There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the US Capitol building, with its towering 285-foot (86-meter) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karen.tilbury Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very informative tour of all the major monuments of Washington DC. Filled with facts about the symbolism behind many of the monuments that you would not get to know about if you visited them by yourself. The Capitol building is just one of the highlights, and a must do if your in Washington DC. Our guide was exceptionally funny and informative. The day was very rainy and our driver ensured that he got us a close to drop off points as he could to minimise the amount of rain we had to walk through. A full day tour that is really worth doing to get just some of the history behind this great city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

E D H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed getting to see a lot of DC on this tour, especially the in depth tour of the Capitol building and the time spent at the various monuments. We were not as thrilled by the water trip, while you get to see DC from a different perspective, it was somewhat limited. If we had any recommendation, it would be to allow connecting-up with the tour bus before entering the Capitol -- we had to dispose of all food prior to entering the Capitol and carry everything with us, that would have been nice to leave on the bus. Also, it was somewhat inconvenient to end the tour at a different place than started -- we drove our car and tried to find parking that was half way in between start/stop locations, but it turned into quite a walk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Kunal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This one-day tour starts with a guided tour of the US capitol tour guide provided by the Capitol visitor center, then quickly takes you through the major memorials in Washington breaking for a free lunch at a mall and finishes at the National Archives.

The tour guide is well informed and tries to dispense as much relevant information as possible about the historical figures and the specific stories connected to the sites you'll visit without making it sound tedious. I am especially grateful for the good service because I was late for the bus more than once first when I was taking a closer look at the Jefferson memorial without realizing the rest of my tour party had left and then when I misplaced my cellphone at the mall. They had to wait for several minutes with some agitated tourists twice on my behalf and were nice enough to not leave me behind.

I should note that if you are the sort of person who likes to get a full tour of the sites you might feel rushed. I don't think this is necessarily the tour operator's fault since they're likely responding to market expectations with the volume of sites they try to include. You may wish to consider privately revisiting a site you felt you didn't get a full measure of the next day or on a future trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I was disappointed that we did not get to see the House of Rep and the Senate in the Capitol. I thought the rest of the tour was good

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was all it was advertise to be. A real look at DC and a very moving experience. There is a lot of walking, but they are very accommodating for those who have some tired moments. The boat ride is fantastic, so go when it is running, My favorite was the Jefferson Memorial. A real surprise. All the memorials and witnessing our nations capitol, up close are well worth the steps. And every where you go there are restrooms and elevators, should you have the need. Be prepared to be tired. Some of my bets memories are of this trip with my sister.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MariaAnna Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The Capitol visit was interesting, but the rest was just more or less driving around Washington. It was also terribly hot so we did not really enjoy the day much and were just waiting for it to end. But the bus was fresh,they offered water and the staff was very helfpul.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was great! Full week into one day. Our guide at the Capitol Building was the best guide I and #39;ve ever had. I and #39;m not very into history, but she made it interesting. I could have listened to her all day. Our guide was great too. I only wish we could have shopped, but understand why we not.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! This was a great way to see many sites that would have been difficult to do on foot or car. The tour guide was awesome! Full of great information. He was a monuments fan and had so much history to share as we moved along. The tour of the US Capitol was wonderfully thorough. We got to see some areas not on the regular tours. Wish we could have gotten closer to the White House but we did get to see the grounds. The lunch on the Potomac was beautiful. Worth the price!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Winton D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour was very good. We covered all the major monuments and the Capitol Building. The tour bus was not comfortable, though and I got doused with a lot of cold water that came out of an air conditioner vent midway through the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jessica P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

we did more driving past the same monument capitol then stopping to actually get out and look around...

our tour guide was a snoozer..... no personality and told the same stories over and over. not impressed.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Dr. Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We saw many interesting buildings and monuments in an action-packed 4 hours. Great way to get a quick view of Washington around the capitol area. Our tour guide was well informed about the sites and gave us a quick historical blitz at each stop.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Mary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My fit bit was counting away. We got our exercise in plus bus rides and boat ride. The Capitol was wonderful with very short line. We saw lots of monuments and I was happy to see FDR which I had never seen before. Nick was a wonderful guide as was the new bus driver. Nick kept us laughing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

GEOFFREY B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour with knowledgeable guides. More time at the Capitol would have been good and the river trip needed a better lunch and a live narrative rather than a recording but overall a good experience to be recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide on the Old Trolley was Anthony. Very knowledgable, interesting, and courteous. His anecdotes were interesting and charming. The sites illuminated at night were surreal. We never expected what we beheld. A high point of the trip to our nation's Capitol.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Allen L P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip with a fun and knowledgeable guide. Note: this is the short tour of the capitol and so not exhaustive, but a good short one. I was lucky enough to sit up front with my family in the second row, but had I sat in the back, not only would I have faced to the rear, but I doubt I'd have heard a lot of what the guide since he had no amplification.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very thorough tour of Washington DC, giving us a great overview of the sights. Our guide was very knowledgable and informative. Could have spent longer at the Capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip itself was worth the money but I felt rushed as there was too much crammed in to the allotted time and we actually didn't get to the end of the itinerary. The trip should have been split so if you are not interested in all the war memorials choose a different trip and then you will perhaps have more time at Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial. I regret not being able to go down to the reflecting pool, so make sure you do what you intended-no regrets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

dan_vic

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was disappointed with the tour of our nation's capitol. We only saw the crypt, which was very interesting, but did not see the senate or representatives chambers. The rotunda was being worked on so it is understandable we didn't see it. The drive around the city and seeing the memorials was great. Our tour guide Nick was informative and kept our grandson listening with his added humor.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved John our guide. He put a lot IV energy into this. This hits the highlights if you have one day. If you have more then hit some of the world class museums. We are very happy we did this and John gets a lot of credit. Be aware much of the Capitol rotunda us closed soon and that was the best

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Leon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic! This tour covered all of the main sites in DC with comfort. Our guide Mary was so knowledgeable, engaging, and fun. Her personal touch gave us insites into the history and feelings of the times. Especially poignant were the FDR, MLK, Jefferson, war memorials, and Capitol tours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

S R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the tour on 6th of July 2016, had an amazing trip with trip guide Nick and driver Ali. Well paced, yet enough time to explore, enjoy and take snaps at each stop. Nick was full of energy, had plenty of jokes and stories to share. It made a big difference to hear about some interesting facts and symbols before visiting each memorial, helped to better understand and appreciate each of them.

The VIP tickets are tad costly, but helps skip the queue at the Capitol and National Archives. The cruise was ok, didn't see much value with that. The only -ve was the packed lunch, we had ordered two roasted chicken on hero roll, instead got one chicken roll and one veg roll... not much to complain, since the veg roll was tasty so overall the trip was definitely the high point of the weekend we spent at DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

All the icons of Washington in one package, with a guided tour of the US Capitol Building, entry to the National Archives Building and the City coach tour including lunch and the Potomac River cruise.
The Rotunda of the National Archives displays the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Declaration of Independence, which are worth the look even for non-US citizens.
The only draw back was it excluded access to the inside of the Washington Monument, otherwise this would have been the perfect tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

molei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two young men who checked us in and kept the group together were awesome. Although the Capitol is being renovated, it was nice to be able to visit as far as the rotunda. This was one of the reasons I chose this tour. The Capitol guide didn't lose my attention at all. Besides sharing history and interesting information, he added some spice to keep our attention. After Nick took over, it was non-stop history, information, joking and guidance. He did not waste anytime. He is an excellent tour guide! I enjoyed visiting the White House, Washington Monument, city's famous landmarks, memorials, and National Archives. The Potomac River cruise with a simple lunch was a good break, but we were still touring. We certainly covered a lot in 8 hours!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Albin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

John was spectacular as a tour guide. We had so much fun. Even though the heat was terrible, Sam kept the air conditioned at the right level. We also had water and soda for free. My wife and I recommend this trip if you want to know the Capitol city.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message