Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 977 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide. My third time to tour Washington DC and learned more out the history of the United States. Very interesting. However, the heavy rain did not allow us to see the home of George Washington because my traveling companion was unable to walk the distance to the home in the heavy rain. Otherwise, everything was ok.

Especially enjoyed the second day tour and had an excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the sites, plus his presentation and personality really made this tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took the two day DC tour and enjoyed an excellent overall city tour with two knowledgeable and personal drivers, Wayne and Bob! Thanks for a favorable first trip to DC.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Manda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours on both days. Drivers were very informative and clearly had a lot of experience. One driver even varied the route to show us things that were not necessarily part of the tour which was greatly appreciated. Lots of walking on both days and it's rain or shine so bring rain gear if it's looking grey.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best trip of our visit. Just brilliant day. Our driver was brilliant, took us to a lovely place for lunch which allows a little shopping. Guide was amazing too, loved every bit of the day. A beautiful place to visit. Learnt so much about American history. So glad we done it

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Thomas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative guides. Visit to the Shriver house was unexpected but much appreciated. An educational day!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Mt Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well run, good your guide and very little wasted time

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Luella M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Other than it being a very hot day, it was a fabulous trip. The countryside was beautiful and the drive was a joy. Monticello is an amazing place! Lunch at Michie's tavern was also quite special.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Marcia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I booked this Gray Line Tour Grey Hound Buses through Viator under TripAdvisor which had wonderful workers to answer questions 24/7 and great prices caught a limited time sale price. The driver, David Bear don't know if that's how he spells his name, but that's what it sounds like was friendly, informative, kept pointing out sites along the drive, and provided a video of Gettysburg that kept us engaged along the long route. He expertly drove in crowded and congested traffic along the way. He took us to eat lunch with a variety of choices. We stopped at Shriver House with a guide that spelled and said her name like mine : for an informative and riveting account of a civilian in Gettysburg. At the visitor center, the narrated 360 view of the historic painting was amazing! The museum was informative on par with information was given at the Smithsonian Am. History Museum, too and had an impressive display of the weapons. Dave, our wonderful battlefield tour guide, took us to important stops for photos and briefly walk around. As we wandered around, he was available for individual questions and more details, too. He pointed out numerous monuments and memorials. There wasn't enough time for everything! My husband and I enjoyed the experience of being immersed in this historic place with all the detailed explanations. These were great guides and driver-guide, great locations, and time passed quickly--wished here was more time to stop around Gettysburg and the battlefield area!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Steven O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome tour. I would highly recommend this tour, The Driver did a Great job! He knew the history and kept us well informed on the day's event.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

tcs529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide was full of information, trip was fun and informative would recommend to any visitors.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

dan_vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Monticello was so interesting and our guide was informative and answered questions directed to him knowledgably. The outdoor quides were a nice addition. What a view!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

dan_vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our tour through the home of George Washington, but walking through the estate was the best part. The tour guides around the area were so informative and it was wonderful to stroll around the places that Washington loved. I was so surprised by how many presidents and dignitaries have visited his tomb and home.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent!! Would highly recommend this tour...tourguides were very informative and wanted to answer any questions that were asked. Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria are beautiful!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good guide ,comfortable bus always ontime, alot of time to enjoy the sites

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Tamara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tours.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

alfiya y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

a wonderful day and a delightful experience! everything was very well organized and run. The only suggestion I would like to make is that there is a wharf close by and boat trips on offer. they can be easily incorporated into the experience, considering the time frames. this information could just be made available to visitors for them to decide whether they want a relaxing ride to Fort Washington - so much appreciated on a hot day!!! or a quiet meal and some shopping.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Mary E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide , Wayne , was phenomenal . He knew more about Washington DC, Alexandria , General Washington , and Mount Vernon than any book or website I have ever seen ! He also showed us the church where General Washington worshipped , and Fort Washington with a photo opportunity . Wayne also recommended the amount Vernon Inn for lunch , and it was a great restaurant with friendly service and delicious food . I can think of nothing negative to say about our day . My husband and I were with our two daughters , who are in their 20s . Something for everyone . Awesome day !

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved our tour to Arlington and Mount Vernon...Even thought it was 100 degrees!! The sites were great and amazing to see but the tour was amazing because of our tour guide AL. I was traveling with myself and 3 teenagers Age 14-16 and Al was so great to include them and make them feel part of the tour. They have mentioned numerous times that Al was the best part of their trip to Washington DC. Book and ask for AL...you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. The bus driver Robert was very knowledgeable as well as helpful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Audrey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day trip to Gettysburg was very enjoyable. there is a lot to see and a lot of history to absorb in one
day. I would recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. History comes alive with excellent bus guide and guides from the National Park.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip is a must do if you are visiting DC. Big Al was an amazing tour guide! Plenty of time to explore the sites and Big Al gives you great suggestions as to how you can get the most of your experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

George I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A total great trip, bus,the stop in the Inn and monticello

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message