There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the US Capitol building, with its towering 285-foot (86-meter) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GEOFFREY B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour with knowledgeable guides. More time at the Capitol would have been good and the river trip needed a better lunch and a live narrative rather than a recording but overall a good experience to be recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Allen L P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip with a fun and knowledgeable guide. Note: this is the short tour of the capitol and so not exhaustive, but a good short one. I was lucky enough to sit up front with my family in the second row, but had I sat in the back, not only would I have faced to the rear, but I doubt I'd have heard a lot of what the guide since he had no amplification.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very thorough tour of Washington DC, giving us a great overview of the sights. Our guide was very knowledgable and informative. Could have spent longer at the Capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip itself was worth the money but I felt rushed as there was too much crammed in to the allotted time and we actually didn't get to the end of the itinerary. The trip should have been split so if you are not interested in all the war memorials choose a different trip and then you will perhaps have more time at Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial. I regret not being able to go down to the reflecting pool, so make sure you do what you intended-no regrets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

dan_vic

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was disappointed with the tour of our nation's capitol. We only saw the crypt, which was very interesting, but did not see the senate or representatives chambers. The rotunda was being worked on so it is understandable we didn't see it. The drive around the city and seeing the memorials was great. Our tour guide Nick was informative and kept our grandson listening with his added humor.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved John our guide. He put a lot IV energy into this. This hits the highlights if you have one day. If you have more then hit some of the world class museums. We are very happy we did this and John gets a lot of credit. Be aware much of the Capitol rotunda us closed soon and that was the best

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Leon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic! This tour covered all of the main sites in DC with comfort. Our guide Mary was so knowledgeable, engaging, and fun. Her personal touch gave us insites into the history and feelings of the times. Especially poignant were the FDR, MLK, Jefferson, war memorials, and Capitol tours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

S R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the tour on 6th of July 2016, had an amazing trip with trip guide Nick and driver Ali. Well paced, yet enough time to explore, enjoy and take snaps at each stop. Nick was full of energy, had plenty of jokes and stories to share. It made a big difference to hear about some interesting facts and symbols before visiting each memorial, helped to better understand and appreciate each of them.

The VIP tickets are tad costly, but helps skip the queue at the Capitol and National Archives. The cruise was ok, didn't see much value with that. The only -ve was the packed lunch, we had ordered two roasted chicken on hero roll, instead got one chicken roll and one veg roll... not much to complain, since the veg roll was tasty so overall the trip was definitely the high point of the weekend we spent at DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

All the icons of Washington in one package, with a guided tour of the US Capitol Building, entry to the National Archives Building and the City coach tour including lunch and the Potomac River cruise.
The Rotunda of the National Archives displays the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Declaration of Independence, which are worth the look even for non-US citizens.
The only draw back was it excluded access to the inside of the Washington Monument, otherwise this would have been the perfect tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

molei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two young men who checked us in and kept the group together were awesome. Although the Capitol is being renovated, it was nice to be able to visit as far as the rotunda. This was one of the reasons I chose this tour. The Capitol guide didn't lose my attention at all. Besides sharing history and interesting information, he added some spice to keep our attention. After Nick took over, it was non-stop history, information, joking and guidance. He did not waste anytime. He is an excellent tour guide! I enjoyed visiting the White House, Washington Monument, city's famous landmarks, memorials, and National Archives. The Potomac River cruise with a simple lunch was a good break, but we were still touring. We certainly covered a lot in 8 hours!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Albin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

John was spectacular as a tour guide. We had so much fun. Even though the heat was terrible, Sam kept the air conditioned at the right level. We also had water and soda for free. My wife and I recommend this trip if you want to know the Capitol city.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Monica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing and we and #39;ll worth the money. Elizabeth reminded everyone that Shelia was a service dog and not to bother the dog. She also got an elevator pass and a shuttle for my mom at the Capitol. Andrew and Mary also were very helpful. John even held Shelia so we could see the Bill of Righ

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anand M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the money. We got to see the national archives, capitol building, a ferry tour, and most of the memorials. The tour guide made it so entertaining and informative. We loved it. He's an asset to the business. He's a people person.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Dorene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Knowledgeable driver. Perfect timing. Just enough to to explore the highlights of our Capitol. Buckeye was a pleasure.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Beth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All of the guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. Would highly recommend this tour. Chris was exceptionally helpful and Abdul guided the bus expertly. The girls that escorted us through the capitol building were top notch. Just be prepared for a lot of walking and walking up and down steps. Hit 12k steps on my fit bit from this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MissLouise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Not worth the money. Everything in DC is free to access but I thought by booking this tour we would be given priority access skip-the-lines but all the museums DC have airport-style security which you still have to line up for. At the National Archives we stood in line just like everybody else, even after clearing security, and no we did not get to visit some part of the museum not normally accessible to the public as the title of this tour implies. Guided tours of the Capitol are free anyway. With the amount of walking we did in the rain between locations where the bus would meet us, it would have been cheaper and easier to just grab taxis from the street. The Potomac River cruise was freezing and with the rain, it was difficult to see anything. The lunch was a salad roll and a soda. The tour itself was fine but it's just not worth the money because not only is everything free anyway, but it doesn't give you any kind of priority access.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Robert M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Chris and driver Tony were terrific. We saw the major monuments which was a great way to start our visit to DC. Unfortunately the boat ride was cancelled for reasons that were not clear to us and we never got to see the white house due to a lock down after there was a shooter at the Capitol. Otherwise I would recommend this as an introductory way to see sights.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Debra D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Christopher was excellent. So personable and lots of knowledge of history. He is very good at what he does. The bus was very comfortable. All the sites were so memorable. Loved the river lunch cruise, although we had to wait over 30 mins for the boat. The meet up near the Capitol was a bit unorganized. The greeters could be a bit more definitive as to the check in process. I would definitely recommend this to others!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Murray S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Capitol tour was a little disappointing, didn't really get to see much other than rotunda and statuary hall. Tour guide on bus portion was very good and entertaining. Boat ride was nice, but had to wait long time for boat to show up at dock, could not hear guide on boat, and lunch was average at best. Overall, worth doing, but probably could do cheaper by skipping the capital tour and archive which maybe got you in building 5 minutes faster and boat ride.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Debbie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am giving a bed review because of the following reasons:

1. The tour guide left 10 minutes before the meeting time.
My daughter and I arrived in front of library of congress and the Neptune water fountain at 9 sharp. There were no sign of a tour group. I did hear one gentlemen calling the company and question the group where about. It turned out they have left us 10 minutes prior to 9 am, which was not responsible. Since the instruction was to meet at 9 am.

2. Really late lunch service, if any.
After the Us Capitol the shuttle bus took us to many walking sites the front of White House, World War ll memorial, Vietnam Memorial. and Lincoln memorial. We ended at infront of The National Archives around 1 pm and were told to return on the bus at 1:50 pm. There were no lunch discussion at 1 pm yet. I really don't know when my group ate, since I decided to feed my daughter in the National Archieve cafferteria. I also told the tour guide we were returning at that point.

3. They changed the agenda around. According to their advisement we were to end at the National Archieve. But the switched and went to the Archieve in the middle of the trip, without prior worning. Which caused problem for me.
This DC trip was my first trip treviling with just my daughter and I. I planned metro ride back to our hotel at the stop of the National Archieve. Since the company changed the order of the tour. I felt I eased to continued with the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

RAGHAVAN VIJAY V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very gud tour. Everything from the time management, to the content and drive around was superb. We even got time to cover a guided tour of the Capitol Hill and still manage to cover the rest of the spots on the ride. Strongly recommend for all first timers especially if u are on 1-2 days visit.

Lastly as a family this the second time we used Viator , the first was last year being in Paris Effiel tower tour and we have found you guys to be very professional and value for money, so keep up the gud work and meet u soon in another destination!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was very enlightening. We thoroughly enjoyed learning all the facts about our nation's capitol. Washington, D.C. was wonderful by day and by night. We are happy we made the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting from Ireland and we took the 3 hour tour and it was fantastic. Sally our guide was so informative about all the various aspects of Washington. She was helpful and friendly as also was our driver Krishna. The tour took in all the famous sights and we got to get out of the bus at The Capitol Building, White House, War Memorials and the LIncoln Memorial among others. The weather was fabulous and added to a great day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Hugo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Overall a great experience. The Hop on off Trolley allows you the freedom to sight see our nations capitol with ease and comfort.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message