The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1377 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joesmem13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Loved this tour ! Our guide was wonderful! Brought the battlefields to life for us!

Doing what: Gettysburg Guided Bus Tour

hpj52299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Tour! If you take kids, make sure they do the kids program. We had 3 kids - 12, 13, 14 - and they loved it!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judith m

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

it was a good tour but you have to go to a location to meet your guide. he was on his cellphone on the first of the trip.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Marilou F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

A good day out to explore away from the hustle and bustle of Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Peter B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Didn't happen because not enough people, but no advance notification.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

piyy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Must not miss! Beautiful location! Pick up and drop off is very convenient as Mt. Vernon is about 45 minutes from D.C. city center probably longer if there's a lot of traffic

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour with a great guide. Well worth seeing.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Zepink

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour, and Tour Guide Andrew and the Bus Driver forgot his name, attractive black man were outstanding! Andrew was very informative and had answers to all of our questions. The only reason I didn't give this review a 5 is because Andrew was not clear enough or allowed people to continuously return late to the bus. We wasted one full hour 3 times people were late waiting for people to return to the bus and this impacted our experience. Andrew, tell everyone that the bus will leave if you are more than 10 minutes late. It's not fair to us to have to wait for them time and time again. Also, don't allow anyone to get off the bus on a non scheduled stop to take photos that also delayed our trip. Thank you both for an outstanding tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Gurumurthy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We had a knowledgeable and funny tour guide Christopher.
For the 5 hour tour, we stopped at all the main monuments and just had enough time to get out and look around.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must in DC! Great tour guides and it takes you ALL over the city. Awesome if you have a short time in DC and want to see as much as possible. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

barry w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour very interesting easy to get to meeting place and guide was very informative and fun loved the fact we were dropped back to our hotel after a great day.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Yvonne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide, Nick, knowledgeable and funny very bad jokes! and a lovely guy. There was a lot to see and there was some walking, but he set a pace everyone could follow easily and there was always the option of staying on the bus. At the memorials there was plenty of time to take photos and have a good look round. Great tour and a great introduction to DC. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Katherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Christopher, was so enthusiastic, and shared his considerable knowledge of Washington DC with us. The tour covered many of Washington's top sites while traveling in a comfortable mini coach bus.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

nichp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Chuck

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I showed up for the bus tour and was told that they needed 10 people for the tour and only 3 had showed up so far. No tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Joe T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Our trip was to Williamsburg Va, not Washington DC

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Deanne S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour was terrible. We got picked up for the tour in little old vans. The driver, who was also apparently the tour guide, rattled off a few facts, as he sped through Alexandria. He never spoke the rest of the trip. Mount Vernon was a good site to see, but we should have taken Uber.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Shih Hao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour for first time visitors. Great tour guide Mr Peachy.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see and get the history about Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. However, you are on your own for lunch at Mount Vernon, with no options of making reservations at the restaurant there thru Viator. I think that Viator should look into providing that as an option. Other bus groups seemed to have reservations ahead of time and got right in. But if you didn't have reservations, good luck getting in. You could still get lunch, but at a fast food cafeteria. Also, I would advise that the bus leave Mt Vernon about 15 minutes sooner than was scheduled for us, which was 1:30, so you would get to the Cemetery with more time to get to the Changing of the guard ceremony at 3pm. You are at the mercy of the trams to get you there on time, or you miss it, and we did.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Amberley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get to Mt Vernon, rather than in a bus or car. Was very smooth sailing down Potomac, bit chilly in the morning so everyone stayed inside, but on return journey sun was out and we had no wind so made the most of top deck to view the mansion from afar. On arrival at Mt Vernon you are given timed entry to the mansion - had a quick stop at Washington's tomb then made way to line for mansion. Whilst it looked like along wait, it was well organised to get people moved through the mansion - had enough time to take in every room in the mansion. Still had plenty of time to see everything on the estate, stop for lunch and some souvenirs and then back to dock for return cruise home.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

number

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab tour. Loved the boat trip down the Potomac. The grounds of Mount Vernon were lovely and it's an easy walk up to the house. Tour of the house was rather regimented - not able to go at your own pace, but then they did have to manage 100's of people. House much smaller than expected but well worth a visit.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Ginger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver Wayne was excellent! He went above and beyond to be sure we enjoyed the tour and provided us with so much more than we expected! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Francine Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

There is so much to do and you will need more than one day to cover everything. I loved the witch trial and enjoyed the participation as a member of the jury. When I was in Williamsburg it was so hot and so I didn't have the energy to cover as much as I would have liked but I still found it worth the effort.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

Tom D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Washington with lots of stops and great things to see. the guide gave us lots of information and keep the tour interesting and gave us lots of laughes, no matter if you have lots of time or just a couple of days this is the tour for you, Enjoy

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message