The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1361 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Must not miss! Beautiful location! Pick up and drop off is very convenient as Mt. Vernon is about 45 minutes from D.C. city center probably longer if there's a lot of traffic

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Gurumurthy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We had a knowledgeable and funny tour guide Christopher.
For the 5 hour tour, we stopped at all the main monuments and just had enough time to get out and look around.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must in DC! Great tour guides and it takes you ALL over the city. Awesome if you have a short time in DC and want to see as much as possible. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

barry w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour very interesting easy to get to meeting place and guide was very informative and fun loved the fact we were dropped back to our hotel after a great day.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Yvonne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide, Nick, knowledgeable and funny very bad jokes! and a lovely guy. There was a lot to see and there was some walking, but he set a pace everyone could follow easily and there was always the option of staying on the bus. At the memorials there was plenty of time to take photos and have a good look round. Great tour and a great introduction to DC. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Katherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Christopher, was so enthusiastic, and shared his considerable knowledge of Washington DC with us. The tour covered many of Washington's top sites while traveling in a comfortable mini coach bus.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

nichp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Chuck

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I showed up for the bus tour and was told that they needed 10 people for the tour and only 3 had showed up so far. No tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Joe T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Our trip was to Williamsburg Va, not Washington DC

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Deanne S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour was terrible. We got picked up for the tour in little old vans. The driver, who was also apparently the tour guide, rattled off a few facts, as he sped through Alexandria. He never spoke the rest of the trip. Mount Vernon was a good site to see, but we should have taken Uber.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Shih Hao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour for first time visitors. Great tour guide Mr Peachy.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Amberley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get to Mt Vernon, rather than in a bus or car. Was very smooth sailing down Potomac, bit chilly in the morning so everyone stayed inside, but on return journey sun was out and we had no wind so made the most of top deck to view the mansion from afar. On arrival at Mt Vernon you are given timed entry to the mansion - had a quick stop at Washington's tomb then made way to line for mansion. Whilst it looked like along wait, it was well organised to get people moved through the mansion - had enough time to take in every room in the mansion. Still had plenty of time to see everything on the estate, stop for lunch and some souvenirs and then back to dock for return cruise home.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

number

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab tour. Loved the boat trip down the Potomac. The grounds of Mount Vernon were lovely and it's an easy walk up to the house. Tour of the house was rather regimented - not able to go at your own pace, but then they did have to manage 100's of people. House much smaller than expected but well worth a visit.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Francine Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

There is so much to do and you will need more than one day to cover everything. I loved the witch trial and enjoyed the participation as a member of the jury. When I was in Williamsburg it was so hot and so I didn't have the energy to cover as much as I would have liked but I still found it worth the effort.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Tom D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Washington with lots of stops and great things to see. the guide gave us lots of information and keep the tour interesting and gave us lots of laughes, no matter if you have lots of time or just a couple of days this is the tour for you, Enjoy

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Carol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour very informative and extremely interesting. Superb tour guide Nick and driver. Enjoyed every minute of the day.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Barbara C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I really enjoyed my tour. Joe was extremely helpful. I wish the church had been open to tour that morning but it gave us more time to explore Mt Vernon

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nigel S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good. Very interesting. The cemetery for the slaves makes one's hair stand on end. All those unmarked graves, so sad.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

MARGARET P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! We went to Mount Vernon and stopped in Alexandria at Christ Church where George Washington worshiped. We had plenty of time in Mount Vernon and enjoyed a great lunch at Mount Vernon Inn. Then the tour at Arlington National Cemetery was excellent. This is a good value. It was nice to see so much and travel in such a comfortable coach.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Eric W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour guide was fantastic. The driver was excellent. My only complaint was the BUS sounded like its axle was going to fall off throughout the entire trip. The bus should not have been in service. Also, the windows on the bus were so dirty that it was difficult to see the sights from many of the seats.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Lisa P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Interesting, 2 times tried to post this review and it wouldn't go through no such problems with my higher ranked tours!

Anyway, this was advertised as a bus tour. What we got was a small beat up mini van that the group barely fit into. The driver was a nice guy, but a thick accent made it difficult to understand him. Also, his radio/speaker system was not working so he instead spoke VERY loudly so anyone on the front it was like being screamed at, but the people in the back said they could not hear. Because of the van set up, most couples were split up for the rather long ride, and sitting extremely close to people they did not know. One person had to ride up front in passenger seat alone with driver.

The driver was a bit challenged with talking and driving at the same time - whenever he was talking he would drive very slowly and cars were flying past us. At one point I could see the speedometer and we were 20 miles under the posted speed limit.

Our group stopped at Old Town Alexandria prior to arriving at Mt Vernon. It consisted of about 3 minutes in front of Gadsby's Tavern for photos, and a few minutes at Historic Christ Church which was nice but very brief. Other than that, we didn't see anything other than a couple blocks of the business district.

Arriving at Mt Vernon, the driver got our tour tickets - and we were on our own and didn't see him again until it was time to leave - so most of the day is pretty much self guided. There was a brief film, and then up to the mansion for a tour. The tickets were timed so you had to enter during certain time slots. Unfortunately, we arrived just when a large school group did, with at least 100 kids. Sadly, we did not see one teacher/chaperone in the area, and the kids were pretty loud and disrespectful, making it near impossible to hear the docents as we walked through the home. Once the tour was over, there was still almost 2 hours until it was time to meet the driver. We walked the grounds which are beautiful - but only guidance was a map. Tried to eat lunch at the on site restaurant but the wait for a table was an hour - so went instead to the food court which was terrible. The gifts shops were quite nice - and they had it divided into two separate shops, one with more inexpensive/juvenile items where most of the school groups went and one with more high end stuff that was pretty relaxing.

Ride home was uneventful, but again uncomfortable - poor air temperature control, people jammed into seats and separated. For the price - I would instead rent a car and have more time to explore and see what you wanted. The tour really is only providing transportation and mansion tickets, and the transportation was subpar. Mt Vernon and Old Town are both absolutely worth seeing, but this tour was not the best way to do it.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message