Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

venesa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised and friendly staff

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This isn't your typical big city double-decker hop on hop off bus. It is a small 9-10 person, intimate 2-hour tour of Wellington with 12 different stops where you may get off and another driver will pick you up in 1 hour. The driver will stop at four of the stops for about 5-10 minutes for you to take photos Mt. Victoria, Weta Cave and Studio where 90 films, including parts of Avatar and the Lord of the Rings trilogy were filmed, The Cable Car station and museum and St. Pauls Cathedral. I highly suggest stopping off for the Weta Cave tour and afterwards, when you are picked up, the famous Le Pape museum. There is a charge for Weta Cave but the museum is free. This is a five-star tour and I have toured 83 countries to date.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

E-Kan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

They were fun and engaging hosts- they even gave my mother and I a drop off in the city to visit another site in Wellington!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great day very funny bus driver

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

MARTIN F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant for film buffs, these guys are incredible. Very good tour, lots of interesting things to see. From the moment you step off the minibus you are transported through a word of creativity and excellence, the level of detail and creativity is mind boggling. If you are a Lord of the Rings or Hobbit fan look nowhere else for film memorabilia, having been to several outlets in NZ this has far the best collection and nearly all created here, from amazing live action statues of all the characters to armour and swords all exquisitly detailed. The workshop tour shows how things are made from casting to final finish, it also has examples of film sets created and the level of detail again beggars belief. There is even a lifesize Orc statue to be selfied with, that and the 3 lifesize trolls from the Hobbit out the front of the Giftshop. They also have memorabilia and creations from a raft of other film, warcraft, Avatar to name a couple. They are also introducing outher tours, The Thunderbirds tour was also just being launched.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Tomoyoshi M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Quality was as I expected. Wines were light and medium bodies. No full-body wines.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Janice C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

An excellent tour with a friendly guide who was most knowledgable about the places we visited.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Diane M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We always like to have an overview of places we go to and this tour really satisfied our senses

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Krystle Mei A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour was really fun. I'd only want to see more props and costumes that they can let the tourists wear.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Eva M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I loved this tour. We had a really nice guide named Tom who knew just about everything Weta-related and clearly loved his job. He walked us through how props get made and gave us a bit of Weta history. I only wish the tour was longer and that I could've seen more! But, I understand that the artists can't have randos wandering around.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Catherine K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. We wish it could have been just a little longer to have included more exhibits. Otherwise we really enjoyed it and had free time to explore the museum ourselves afterward.

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

John B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Tour was fine but this isn't a very well known area when you think of New Zealand wines.. after a while, all of the wines tasted the same. Not a lot of body and not memorable. We did a wine tour in Hawks Bay, which was superb. If you really want to taste good New Zealand wines, go to Hawks Bay in the north island or Marlborough in the South Island.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Matt R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Within one hour we saw the highlights of the museum and decided what we wanted to go back to. We checked out an exhibit we otherwise would not have seen and can't stop talking about it. Great way to see the museum if you're not all that into meandering on your own.

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was great everything we were hoping for. Great tour guide and value for money. Thankyou

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Barry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jack, our driver and leader was courteous, knowledgeable and very obliging
The tour was one of the most enjoyable we have undertaken with Viator

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Wing L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very friendly tour guides! definitely worth for the price

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended. Naomi the tour guide was great

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

calico30533

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awsom, , lots to see and do! We had been there on 2008 and really liked it, but now there is so much more to see-- great experience!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great lunch. Saw 4 locations sites and learned a lot of behind the scenes information. The highlight was Weta Cave. It is SO amazing and we met the artists and spoke to them. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Dieter B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

es war ein guter Überblick in kurzer Zeit mit ein paar Stopps. Wir waren sehr zufrieden. Leider haben wir zwar nicht alle Infos verstanden, da wir nicht perfekt englisch sprechen. Das war schade, aber es gibt die Tour nur englisch. Toll war, dass wir sogar mit dem Cable Car fahren konnten. Der Fahrer hat uns an der Bergstation herausgelassen dort ist die Wartezeit zum Fahren nur ganz kurz und wir konnten gleich den grandiosen Blick über die Stadt geniessen. Unten an der Talstation mitten im Zentrum wurden wir dann wieder abgeholt. Die Fahrt bezahlt man beim Aussteigen unten. Kostet 4 oder 6 NZDollar pro Nase und kann sogar mit Kreditkarte bezahlt werden. Es war auch schön, dass wir ein Stück an der Küste entlang gefahren sind und so auch einen Eindruck von außerhalb der Stadt bekamen. Leider war am Ende der Tour um 17 Uhr sowohl das Touri-Büro geschlossen und auch die Geschäfte der Hauptstadt schließen schon um 17.30 bzw. 18 Uhr. Schade, also gab es keinen Stadtbummel!

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Would highly recommend this tour. Naomi was an amazing guide and made sure everything was perfect on the day. The wineries were amazing and the food was delicious. Great day out!

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must do tour if you visit Wellington. You get city sights as well as a drive along the gorgeous coast with stops along for photos! Lunch at a funky fun place on the coast. Cable car ride was awesome!

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it was raining during our tour, we still learned a lot about the wildlife here. Our guide was awesome keeping things fun and interesting as we all looked and found things to look at. We saw wetas yuk!, a tuna eel, a takahe. We were about to give up hope of seeing a kiwi...but then our guide spotted one 10 minutes before the end of the tour! We watched the cute little kiwi for a good 2 minutes, and then the kiwi came out on the path and walked/waddled down the trail giving us a show! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Patrice D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip to Weta - staff were great and helpful and our tour guides on the bus and behind the scenes were awesome.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

griffsnz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

guide was excellent
weka studios , expected more from way it was talked up could of got info from u tube ,
1/2 day tour standing in mt Victoria , looking at photos in folder expected the wow factor

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message