In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just lots and lots of fun, from start to end.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. We had a great guide with a lot of passion and knowledge of the Lord of the Rings and the movies in general, it made a huge difference to the tour. Request someone who is a Lotr fan for the best experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Manhui H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It is an excellent tour. I am excited to see the seal

Doing what: Palliser Bay and Coastal Delights Tour from Wellington

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Weta Workshop was amazing, tour sites were well organized and interesting.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Lydia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Jack was excellent. Loved all of his insider knowledge about LOTR. The day couldn't have been more perfect. Lunch was at such a fun place and tasted really great.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Great value, fun and informed guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Jenifer H U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun introduction to Wellington. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable. Lunch was at a local restaurant and the food was good. I enjoyed seeing the locations and hearing some of the background of LOTR.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Knowledgeable guide Michael/Chewie. Very good lunch. WETA Studio tour duplicated some of gift shop video. Very interesting about prop production.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Mike H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Laura was a very personable, knowledgable tour guide. WE enjoyed it!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

PAUKI

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Very knowledgeable guide but we didn't get to visit the Embassy theatre we simply drove past would have liked to have been able to get a shot of the Gandalf statue out front but weren't given the opportunity. Some of the information on the website is misleading making you believe you will see more than you actually do like the photo of the trolls.... this is only at Weta cave which you don't get to visit, again just a drive by, also the sights you get to see from the film are all within about 300m of each other. Having said that, the guides are good and the visit to Weta Workshop t was well worth it

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well organized, thoughtfully presented, not hurried and FUN!!
Our guide not only presented the movie locations but told many related anecdotal stories as well as general information about the toured areas. Very worthwhile!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed this trip very much, a superb day out if your time in Auckland is limited and you want to see as many things as possible in a short time. The picnic lunch was lovely, very good quality which is not always the case on tours!.
Good mixture of outdoor and indoor with the Weta workshop visit and the outdoor locations. Would recommend it to fans of the film series, or anybody who is in Aucland for a couple of days and would like to see the nice surrounding scenery.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Peter M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable day's activity in Middle Earth. Brought back a lot of memories.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour particularly the WETA facility

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

fantastic knowledgeable friendly staff, beautiful locations and a great price. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must for any LotRs and Hobbit fans. Great value for money.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Gilbert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceeded expectations. Would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was Emma and she was very interesting and informative. I very much enjoyed this tour. As we drove through Wellington to get to our first stop, Emma gave us interesting info about the city. We visited the area where the first part of the Lord of the Rings was filmed and Emma talked about how special effects were filmed and created. Very informative. We visited the studios where not only the Lord of the Rings special effects were created, but also where other special effects, props and studios are used for filming. An interesting tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Marie-Therese B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I was unable to go on the full day tour but I did go on the half day tour which I found very interesting. I especially liked the visit to the Wetta workshop and the map we were given at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Beth S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We saw a few locations in Central Wellington as well as Weta Cave. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

lawsonrl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour was about what we expected EXCEPT that the info on the tour promised a group size of up to six. There were about 16 people in the group. We felt that we paid a premium price for a small group tour, and that was not what we received. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

Yoann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour! Worth doing the full day tour as you go to several major location! Also Leslie was a great tour guide :

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

RickFlem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Chewie, our guide, was very knowledgable and entertaining. Saw many great LOTR sites, as well as great scenery. I would recommend the full day you, much more to see.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message