The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1515 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ben

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was great. We saw the most important monuments and had time to take pictures. Ate lunch in a boat. The guide was very nice and knowledgeable. The 6 hours went by quickly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

JohnPaul Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brian would have to have been one of the greatest tour guides I've ever had. He was simply amazing and very knowledgeable. The views were great. The day was great. I would of loved a tour of the Washington Monument, but it was not on the agenda. HOWEVER, I would strongly recommend doing this tour if you only had a short stay in DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable trip. Tour guide was very helpful and courteous. The ride to Mt Vernon was comfortable. I would recommend this trip to someone that is interested in seeing Mt. Vernon without the hassle of driving yourself. The tour also had tickets ready for us to enter the mansion and we were able to get right in without delay.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Marcia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

With USA Guided Tours, our driver and tour guide were fantastic!!! Tony, the great driver, quickly checked us in. He was a super careful, friendly, safe, prompt, and courteous driver! John A., our wonderful tour guide, was very friendly and provided a lot of enjoyable, personal touches for our small group used a comfortable, air-conditioned, small bus/vehicle. He was so informative, detailed, personable, and kept us engaged with stories, explanations, humor, added in personal experiences, and talked to us as individuals. He guided us on our stops--making sure we got a lot of photo moments, offered to take our pictures, and made sure we stayed together. My husband said he was the perfect tour guide expert knowledge, super patient and alert, fun, humorous, careful, and much more! John along with Tony made sure we were provided with cold, bottle water during the summer heatwave. This team was a 5 stars!!! Choose this super tour for your Washington DC highlights! John said he did a Washington at night tour that provided an even more impressive view of the monuments/memorials, too. If you can get them, John and Tony are THE dynamic duo! At the end, John made sure everyone was safely leaving and knew where to go and provided directions and help! That's just one example of his personal touch. Another is John's recommendations for food. There were general places he directed to all of us, but we were able to go to the two yummy local chili eateries he recommended to just us. At one, Hard Times in old town A., I had a 3-way, but my husband had the 5-way chili mac...Mmm. Also, Viator under TripAdvisor had helpful and patient workers to inform and helped sign up for their tours. They're available 24/7 since I think of questions at odd times and have great prices did online comparisons before booking.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Marcia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I booked this Gray Line Tour Grey Hound Buses through Viator under TripAdvisor which had wonderful workers to answer questions 24/7 and great prices caught a limited time sale price. The driver, David Bear don't know if that's how he spells his name, but that's what it sounds like was friendly, informative, kept pointing out sites along the drive, and provided a video of Gettysburg that kept us engaged along the long route. He expertly drove in crowded and congested traffic along the way. He took us to eat lunch with a variety of choices. We stopped at Shriver House with a guide that spelled and said her name like mine : for an informative and riveting account of a civilian in Gettysburg. At the visitor center, the narrated 360 view of the historic painting was amazing! The museum was informative on par with information was given at the Smithsonian Am. History Museum, too and had an impressive display of the weapons. Dave, our wonderful battlefield tour guide, took us to important stops for photos and briefly walk around. As we wandered around, he was available for individual questions and more details, too. He pointed out numerous monuments and memorials. There wasn't enough time for everything! My husband and I enjoyed the experience of being immersed in this historic place with all the detailed explanations. These were great guides and driver-guide, great locations, and time passed quickly--wished here was more time to stop around Gettysburg and the battlefield area!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Paul Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WONDERFUL,SCENIC AND INSTRUCTIVE.IT WAS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE THANKS

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Mt Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well run, good your guide and very little wasted time

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Charlotte r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

our Driver and Guild were fantastic. I will be back to DC and I will use your service again and would recommend to any one not knowing there way around DC to use your company for sightseeing.
Charlotte Romero

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Luella M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Other than it being a very hot day, it was a fabulous trip. The countryside was beautiful and the drive was a joy. Monticello is an amazing place! Lunch at Michie's tavern was also quite special.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Thomas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative guides. Visit to the Shriver house was unexpected but much appreciated. An educational day!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

paul.messenger82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely day out and views on the Potomac were superb. Really enjoyed this day and worth every dollar
The staff on the boat and around Mt Vernon were brilliant making it a really special day.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Bernadette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great place to see. Loved walking through Washington's house and gardens

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Fanny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Much better than taking a bus tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best trip of our visit. Just brilliant day. Our driver was brilliant, took us to a lovely place for lunch which allows a little shopping. Guide was amazing too, loved every bit of the day. A beautiful place to visit. Learnt so much about American history. So glad we done it

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

REV C C KEVILL- K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This visit was extremely well organised. The house is fascinating, and we learnt a lot. The cruise was very comfortable and relaxing, and the whole experience made a lovely day out.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

lacourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a brilliant day on this trip! The boat ride was smooth and with great commentary down the Potomac, a three hour round trip well worth the money alone. Also only a 1.50 for coffee and 1 for a bagel and cream cheese which was welcome after the early start! We were left to our own devices once at Mount Vernon and there was lots to see, the house is beautiful as are the grounds and the views of the Potomac. The tour guides at Mount Vernon were extremely knowledgable and open to questions. I'm not sure if this is there every day but there was a lovely marketplace selling homemade goods by sellers in traditional dress, with traditional games and music. Thoroughly recommended

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

mikemccormickesq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and was willing to answer a lot of questions. Although this tour was only 2 hours, I really feel I got to see and learn about the more significant events surrounding the battle.

Doing what: Gettysburg Guided Bus Tour

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nick was our guide and he was great. Very informative, attentive and funny. Tony our bus driver was great as well. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Leonard L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, highly informative. Got to see many tourist attractions and helped me plan better the rest of my stay in Washington. Tour guide was excellent and she provided ice cold water for everyone on the bus the temperature outside was in the high 90s. While 6 hours seems long, time went by fast and we were not on the bus for long stretches. There were many stops to have closer looks and take photos. but you may want to take an extra couple of days to spend more time at some attractions and definitely visit the art gallery, it is free and amazing pictures inside.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sven V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mount Vernon is a real must if you stay a week in DC. The view over the Potomac, and the quality in which the plantation and mansion have been preserved were incredibly beautiful. The audio-guide included in the ticket, the guides in the mansion and the actors playing the original plantation workers gave interesting insights in how life during George and Martha's time must have been.

The afternoon visit to Arlington Cemetery was a nice filler for the whole day. One point of note, not diminishing the tour's worth in itself: if a summer storm breaks out while visiting the cemetery, do not get off the trolley unless you want to risk getting soaked as there is hardly any shelter on the grounds.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Carl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both the driver and the guide were fantastic. Great way to get information on any area. These folks really know the Gettysburg area and it shows. Never miss a chance to tour with these folks.

Doing what: Gettysburg Guided Bus Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day spent touring Mt. Vernon and Arlington national cemetery. Bus was very comfortable and driver was extremely knowledgeable. Had lunch in the restaurant at mt Vernon. It was very good and the service was great. There were period dressed actors on the grounds which added to the pleasant experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

paul d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was wonderful. We give him 10 out of 10. The place we were directed to for lunch needs to be changed. It was cereal mix up and way to slow for a large group. Make other arrangements. The itinerary was great.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Wayne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another stellar tour with Viator. This tour was both educational, emotional and fun. The changing of the guard at Arlington was amazing to watch. Our guide was knowledgeable and made the entire tour a most pleasant experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message