To some, Washington DC means white marble, verdant lawns, and the colorful, ritualistic pageantry of American politics: the Capitol dome; limousine processions on Inauguration Day; the mournful, somber, stately changing of the guard at Arlington ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3523 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Twojtala4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Hop-on Hop-off is the way to go in a new city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Dave F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Andrew was amazing. We loved the tour, and his anecdotes and insights really added to the trip

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Dean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a last minute decision for us to take a trolley tour of DC. We only had the one day and wanted to definitely see some sites around the US Capital city. It was a great experience from beginning to end. The instructions are concise and simple to follow. We parked at the Arlington Cemetery and made our way to the orange line. We got out at the Lincoln Memorial, White House and Capital Hill. We toured the Capital Building which takes about 1-1.5 hours. We did not have time to tour the Library of Congress nor the other landmarks as we were pressed for time. This is a tour that you could easily spread over 2-5 full days depending on what you were going to want to visit and tour on the route. At the very least take the tour to take amazing pictures of each attraction and then plan a wonderful tour and vacation for the next time. We will be coming to DC again and using the Trolley Tour company as the employees are friendly, knowledgeable, humorous and take pride in what they do.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Traci M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great way to see many of the memorials and sights in DC quickly and efficiently, and conveniently at night. Neal was our driver and he was top notch. It was a smooth ride the entire tour. Duke was our tour guide, assisted by Nick who is finishing Duke's training before the busy season. Both of these guys are so passionate about the facts and interesting details of U.S. history, and were great tour guides! If you are going during winter be sure to bring your hats, gloves, scarves and such because you will be outside walking and will want to be as comfortable as possible. That being said, the amount of walking wasn't too much so it is a great tour for every age and ability. Thanks again guys for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Gunnar W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It is a very well organized tour. You will see many of the most well known/important monuments and sites in one day. No lines! Our guide, Christopher, was enthusiastic and helpful. We also had perfect weather! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

karen.tilbury Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very informative tour of all the major monuments of Washington DC. Filled with facts about the symbolism behind many of the monuments that you would not get to know about if you visited them by yourself. The Capitol building is just one of the highlights, and a must do if your in Washington DC. Our guide was exceptionally funny and informative. The day was very rainy and our driver ensured that he got us a close to drop off points as he could to minimise the amount of rain we had to walk through. A full day tour that is really worth doing to get just some of the history behind this great city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

LINDA A T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

John makes a great tour guide! Informative, funny, kind ... and tall! He's easy to spot! What a beautiful night to look at and learn about our great national treasures!!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Connie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a comprehensive and educational night tour of the many monuments of DC. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and obviously enjoyed sharing his experiences and information. We were a group of 11 and everyone had their favorite monument but all enjoyed each stop. I cannot recommend this too highly- it was a perfect evening tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

hpj52299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Tour! If you take kids, make sure they do the kids program. We had 3 kids - 12, 13, 14 - and they loved it!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

jeastlack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great service, safe, clean, and on time. Because it was the day after Thanksgiving, our driver went above and beyond to show us things that he wouldn't normally have time for. Wonderful and would recommend to everybody!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide. Joey was very personal and quickly demonstrated her knowledge of the DC sites and the history of our country. Tony was our driver. It was a windy, chilly day and he had the tour bus warmed up and ready to greet us throughout the day. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Angie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Toni and Chris were fabulous. My daughter and I had a great time visiting all the monuments. We had plenty of time for pictures and walking around. Definitely wear super comfy shoes. We had time for lunch and even a little shopping.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

E D H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed getting to see a lot of DC on this tour, especially the in depth tour of the Capitol building and the time spent at the various monuments. We were not as thrilled by the water trip, while you get to see DC from a different perspective, it was somewhat limited. If we had any recommendation, it would be to allow connecting-up with the tour bus before entering the Capitol -- we had to dispose of all food prior to entering the Capitol and carry everything with us, that would have been nice to leave on the bus. Also, it was somewhat inconvenient to end the tour at a different place than started -- we drove our car and tried to find parking that was half way in between start/stop locations, but it turned into quite a walk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

judith m

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

it was good.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

J'ai vraiment aimé le circuit. Permet de voir l'essentiel avec de bonnes explications. Formule repas inclus avec bons d'achat dans un centre commercial j'ai vraiment aimé !!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Marilou F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

A good day out to explore away from the hustle and bustle of Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Keith H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Buses did not run often enough and you had to wait a lot.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Peter B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Didn't happen because not enough people, but no advance notification.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome! Dexter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Tour covers a lot in a short period of time. You get to choose which area or monuments where you could spend extra time time to take pictures. Dexter can also suggest where you can grab a quick bite to eat :

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

james U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to get an overview of the DC area. The combination of driver and commentator were superb. We covered a lot of sites and yet never felt rushed. Overall, a memorable experience. We would highly recommend it to anyone who has not been to DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great little tour, loved the little car and the tour guide was great, even better that its run by an Australian Company. The guide was very informative, and even though we had seen the sights during the day, it was great to see them at night, was less crowded as well apart from the Pokemon Go players haha.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Electric Cart Tour

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We are not generally tour people, but this tour was well worth it. Time was short and we were interested in a night tour. This fit the bill. We would recommend this to our friends. The night tour was more romantic than a day tour. There was some walking, but not too much. It did rain part of the time...bring an umbrella just in case.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Jeanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My daughter and 2 grandkids ages 10 and 12 really enjoyed the luxury of being able to get on and off the trolley. We found all of the drivers we had were very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was an absolute blast. Our guide, Nick, was phenomenal and very passionate about the history of DC. He kept us laughing the entire day and ensured that the bus was warm and ready upon our return. I was really blown away with how beautiful the city was and how accommodating the tour was even as the city prepared for the inauguration.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message