Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 827 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberta l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Charles Smith chucky babe! YOU WERE THE BEST! you are so funny you made the trip out there and back so enjoyable.....from the Aussies!

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Must not miss! Beautiful location! Pick up and drop off is very convenient as Mt. Vernon is about 45 minutes from D.C. city center probably longer if there's a lot of traffic

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was wonderful. Tunde did an amazing job of driving and sharing lots of facts and history with us. Arlington was incredible. The Changing of the Guards was very moving. Arlington National Cemetery is a must do on everyone's list.

Doing what: Day Tour of Arlington Virginia

barry w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour very interesting easy to get to meeting place and guide was very informative and fun loved the fact we were dropped back to our hotel after a great day.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Francine Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

There is so much to do and you will need more than one day to cover everything. I loved the witch trial and enjoyed the participation as a member of the jury. When I was in Williamsburg it was so hot and so I didn't have the energy to cover as much as I would have liked but I still found it worth the effort.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Peggy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was awesome! Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Julia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a lovely trip. Plenty of time to visit sites and enjoy the memorials and Mount Vernon. Driver was wonderful and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

indirap77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was worth for what we paid for. the tour guide was very informative, polite and helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Inspiring, beautiful, patriotic, great reminder of what our country went through to become a country!

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Pasquale P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I highly recommend it. Mt. Vernon is an amazing place to visit. I only wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour and saw more historical sites on the tour than just the two mentioned. I would highly recommend this tour! Unforgettable!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Louann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Definitely recommend this tour - time at Arlington was limited so we were only able to see the changing of the guard and wreath laying ceremony. We had 90 minutes and that wasn't enough time to see more as you have to wait for the hop on and hop off trolleys they have and it all takes time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Mount Vernon was fascinating and Arlington Cemetery moving! The Arlington House has such history and was a special moment on the tour. Our tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

donna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time! I love that they take you there and then you walk around for 3 hours on your own looking at what you want to

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. It was raining, so this turned out to be a great day for a day trip to Gettysburg. Good guides, good humor, great tour of a private house and battlefield. Could have spent a lot more time at the visitor center, but all in all a great day.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Tony G J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

trip was very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Jeff C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Nice lunch at Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rafael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was great, a lot of history and memories. really interesting all the places, Gettysburg, Mt vernon, Arlington it was a fulfilling experience

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Carole.burles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A really great day, early start but well worth it. The whole trip was fantastic, driver, tour guide all first class and added plus was the weather was perfect. This trip will stay as one of the highlights of my holiday

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Only wish I'd had more time. So much to see at Mt. Vernon. Don't miss the education building!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Karin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour bus driver/guide was excellent both for his knowledge and his personality. Also the guide that boarded the bus with us from the visitor center and took us around the grounds was excellent.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message