Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Washington National Cathedral

Open to all faiths and creeds, the Washington National Cathedral conducts services for many faiths and peoples. Martin Luther King Jr gave his last Sunday sermon here; now it's the standard place for state funerals and other high-profile events. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Brilliant way to see the sights,if like us,you only have a couple of days.Knowledgable drivers,great way to learn interesting facts about this wonderful city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Natalie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Don't waste your money. The bus trip itself is ok - However, the wait for each bus is between 30-45 minutes per stop. Time is of the essence when you are in DC as museums are only open between 10-5. So, waiting for each bus really cuts into your day.

We purchased a two day pass but never ended up using the second day as the first day we used this tour, we only rode the bus twice because the wait was just too long to go a few blocks to the next stop. Towards the end of the day, we ended up waiting an hour just to hop on the bus because many of them were full, which was quite frustrating.

The tickets also did not list the actual name of the bus tour company itself, so that was frustrating to find in a city where hop-on / hop-off tours are abundant. Once we did find the tour company, the attendees argued with us over whether or not our tickets were legitimate that we purchased from this site.

Walking is faster and allows you to get more done in a day. Don't waste your money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Clara J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. I got to see all the major sites in DC. I only wish I had more time to actually get off and see more things. I have taken the Hop-on Hop-off tours before in other cities and I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was 95 while we were in Washington so the open windows and breeze helped with the heat. The narrative was well done and informative. In the future I'll check train stops to coincide with tour stops ahead of time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Clara B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The driver was knowledgeable, kind and gave enough time in the stops or even stops for a couple of minutes so we could take nice pictures from the bus.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

shara

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This is a commentary on the booking process and false information. Not so much about the tour itself, which was good. After we already lost a whole vacation day paid for a two-day tour, and lost that first day to the run-around of misinformation.

So much confusion and misinformation presented absolutely ruined our first day of vacation. We were told there was a trolley stop at Dupont Circle. Walked there, around and around looking for the signs we were told would be there. No. Finally called the local company and they said no stop there. Walk another mile uphill to the actual stop. Get there and it is the wrong line. They tell us to use their web link to see trolley stops and arrivals. We do so. The app does not work. We try and try, wasting more and more time. Give up. Later, when we actually board a trolley, the driver says Yeah, that app doesn't work. They discontinued it. After we finally arrived where we were supposed to be another hour later, we were told we'd need to get off at Union Station to exchange our phone voucher for paper tickets! We had been assured by Viator the phone voucher was all we needed. Anyway, we basically lost our first day we paid for two days to complete frustration and wasted time and no time to hop on and off at all. It was awful.

Our second day was good and more what we expected. It was helpful to know there were hotel pickups that we were not informed of originally.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Gerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day! Brought back old memories when I visited the Wall and the tomb of the unknown soldier!
The drivers were exceptionally well versed and extremely humorous!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved this tour. The drivers were great...very informative and funny and kept our boys really engaged. It was a great way to see the city and get a lay of the land before and while exploring. Would highly recommend to families with kids, or anyone really.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Leslie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Would recommend this mode of transportation to anyone interested in seeing all areas of the city and getting to outlying areas. Great bus drivers who knew so much history and the different areas to see.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mcsoulsby89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to get around, we enjoyed our trips with Magic Mike, Godiva, Ms Kennedy had us in fits of laughter that we didn't want to get off.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Kenneth S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see DC. Reliable and informative people.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lisa W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great way to get familiar with the city! So happy we did this our first day!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Debbie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very enjoyable and informative- some driver/narrators better than other. The evening tour re-visits many of the sights seen in the day but with a different perspective. We were very happy with the tour- not recommended in bad weather, though.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

THOMAS, L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

very helpful when trying to see the monuments, saved on walking. Sooner steve's suggestion to visit the archives and see the declaration of independence was right on. It really had faded since our last visit years ago. The only problem we had was finding the stop to reboard. A late afternoon ride thru the city was great to see Georgetown.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michele P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guides were all great and I enjoyed it. The reason for only 4 stars was because there was an issue with the redline trolley meeting us at The Lincoln Memorial, it was over an hour late. Old Town Trolley did make up for the inconvenience by making sure everyone was able to get back to their stations and not be left stranded because it was at the end of the day.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Westie62909

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We took the train to DC , and purchased the two day pass to get around. This is the best way to see DC and the drivers are great. They tell you all about the sights and history . I didn't know a statue outside Union station could have so much history behind it. I just wish all the stops were closer to the attractions. The trolley stopped right outside the museums, but when we took the trolley to stop 17 National Zoo, after being dropped off we had to walk 4 very long city blocks up hill. After leaving and walking back to the trolley we did stop off and had lunch.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michael S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The Trolley saved us a lot of walking, but we wasted a lot of time waiting for it, I was scheduled to run every 30 minutes but we ended up waiting up to one hour for it. I felt it was very disorganized.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Judith M United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The actual tour bus itself was fine, but very sporadic, in no way was this trolly sevice every half hour. With our Viator vouchers we could take any of the tour services, we took the first service that came to the stop we waited at. we should of waited for the double decker service these were running very frequently. Hindsight is a great thing. The drivers were very very good and kept you entertained with factual information and off the cuff joke.
However the staff at the Metro stop were rude abrupt and had no time for any questions from any customers.. They were the same on both days so it would appear this was the norm. We spent more time waiting for the trolly than sight seeing
The tours are well worth taking but maybe choose a different tour service.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

allred

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

We never did find the right trolley. Other buses let us get on and took us where we needed to go even though our voucher was for this one. We aren and #39;t even sure we saw the Washington DC hop on hop off trolley!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ben

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I planned on using it more, but I ended up using it only one day, and only the green line. We walked the rest of the time. But...it was worth it. The driver was VERY NICE and we had an enjoyable time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

NATALIE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This a great tour to learn all about your professional camera. He is very knowledgeable and teaches some of the tricks and angles to shoot your photos.

Doing what: Washington DC Photo Safari: Monuments and Memorials Tour

lorim1002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really great overview of DC - I actually wish I'd done the 2 day tour as then we could have hopped on and off. Narration was great and all sites were fully explained. I wish the Green Loop could have been slower, all the embassies and houses were so much to absorb!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our green line tour with Duke exceeded expectations and was absolutely terrific. The size of the trolley, pace, and engaging tour made this a great value and we left appreciative, entertained, and informed!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

David E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

the staff was friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message