For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sherman D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tour was Awesome!!!!!! Joey was our tour guide and she did a great job and is very fun and knowledgeable about the history of Dc... I recommend this tour to anyone that wants to have a good time touring Dc..

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Bob Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was excellent. Nick was a great guide. Tony did a good job on the driving. One of the sites on the schedule was not available, but they were able to adapt very well and get a suitable substitute for us. The history and background provided for each site was helpful, interesting and intelligent. I recommend this tour and these hosts even though some of the jokes bad and corny.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! This was a great way to see many sites that would have been difficult to do on foot or car. The tour guide was awesome! Full of great information. He was a monuments fan and had so much history to share as we moved along. The tour of the US Capitol was wonderfully thorough. We got to see some areas not on the regular tours. Wish we could have gotten closer to the White House but we did get to see the grounds. The lunch on the Potomac was beautiful. Worth the price!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Kelli R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Ralph, was very knowledgeable and fun! We got to see some great sites and monuments and learn some great facts about the United States history. I was a little disappointed that we couldn't see the White House due to the state dinner, but I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best tour of DC and our tour guide was a history rolling encyclopedia

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was such a perfect tour! We came here to see our nation's capitol, and the night tour was a perfect start to our trip. We highly recommend it. The evening offered us a chance to see many monuments that represent our nation's history and evolution through the years. It was enlightening, reverent, and lovely. Our guide, Joy, and driver, Lee were helpful, thoughtful, well versed in history and a delight to travel with. Thank you so much for making this a trip to remember!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Cletus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An awesome tour. Big ups to Viator VIP. Everything was well-organized and timely. Our tour guide Andrew and driver Sam were excellent. Andrew is deeply versed in the history of this city and his narrations were sprinkled with good humor. Truly enjoyed the experience. Our driver Sam was very kind and accommodated us we had our toddler and her stroller on board. Thank you Andrew and Sam!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Amy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It's an interesting experience to travel around Washington DC on this tour. That's a way to know the history of the historic places and some fun facts of the past presidents. Joey was our guide and she was very knowledgable about the DC area. Our driver Tony was helpful to look for the route possible even there was a marathon on the run. Recommend you to visit DC with this tour! :

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joe and Bobby gave me a great history lesson. I learned a lot from them. I wished we had time to stop in Alexandria and look at the sites.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was great! Full week into one day. Our guide at the Capitol Building was the best guide I and #39;ve ever had. I and #39;m not very into history, but she made it interesting. I could have listened to her all day. Our guide was great too. I only wish we could have shopped, but understand why we not.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

thighhopes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A trip worth taking
Very much interesting to see all the monuments And go inside the capital building was awesome
Appreciate the tour guide for all the information provided to all of us and help us understand how history meets itself

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Henni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nick and Tony made a good job. Nick is full energy and happy person who love history and kept the trip interesting and funny. I can suggest for everyone to book this trip
It and #39;s worth the price
You will see everything what you need to see in the Washington mall

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Nina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! Learned a lot of about our country's history through this tour! The staff was courteous and accommodating when we missed the bus by a couple of minutes. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Christopher our tour guide was absolutely over the top excellent. Between his professionalism, his attention to detail to tell us EVERYTHING we passed by, his incredible in-depth knowledge of history, and his patience and attentiveness to difficult other tourists made him a pleasure to be with. I would highly recommend you ask for Christopher!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Terry, our tour guide, shared her knowledge of history and the monuments and made the trip very enjoyable. Also enjoyed the air conditioned bus. Thanks for providing lots of water!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

cyndijs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful tour. The tour guide Bobby knew all about each memorial and explained them well. Learned a lot about history and other facts I never knew before. Just wish we had more time at the World War II, Vietnam and Korea Memorials. The Arlington Cemetery tour was beyond words.

Doing what: War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

sjb331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really a great way to get an overview of the city and see the most important venues. 6 Hours is a good amount of time to get the feeling of each venue, then go back later to the ones we were most interested in to spend more time. Our tour guide Christopher was incredibly personable and well versed in American history so he made our tour extra meaningful. Our driver as well was very courteous and accommodating. Our family was thrilled with this experience.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

History at its best!

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

molei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two young men who checked us in and kept the group together were awesome. Although the Capitol is being renovated, it was nice to be able to visit as far as the rotunda. This was one of the reasons I chose this tour. The Capitol guide didn't lose my attention at all. Besides sharing history and interesting information, he added some spice to keep our attention. After Nick took over, it was non-stop history, information, joking and guidance. He did not waste anytime. He is an excellent tour guide! I enjoyed visiting the White House, Washington Monument, city's famous landmarks, memorials, and National Archives. The Potomac River cruise with a simple lunch was a good break, but we were still touring. We certainly covered a lot in 8 hours!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Leon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic! This tour covered all of the main sites in DC with comfort. Our guide Mary was so knowledgeable, engaging, and fun. Her personal touch gave us insites into the history and feelings of the times. Especially poignant were the FDR, MLK, Jefferson, war memorials, and Capitol tours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Our tour guide, E'sau was our guide and did an outstanding job explaining the history at each stop. This was a family trip and my 2 children learned a ton which was one of our goals.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Red panda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a lot of fun and unique experience to see DC after the dark! I had learnt a lot of history of America. Our tour guide John and driver Osei are both friendly and knowledgably. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great facts and history tidbits. We covered so much on this tour. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dawayne and Curtis were great. Dawayne was very entertaining and very knowledgeable about the history of each site visit. I highly recommend this tour, especially for those on a compressed time line.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Stephen D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Tour guide, Terry?, was excellent, very knowledgeable, kept the group together and covered a lot of good history that I didn't know about. I would highly recommend this tour. However, you walk more than you realize....my fitbit said about 12,000 steps. They had a lot of water for us, which we needed.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message