While there are world-famous museums in various cities around the globe, you would be hard-pressed to find a city with more high-quality museums than Washington DC. The United States's capital city's museums run the gambit from art houses to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lot to digest but aren't most museums. We enjoyed it!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spy museum was a lot of fun for our family. Displays were set up well and the highlight for us was the James Bond collection.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Boas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent deal - 2 days hop -on hop-off, bus stops at central locations, 4 different bus lines, you can get everywhere, additional bonuses: Free night tour, Free museum entrance, Free 1 Hr rent-a-bike and free coffee.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margaret L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There was so much to see at the Spy Museum! I loved it! Even my grandson loved it!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Hubert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Bus tour was very good. drivers and guides were courteous, informative and helpful. It's a wonderful way to get to the different museums, gardens, historic statues and sites.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marci W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an excellent museum tour for ages 11 and up. I am not sure kids younger than that will get as much out of it as there is A LOT of reading required. There are a few fun activities for children 6-10 but again, not sure they would appreciate the amount of time it takes to go through the place. The rooms seem to go on and on, covering the art of spying from biblical times to the present. Lots of interesting information, and you will certainly learn something new! The tickets for this tour allow you to go in and out of the museum during opening hours that day, and I could see the benefit of taking an hour or two before lunch and returning afterward- there is extensive information to read if this is something of interest to you. We loved it!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was nice and knowledgeable. Trolley drop off/pick up locations are well marked and in good spots. I picked up my ticket had ordered online and got the Trolley in front of Union Station. By taking this tour I was able to grasp where historical sites and museums were and make a plan for the rest of the week. Be sure to get tickets online as it will save you .

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Peggy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this outstanding museum. Loved the Vietman special exhibit and the 9/11 memorial as well. Could have spent hours in the room with all the newspaper covers year by year. Plan a minimum of 2 hours. 4 would be best.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Hildred G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I found the museum to be fascinating.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Ellen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic museum-----so much to see, they let you have a 2 day pass. Well done, well-organized. The cafe food is excellent and portions are huge. Will visit this museum again when in DC.
I wish all students could see the Civil Rights exhibit.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Ellen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a cool museum. We learned a ton and were fascinated. Will visit again.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Agnes G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed our visit and learned lots of new things. It sure makes you stop and wonder when you are walking down the streets of DC who may be a spy. Fantastic museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

krazyq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Me and my wife had about 7 hours to spend in D.C so this was great,. It takes you to the all the main attractions. You can pay extra if you want to take the trolley to see uptown however I would only suggest this if you have more than one day or if you've already seen all the museums and memorials.
The tour guide who is also the driver was great and funny.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

patricia_s01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good Museum but think kids enjoy it more than adults.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

celmhg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The ability to hop-on, hop-off was an excellent way to take time to visit the memorials and museums. All of the drivers were courteous and knowledgeable. I apologize about not tipping each one.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Walter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great museum, lots of artifacts. Nice insight in the hidden spy world. Great explanations. Could spent easily hald a day but had to limit my time because there is so much to see in Washington

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Lloyd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This museum is awesome! Anyone who loves the spy genre will enjoy this place. Anyone who is a history buff will love this place! Anyone who is a James Bond fan will love this place! Shortly after arriving, you are asked to choose a spy persona, which you will need throughout the museum for the interactive areas. Kids will love crawling through the duct work. Just wished I had had more time to spend there!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Spy Museum was wonderful!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. The kids love this museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Tim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great museum of James Bond ,

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent museum, I especially enjoyed the exibition of the pictures of the year.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I've enjoyed Madame Tussaud's wax museums since I visited my first one in Las Vegas back in the 90s. Since then I have visited the original Madame Tussaud's in London and the one in New York as well. The DC incarnation is divided evenly between history all the presidents of the United States and a few other historical figures as well and current celebrities that have entertained presidents or participated in events in our nations capital at some point. I saw wax sculptures of the presidents at another wax museum near Mount Rushmore but I think the sculptures at this Madame Tussaud's looked more realistic and much more like formal portraits of the presidents I have seen. As for the celebrities, I think I liked the figure of Michael Jackson best, having the most expression on his face and in his pose. The George Clooney and Julia Roberts figures appear to be copies of the sculptures in the same poses that I saw in London. I think the figures of John F. Kennedy and Jaqueline were also quite similar to those in London although I thought our JFK seemed a little more natural.

Of course I was quite excited to see the sculptures of Barak and Michelle Obama and the warrior prince Harry and the new Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton. I also thought the figure of Queen Elizabeth II had more of a sparkle in her eyes than the one I had seen in London.

My only disappointment was that the Obamas and British royals were behind a barrier in the photo session promotional area and the photographer there would not let me take individual photos of them when I went into the area to have my picture taken.

Overall, though, I enjoyed myself immensely as I was sure I would!

Doing what: Madame Tussauds Washington DC

debra h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful opportunity to see all the main monuments and museums in DC. We were overwhelmed by the rich history surrounding us and the helpfulness of the bus drivers and staff. We enjoyed the convenience of locations so much that we bought another 48 hours to use as our primary mode of transportation during our week visit. We would suggest that anyone visiting DC use this great way to see this city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

marijana.dj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to learn a lot about the city. The buses were clean and on time. I appreciated the additional benefits: free visit to Madame Tussaud's, Crime and Punishment Museum and free Potomac river cruise.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kimberley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see all the monuments and museums. Never much of a wait for the trolley. Very informative drivers. Well worth the $$

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message