Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Vietnam Veterans Memorial

If not one of the most powerful in the world, the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial is certainly one of the most powerful in Washington D.C. The iconic memorial is comprised of two walls of polished black granite, on which the names of the 58,209 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour!. John and Rahel were beyond words... My hysband a Vietnam
Veteran requested extra time at memorial and John accommodated him. The tour includes most of the and #34;must see visits and #34; in Washington. Thank you! Highly recommend this tour.....A++++

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John O

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I enjoyed the tour overall my third time.
The guide was very pleasant and helpful.
However I thought the depth of presentation at each monument was only fair rather than very good or excellent. It was a skimpy job rather than anything in depth. For instance the concept behind the Vietnam Memorial was not really explained. It seemed to be directed towards a very basic understanding which might appeal to a tour member with absolutely no knowledge of any of this. Other tours I was on before were much more in depth and and therefore much more stimulating for the tour members.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and stops at the Lincoln MLK and Iwo Jima memorials were good choices. We would not have been able to see as many monuments any other way and enjoyed the insights given by and #34;the Professor and #34;. The only downside was that it was too dark to see the Vietnam Nam memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Christene w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We took the tour our first night and loved it! It's a great way to see the top spots and the monuments at night are a must see! Plan to see the Korean War and Vietnam War Memorials in the daylight though so you can appreciate them as they are too hard to see at night. Our guide, Nick, was fantastic!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Harold W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

On our visit May 5th, we took your tour and were thoroughly disappointed. We didn't see all we paid to see, like the Pentagon City, where we were to stop and have lunch, and we saw the Air Force memorial only from a distance and a moving bus, as well as missing out on the WWII memorial, and the Pentagon memorial. We were told to get off and grab a sandwich from the snack bar near the Korean memorial and the Vietnam War Memorial. Then we were driven to the Arlington National Cemetery and dropped off to fend for ourselves. We took a tram to the sites we wanted to see, then had to make our way to the Metro stop. We paid nearly 138.00 and really felt short-changed.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Jacquelyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time viewing the monuments. At the Vietnam wall we were able to find the name of our Uncle who was MIA for over 25 years. It was very moving. the cherry blossoms were beautiful and so was the full moon.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Debbie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am giving a bed review because of the following reasons:

1. The tour guide left 10 minutes before the meeting time.
My daughter and I arrived in front of library of congress and the Neptune water fountain at 9 sharp. There were no sign of a tour group. I did hear one gentlemen calling the company and question the group where about. It turned out they have left us 10 minutes prior to 9 am, which was not responsible. Since the instruction was to meet at 9 am.

2. Really late lunch service, if any.
After the Us Capitol the shuttle bus took us to many walking sites the front of White House, World War ll memorial, Vietnam Memorial. and Lincoln memorial. We ended at infront of The National Archives around 1 pm and were told to return on the bus at 1:50 pm. There were no lunch discussion at 1 pm yet. I really don't know when my group ate, since I decided to feed my daughter in the National Archieve cafferteria. I also told the tour guide we were returning at that point.

3. They changed the agenda around. According to their advisement we were to end at the National Archieve. But the switched and went to the Archieve in the middle of the trip, without prior worning. Which caused problem for me.
This DC trip was my first trip treviling with just my daughter and I. I planned metro ride back to our hotel at the stop of the National Archieve. Since the company changed the order of the tour. I felt I eased to continued with the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nick was our tour guide and what a delight he was. He shared many interesting facts and bits to help us appreciate the history behind many of the monuments and buildings in DC. He adds a dose of humor and fun to the tour which was refreshing. He did a particularly excellent job of explaining the meaning behind various memorials such as the Vietnam and WW2, what the artist's intention was and the meaning they wished to convey. Very thought provoking. We highly recommend this guide and the night tour. Worth your time.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

karen e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really a must see. The monuments at night are a must. There are so many and the only way to see them is a tour. I wish you had more time at the monuments we stopped at. For example, there was plenty of time to see Lincoln only if we did not go to the Vietnam memorial at the same stop. Vince is great

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Kathy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Small group tour was great. Made a swing around the Jefferson Memorial which was not a regular part of the tour. Vietnam memorial not on tour, guide said it was not lit at night. Guide was excellent, knowledgeable and responsive to questions. Dropped us off near our hotel, a big plus!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Leonard J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Linda was our tour guide and was outstanding, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. She really cared about her job and wanted everyone to have a good time. We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, Korean War, Vietnam, and World War II Memorials, Martin Luther King Memorial, White House and more. Our tour guide, Linda even took pictures for us. Well worth the price, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Linda for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

elizabeth w

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Linda was very knowledgeable and conducted a very nice tour. We did have some light rain showers which dampened our spirits somewhat when walking around the momuments. I would say a major drawback is that you cannot see much at the Vietnam and Korean memorials in the dark. You do not get the full effect since it is impossibe to see the name and the entire momument at one time due to the dark. It was however a fun evening with a nice group of tourists. Bus provided water and there were several bathroom stops along the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tammy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Frances D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour was lovely, very interesting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The actual logistics left a little to be desired. We were rushed at the final large monuments. We only had a total of 15 minutes to walk all the way up to the Lincoln Monument, then there was not enough time to see Vietnam and the Korean war monuments. More time must be allocated to the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Marcus/Lynn B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The guide was nice and experienced, but it makes me wonder when he and the driver are going back and forth on where to go next exactly how organized the tour really is. Also, why take the guests to somewhere like the Vietnam Veterans Memorial where you can't see anything at night and skip the Jefferson Memorial, especially when you have it pictured in your marketing blurbs?

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A very fun tour, great way to see the monuments in the summer when walking around in the heat is not appealing. However, the stops at the monuments were not long enough to see everything. . . The Vietnam Wall is better in the daylight, much more impressive. We didn't get to the Korean War Memorial, we ran out of time! By the time we got there it was too dark to see much of it anyway I think.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Pamela V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoy night tours of Washington and wanted to share the experience with my six-year-old grandsons. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. She made the boys feel especially welcome. The tour included a stop at the Lincoln Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial, Iwo Jima statue, Martin Luther King Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial. The narration was interesting and informative. The guide interacted with the audience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Sooner Steve did a wonderful job with the narration. The only suggestion would be to spend more time at the Lincoln Memorial. It was a little rushed to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, and Korean War Memorial and be able to give them the respect they deserve.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Kelly B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was really good. Very informative and entertaining. Christopher our tour guide was wonderful!!! The only reason I didn't give the tour a 5 star rating, was because I felt that we arrived at the Vietnam wall after dark and could really see it.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Bob was lovely and I appreciated his humor and his care. This tour is perfect for folks who want to see a lot in a little time. I found it was a bit too much to see -- especially the monuments -- and spend any quality time but I understand the reasoning...you do need a good three hours in Arlington. But trying to see The Korean war memorial, The Vietnam Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial in 30 minutes is a bit much. However, that is my only criticism. Everything else was lovely!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

K. O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I have taken the midnight monuments tour with another company so I had high expectations for the experience for the guest I had with me from Arizona. Our driver Just Joe was a nice guy, but we were not paying to hear about his girlfriend or family life or to hear his jokes or rap music. At one stop, we ran to be sure to get back on time and did not have enough time to see the Vietnam Mem, only to then sit for 20 minuters on the bus while Joe tried to run on foot after a bus that he so kindly wanted to offer our parking space to. It was also excruciatingly boring to sit at intersections while he read the monitor of history one couple disembarked early. We should have done the same. We finished very late and were not comfortable taking the metro at 11pm to Old Town, so we hailed a taxi. An unexpected expense. Overall, the trip was frustrating and disappointing. I live in Richmond, Va. and frequent DC. I would not recommend Viator at this point. Joe needs his own billing for his kind of tour. Karen Overmeyer

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overall experience! Easy to find at Union Station, buses well marked, driver friendly and chatty, and well versed in the monuments as we drove around. Only flaw was at the Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, where we had to get off, walk to three different areas, then figure out where the bus actually was rather than having it in one on-off location.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Mary H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I had never seen our nation's monuments illuminated after dark and this tour certainly provided this opportunity. The tour guide Mr. E was very knowledgeable and very personable. As a photographer, however, I was a bit disappointed that we only stopped at three places and the rest were viewed with running commentary as we drove past. We stopped at the Martin Luther King and FDR memorials 1 stop, the Iwo Jima Memorial 1 stop and the Lincoln, Vietnam War and Korean War memorials 1 stop. The time allotted for each stop was quite short and you had to hurry to see them and return to the bus on time - especially at the Lincoln Memorial - Vietnam War Memorial - Korean War Memorial stop. I ended up skipping a close encounter with the Lincoln Memorial just so I could practically run to the Vietnam Memorial and photograph the sculptures there I had already visited the Wall on a previous trip to DC anyway and hurry in the opposite direction to photograph the Korean War Memorial. I couldn't even make it to the FDR Memorial in time, so just photographed the Martin Luther King Memorial and returned to the bus. For other photographers, I would recommend taking the hop on hop off bus during the day for a more relaxed encounter with the monuments then take this tour just for the ambiance.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

kokua_travel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Rated my USA Guided Tour on TripAdvisor:
Capital, WH, Vietnam Memorial, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, MLK,
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015
Above are the monuments we stopped to get photos. Would have liked to have stopped at the Jefferson Memorial but we drove by it. Since the guide said that we would drive by the Marine Corps Memorial not stop, I decided to get off at the Lincoln Memorial stop and walk back to my hotel which was 3 blocks from the memorial. Some other evening tours may stop at more memorials for photo ops. In general, the tour provided a good intro to the monuments.

Though the departure time was supposed to be 7:30 pm, it was closer to 30-45 minutes later. Apparently, a minivan was added to the motorcoach to handle people from an Embassy Suites Hotel and people were shuffled around to accommodate the Embassy Suites hotel guests. It might have been the reason for not stopping at the FDR Memorial or the Marine Corps Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message