In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Such a beautiful, adventure filled day. Jackson and Maddie were our tour guides and made the trip great for us. My husband and I are huge Lord of the Rings fans so it was just so awesome to stand where so many of our favorite scenes were filmed. The tour guides brought photos of the actual scenes so we could literally see exactly where everything was set up, and we learned so many fun extras from filming that makes me super excited to re-watch the movies. The staff was very knowledgeable and made the tour even more fun by bringing a few props for us to use in photos. Then we went to Weta workshop. Wow! Amazing to see the things they have created for so many beloved movies and shows. We even saw one of the world's top sword makers in action. He made all the weapons for Lord of the Rings as well as many others. The people who work for Weta are so proud of their work and have such a huge dedication and talent for what they do, and this was very evident through the tour. Lunch was also included at an awesome beach cafe with a comic book theme. The cast from Lord of the Rings used to eat there many times after filming. Food was great, big portions. By the time we got to Rivendell, it was raining pretty hard but we still spent a lot of time learning about the sets and taking photos. Such beautiful places. Very fun day

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Methuen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed the trip and our guide was amazingly friendly and had tonnes of knowledge about both Wellington and LOTR

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Roxana H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The tour guide, Jack, talked non-stop about all the movies he and another man on the tour loved or hated, allowed the fellow traveler to talk non-stop also as well as use the F-bomb continuously. There were only seven of us on the trip and Jack, while trying to be funny at times and while kind to an older woman, took us on a 400 meter hike we didn't know was coming and she could barely manage. Jack is knowledgeable about the books and movies and Peter Jackson and Weta - and that part was good, but he wasted a ton of our time talking about nothing related and did not control the disruptive passenger - very disrespectful and upsetting. The single gal with us was also very upset by this, so we know at least 3 of 7 of us were quite unhappy. The Weta stop was by far the best, and that would have been enough, honestly - if it had included the miniature tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sophie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with a great guide. Jackson was super funny, so sweet and answered every single question. The group was small 10 people and a really fun group of people. The locations were amazing and not so easy to find by yourself, and i learned a lot of stories about each scene.
The lunch was not only delicious but in a place you need to see!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

st.svitlana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. The weather was wonderful. We visited a lot of movie locations, Weta cave and had a great lunch and even better time.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Kwan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very enjoyable tour with a highly knowledgeable movie-lover tour guide. Thank you

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not being a big LOTR fan okay - I have not seen any of the movies I was a bit concerned but our guide was very entertaining and having her explain what scene had taken place where we were has made me want to watch them. There is a bit of hilly walking which folks need to be aware of. Lunch at the Scorching Bay Cafe was delicious and I really did enjoy the muffins and cold drinks provided at the Rivendell stop.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Elizabeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, fantastic guide who was obviously interested in what he was showing us. Just the right amount of time spent at each location.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

norristara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I enjoyed this tour. It was divided up into a trip into the woods behind Wellington with pictures and descriptions of what happened in the Lord of The Rings. The other part was taken by a trip to the animation/film effects studios, I found it a real insight into the cinema industry in New Zealand, but also an eye opener because a lot of work is done internationally on very well known films.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Leanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan as the lookout was great. We had mist covering Wellington the first time we went to the lookout so we went back later when the fog had lifted. Great tour guide and really enjoyed the Weta workshop.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Izzza Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Kurt B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was great, hope he stays with your company!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

andrew a Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The workshop tour is just eye opening

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Kimberly S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The WETA studio was very informative. They could only show two filming locations with the half day tour, but it was interesting to hear how they accomplished the filming tricks.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

janielkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide stopped for photos and managed to keep us on schedule and avoid the big crowds. We found the Weta Cave to be very interesting. My husband uses a walking stick and so the walk in the woods was challenging, but there was no problem with us taking a slower pace.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was wonderful. The lunch was great and the scenery breathtaking. Our driver was great and very knowledgable. The only troublesome thing was trying to figure out where to meet. First it was one spot then another. Good thing I was able to get my e-mail and see that the place had been changed to the train station.

Doing what: Palliser Bay and Coastal Delights Tour from Wellington

Jan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour with a great guide, nice company in a small Group.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Robert United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really scenic and see a really rugged coastline. Quite a long drive out from Wellington but the scenery on the drive is also amazing.

Doing what: Palliser Bay and Coastal Delights Tour from Wellington

Justin M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Fun time, not an overcrowded amount of people on the tour which was preferred.
Host was knowledgeable and personable.
Lunch was very nice and their staff were friendly.
Some weather issues but that is not the tour providers fault of course.
Good value and an enjoyable time for LOTR/Hobbit fans and non fans alike.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

E-Kan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

They were fun and engaging hosts- they even gave my mother and I a drop off in the city to visit another site in Wellington!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Krystle Mei A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour was really fun. I'd only want to see more props and costumes that they can let the tourists wear.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Barry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jack, our driver and leader was courteous, knowledgeable and very obliging
The tour was one of the most enjoyable we have undertaken with Viator

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

calico30533

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awsom, , lots to see and do! We had been there on 2008 and really liked it, but now there is so much more to see-- great experience!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great lunch. Saw 4 locations sites and learned a lot of behind the scenes information. The highlight was Weta Cave. It is SO amazing and we met the artists and spoke to them. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

griffsnz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

guide was excellent
weka studios , expected more from way it was talked up could of got info from u tube ,
1/2 day tour standing in mt Victoria , looking at photos in folder expected the wow factor

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message