Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Darius G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We came to the one of the loop hop on points and our bus just left the point. Red loop bus driver took us, called to another bus driver and we catch-up our bus at the next station. Amazing and friendly service! Great work guys! Thank you!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Doing the two day bus tour gave us enough time each day to see as much as we wanted.
The open air top was great to be outdoors while listening to the scripted tour sights.
The wax museum was fun. A bonus. Bus times were good, never had to wait long and always seating of choice.
It was great to just sit on the bus and take in the sights, very relaxing,
Loved it, would do it again, highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Keith H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Buses did not run often enough and you had to wait a lot.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

William J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We booked this tour on line through viator. We arrived early at the tour desk at Union Station. The website specifically stated that the voucher could be used from your phone or a printed copy. The tour operator said they could not take the voucher from my phone. We spent over 30 minutes emailing and re emailing the voucher to the bus companies main office. People at the main office would not call back the tour operator in DC. We missed the first tour bus, and were finally able to get on the second. The tour operator also told us that they have had problems with tours booked through viator before and they had asked to remove the phone voucher option previously. Although, we enjoyed the tour itself, it was too difficult to get on the tour to begin with. Would not book a tour through viator again and would go straight to the tour company. Also, the price was the same, no money saved and way more hassle.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeff P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Super convenient and helpful to see the most sights. Many of the guides were helpful. However beware of the last bus times for the routes. They all have different stopping times and we ended up stranded the first night because we were unaware the lines last bus was at 4:30p. It is stated on the ticket but it would have been nice for someone to mention it, as the ticket they print for you is literally 4 feet long.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was terrific! So knowledgeable and well spoken.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

elizadevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The night tour was amazing. Our tour guide Vern was so knowledge and entertaining. Highly recommend the night tour

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Binks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to introduce kids to the Capitol. Fun, fact-filled, allows for physical activity while learninghop-off, walk, hop-on. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to see the city sights and good value

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

shaun c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You really need at least 2 days if you actually want to anywhere to do this tour it takes you just about everywhere you could possibly want to go to and dont miss out on the included in the price Madam Tussards visit.

If you want to visit the Pentigan its about 5/6 mins walk from the stop as for Arlington you are dropped right outside

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to get around DC. Can get crowded and occasionally had to wait for second bus. Nighttime tour was fantastic!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Doug K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Fun ride and able to your time as needed at stops.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

First, wasted 2 hours of our morning trying to find the pickup location nearest us. No one answers their phone or returns calls. Then got stuck in gridlock traffic for 2 hours due to planned road closures. We were told there would be detours, but no mention of expected traffic mess until we were stuck in it on the other side of town. Debating whether to use 2nd day ticket.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Harry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We used the bus tour as a way to see how Washington,DC is put together, where things are in reference to each other as well save our legs. It accomplished all that!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Renee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My son and I had an amazing day on the bus! It was SO convenient being able to jump on and off as we pleased based on our interest level at each stop. The buses were always on schedule and easy to catch. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Especially if you have a short amount of time in the city, I would definitely recommend this option for one day!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margaret V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good for an over view of Washington

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WildliferJess United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop-on and hop-off at our own pace. The most we ever waited for a bus was 30 minutes, and that's because we arrived at the stop right after a bus had just been there. The guide was informative and we learned some new facts about the DC area. My only complaint is that the guide sits on the top, and when the bus is moving it makes it hard to hear him as the microphone picks up a lot of air noise. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laurence W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We had wonderful weather so we really enjoyed being upstairs and outside to see all the wonderful sights around D.C. Our tour guide was wonderful, funny, and helpful although he tended at times to talk too fast. Our only complaint is the long wait time after getting off to see the White House, going back to the bus stop, and then waiting . . . waiting . . . waiting.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

jac_4819

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We were very disappointed in the bus. It was extremely hot and no a/c on the bus. Also, the bus was filthy. We forego all of our money and was picked up by another bus line that had a/c.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Graham Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant way to see around Washington, we booked for 48 hours and still didnt quite get to see everything. We also did night tour also. Live commentary was definitely better than the audio. Loads of bus stops to get on and off and we were fortunate there was a stop right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jerry Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The flexibility for different routes and experiencing the many different sites was incredible. The schedule even among heavy traffic was very close to right on. Would recommend to everyone visiting D.C. area.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to get around D. C. Would use big bus again.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Not too long and not too short. Just the right amount of time!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John Z S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, it was better than expected great views from the upper level of the tour bus. The people were very courteous and helpful.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message