Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex Sharp New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

As an Ex Wellingtonian I wanted the opportunity to see how the city had changed since I lived here over 30 years ago. Our guide, Stan, was excellent in providing verbal snapshots of key elements of Wellingtons suburbs and history. By the end of the tour I felt the intervening years had vanished and I had caught up on what Wellington has always been. A must for newbies to this great city, tourists and returning residents.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Such a beautiful, adventure filled day. Jackson and Maddie were our tour guides and made the trip great for us. My husband and I are huge Lord of the Rings fans so it was just so awesome to stand where so many of our favorite scenes were filmed. The tour guides brought photos of the actual scenes so we could literally see exactly where everything was set up, and we learned so many fun extras from filming that makes me super excited to re-watch the movies. The staff was very knowledgeable and made the tour even more fun by bringing a few props for us to use in photos. Then we went to Weta workshop. Wow! Amazing to see the things they have created for so many beloved movies and shows. We even saw one of the world's top sword makers in action. He made all the weapons for Lord of the Rings as well as many others. The people who work for Weta are so proud of their work and have such a huge dedication and talent for what they do, and this was very evident through the tour. Lunch was also included at an awesome beach cafe with a comic book theme. The cast from Lord of the Rings used to eat there many times after filming. Food was great, big portions. By the time we got to Rivendell, it was raining pretty hard but we still spent a lot of time learning about the sets and taking photos. Such beautiful places. Very fun day

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Methuen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed the trip and our guide was amazingly friendly and had tonnes of knowledge about both Wellington and LOTR

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Methuen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

While i was the, there was a Gallipoli exhibit which was absolutely amazing to go through, as was the entire museum, a must go for an overview of New Zealand history and culture.

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

Methuen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Another great tour of the Wellington area we got to see plenty and our guide was polite and lovely! Not only is it inexpensive but it takes you around the entire city which is great for scouting out spots to walk to and check out later.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All went smoothly and a good trip at a reasonable price, excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a fantastic tour. I'm a large fan or The Lord of the Rings, but it would be entertaining for someone who may not be as familiar with the books or movies. We saw beautiful landscapes and learned a lot about how they filmed the movies in each location, and we had a tour of Weta Studios, where we had an exclusive look at the work that goes into making the characters' weapons, clothing, and makeup so magnificent. Plus, we had a great LOTR-inspire lunch! W even learned some fun trivia about the director and actors! This was definitely a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience, very well executed.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Worth the time.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sharon J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour was really good despite it being a rainy day. Our only problem is that the place our instructions told us to go to get on the tour was a closed building due to earthquake damage and had been for a few years. An update is needed on the meeting place.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Judy L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was very informative and we got a chance to talk to an expert in the workshop. Our guide asked us what we wanted to know whereas I would have liked her to talk about everything as it was so interesting. I will never look at a movie set the same. Great job Wetta.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

John A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Weta Workshop tour was very interesting, however the shooting locations were amateurish a best.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Terry

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The weather was a bit gloomy but that didn't bother us. However, once on the bus the windows started to fog up making it difficult to see out. We asked the driver to put on the air-con not that we should have had to but he had problems with that. He also had problems with the intercom as it was cutting in and out. We left the iSite stop and the driver Tod I think was giving a commentary on buildings we couldn't see due to the foggy windows. Once we got to the cable car I again asked him if we could have the air-con on and he said he would fix it. The cable car was another problem as we got half way up the hill and it stopped as they said they had to go back to pick up more passengers. The cable car was quite full so I didn't see the point in going back. It took them quite a while to convince the cable car to go back but eventually it got back there. Once back there were hoards of people lined up to get on. Three people found a seat but only one other person young was persuaded to stand and hold a grab rail. All of the others were probably off a ship as most were middle aged. The wouldn't be convinced to do the standing thing and we thought it would be too unsafe for them. So off we headed again. At the rose garden stop the café couldn't handle the crowds off all the buses. We were given 15 minutes but that wasn't enough time to get a coffee. The rest of the tour was o.k. just as the air-con had been sorted. If you can't handle crowds forget it.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Roxana H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The tour guide, Jack, talked non-stop about all the movies he and another man on the tour loved or hated, allowed the fellow traveler to talk non-stop also as well as use the F-bomb continuously. There were only seven of us on the trip and Jack, while trying to be funny at times and while kind to an older woman, took us on a 400 meter hike we didn't know was coming and she could barely manage. Jack is knowledgeable about the books and movies and Peter Jackson and Weta - and that part was good, but he wasted a ton of our time talking about nothing related and did not control the disruptive passenger - very disrespectful and upsetting. The single gal with us was also very upset by this, so we know at least 3 of 7 of us were quite unhappy. The Weta stop was by far the best, and that would have been enough, honestly - if it had included the miniature tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sophie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with a great guide. Jackson was super funny, so sweet and answered every single question. The group was small 10 people and a really fun group of people. The locations were amazing and not so easy to find by yourself, and i learned a lot of stories about each scene.
The lunch was not only delicious but in a place you need to see!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

st.svitlana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. The weather was wonderful. We visited a lot of movie locations, Weta cave and had a great lunch and even better time.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

kaino.laaksonen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Interesting and very professionally guided tour.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kwan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very enjoyable tour with a highly knowledgeable movie-lover tour guide. Thank you

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was first class and showed us places we would not have seen. Views from mount Victoria were amazing.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not being a big LOTR fan okay - I have not seen any of the movies I was a bit concerned but our guide was very entertaining and having her explain what scene had taken place where we were has made me want to watch them. There is a bit of hilly walking which folks need to be aware of. Lunch at the Scorching Bay Cafe was delicious and I really did enjoy the muffins and cold drinks provided at the Rivendell stop.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Elizabeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, fantastic guide who was obviously interested in what he was showing us. Just the right amount of time spent at each location.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Kurt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the overview guided tour and would highly recommend it.Our guide was a wealth of information, with a fun sense of humor.

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

norristara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I enjoyed this tour. It was divided up into a trip into the woods behind Wellington with pictures and descriptions of what happened in the Lord of The Rings. The other part was taken by a trip to the animation/film effects studios, I found it a real insight into the cinema industry in New Zealand, but also an eye opener because a lot of work is done internationally on very well known films.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Other reviewers mentioned how good Naomi was - and we can agree - she was fantastic. We did other win tours on this trip but this was the best. A minor hiccup is that the voucher says to present the voucher at the Wellington train station and they will give you tickets for the train - but the train station ticket office knew nothing about this. However, in true relaxed NZ style, the train conductors were totally fine about it.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely worthwhile. We were lucky with perfect weather and saw two kiwis! The guides were great. Seeing you have to arrive well before dark, it is a shame that the ticket price does not include the ability to spend an hour or so to see the park before dark. You need to arrange your own travel home after the tour - but the guides are happy to call a taxi for you which we needed when our pre-arranged cab did not show.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message