For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cyndijs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful tour. The tour guide Bobby knew all about each memorial and explained them well. Learned a lot about history and other facts I never knew before. Just wish we had more time at the World War II, Vietnam and Korea Memorials. The Arlington Cemetery tour was beyond words.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

sjb331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really a great way to get an overview of the city and see the most important venues. 6 Hours is a good amount of time to get the feeling of each venue, then go back later to the ones we were most interested in to spend more time. Our tour guide Christopher was incredibly personable and well versed in American history so he made our tour extra meaningful. Our driver as well was very courteous and accommodating. Our family was thrilled with this experience.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

History at its best!

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

molei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two young men who checked us in and kept the group together were awesome. Although the Capitol is being renovated, it was nice to be able to visit as far as the rotunda. This was one of the reasons I chose this tour. The Capitol guide didn't lose my attention at all. Besides sharing history and interesting information, he added some spice to keep our attention. After Nick took over, it was non-stop history, information, joking and guidance. He did not waste anytime. He is an excellent tour guide! I enjoyed visiting the White House, Washington Monument, city's famous landmarks, memorials, and National Archives. The Potomac River cruise with a simple lunch was a good break, but we were still touring. We certainly covered a lot in 8 hours!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Leon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic! This tour covered all of the main sites in DC with comfort. Our guide Mary was so knowledgeable, engaging, and fun. Her personal touch gave us insites into the history and feelings of the times. Especially poignant were the FDR, MLK, Jefferson, war memorials, and Capitol tours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Our tour guide, E'sau was our guide and did an outstanding job explaining the history at each stop. This was a family trip and my 2 children learned a ton which was one of our goals.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Red panda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a lot of fun and unique experience to see DC after the dark! I had learnt a lot of history of America. Our tour guide John and driver Osei are both friendly and knowledgably. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great facts and history tidbits. We covered so much on this tour. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dawayne and Curtis were great. Dawayne was very entertaining and very knowledgeable about the history of each site visit. I highly recommend this tour, especially for those on a compressed time line.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Stephen D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Tour guide, Terry?, was excellent, very knowledgeable, kept the group together and covered a lot of good history that I didn't know about. I would highly recommend this tour. However, you walk more than you realize....my fitbit said about 12,000 steps. They had a lot of water for us, which we needed.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kunio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, informative about the US history. We enjoyed Brian' guide very much. Thank you.
Old couple from Canada Japan

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Found the trip excellent value. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to bring to life the history of each site.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

kmjedwards1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best tours I have been on from Viator. I think it was due to the excellent narration from the bus driver, Cheryl. Due to the traffic difficulties, secondary to Rolling Thunder, she was outstanding in working around the traffic to get us to all of the monuments and historic places highlighted on the web for this tour. With her love of history, she really added a lot to our knowledge of US history.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We chose this as our first tour to get to see th city before we started on our sight seeing. Dwaine the tour guide was really excellent and so passionate about the city and its history. This tour takes in lots of sites and all the memorials . We really enjoyed it

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Christopher the guide was a very bright young history graduate who clearly loved his city and was extremely knowledgeable about it. A really good way to see a lot of key sight's quickly. Only one very slight criticism was the packed lunches on the boat were a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jenny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic way to get orientated to the city, in which the monuments are well spread out. On a bike, they are easy to get to and of course, the guide makes all the difference by adding to your knowledge with his witty repartee. Thank you Andy for the history and anecdotes.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great quick tour of D.C. It was my first time there so I was able to see several things in a short period of time. Our guide was wonderful. She told us so much history about everything. She was very pleasant and kept our group together. It was very educational. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Terry B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Viator Guided Night Tour. We thought 3 hours was going to be a long time but it went by so quickly. We saw all the major memorial and the White House illuminated and showing up in a totally different way. Our guide Nick was terrific. His knowledge of the history of the city and the buildings as well as general history of the area was really to be commended. He did a wonderful job of introducing us to this beautiful city. He was very friendly and took excellent care of his passengers. We would recommend Viator, this particular tour and Nick without a doubt.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Lauren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Christopher, our tour guide was excellent. He knew his facts and history and delivered it well. Loved the humor. Our driver, Ali, was also wonderful. Getting us in and out of those congested areas is a talent. We enjoyed the evening/night effects of the tour and recommend this to all.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Chris was our guide and Ali was our driver. They were great! Friendly and extremely knowledgable. Happy to take photos, answer questions, let us have good amount of time at each site and were happy to accommodate people staying in the bus as it was a very cold night. As an international visitor the information from Chris about the architecture, sights and history of Washington DC and America was great!
The sights we were able to see are definitely worth seeing at night. An amazing way to see the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ramya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very informative and covered key spots. With just a few hours to spare, I was not willing to miss out on the important landmarks at DC. This tour did complete justice to the time. More importantly, the tour guide, Sally who was a history graduate gave us such insights into American history that it added so much more meaning to every place we visited. A big thanks to her.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Byron H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really loved our Arlington National Cemetery tour. Tunday was our driver and history teacher, I might add. We had a lovely day together with another couple practically a private tour! We would highly recommend this tour.....just spectacular!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was FANTASTIC Our guide, Dwayne, was excellent, he was a walking history book! he was so prepared, he was friendly, professional, and knew everything about each stop we made, and also as we drove along he was constantly giving us information about all the sites we passed. This was THE BEST money we spend on our trip, we book a 3 hour tour with a private guide from another company the next day and it was twice as much , but it was a total disappointment. I wish I had booked Dwayne for a private tour instead. We will use this company and request him each time we visit the DC area!

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nick was our tour guide and what a delight he was. He shared many interesting facts and bits to help us appreciate the history behind many of the monuments and buildings in DC. He adds a dose of humor and fun to the tour which was refreshing. He did a particularly excellent job of explaining the meaning behind various memorials such as the Vietnam and WW2, what the artist's intention was and the meaning they wished to convey. Very thought provoking. We highly recommend this guide and the night tour. Worth your time.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message