From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1582 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dave F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Andrew was amazing. We loved the tour, and his anecdotes and insights really added to the trip

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Gunnar W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It is a very well organized tour. You will see many of the most well known/important monuments and sites in one day. No lines! Our guide, Christopher, was enthusiastic and helpful. We also had perfect weather! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

karen.tilbury Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very informative tour of all the major monuments of Washington DC. Filled with facts about the symbolism behind many of the monuments that you would not get to know about if you visited them by yourself. The Capitol building is just one of the highlights, and a must do if your in Washington DC. Our guide was exceptionally funny and informative. The day was very rainy and our driver ensured that he got us a close to drop off points as he could to minimise the amount of rain we had to walk through. A full day tour that is really worth doing to get just some of the history behind this great city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

E D H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed getting to see a lot of DC on this tour, especially the in depth tour of the Capitol building and the time spent at the various monuments. We were not as thrilled by the water trip, while you get to see DC from a different perspective, it was somewhat limited. If we had any recommendation, it would be to allow connecting-up with the tour bus before entering the Capitol -- we had to dispose of all food prior to entering the Capitol and carry everything with us, that would have been nice to leave on the bus. Also, it was somewhat inconvenient to end the tour at a different place than started -- we drove our car and tried to find parking that was half way in between start/stop locations, but it turned into quite a walk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

J'ai vraiment aimé le circuit. Permet de voir l'essentiel avec de bonnes explications. Formule repas inclus avec bons d'achat dans un centre commercial j'ai vraiment aimé !!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome! Dexter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Tour covers a lot in a short period of time. You get to choose which area or monuments where you could spend extra time time to take pictures. Dexter can also suggest where you can grab a quick bite to eat :

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

james U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to get an overview of the DC area. The combination of driver and commentator were superb. We covered a lot of sites and yet never felt rushed. Overall, a memorable experience. We would highly recommend it to anyone who has not been to DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was an absolute blast. Our guide, Nick, was phenomenal and very passionate about the history of DC. He kept us laughing the entire day and ensured that the bus was warm and ready upon our return. I was really blown away with how beautiful the city was and how accommodating the tour was even as the city prepared for the inauguration.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must see tour of the Best of DC which it really is. Great information with a great guide in deed!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Kunal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This one-day tour starts with a guided tour of the US capitol tour guide provided by the Capitol visitor center, then quickly takes you through the major memorials in Washington breaking for a free lunch at a mall and finishes at the National Archives.

The tour guide is well informed and tries to dispense as much relevant information as possible about the historical figures and the specific stories connected to the sites you'll visit without making it sound tedious. I am especially grateful for the good service because I was late for the bus more than once first when I was taking a closer look at the Jefferson memorial without realizing the rest of my tour party had left and then when I misplaced my cellphone at the mall. They had to wait for several minutes with some agitated tourists twice on my behalf and were nice enough to not leave me behind.

I should note that if you are the sort of person who likes to get a full tour of the sites you might feel rushed. I don't think this is necessarily the tour operator's fault since they're likely responding to market expectations with the volume of sites they try to include. You may wish to consider privately revisiting a site you felt you didn't get a full measure of the next day or on a future trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour guide, Nick. Saw so much. Perhaps just Be a little clearer about the beginning pick up. That was confusing. Over all loved the experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour was fantastic! Informative, organized, and super fun! Our tour guide, Nick, was enthusiastic and helpful. I highly recommend this tour. Melissa and Meka Rucker

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Saved so much time not waiting in line, fun guide, very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I was disappointed that we did not get to see the House of Rep and the Senate in the Capitol. I thought the rest of the tour was good

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tawny H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I thought the tour was really good in that it included several key sites that were on my list. The main tour guide was very good at her job! I did not like the opening of the tour where we were met with a person that was just a body. She just walked us places without saying a word about the places we were passing. She also made us wait while a fellow tour guest decided to arrive 45 min late. This was not okay in my opinion. I'm a simple girl with simple needs but this part was an epic fail for me. The last tour stop did not include any narrative as the guide parted ways at this stop. I did feel just a notch dumped off and was not certain how to get back to my hotel. I would use this group again but I would ask QQQ's first.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Zepink

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour, and Tour Guide Andrew and the Bus Driver forgot his name, attractive black man were outstanding! Andrew was very informative and had answers to all of our questions. The only reason I didn't give this review a 5 is because Andrew was not clear enough or allowed people to continuously return late to the bus. We wasted one full hour 3 times people were late waiting for people to return to the bus and this impacted our experience. Andrew, tell everyone that the bus will leave if you are more than 10 minutes late. It's not fair to us to have to wait for them time and time again. Also, don't allow anyone to get off the bus on a non scheduled stop to take photos that also delayed our trip. Thank you both for an outstanding tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Gurumurthy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We had a knowledgeable and funny tour guide Christopher.
For the 5 hour tour, we stopped at all the main monuments and just had enough time to get out and look around.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must in DC! Great tour guides and it takes you ALL over the city. Awesome if you have a short time in DC and want to see as much as possible. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We would have never seen all the memorials and buildings in D.C. without this tour. The tour leader, Nick, was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day tour seeing the must see attractions of Washington. Everything was organised professionally, staff were there at the meeting point and gave clear instructions throughout the day. Christopher our tour guide was knowledgeable about the attractions and Washington in general. He was easy going, had a great sense of humour and made all the people on the tour comfortable and at ease. Tony the bus driver was a life saver in keeping us warm on the freezing winter day and driving safely. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Heaven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this tour to everyoneIt was such a blast and we had a tremondous tour guide that taught us so much history through Washington DC! I believe his name was Nick!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was all it was advertise to be. A real look at DC and a very moving experience. There is a lot of walking, but they are very accommodating for those who have some tired moments. The boat ride is fantastic, so go when it is running, My favorite was the Jefferson Memorial. A real surprise. All the memorials and witnessing our nations capitol, up close are well worth the steps. And every where you go there are restrooms and elevators, should you have the need. Be prepared to be tired. Some of my bets memories are of this trip with my sister.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message