Wellington ATTRACTIONS See all

Wellington Botanic Garden

Exotic and native plants flaunt their colors at Wellington’s botanic garden, a 25-hectare (61-acre) stretch of landscaped parklands. The garden was established in 1868, featuring conifers from New Zealand’s forests and more than 100 species of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex Sharp New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

As an Ex Wellingtonian I wanted the opportunity to see how the city had changed since I lived here over 30 years ago. Our guide, Stan, was excellent in providing verbal snapshots of key elements of Wellingtons suburbs and history. By the end of the tour I felt the intervening years had vanished and I had caught up on what Wellington has always been. A must for newbies to this great city, tourists and returning residents.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Worth the time.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great way to see all the sights in Wellington

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Barbara H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good day. Very comfortable vehicle and courteous and interesting young man taking us around. Didn't push us into anything that we were not totally interested in.

Doing what: Full-Day Wellington Sightseeing Tour

emilylouisehopkins

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The driver was great, really interesting but you could walk between most of the stops so I'm not sure if it was really necessary. It was interesting though.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

co1eagle United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The weather did not cooperate. It was extremely windy and chilly. So it was difficult to enjoy some of the outdoor activities at the stops.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Johnseymour1951

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very friendly, safe and informative drivers who made the trip entertaining. Would highly recommend this mini version of the typical hop on off bus we are used to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

M R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour driver was friendly and helpful. He answered all questions and was quite knowledgeable about the area. However, if you wished to get off, it was required that you tell the driver when you expected to be picked up. Not being familiar with the area it was difficult to decide how much time would be needed each time you visited a specific area. Anyway, if never been in Wellington before, this is a good way to figure out what to come back to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

JoLane T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Trip coordinator at the I-site was great as was the bus driver's commentary. Lots of traffic and rainy cloudy weather made for a unfortunate day for sightseeing, but both personnel were informative, accommodating, and personable.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Alan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour is terrible! First of all, they didn't give me a brochure with the different stops because the guide doesn't carry any with them. On the Mount Victoria stop the guide told us You can go and take some pictures, even though you won't be able to see much, so if you prefer you can stay in the car. We made 3 stops because of traffic, even though this tour says in the description it is a whole city tour. Terrible terrible tour, stay away.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

venesa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised and friendly staff

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This isn't your typical big city double-decker hop on hop off bus. It is a small 9-10 person, intimate 2-hour tour of Wellington with 12 different stops where you may get off and another driver will pick you up in 1 hour. The driver will stop at four of the stops for about 5-10 minutes for you to take photos Mt. Victoria, Weta Cave and Studio where 90 films, including parts of Avatar and the Lord of the Rings trilogy were filmed, The Cable Car station and museum and St. Pauls Cathedral. I highly suggest stopping off for the Weta Cave tour and afterwards, when you are picked up, the famous Le Pape museum. There is a charge for Weta Cave but the museum is free. This is a five-star tour and I have toured 83 countries to date.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

David K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very informative and helpful. The tour was interesting and enjoyable. A good agenda.

Doing what: Full-Day Wellington Sightseeing Tour

Neeraj A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best, I give all star to everyone involved specially the person who shown me around. Very happy to receive such a response. Wish all the best, and definitely use it in a new city, where ever I go in future.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Look no further, this is the BEST! John does the tour straight from his heart.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John picked me up on time from my hotel with his 4x4 Mitsubishi. The tour started with Weta Cave workshop which was worth visiting while you are in Wellington. John is a local from Wellington and very knowledgeable about the city. The day was full of activities but in a relaxed way. We had a light but nice meal at Chocolate Fish and in the end of the tour I received a nice gift from him. I enjoyed very much the tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Full-Day Wellington Sightseeing Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Carlos M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

On May 14th, three co-workers and I booked this full day tour of Wellington. We looked forward to the tour as it was also a picture perfect day after having been raining all week.

When the tour guide picked us up from our hotel he told us that he was a substitute doing a favor for a friend. He was a really nice fellow, but he was a full time fireman and was not able to answer some of the most fundamental questions about this city. The car was crowded as well and although we all took turns sitting up front the person in the middle seat had a hard time seeing the sights.

I feel that this was a pricy tour 200 x 4 for the level of comfort provided and the level of information received.

I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Wellington Sightseeing Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

bus tour was very good. driver and stops were good, which enable us to get a nice overview of
wellington. his commentary of the sites were very interesting.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative trip - would recommend

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Margaret T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with good driver and comentary

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Geoffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unfortunately, my review for Wellington which I had completed at the same time as the review for Dunedin somehow disappeared when I pressed the submit Review button for Dunedin.
We also thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Wellington and the driver / guide was again excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Rosanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour with an informative commentary. Made the best use of our short stay in Wellington. Booking arrangements worked smoothly. Clear directions to pick up point were appreciated. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Marie-Therese B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I found the commentary very interesting as well as the places we stopped.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

ANN S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely tour great driver would do again to avoid that traffic

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message