From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1083 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Corey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour to see the city at night. I would recommend this if you enjoy kicking back with a beverage and seeing the city from a boat view. The staff was great. Comfortable ride that wasn't overly packed with too many people.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Cruise

Jennie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The excellent tour guide, Christopher, made this tour very interesting and enjoyable for both us and my kids aged 14 and 11. He was informative and entertaining, ably assisted by the driver, Derek. Overall a good tour but I would recommend that you wear comfortable shoes that you can walk in.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

GEOFFREY B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour with knowledgeable guides. More time at the Capitol would have been good and the river trip needed a better lunch and a live narrative rather than a recording but overall a good experience to be recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Lina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience! It was fun, well planned, and the day cruise was very enjoyable. The scenery is very beautiful.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was great. the boat was great by tell what we past by

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Juanita A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an excellent guide. He was very nice and entertaining. We did everything we were promised. The White House was blocked and he tried three times to get us there and succeeded the third time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Joe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Not cheap but this tour packs in a number of great sites that would almost certainly be missed in any self explored visit of Washington especially the memorials which were surprisingly good / interesting. The boat trip provides a useful point to relax - the light lunch and drink were also welcome. Tour guide was both informative and entertaining - great balance.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Day

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The entire family enjoyed this tour. The grounds are beautiful and we all learned new things about George Washington.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

sonja s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

John our tour guide was amazing as was our driver but a word to the wise - please do not do this tour during a heat wave! While they did everything to keep us hydrated and comfortable they could not control the weather and it got so hot 110f that one wonders if it was safe to be out walking around in that heat??
Otherwise - the tour was lovely and John was very knowledgeable !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour of the high points of Washington DC, I really enjoyed the fast paced atmosphere. You get to see lots of different parts of the city throughout the day, wear good walking shoes! However, if you want to spend more time visiting different locations, for example in the Capital Building, this is not the tour for you.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jaime B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well guided, complete information. Fun going in and out the water. It makes the difference expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Marilyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did the VIP tour of Washington which included most of the monuments, the capital and the national archives. Nick was the guide on the tour bus and was excellent. He was informative, articulate and entertaining. The tour of the capital was not very good. Nick actually gave us a lot more information than that guide did. We thought it was very worthwhile and would recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

cheryl w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time! Steve, our captain was awesome! Informative and entertaining, Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Madicasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great! Captain Steve was both informative and entertaining! The tour gave me a good idea of the things to go back to see. Good tour for children! Just long enough to hold their attention. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Amazing sites, friendly and extremely knowledgable guide and just a brilliant insight into the US capital. Will recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Adrienne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

In all I'd give this tour an A rating. We had a visitor from Italy that we took on the tour. The tour covered a lot of ground and was very enjoyable. It was especially nice because we did walking, bus and boat which broke up the day. The tour guides are very informative and try to make it fun. Note, you will be handed off to different guides throughout the day. There isn't much time at each stop just enough to take a photo and move on. Remember to order your lunch at the check out screen in the special instructions box. There are no prompts and I did have to call to get our lunch ordered after the tour was confirmed. It was very hot the day we toured and there was plenty of water bottles on the bus.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nick was an awesome tour guide! so knowledgeable and fun! Viator was a good choice again

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very thorough tour of Washington DC, giving us a great overview of the sights. Our guide was very knowledgable and informative. Could have spent longer at the Capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip itself was worth the money but I felt rushed as there was too much crammed in to the allotted time and we actually didn't get to the end of the itinerary. The trip should have been split so if you are not interested in all the war memorials choose a different trip and then you will perhaps have more time at Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial. I regret not being able to go down to the reflecting pool, so make sure you do what you intended-no regrets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Donald S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Sales people and cruise personnel were helpful and friendly. The historical narrative was good. It was great to see several monuments from the river. It was a sauna- like day in DC. And the return boat did not have an air conditioned cabin. Even at 6:30 PM it was sweltering.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

dan_vic

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was disappointed with the tour of our nation's capitol. We only saw the crypt, which was very interesting, but did not see the senate or representatives chambers. The rotunda was being worked on so it is understandable we didn't see it. The drive around the city and seeing the memorials was great. Our tour guide Nick was informative and kept our grandson listening with his added humor.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Valerie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

My husband got sick that morning and we had to leave the tour within the first few hours to find an emergency dentist.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Katria H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was very very crowded - not enough seats for the people they let on and every bit of railing had someone standing next to it. They should take smaller groups. It was also difficult for someone out of town to find where to meet up. Once we were able to get on the boat waited 40 minutes and then were told we weren't in the right line so we had to go to the end and barely got a seat, it was relaxing and enjoyable to be out on the water. Just get there early to make sure you get a good spot on top. Definitely a bit too crowded though.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message