When it comes to countries that care about conservation, New Zealand has got it right. After all, this is a country where nearly 30% of the total land area is protected as some form of parkland, and within that parkland are sensitive species which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All went smoothly and a good trip at a reasonable price, excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Alex Sharp New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

As an Ex Wellingtonian I wanted the opportunity to see how the city had changed since I lived here over 30 years ago. Our guide, Stan, was excellent in providing verbal snapshots of key elements of Wellingtons suburbs and history. By the end of the tour I felt the intervening years had vanished and I had caught up on what Wellington has always been. A must for newbies to this great city, tourists and returning residents.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great way to see all the sights in Wellington

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely worthwhile. We were lucky with perfect weather and saw two kiwis! The guides were great. Seeing you have to arrive well before dark, it is a shame that the ticket price does not include the ability to spend an hour or so to see the park before dark. You need to arrange your own travel home after the tour - but the guides are happy to call a taxi for you which we needed when our pre-arranged cab did not show.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Johnseymour1951

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very friendly, safe and informative drivers who made the trip entertaining. Would highly recommend this mini version of the typical hop on off bus we are used to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

venesa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised and friendly staff

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This isn't your typical big city double-decker hop on hop off bus. It is a small 9-10 person, intimate 2-hour tour of Wellington with 12 different stops where you may get off and another driver will pick you up in 1 hour. The driver will stop at four of the stops for about 5-10 minutes for you to take photos Mt. Victoria, Weta Cave and Studio where 90 films, including parts of Avatar and the Lord of the Rings trilogy were filmed, The Cable Car station and museum and St. Pauls Cathedral. I highly suggest stopping off for the Weta Cave tour and afterwards, when you are picked up, the famous Le Pape museum. There is a charge for Weta Cave but the museum is free. This is a five-star tour and I have toured 83 countries to date.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it was raining during our tour, we still learned a lot about the wildlife here. Our guide was awesome keeping things fun and interesting as we all looked and found things to look at. We saw wetas yuk!, a tuna eel, a takahe. We were about to give up hope of seeing a kiwi...but then our guide spotted one 10 minutes before the end of the tour! We watched the cute little kiwi for a good 2 minutes, and then the kiwi came out on the path and walked/waddled down the trail giving us a show! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Lukas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible variety of NZ's native birds in a pre-European i.e. mammal-free habitat!

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Look no further, this is the BEST! John does the tour straight from his heart.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Neeraj A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best, I give all star to everyone involved specially the person who shown me around. Very happy to receive such a response. Wish all the best, and definitely use it in a new city, where ever I go in future.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative trip - would recommend

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

bus tour was very good. driver and stops were good, which enable us to get a nice overview of
wellington. his commentary of the sites were very interesting.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Margaret T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with good driver and comentary

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Rosanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour with an informative commentary. Made the best use of our short stay in Wellington. Booking arrangements worked smoothly. Clear directions to pick up point were appreciated. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Geoffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unfortunately, my review for Wellington which I had completed at the same time as the review for Dunedin somehow disappeared when I pressed the submit Review button for Dunedin.
We also thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Wellington and the driver / guide was again excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Vivienne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Spend a very enjoyable couple of hours at Zealandia, mostly in Sanctuary Valley. Unfortunately due to time we were unable to spend time in the exhibition. Shuttle Bus is free which is wonderful but unfortunately we just missed one and had to wait an hour for the next. Just make sure you get a timetable when booking so you have lots of time to enjoy this beautiful site.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Stephen E K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Saw all the highlights of Wellington at a great price.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

bknute72 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a beautiful park to walk around and view the birds as well as the forest. We took the cable car up the mountain, then the free shuttle to the park. Spent a couple hours here, could have spent many more exploring all the trails. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Kenneth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very well organised trip and the drivers friendly, helpful and informative. We really appreciated their help when our camera bag was left on a bus and then returned and the asvice that we could fit in two hours at Zealander and then be driven right back to the ship.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

tehmina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you do one thing - do this tour if you visit Wellington. It is memorable, inspirational and very stimulating whether you manage to spot a kiwi or not. I was bowled over by the variety of NZ bush wildlife we heard and saw. In fact just enjoying our night senses was a thoroughly thrilling experience and our guide was fabulous. You will not be disappointed. Do wear good shoes and wrap up, though.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Arthur T S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice people. Followed up when we got off to ensure that we were picked up again.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Roslyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best hop-on hop-0ff experience we have ever had. The vehicle was small 16 passengers and the driver/tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Gave us ample time at photo stops and very good commentary on the places we saw.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Vicki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saw 4 kiwi. I work with a girl from NZ, she hasn't even seen that many in real life! Great experience.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message