Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 642 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

First, wasted 2 hours of our morning trying to find the pickup location nearest us. No one answers their phone or returns calls. Then got stuck in gridlock traffic for 2 hours due to planned road closures. We were told there would be detours, but no mention of expected traffic mess until we were stuck in it on the other side of town. Debating whether to use 2nd day ticket.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Harry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We used the bus tour as a way to see how Washington,DC is put together, where things are in reference to each other as well save our legs. It accomplished all that!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Renee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My son and I had an amazing day on the bus! It was SO convenient being able to jump on and off as we pleased based on our interest level at each stop. The buses were always on schedule and easy to catch. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Especially if you have a short amount of time in the city, I would definitely recommend this option for one day!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margaret V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good for an over view of Washington

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WildliferJess United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop-on and hop-off at our own pace. The most we ever waited for a bus was 30 minutes, and that's because we arrived at the stop right after a bus had just been there. The guide was informative and we learned some new facts about the DC area. My only complaint is that the guide sits on the top, and when the bus is moving it makes it hard to hear him as the microphone picks up a lot of air noise. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laurence W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We had wonderful weather so we really enjoyed being upstairs and outside to see all the wonderful sights around D.C. Our tour guide was wonderful, funny, and helpful although he tended at times to talk too fast. Our only complaint is the long wait time after getting off to see the White House, going back to the bus stop, and then waiting . . . waiting . . . waiting.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

jac_4819

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We were very disappointed in the bus. It was extremely hot and no a/c on the bus. Also, the bus was filthy. We forego all of our money and was picked up by another bus line that had a/c.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Graham Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant way to see around Washington, we booked for 48 hours and still didnt quite get to see everything. We also did night tour also. Live commentary was definitely better than the audio. Loads of bus stops to get on and off and we were fortunate there was a stop right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jerry Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The flexibility for different routes and experiencing the many different sites was incredible. The schedule even among heavy traffic was very close to right on. Would recommend to everyone visiting D.C. area.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to get around D. C. Would use big bus again.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Not too long and not too short. Just the right amount of time!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John Z S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, it was better than expected great views from the upper level of the tour bus. The people were very courteous and helpful.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Reid R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to see DC and the surrounding area. We had a choice of four tour loops since we were already staying in Georgetown, we opted for the red and blue loops, which took us to all of the must-see places including a trip past the Pentagon and over to Arlington National Cemetery. The buses come every 20 to 30 minutes and it was so easy to move from site to site at our own pace. The Big Bus is highly visible so you could see it approaching at each stop and staff were at every stop to answer questions and help us out.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kbb3745

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

there isn't anyplace th bus doesn't take you....best way to go!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great. Loved our driver.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

On a limited time schedule 2 days it was the only way to see things, very informative. The only reason not given top marks was that about half the busses had automated voice over, rather than a conductor narrating the tour. The conductors were brilliant in every instance, The recording was often out of sinc and left something to be desired. But without the bus we would have not seen half of DC.
Bill Beynon

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brenda C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I'm sure I'm spelling our Guide's name wrong - Bur Gay ? I hope it's close enough, so that you know who I'm referring to - he was wonderful! Very knowledgeable, and very good at imparting knowledge in an easy-to-understand manner. It is clear he loves the city, and enjoys telling its stories. We appreciated him very much.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Al G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We definitely were able to see more of the DC area and get explanations of what we were seeing. It was very informative! The only change I would suggest is to have the later buses also have someone on that could explain the sights.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see DC. However, a special event was taking place on the day we travelled around which meant that some routes were not available. However, we were given an extra day for the tour which was a great consolation!!! Well done BIG BUS!!!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tony G J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We used the bus to view the many monuments. I like the ability to hop off to view a monument and then hop back on to view another monument. The on-bus guides offered many tidbits about the area.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dena H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We used Big Bus to get all around DC - saw all the monuments and memorials, visited several museums. Bus was comfortable and guides were knowledgeable. We liked the option of 4 different loops. We really enjoyed the nighttime tour. Our only issue was a long wait in between busses - maybe to be expected but we didn't feel like it was communicated to us what the wait would be.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rita D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to get around the city and see the historical sites, museums, and memorials. It rained the whole time we were there, but we still enjoyed our visit. A couple of times we had very long waits for the next bus to come by, but most of the time, they were right on schedule.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Theresa C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tours day and night! Great tour guides.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message