From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We would have never seen all the memorials and buildings in D.C. without this tour. The tour leader, Nick, was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Randy D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Just a great way to see the city, learn about our history and it effectively. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

christine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took all day tour our first day. Great overview. Wonderful guide, Christopher.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Amberley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get to Mt Vernon, rather than in a bus or car. Was very smooth sailing down Potomac, bit chilly in the morning so everyone stayed inside, but on return journey sun was out and we had no wind so made the most of top deck to view the mansion from afar. On arrival at Mt Vernon you are given timed entry to the mansion - had a quick stop at Washington's tomb then made way to line for mansion. Whilst it looked like along wait, it was well organised to get people moved through the mansion - had enough time to take in every room in the mansion. Still had plenty of time to see everything on the estate, stop for lunch and some souvenirs and then back to dock for return cruise home.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get in a quick tour of DC. Captain Franklin was very knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time. Sitting on the left side affords more opportunity to get in pics without other riders getting in the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

number

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab tour. Loved the boat trip down the Potomac. The grounds of Mount Vernon were lovely and it's an easy walk up to the house. Tour of the house was rather regimented - not able to go at your own pace, but then they did have to manage 100's of people. House much smaller than expected but well worth a visit.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Arniesdad United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed the October 21 Lunch cruise. We couldn't decide between the Spirit and the Odyssey cruise. The Odyssey was a barge with a restaurant on top. This was a real ship with multiple decks.
The food was good and the waiter was AMAZING! ALL the staff was outstanding. We really enjoyed that the boat was not full for the lunch cruise and so we could find places to watch the shoreline go by where we were not in the middle of a crowd. We wished there would have been more explanation of what we saw along the shore. There was some, but it was minimal. The DJ was good but not pushy.

Very enjoyable lunch cruise.

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great all inclusive tour with wonderful hosts - this tour incorporates all of the BEST sites to see if you are looking to see it all in one day - didn't leave out anything and the hosts were extremely knowledgeable and polite!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was fun, informative and memorable experience for my family and me. Our daughter just loved everything about the tour, only disappointment was not seeing the white house------but no fault of the tour guide or company-----circumstances beyond their control. Nick, the tour guide kept things fun and lively with his explainations, stories, and entertaining jokes. Recommend this tour primarily because of the positive and upbeat energy of the tour guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Nigel S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good. Very interesting. The cemetery for the slaves makes one's hair stand on end. All those unmarked graves, so sad.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

shunil s

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was quite a good trip. Christopher was excellent and the driver was also very good. The main disappointment was a rather rushed trip to the White House, particularly within get the best views from the front. We probably should have taken the south lawn views. Lunch was less than ordinary. I note that if we had done the trip in October, we could have had a cruise on the Potomac River. Unfortunately no allowance is made for this. However overall a good trip and Christopher was excellent with very good knowledge and definitely enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

jutta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very informative and interesting tour. Our guide, Nick was great fun and it was obvious that he enjoyed sharing his knowledge with us. The tour is done at a fast pace but with enough time to see and experience everything. We met lots of interesting people on the tour. Lunch was above expectations and the trip on the river a chance to relax and catch our breath. Our driver Lee was very much part of the team and greeted us with water every time we returned to the coach. I would recommend this tour. We saw more of Washington in a day than most people would have seen in a week if left to their own planning. If you get a chance to have nick for a guide, that would be the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was great! Full week into one day. Our guide at the Capitol Building was the best guide I and #39;ve ever had. I and #39;m not very into history, but she made it interesting. I could have listened to her all day. Our guide was great too. I only wish we could have shopped, but understand why we not.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

George B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed our trip Nick and Tony was great. We learned a lot about the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

thighhopes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A trip worth taking
Very much interesting to see all the monuments And go inside the capital building was awesome
Appreciate the tour guide for all the information provided to all of us and help us understand how history meets itself

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

mike w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

good food and crew was real good to us

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyable, peaceful. So worth it

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Leanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. We learned many interesting details.We would recommend this trip as a nice affordable overview of main sights.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

texbrit456

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. Boat ride was fun there and back. On the initial leg of the trip the captain was very informative about the sights along the way and the return leg was very quiet. There were some drinks and snacks available for purchase on the boat. Mt. Vernon itself was a great experience. Everything was very well preserved and presented. Initially, I thought 3 hours was too long to be there, but certainly could have used another hour or so to take the shuttle to the distillery and grist mill. This is a great trip for children and adults alike and was a real value.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sheilak534

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour covers everything! There is quite a bit of walking, but we really got information and time to spend at each war memorial and presidential memorials. Our tour guide was energetic and had lots of extra interesting stories.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nick our tour guide was crisp with facts and information with his knowledge of DC plus was entertaining during our bus ride. Tony our bus driver drove carefully through the DC streets and always got his passengers as close as possible to each site. Would recommend the VIP tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message