Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 608 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Boas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent deal - 2 days hop -on hop-off, bus stops at central locations, 4 different bus lines, you can get everywhere, additional bonuses: Free night tour, Free museum entrance, Free 1 Hr rent-a-bike and free coffee.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip! The Big Bus really helped us get around the city. Everything worked great.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

knowledgeable tour guide transfers was great night tour was great some bus trouble day 2 but overall it was great

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

TAMARA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and great service provided by drivers and occasional tour guides. Very convenient hop on and hop off locations. Highly recommend this tour if you want to see the sights in DC and on a limited timeframe. Purchased the 48 hour tour and enjoyed it thoroughly. Buses run on schedule unless special event in city causes traffic backups.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Noreen P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our first stop at union station was a great one. The guide was fantastic. Then we got on near the white House and the Guide was NASTY. JUST RUDE. NEEDS TO FIND ANOTHER JOB.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bernadette B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Convenient but they need AC especially when it is so hot in DC or at the very least put fans in the buses.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

EDWARD L R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Didn't really care for experience.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bplath1

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Enjoyed this Big Bus Hop on / Hop off adventure until the last ride. We had just got on a Yellow Loop bus at 430pm to go to Georgetown. We were informed upon boarding the bus that it would not complete the entire loop of the route dropping off at stop 35. We had plans in Georgetown that evening and was counting on the bus to complete its route. Very disappointed and it cost us a taxi ride to our final destination.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michele G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A good way to see the sights and get to different locations in a day. A bit disorganised as to when / which bus was arriving and sometimes we were asked to produce our e-tickets and not others. Tours with a guide proving a live commentary were way much better than the pre-recorded ones. It would be useful if headphones were placed more prominently and made clear that you needed them - saw many people having to go back downstairs to get a pair. Overall good but a few quibbles. Michele G UK

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rubennia W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Only one of the attendees was actually into doing his job. He was very informative and funny at times. I got off at the Madame Tousaint Museum to grab a bite to eat around 5pm with the intention of getting back on to get to the Union Station by 7pm because I had purchase the 48 hour pass so I could view the city at night. Well the bus never came and calls to the 1-877 number went unanswered. As I looked over my information packet, no where did it say that the buses stopped running at a certain time. It did say that the hours which I assumed was the office hours ended at 4pm. I was stranded and had to take a cab back to my hotel. On my next visit and there will be a next visit I'll book another tour bus company.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

donna M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We done the night tour which was good, our guides were great. The day tours were terrible. Couldn't find any bus stops. The yellow line only ran every 2 hours and when we waited the bus was late. There clearly isn't enough buses. Not enough guides for information. We couldn't find where to get the purple line so missed that. Poor value for money compared to the big bus with buses every 15-20 minutes. Very disappointed. Spend a lot time hanging about waiting on the buses

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Arlene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shaddy knows how to give a great pedicab tour. Everyone enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC National Mall and Museums Pedicab Tour

Jeff H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We used the Big Bus for 3 days and really enjoy the experiences. The tour guides Vern Adams and Tom Thompson were excellent. The information shared was very informative and you can tell they have a strong passion for history and their job. I would strongly recommend using this method to see a lot of the great sights in DC.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sandi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We Loved the Tour. The Tour guides were very informative and had great personalities. It was very hot the two days of our tour but all went well.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tamara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wait times minimal. Easy to use and get access to points of interest.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hubert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Bus tour was very good. drivers and guides were courteous, informative and helpful. It's a wonderful way to get to the different museums, gardens, historic statues and sites.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kristin J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth the money! I traveled with 2 kids and this was a lifesaver. It enabled us to see more things. The information given by the guides on the bus was interesting as well.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Adrea B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Loved this beautiful city. Tour was great .thanks

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The beginning was great....on one stop it took an hour and fifteen. Min to be picked up...then due to traffic we never got to visit the White House.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not sure I would use this company again. We only road the red line and had an under par tour experience. When we first got on the bus, after 2 stops I had to ask the driver why no one was narrating what we were seeing. She said oh, you were supposed to get earphones when you got on! no one told us and they are located way up front near the driver. When we got on another time, there was NO ROOM and we had to stand---it wasnt bad, but again, NO NARRATION---if I wanted to just go around DC without knowing what I was seeing, I would have driven myself instead of parking and specifically choosing a tour bus!!! Another long leg of the bus had a taped narration that mostly played music with very little explanation of the sites. I had read about great tour guides, etc. online, but they all must have been off that day! The final straw was when we were told to change buses and had to SIT AND WAIT for 25-30 minutes in the hot sun before the new bus started to go. There was no warning about the changing of buses or the waiting. We would have gotten off at an earlier stop had we known that it was a hop on hop off and wait in the hot sun and get burned bus!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Preeta R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Very bad service. The bus wait at each destination wasy too long and staffs were very rude and unpolite. It's best to use bus tours like the big bus tour which has frequent services and know how to deal with their guests and customer.

But must say that the night tour was very good and so was the staff

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Gabrielle M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Unfortunately we couldn't see any of the sights as it was Memorial Sunday. We should have been informed before making our booking.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dfr707

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had 48 hour ticket - was perfect.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margaret K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour.Very good value.guides were all very good.We were able to see all of Washington and the bus stopped very close to our hotel and it was very easy to do all the routes.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

RevnRef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Plenty of places to hop on and off. Every 20 minutes or so as they state. The guides were entertaining and very informative. We had a good experience. Nice of them to offer rain ponchos for when it rained... just wish I would have taken them up on it!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message