Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 448 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sophie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with a great guide. Jackson was super funny, so sweet and answered every single question. The group was small 10 people and a really fun group of people. The locations were amazing and not so easy to find by yourself, and i learned a lot of stories about each scene.
The lunch was not only delicious but in a place you need to see!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

st.svitlana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. The weather was wonderful. We visited a lot of movie locations, Weta cave and had a great lunch and even better time.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

kaino.laaksonen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Interesting and very professionally guided tour.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kwan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very enjoyable tour with a highly knowledgeable movie-lover tour guide. Thank you

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was first class and showed us places we would not have seen. Views from mount Victoria were amazing.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not being a big LOTR fan okay - I have not seen any of the movies I was a bit concerned but our guide was very entertaining and having her explain what scene had taken place where we were has made me want to watch them. There is a bit of hilly walking which folks need to be aware of. Lunch at the Scorching Bay Cafe was delicious and I really did enjoy the muffins and cold drinks provided at the Rivendell stop.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Tracey H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good variety of sights to see, gardens, city buildings, cable car, country sights viewing from high points. rushed but alot to see in a short time.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

1yellowvett

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

After all the tours we took this one finally had a little more time to shop

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kurt B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was great, hope he stays with your company!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Yvonne S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed the tour we took which was an introduction to some of the key sights in the museum. There was sooo much to see and do and one could spend hours and hours there. Unbelievable that entrance into the museum is free. It was definitely time well spent in Wellington.

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

Kevin L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent tour and we'd recommend it for anyone who is looking to get a broad overview of the city. It started with a cable car ride, then on to the botanic gardens then around the city proper. There were some challenges with their new GPS audio guides but the guide made up for it by regaling us with his knowledge and insights of the city.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

andrew a Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The workshop tour is just eye opening

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Amy L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

If you love the LOTR franchise or are passionate about behind the scenes stuff, then this is the tour for you. It and #39;s a quick run through of the stuff that the work shop does and you get to handle some of the props. All the staff are professional and friendly. The displays were cool too!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

janielkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide stopped for photos and managed to keep us on schedule and avoid the big crowds. We found the Weta Cave to be very interesting. My husband uses a walking stick and so the walk in the woods was challenging, but there was no problem with us taking a slower pace.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour and gives one an overall look at where things are. Driver was great and stops very good. Very windy there that day. We had plenty of time to look around at each place.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

bernardcusson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Driver and guide was really funny

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Jan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour with a great guide, nice company in a small Group.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Johnseymour1951

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very friendly, safe and informative drivers who made the trip entertaining. Would highly recommend this mini version of the typical hop on off bus we are used to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

walsco

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

VERY GOOD, GOOD COMMUNICATION SKILLS AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

M R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour driver was friendly and helpful. He answered all questions and was quite knowledgeable about the area. However, if you wished to get off, it was required that you tell the driver when you expected to be picked up. Not being familiar with the area it was difficult to decide how much time would be needed each time you visited a specific area. Anyway, if never been in Wellington before, this is a good way to figure out what to come back to.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Robert United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We saw three semi wild kiwis on the tour. Provided with red light torches so as not to disturb the animals. Although told not to us flash, a number of ignorant BRITISH tourists did which scared the kiwis off.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Justin M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Fun time, not an overcrowded amount of people on the tour which was preferred.
Host was knowledgeable and personable.
Lunch was very nice and their staff were friendly.
Some weather issues but that is not the tour providers fault of course.
Good value and an enjoyable time for LOTR/Hobbit fans and non fans alike.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

JoLane T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Trip coordinator at the I-site was great as was the bus driver's commentary. Lots of traffic and rainy cloudy weather made for a unfortunate day for sightseeing, but both personnel were informative, accommodating, and personable.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Alan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This tour is terrible! First of all, they didn't give me a brochure with the different stops because the guide doesn't carry any with them. On the Mount Victoria stop the guide told us You can go and take some pictures, even though you won't be able to see much, so if you prefer you can stay in the car. We made 3 stops because of traffic, even though this tour says in the description it is a whole city tour. Terrible terrible tour, stay away.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

venesa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised and friendly staff

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message