Just 10 minutes from central Wellington, the unique Zealandia wildlife sanctuary and conservation park is one of New Zealand’s premier eco attractions, restoring the flora and fauna that once surrounded the city. The Karori Wildlife Sanctuary’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex Sharp New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

As an Ex Wellingtonian I wanted the opportunity to see how the city had changed since I lived here over 30 years ago. Our guide, Stan, was excellent in providing verbal snapshots of key elements of Wellingtons suburbs and history. By the end of the tour I felt the intervening years had vanished and I had caught up on what Wellington has always been. A must for newbies to this great city, tourists and returning residents.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All went smoothly and a good trip at a reasonable price, excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Worth the time.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Methuen F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great sights and wonderful to walk around and see everything could be signposted a bit better but that's it.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely worthwhile. We were lucky with perfect weather and saw two kiwis! The guides were great. Seeing you have to arrive well before dark, it is a shame that the ticket price does not include the ability to spend an hour or so to see the park before dark. You need to arrange your own travel home after the tour - but the guides are happy to call a taxi for you which we needed when our pre-arranged cab did not show.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great way to see all the sights in Wellington

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

emilylouisehopkins

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The driver was great, really interesting but you could walk between most of the stops so I'm not sure if it was really necessary. It was interesting though.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

co1eagle United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The weather did not cooperate. It was extremely windy and chilly. So it was difficult to enjoy some of the outdoor activities at the stops.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Johnseymour1951

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very friendly, safe and informative drivers who made the trip entertaining. Would highly recommend this mini version of the typical hop on off bus we are used to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

M R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour driver was friendly and helpful. He answered all questions and was quite knowledgeable about the area. However, if you wished to get off, it was required that you tell the driver when you expected to be picked up. Not being familiar with the area it was difficult to decide how much time would be needed each time you visited a specific area. Anyway, if never been in Wellington before, this is a good way to figure out what to come back to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Robert United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We saw three semi wild kiwis on the tour. Provided with red light torches so as not to disturb the animals. Although told not to us flash, a number of ignorant BRITISH tourists did which scared the kiwis off.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

JoLane T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Trip coordinator at the I-site was great as was the bus driver's commentary. Lots of traffic and rainy cloudy weather made for a unfortunate day for sightseeing, but both personnel were informative, accommodating, and personable.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Alan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour is terrible! First of all, they didn't give me a brochure with the different stops because the guide doesn't carry any with them. On the Mount Victoria stop the guide told us You can go and take some pictures, even though you won't be able to see much, so if you prefer you can stay in the car. We made 3 stops because of traffic, even though this tour says in the description it is a whole city tour. Terrible terrible tour, stay away.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

venesa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised and friendly staff

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This isn't your typical big city double-decker hop on hop off bus. It is a small 9-10 person, intimate 2-hour tour of Wellington with 12 different stops where you may get off and another driver will pick you up in 1 hour. The driver will stop at four of the stops for about 5-10 minutes for you to take photos Mt. Victoria, Weta Cave and Studio where 90 films, including parts of Avatar and the Lord of the Rings trilogy were filmed, The Cable Car station and museum and St. Pauls Cathedral. I highly suggest stopping off for the Weta Cave tour and afterwards, when you are picked up, the famous Le Pape museum. There is a charge for Weta Cave but the museum is free. This is a five-star tour and I have toured 83 countries to date.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Lukas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible variety of NZ's native birds in a pre-European i.e. mammal-free habitat!

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it was raining during our tour, we still learned a lot about the wildlife here. Our guide was awesome keeping things fun and interesting as we all looked and found things to look at. We saw wetas yuk!, a tuna eel, a takahe. We were about to give up hope of seeing a kiwi...but then our guide spotted one 10 minutes before the end of the tour! We watched the cute little kiwi for a good 2 minutes, and then the kiwi came out on the path and walked/waddled down the trail giving us a show! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

faten a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

It was tooo dark and we couldn't see anything and the red light that was given to us was very low and of no use. We saw nothing, none of the animals and birds mentioned except of the blue bird that was with us from the beginning of the tour. I really do not recommend it, it is just a waste of time.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Neeraj A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best, I give all star to everyone involved specially the person who shown me around. Very happy to receive such a response. Wish all the best, and definitely use it in a new city, where ever I go in future.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Look no further, this is the BEST! John does the tour straight from his heart.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

bus tour was very good. driver and stops were good, which enable us to get a nice overview of
wellington. his commentary of the sites were very interesting.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative trip - would recommend

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Margaret T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with good driver and comentary

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message