Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 596 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arlene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shaddy knows how to give a great pedicab tour. Everyone enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC National Mall and Museums Pedicab Tour

Jeff H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We used the Big Bus for 3 days and really enjoy the experiences. The tour guides Vern Adams and Tom Thompson were excellent. The information shared was very informative and you can tell they have a strong passion for history and their job. I would strongly recommend using this method to see a lot of the great sights in DC.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sandi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We Loved the Tour. The Tour guides were very informative and had great personalities. It was very hot the two days of our tour but all went well.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tamara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wait times minimal. Easy to use and get access to points of interest.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hubert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Bus tour was very good. drivers and guides were courteous, informative and helpful. It's a wonderful way to get to the different museums, gardens, historic statues and sites.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kristin J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth the money! I traveled with 2 kids and this was a lifesaver. It enabled us to see more things. The information given by the guides on the bus was interesting as well.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The beginning was great....on one stop it took an hour and fifteen. Min to be picked up...then due to traffic we never got to visit the White House.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not sure I would use this company again. We only road the red line and had an under par tour experience. When we first got on the bus, after 2 stops I had to ask the driver why no one was narrating what we were seeing. She said oh, you were supposed to get earphones when you got on! no one told us and they are located way up front near the driver. When we got on another time, there was NO ROOM and we had to stand---it wasnt bad, but again, NO NARRATION---if I wanted to just go around DC without knowing what I was seeing, I would have driven myself instead of parking and specifically choosing a tour bus!!! Another long leg of the bus had a taped narration that mostly played music with very little explanation of the sites. I had read about great tour guides, etc. online, but they all must have been off that day! The final straw was when we were told to change buses and had to SIT AND WAIT for 25-30 minutes in the hot sun before the new bus started to go. There was no warning about the changing of buses or the waiting. We would have gotten off at an earlier stop had we known that it was a hop on hop off and wait in the hot sun and get burned bus!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Preeta R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Very bad service. The bus wait at each destination wasy too long and staffs were very rude and unpolite. It's best to use bus tours like the big bus tour which has frequent services and know how to deal with their guests and customer.

But must say that the night tour was very good and so was the staff

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Gabrielle M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Unfortunately we couldn't see any of the sights as it was Memorial Sunday. We should have been informed before making our booking.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dfr707

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had 48 hour ticket - was perfect.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margaret K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour.Very good value.guides were all very good.We were able to see all of Washington and the bus stopped very close to our hotel and it was very easy to do all the routes.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

RevnRef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Plenty of places to hop on and off. Every 20 minutes or so as they state. The guides were entertaining and very informative. We had a good experience. Nice of them to offer rain ponchos for when it rained... just wish I would have taken them up on it!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Iris R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tour was Great- only waiting for the yellow and green line was disgusting, they should set some more busses on these lines!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Autumn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was really really really cool. We had our 4 year old who wasn't about to walk ANYWHERE so it was crucial to have easy transportation. The only reason I didn't give 4 stars is b/c the voucher said we could present it either hard copy or electronic, but you can't. Big Bus requires a hard copy voucher to get your ticket- we spent 1.5 hours at Union Station trying to work through the mess. Good thing we did a 48 hour tour! Other than that, I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Acheson T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good thing to do as it allows you to see a large expanse of the city. It may be me but I found the brochure/map could have been more descriptive in terms of the route/meeting points. Overall a good value.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ronald K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip, I recommend using the Big Bus in DC, because Parking is terrible.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lori C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Your was great. But waiting for the blue line was AWFUL!!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marc B K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The drop off for the Vietnam Memorial would have been closer if dropped off at the Lincoln Memorial dropoff. Now will you quit sending me emails and surveys???

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kelly S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We purchased a 24 hour all loop pass but only had a few hours to use it and found that quite a few things on the tour required you to actually leave the bus and take a walk to see the point of interest. Some monuments were not visible on the tour. Getting to the White House viewing area was a long walk in the heat approx 20 minutes when it's 100 degrees felt long!. We ran out of time and had to leave the tour before getting to see very much. Had we known that 3 hours wouldn't allow us time to see the war memorials, Lincoln memorial, the White House, I don't think we'd have invested the money.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

danielsron

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Do not buy on Viator because the employees of the tour company are not familiar with it. I spent at least 30 minutes trying to find an employee that recognized my print out. Then, they reluctantly accepted it. Do not use Viator.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Jane V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We were stuck going in and out of traffic. We assumed the route would have been a little more straight forward to destinations

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

joy_gauthier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

OMG! You lose about 3 hours of your life on the Yellow route. I pre-booked for the whole week, then got to my B and B and found out that there are discounts with them, so BAM I spent too much money.
then we get on the bus and BAM we are on 1 route for over 3 hours!!! This is a good way to see the city ONCE, this is not a good way to get you to any of your destinations in a timely fashion. I spent a ton a money cabbing it around the city to get to our appointed destinations in time for entry into exhibits. I would recommend this only as a one time tour not a way to get around the city.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message