From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brought our 12, 11, 9, and 5 year old on this bike tour. Some of the hills were a bit hard to do when going uphill dragging a 60 lb kid on a bike attached to mine but going down was better then any roller coaster. Plenty of water fountain and benches along the trail made it very manageable and fun. You should be in relatively good shape though to do this. Old Town Alexandria is beautiful to just walk around in. Good deal for your money considering entrance to George Washingtons plantation is 20 a head. Overall we had an incredible experience.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see parts of the City that the busses cannot go.
The Captain was very friendly, welcoming, and quite amusing with his tales and stories of the sights.
Well worth a visit. My only concern is the PA system on the Duck is not the best and remember we have a strange accent to locals as do you to us so we need to speak slowly so we don't miss anything.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Christopher our tour guide was absolutely over the top excellent. Between his professionalism, his attention to detail to tell us EVERYTHING we passed by, his incredible in-depth knowledge of history, and his patience and attentiveness to difficult other tourists made him a pleasure to be with. I would highly recommend you ask for Christopher!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Frances S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the Duck tour. My 8-year-old grandson had a great time and loved the quacker. Captain Franklin was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Paul Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WONDERFUL,SCENIC AND INSTRUCTIVE.IT WAS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE THANKS

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

greg h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There are some hills the last mile. Loved the boat trip back.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

sap_houston United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I only had a day in D.C. and did not have the energy left to try and get around by myself. I found this tour recommended on Fodors.com and took a chance. The fact that I had to show up at one stop then ride a bus all day was the icing on the cake plus got to the major sites and a boat cruise with light lunch. I can not say enough good things about our tour guide Nick and our driver Tony. Nick was fun and energetic which was especially nice since we started early morning. He told us funny relevant side notes and kept everyone together which was no small feat. He was extremely accommodating to the elderly veteran who was in the group. Highly recommend this tour and the Nick! well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour took us to many of the main places in DC that gives a one full day overview of the city. It was well organized, informative and all for a reasonable price. It combines a bus tour, walking tours of many sites as well as a boat ride with lunch on the Potomac. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Henni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a excellent and interesting tour. Nick and Tony are made a good job, They are young, funny and gave all the important information.
I can suggest this tour for all the age. I loved it. And the lunch it was excellent too

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Henni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nick and Tony made a good job. Nick is full energy and happy person who love history and kept the trip interesting and funny. I can suggest for everyone to book this trip
It and #39;s worth the price
You will see everything what you need to see in the Washington mall

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

catherinethierry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a long day, but well worthed we saw a lot! We hit a very hot day and they kept us hydrated with complimentary water and our tour guide was great and knowledgeable. All around a great experience, have not been disappointed with Viator so far

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

paul.messenger82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely day out and views on the Potomac were superb. Really enjoyed this day and worth every dollar
The staff on the boat and around Mt Vernon were brilliant making it a really special day.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Bernadette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great place to see. Loved walking through Washington's house and gardens

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Fanny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Much better than taking a bus tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent value for money! Highly recommend this trip. Lunch was amazing. Our guide Nick was brilliant, he was entertaining and very knowledgable about the city. Very comfortable bus our driver Tony was great too. Thank you. Very organised and felt well cared for through the day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Roman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent. Wish it had included pick at Senate and House chambers but all n all great value. Our guide Nick was the best. It's great to see someone who so enjoys their work. Nich was extremely knowledgeable and a true professional. For the Capital tour we had Sophia who was also very good and I think she knew every person working in the Capital. Highly recommend this tour. Oh yeah our driver Tony was also great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

REV C C KEVILL- K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This visit was extremely well organised. The house is fascinating, and we learnt a lot. The cruise was very comfortable and relaxing, and the whole experience made a lovely day out.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

bplath1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nick was an outstanding tour guide. Neal's first day of driving in crazy DC traffic was very impressive. Highly recommend this VIP tour to all visitors who want a comprehensive tour of DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

lacourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a brilliant day on this trip! The boat ride was smooth and with great commentary down the Potomac, a three hour round trip well worth the money alone. Also only a 1.50 for coffee and 1 for a bagel and cream cheese which was welcome after the early start! We were left to our own devices once at Mount Vernon and there was lots to see, the house is beautiful as are the grounds and the views of the Potomac. The tour guides at Mount Vernon were extremely knowledgable and open to questions. I'm not sure if this is there every day but there was a lovely marketplace selling homemade goods by sellers in traditional dress, with traditional games and music. Thoroughly recommended

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Rodney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing trip, guide very informative and friendly.
Loved Washington and we learnt so much on the trip.
Busy and long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was well organized, stayed on schedule and covered more than we could have done on our own in 3 days. Our tour guide-Nick- was GREAT! He was very informative, entertaining and very professional. Our driver, Tony, was quiet but always where he was supposed to be.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Mr C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took this tour on the first day of our 3 week holiday in the Washington region, and it was a great way to orientate ourselves with the city. Our driver Tony and guide Nick were really excellent. The tour was both informal and informative, which is exactly what we wanted. Nick had a great sense of humour too, and was great at answering questions. We were looked after well, particularly with water! This was very welcome, as the tour lasted the full day, and it was unseasonably hot for the time of year.
Thanks for a great day! It was very memorable! :-

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Paul T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great fun, very informative and the river cruise was superb!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message