Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 404 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Would highly recommend this tour. Naomi was an amazing guide and made sure everything was perfect on the day. The wineries were amazing and the food was delicious. Great day out!

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must do tour if you visit Wellington. You get city sights as well as a drive along the gorgeous coast with stops along for photos! Lunch at a funky fun place on the coast. Cable car ride was awesome!

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it was raining during our tour, we still learned a lot about the wildlife here. Our guide was awesome keeping things fun and interesting as we all looked and found things to look at. We saw wetas yuk!, a tuna eel, a takahe. We were about to give up hope of seeing a kiwi...but then our guide spotted one 10 minutes before the end of the tour! We watched the cute little kiwi for a good 2 minutes, and then the kiwi came out on the path and walked/waddled down the trail giving us a show! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Patrice D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip to Weta - staff were great and helpful and our tour guides on the bus and behind the scenes were awesome.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

griffsnz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

guide was excellent
weka studios , expected more from way it was talked up could of got info from u tube ,
1/2 day tour standing in mt Victoria , looking at photos in folder expected the wow factor

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Halil Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was the first day of our 2 week New Zealand tour, and only full day in Wellington. I thought we could see,learn and do everything related to lotr in Wellington and have a good look around the city, wasnt mistaken. Our guide was obviously very experienced, he showed and explained all the locations and told really cool stories. He was helpful, attentive and very funny! To all lotr fans: we had an amazing time, dont hesitate go for it! Totally worth the money and time. Id do it again if i had the chance, thanks for the tour!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything about this trip was great. Our guide Mike was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He had a wealth of information to help us relate the scenery we were seeing to its part in the films. We had great fun hiding in the hobbit hole and wearing swords and cloaks in Rivendell for some great pictures. Lunch at Scorchorama was very tasty and the end of the trip finished nicely with coffee and cakes. The Weta cave tour was also very good. Overall, great value for money and a great day out. Ask for Mike and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Karin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed everything, our tour driver was great and the tour guide at the Weta workshop was excellent. A great experience

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

faten a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

It was tooo dark and we couldn't see anything and the red light that was given to us was very low and of no use. We saw nothing, none of the animals and birds mentioned except of the blue bird that was with us from the beginning of the tour. I really do not recommend it, it is just a waste of time.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Neeraj A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best, I give all star to everyone involved specially the person who shown me around. Very happy to receive such a response. Wish all the best, and definitely use it in a new city, where ever I go in future.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Look no further, this is the BEST! John does the tour straight from his heart.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just lots and lots of fun, from start to end.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. We had a great guide with a lot of passion and knowledge of the Lord of the Rings and the movies in general, it made a huge difference to the tour. Request someone who is a Lotr fan for the best experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

lesashowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was nicknamed Laura of the Rings and it was very appropriate. We had an amazing tour guide, Laura, who definitely had a passion for the books and movies. She was able to share so much information about the filming and we had a ton of fun scouting out the film locations and doing some scene reenactments! My 15 year old son said this was his favorite tour and we had even visited Hobbiton!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Erina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are even a tiny bit interested in the movies that weta workshop are involved in I highly recommend this tour it was awesome and we loved it.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Richard Pearce United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A good way to see the city and some nearby shoreline especially if you don't have a car and time is limited. The driver was friendly and informative. We did the afternoon half day tour but the morning one is more likely to get more sunshine during the winter months. Great views from the top of Mount Victoria.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Weta Workshop was amazing, tour sites were well organized and interesting.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A good range of wines. The assistant as very knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gave us a good overview of the city

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Lydia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Jack was excellent. Loved all of his insider knowledge about LOTR. The day couldn't have been more perfect. Lunch was at such a fun place and tasted really great.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Great value, fun and informed guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Tanya C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've always had great experiences using Viator and this tour was no different. Our tour guide, Rob, was friendly, accommodating and full of interesting little facts about Wellington and New Zealand. If you're short on time and would like to get a nice all-round feel for the city, as well as check out some of the main sights, then this tour would definitely work for you.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

granapearce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to believe there are such talented people in NZ. Awesome tour ,totally worth going

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message