Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Washington Monument

At 555 feet (170 meters), the Washington Monument is not only the tallest building in Washington DC, it is also the tallest masonry structure in the world. Strangely, this pale obelisk needling the sky near the National Mall's west end was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4514 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Twojtala4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Hop-on Hop-off is the way to go in a new city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Dave F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Andrew was amazing. We loved the tour, and his anecdotes and insights really added to the trip

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Dean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a last minute decision for us to take a trolley tour of DC. We only had the one day and wanted to definitely see some sites around the US Capital city. It was a great experience from beginning to end. The instructions are concise and simple to follow. We parked at the Arlington Cemetery and made our way to the orange line. We got out at the Lincoln Memorial, White House and Capital Hill. We toured the Capital Building which takes about 1-1.5 hours. We did not have time to tour the Library of Congress nor the other landmarks as we were pressed for time. This is a tour that you could easily spread over 2-5 full days depending on what you were going to want to visit and tour on the route. At the very least take the tour to take amazing pictures of each attraction and then plan a wonderful tour and vacation for the next time. We will be coming to DC again and using the Trolley Tour company as the employees are friendly, knowledgeable, humorous and take pride in what they do.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

teresapagano Italy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We all enjoyed it a lot! The group was not too big and our driver was really good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Darius G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We came to the one of the loop hop on points and our bus just left the point. Red loop bus driver took us, called to another bus driver and we catch-up our bus at the next station. Amazing and friendly service! Great work guys! Thank you!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Doing the two day bus tour gave us enough time each day to see as much as we wanted.
The open air top was great to be outdoors while listening to the scripted tour sights.
The wax museum was fun. A bonus. Bus times were good, never had to wait long and always seating of choice.
It was great to just sit on the bus and take in the sights, very relaxing,
Loved it, would do it again, highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gunnar W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It is a very well organized tour. You will see many of the most well known/important monuments and sites in one day. No lines! Our guide, Christopher, was enthusiastic and helpful. We also had perfect weather! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

karen.tilbury Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very informative tour of all the major monuments of Washington DC. Filled with facts about the symbolism behind many of the monuments that you would not get to know about if you visited them by yourself. The Capitol building is just one of the highlights, and a must do if your in Washington DC. Our guide was exceptionally funny and informative. The day was very rainy and our driver ensured that he got us a close to drop off points as he could to minimise the amount of rain we had to walk through. A full day tour that is really worth doing to get just some of the history behind this great city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and an easy way to see all the monuments without a major amount of walking which you will do anyway in DC. The monuments are so much more poignant at night, just beautiful.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Charles R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The D.C. Segway tour was very convenient,we have seen other cities on a Segway,great way to see the sites , the guide on the D.C. Tour was great,very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

hpj52299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour to get your bearings and see the monuments!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide. Joey was very personal and quickly demonstrated her knowledge of the DC sites and the history of our country. Tony was our driver. It was a windy, chilly day and he had the tour bus warmed up and ready to greet us throughout the day. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Angie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Toni and Chris were fabulous. My daughter and I had a great time visiting all the monuments. We had plenty of time for pictures and walking around. Definitely wear super comfy shoes. We had time for lunch and even a little shopping.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Christopher was an excellent tour guide. He had insight into every site and was able to answer questions. Would highly recommend for first time visitors.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

E D H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed getting to see a lot of DC on this tour, especially the in depth tour of the Capitol building and the time spent at the various monuments. We were not as thrilled by the water trip, while you get to see DC from a different perspective, it was somewhat limited. If we had any recommendation, it would be to allow connecting-up with the tour bus before entering the Capitol -- we had to dispose of all food prior to entering the Capitol and carry everything with us, that would have been nice to leave on the bus. Also, it was somewhat inconvenient to end the tour at a different place than started -- we drove our car and tried to find parking that was half way in between start/stop locations, but it turned into quite a walk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

J'ai vraiment aimé le circuit. Permet de voir l'essentiel avec de bonnes explications. Formule repas inclus avec bons d'achat dans un centre commercial j'ai vraiment aimé !!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

William J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We booked this tour on line through viator. We arrived early at the tour desk at Union Station. The website specifically stated that the voucher could be used from your phone or a printed copy. The tour operator said they could not take the voucher from my phone. We spent over 30 minutes emailing and re emailing the voucher to the bus companies main office. People at the main office would not call back the tour operator in DC. We missed the first tour bus, and were finally able to get on the second. The tour operator also told us that they have had problems with tours booked through viator before and they had asked to remove the phone voucher option previously. Although, we enjoyed the tour itself, it was too difficult to get on the tour to begin with. Would not book a tour through viator again and would go straight to the tour company. Also, the price was the same, no money saved and way more hassle.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. It was hard to take photos at night because of the spotlights illuminating other sites. However if you sit back and enjoy being chauffeured around D.C. to take in the rich history, you and #39;re sure to be pleased with this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome! Dexter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Tour covers a lot in a short period of time. You get to choose which area or monuments where you could spend extra time time to take pictures. Dexter can also suggest where you can grab a quick bite to eat :

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

james U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to get an overview of the DC area. The combination of driver and commentator were superb. We covered a lot of sites and yet never felt rushed. Overall, a memorable experience. We would highly recommend it to anyone who has not been to DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jeanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My daughter and 2 grandkids ages 10 and 12 really enjoyed the luxury of being able to get on and off the trolley. We found all of the drivers we had were very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was an absolute blast. Our guide, Nick, was phenomenal and very passionate about the history of DC. He kept us laughing the entire day and ensured that the bus was warm and ready upon our return. I was really blown away with how beautiful the city was and how accommodating the tour was even as the city prepared for the inauguration.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Dan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I was torn between a four-star rating and a five-star one. Our guide, Miss Harriet, tipped the scale in favor of the higher mark. She was wonderful - a font of information, witty, and personable. My only real criticisms of the tour are that the time allotted for the first two stops was a bit short, particularly for the second one - the Lincoln, Korean, and Vietnam Memorials - and there was no stop opportunity to get off of the trolley for the WWII Memorial. That said, it was money and time very well spent.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Nicholas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour by Just Joe!!! I still watch current events occurring on tv and I remember little facts he shared about the city. Also, as a Japanese American my great grandfather was subjected to the Japanese detention camps but served his country honorably still. Thank you for showing us the Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message