Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 957 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tcs529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide was full of information, trip was fun and informative would recommend to any visitors.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

dan_vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Monticello was so interesting and our guide was informative and answered questions directed to him knowledgably. The outdoor quides were a nice addition. What a view!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

dan_vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our tour through the home of George Washington, but walking through the estate was the best part. The tour guides around the area were so informative and it was wonderful to stroll around the places that Washington loved. I was so surprised by how many presidents and dignitaries have visited his tomb and home.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent!! Would highly recommend this tour...tourguides were very informative and wanted to answer any questions that were asked. Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria are beautiful!!

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good guide ,comfortable bus always ontime, alot of time to enjoy the sites

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Tamara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tours.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

alfiya y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

a wonderful day and a delightful experience! everything was very well organized and run. The only suggestion I would like to make is that there is a wharf close by and boat trips on offer. they can be easily incorporated into the experience, considering the time frames. this information could just be made available to visitors for them to decide whether they want a relaxing ride to Fort Washington - so much appreciated on a hot day!!! or a quiet meal and some shopping.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Mary E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide , Wayne , was phenomenal . He knew more about Washington DC, Alexandria , General Washington , and Mount Vernon than any book or website I have ever seen ! He also showed us the church where General Washington worshipped , and Fort Washington with a photo opportunity . Wayne also recommended the amount Vernon Inn for lunch , and it was a great restaurant with friendly service and delicious food . I can think of nothing negative to say about our day . My husband and I were with our two daughters , who are in their 20s . Something for everyone . Awesome day !

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved our tour to Arlington and Mount Vernon...Even thought it was 100 degrees!! The sites were great and amazing to see but the tour was amazing because of our tour guide AL. I was traveling with myself and 3 teenagers Age 14-16 and Al was so great to include them and make them feel part of the tour. They have mentioned numerous times that Al was the best part of their trip to Washington DC. Book and ask for AL...you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. The bus driver Robert was very knowledgeable as well as helpful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Audrey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day trip to Gettysburg was very enjoyable. there is a lot to see and a lot of history to absorb in one
day. I would recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. History comes alive with excellent bus guide and guides from the National Park.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip is a must do if you are visiting DC. Big Al was an amazing tour guide! Plenty of time to explore the sites and Big Al gives you great suggestions as to how you can get the most of your experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

George I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A total great trip, bus,the stop in the Inn and monticello

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

marypaulah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The driver was wonderful and the tour guide did an excellent job. I would come back and take this trip again.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

History at its best!

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Catherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful visitors' center and tour of mansion.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver was a great guide and the park guide was amazingly knowledgeable.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. I would recommend this tour to all ages.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

marypaulah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bob, the driver on the DC in a day portion was so hilarious and considerate, I didn't think we could get a better driver. The second day proved to be equally awesome, and David was excellent, especially in the horrendous traffic.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Hans A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out with a good balance of history and sightseeing. The visitor centre is extremely well done. The battlefields and landmarks are well preserved.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Betty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Things have changed since my last visit in 2004. I enjoy the update to Mount Vernon surroundings like the theater and food court.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing day! Guide was awesome. Totally recommend this tour

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour. It was amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message