From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1527 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome! Dexter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Tour covers a lot in a short period of time. You get to choose which area or monuments where you could spend extra time time to take pictures. Dexter can also suggest where you can grab a quick bite to eat :

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

james U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to get an overview of the DC area. The combination of driver and commentator were superb. We covered a lot of sites and yet never felt rushed. Overall, a memorable experience. We would highly recommend it to anyone who has not been to DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was an absolute blast. Our guide, Nick, was phenomenal and very passionate about the history of DC. He kept us laughing the entire day and ensured that the bus was warm and ready upon our return. I was really blown away with how beautiful the city was and how accommodating the tour was even as the city prepared for the inauguration.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I was disappointed that we did not get to see the House of Rep and the Senate in the Capitol. I thought the rest of the tour was good

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Gurumurthy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We had a knowledgeable and funny tour guide Christopher.
For the 5 hour tour, we stopped at all the main monuments and just had enough time to get out and look around.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must in DC! Great tour guides and it takes you ALL over the city. Awesome if you have a short time in DC and want to see as much as possible. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We would have never seen all the memorials and buildings in D.C. without this tour. The tour leader, Nick, was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day tour seeing the must see attractions of Washington. Everything was organised professionally, staff were there at the meeting point and gave clear instructions throughout the day. Christopher our tour guide was knowledgeable about the attractions and Washington in general. He was easy going, had a great sense of humour and made all the people on the tour comfortable and at ease. Tony the bus driver was a life saver in keeping us warm on the freezing winter day and driving safely. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Heaven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this tour to everyoneIt was such a blast and we had a tremondous tour guide that taught us so much history through Washington DC! I believe his name was Nick!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was all it was advertise to be. A real look at DC and a very moving experience. There is a lot of walking, but they are very accommodating for those who have some tired moments. The boat ride is fantastic, so go when it is running, My favorite was the Jefferson Memorial. A real surprise. All the memorials and witnessing our nations capitol, up close are well worth the steps. And every where you go there are restrooms and elevators, should you have the need. Be prepared to be tired. Some of my bets memories are of this trip with my sister.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Yvonne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide, Nick, knowledgeable and funny very bad jokes! and a lovely guy. There was a lot to see and there was some walking, but he set a pace everyone could follow easily and there was always the option of staying on the bus. At the memorials there was plenty of time to take photos and have a good look round. Great tour and a great introduction to DC. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Did the best of D.C. With Nick. He's the best and the funniest guide I've experienced in a long time. The Best of D.C. Covers all the major sites and Nick was knowledgeable and well prepared. And did I say funny! Overall a great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Katherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Christopher, was so enthusiastic, and shared his considerable knowledge of Washington DC with us. The tour covered many of Washington's top sites while traveling in a comfortable mini coach bus.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

nichp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Randy D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Just a great way to see the city, learn about our history and it effectively. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MariaAnna Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The Capitol visit was interesting, but the rest was just more or less driving around Washington. It was also terribly hot so we did not really enjoy the day much and were just waiting for it to end. But the bus was fresh,they offered water and the staff was very helfpul.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MariaAnna Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good food, good music.

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

christine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took all day tour our first day. Great overview. Wonderful guide, Christopher.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Shih Hao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour for first time visitors. Great tour guide Mr Peachy.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Amberley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get to Mt Vernon, rather than in a bus or car. Was very smooth sailing down Potomac, bit chilly in the morning so everyone stayed inside, but on return journey sun was out and we had no wind so made the most of top deck to view the mansion from afar. On arrival at Mt Vernon you are given timed entry to the mansion - had a quick stop at Washington's tomb then made way to line for mansion. Whilst it looked like along wait, it was well organised to get people moved through the mansion - had enough time to take in every room in the mansion. Still had plenty of time to see everything on the estate, stop for lunch and some souvenirs and then back to dock for return cruise home.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get in a quick tour of DC. Captain Franklin was very knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time. Sitting on the left side affords more opportunity to get in pics without other riders getting in the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

number

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab tour. Loved the boat trip down the Potomac. The grounds of Mount Vernon were lovely and it's an easy walk up to the house. Tour of the house was rather regimented - not able to go at your own pace, but then they did have to manage 100's of people. House much smaller than expected but well worth a visit.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Arniesdad United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed the October 21 Lunch cruise. We couldn't decide between the Spirit and the Odyssey cruise. The Odyssey was a barge with a restaurant on top. This was a real ship with multiple decks.
The food was good and the waiter was AMAZING! ALL the staff was outstanding. We really enjoyed that the boat was not full for the lunch cruise and so we could find places to watch the shoreline go by where we were not in the middle of a crowd. We wished there would have been more explanation of what we saw along the shore. There was some, but it was minimal. The DJ was good but not pushy.

Very enjoyable lunch cruise.

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message