Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Washington Monument

At 555 feet (170 meters), the Washington Monument is not only the tallest building in Washington DC, it is also the tallest masonry structure in the world. Strangely, this pale obelisk needling the sky near the National Mall's west end was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4418 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Brilliant way to see the sights,if like us,you only have a couple of days.Knowledgable drivers,great way to learn interesting facts about this wonderful city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Howard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have been coming to DC for over 20 years and this was the first time ever taking a tour. I thought that I really knew Washington but Miller proved me wrong. She was outstanding and this 2 hour tour was the highlight of our weekend. My family raved about her and I can't think of a better way to get immersed quickly into DC. Plus she really knows the coffee shops!!!!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

jmbweidner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great tour. We were the only two with the guide, and she was marvelous. She knew her history and knew how to avoid traffic concerns. Wife has concerns with walking, so cart ride was perfect for the both of us.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guides. Interesting facts at each stop. Excellent route. Perfect amount of time at each monument. Best way to see DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was terrific! So knowledgeable and well spoken.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We would have never seen all the memorials and buildings in D.C. without this tour. The tour leader, Nick, was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

elizadevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The night tour was amazing. Our tour guide Vern was so knowledge and entertaining. Highly recommend the night tour

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Binks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to introduce kids to the Capitol. Fun, fact-filled, allows for physical activity while learninghop-off, walk, hop-on. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Randy D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Just a great way to see the city, learn about our history and it effectively. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Carol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

First, wasted 2 hours of our morning trying to find the pickup location nearest us. No one answers their phone or returns calls. Then got stuck in gridlock traffic for 2 hours due to planned road closures. We were told there would be detours, but no mention of expected traffic mess until we were stuck in it on the other side of town. Debating whether to use 2nd day ticket.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

christine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took all day tour our first day. Great overview. Wonderful guide, Christopher.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thought for the time we had available it covered all the inner city highlights of Washington DC. Mike was very accommodation and interesting and knew the history really well. We enjoyed our jaunt around the nations capital. J and T from
Oz!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

DIANA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I absolutely loved this tour. It was the highlight of my trip to D.C. I don't remember the name of our guide, but he was an older gentleman, and he was the sweetest and most insightful I've come across. Seeing the memorial of Iwa Jima sp? lit up at night was beautiful, and the WWII monument was great. I highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting DC for the first time.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Joey our Tour Guide and Sam our Driver provided us with an excellent tour of DC. Joey provided a lot more information than you would expect from a Tour Guide and it made our visit even better than we expected. Sam was very polite and efficient and was always waiting to take us to the next point.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Breck S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide, HW, was wonderful -knowledgeable about the sites without sounding like a script,. The tour itself covered so many sites and really opened my eyes to DC.
I highly recommend it. I have a problem being in the sun, so this night tour was perfect!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Kenneth L K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great event, driver was very informative and fun. a must while you are in DC

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

bucket list

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was excellent. Unfortunately, the Washington Monument was closed, but as a result we got to see all of the monuments except for WWII, due to some event or road construction issues, and we also got to see the Battle of the Buldge Monument in Arlington Cemetery. Our guide was excellent, had a good sense of humor, and always made sure everyone was present before he started talking at the monument sites. We did stop for lunch at one of the park refreshment stands - food just OK, but the tour can't control that.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Covered a lot of DC in two hours. Mike was very informative, funny, friendly and accommodating. A great way to see so much in a short amount of time. Liked the small group and stops at the FDR, MLK and Lincoln memorials was perfect.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

JULIE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on, our driver was well versed in DC History and really made the tour interesting and exciting. Would do it again!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Clara J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. I got to see all the major sites in DC. I only wish I had more time to actually get off and see more things. I have taken the Hop-on Hop-off tours before in other cities and I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message