Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 433 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Francine Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

There is so much to do and you will need more than one day to cover everything. I loved the witch trial and enjoyed the participation as a member of the jury. When I was in Williamsburg it was so hot and so I didn't have the energy to cover as much as I would have liked but I still found it worth the effort.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Peggy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was awesome! Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Julia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a lovely trip. Plenty of time to visit sites and enjoy the memorials and Mount Vernon. Driver was wonderful and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

indirap77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was worth for what we paid for. the tour guide was very informative, polite and helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Inspiring, beautiful, patriotic, great reminder of what our country went through to become a country!

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Pasquale P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I highly recommend it. Mt. Vernon is an amazing place to visit. I only wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour and saw more historical sites on the tour than just the two mentioned. I would highly recommend this tour! Unforgettable!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Louann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Definitely recommend this tour - time at Arlington was limited so we were only able to see the changing of the guard and wreath laying ceremony. We had 90 minutes and that wasn't enough time to see more as you have to wait for the hop on and hop off trolleys they have and it all takes time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Mount Vernon was fascinating and Arlington Cemetery moving! The Arlington House has such history and was a special moment on the tour. Our tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

donna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time! I love that they take you there and then you walk around for 3 hours on your own looking at what you want to

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Tony G J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

trip was very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Jeff C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Nice lunch at Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Only wish I'd had more time. So much to see at Mt. Vernon. Don't miss the education building!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Graham Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Unfortunately it did rain all day but we still had a very interesting day. The driver was excellent with loads of interesting facts and information. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joe and Bobby gave me a great history lesson. I learned a lot from them. I wished we had time to stop in Alexandria and look at the sites.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour of Mt Vernon, very informative and the museum was very very nice. Learned so much more of George Washington than we ever knew.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mount Vernon from Washington DC

Terence E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very good value for money,

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Tunda, was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

jytayl2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of Mount Vernon and the Arlington Cemetery were great.
The driver has been with the company for 25 years and he did an excellent job of
describing things on the way to both places besides telling us extra stories about
things.
Joyce Taylor

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Wayne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another stellar tour with Viator. This tour was both educational, emotional and fun. The changing of the guard at Arlington was amazing to watch. Our guide was knowledgeable and made the entire tour a most pleasant experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day spent touring Mt. Vernon and Arlington national cemetery. Bus was very comfortable and driver was extremely knowledgeable. Had lunch in the restaurant at mt Vernon. It was very good and the service was great. There were period dressed actors on the grounds which added to the pleasant experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message