route to show us things that were not necessarily part of the tour which was greatly appreciated. Lots of walking on both days and it's rain or shine so bring rain gear if it's looking grey.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

greg h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There are some hills the last mile. Loved the boat trip back.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Rachel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brought our 12, 11, 9, and 5 year old on this bike tour. Some of the hills were a bit hard to do when going uphill dragging a 60 lb kid on a bike attached to mine but going down was better then any roller coaster. Plenty of water fountain and benches along the trail made it very manageable and fun. You should be in relatively good shape though to do this. Old Town Alexandria is beautiful to just walk around in. Good deal for your money considering entrance to George Washingtons plantation is 20 a head. Overall we had an incredible experience.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Jay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice way to spend a couple of hours. Captain and crew were extremely professional and polite. Well worth the price paid, an excellent value.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

marypaulah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bob, the driver on the DC in a day portion was so hilarious and considerate, I didn't think we could get a better driver. The second day proved to be equally awesome, and David was excellent, especially in the horrendous traffic.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Amkinzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Encountered friendly fellow bicyclists on a hilly, but doable trail. Water stops along the way. Leafy trail. The history at Mount Vernon was palpable. Bike pick up and drop from was easy. The Potomac River Cruise was a perfect end to a hot, yet enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trail was excellent! It was so nice to have a well-maintained trail that is off the road and family-friendly. Mount Vernon was very interesting and informative. It was unfortunate that the mansion was under renovation on the outside so we didn't get to take good pictures, but they need to do the work sometime. We used the second-day option to ride up to Arlington National Cemetery...what a great trip both days.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Robin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was alone during this trip on a weekday. The driver, tour guide was very nice, very informative about the sites and I was happy w/ this company. Good job!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Jayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was wonderful and bus drivers were very informative and nice!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Connie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip. A beautiful day for a bike ride to Mt Vernon. The self guided tour of grounds was fun and Potomac cruise on way back informative and very relaxing.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Liza N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Would book another tour with him.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. The scenery on the bike ride was beautiful. The ride is all trail and pretty easy except the last quarter mile into Mt Vernon is one big hill. I ended up walking the bike to the top. Mt Vernon was good to see. I recommend the boat ride back to Alexandria and dinner in town.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great tour. drivers were courteous and very knowledgeable. Had time to walk around Dc and also My. Vernon. Also went to Arlington cemetery. A very emotional place. The ceremony at the tomb of the unknown soldiers very moving.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

danielsron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful landing on both sides of the Potomac. The cruise was nice also.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

RICK R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice way to get to Alexandria.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Andres P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just spectacular, awesome.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message