Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town Alexandria

Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trail was excellent! It was so nice to have a well-maintained trail that is off the road and family-friendly. Mount Vernon was very interesting and informative. It was unfortunate that the mansion was under renovation on the outside so we didn't get to take good pictures, but they need to do the work sometime. We used the second-day option to ride up to Arlington National Cemetery...what a great trip both days.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Robin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was alone during this trip on a weekday. The driver, tour guide was very nice, very informative about the sites and I was happy w/ this company. Good job!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Jayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was wonderful and bus drivers were very informative and nice!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Connie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip. A beautiful day for a bike ride to Mt Vernon. The self guided tour of grounds was fun and Potomac cruise on way back informative and very relaxing.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Liza N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Would book another tour with him.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. The scenery on the bike ride was beautiful. The ride is all trail and pretty easy except the last quarter mile into Mt Vernon is one big hill. I ended up walking the bike to the top. Mt Vernon was good to see. I recommend the boat ride back to Alexandria and dinner in town.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great tour. drivers were courteous and very knowledgeable. Had time to walk around Dc and also My. Vernon. Also went to Arlington cemetery. A very emotional place. The ceremony at the tomb of the unknown soldiers very moving.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

danielsron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful landing on both sides of the Potomac. The cruise was nice also.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

RICK R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice way to get to Alexandria.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Andres P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just spectacular, awesome.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Colleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great way to see most of the DC sights in a short period of time. Our tour guides were nice and informative. There are many times where you are dropped off at a location and told when/where to meet the bus for pickup, so if you are extremely geographically challenged, this is a heads-up. Also, wear comfy walking shoes, even though it's a bus tour, you'll do a ton of walking! Overall a great experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Joe I think that's his name told us a lot of very interesting information on the way out and Mount Vernon was just great. Paul showed up on time to give us a ride back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. The trip was good and very informative. The bus driver, Big Joe, was great to ride with and kept us on our toes with facts and questions. I would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent drivers on both days who were very knowledgeable and who made both trips very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

James Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining and we were able to see many of the key Washington landmarks in just two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Aimee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

enjoyed the tour. very informative. pleasant experience overall..

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Thane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were only two couples on this tour so it was very personable with each other and the tour guide.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message