Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neeraj A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best, I give all star to everyone involved specially the person who shown me around. Very happy to receive such a response. Wish all the best, and definitely use it in a new city, where ever I go in future.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Look no further, this is the BEST! John does the tour straight from his heart.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dr Gerrard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just lots and lots of fun, from start to end.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. We had a great guide with a lot of passion and knowledge of the Lord of the Rings and the movies in general, it made a huge difference to the tour. Request someone who is a Lotr fan for the best experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

lesashowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was nicknamed Laura of the Rings and it was very appropriate. We had an amazing tour guide, Laura, who definitely had a passion for the books and movies. She was able to share so much information about the filming and we had a ton of fun scouting out the film locations and doing some scene reenactments! My 15 year old son said this was his favorite tour and we had even visited Hobbiton!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Richard Pearce United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A good way to see the city and some nearby shoreline especially if you don't have a car and time is limited. The driver was friendly and informative. We did the afternoon half day tour but the morning one is more likely to get more sunshine during the winter months. Great views from the top of Mount Victoria.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Weta Workshop was amazing, tour sites were well organized and interesting.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A good range of wines. The assistant as very knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gave us a good overview of the city

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Lydia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Jack was excellent. Loved all of his insider knowledge about LOTR. The day couldn't have been more perfect. Lunch was at such a fun place and tasted really great.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Great value, fun and informed guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Tanya C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've always had great experiences using Viator and this tour was no different. Our tour guide, Rob, was friendly, accommodating and full of interesting little facts about Wellington and New Zealand. If you're short on time and would like to get a nice all-round feel for the city, as well as check out some of the main sights, then this tour would definitely work for you.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

granapearce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to believe there are such talented people in NZ. Awesome tour ,totally worth going

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

fran h

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Fascinating. Very interesting

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Jenifer H U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun introduction to Wellington. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable. Lunch was at a local restaurant and the food was good. I enjoyed seeing the locations and hearing some of the background of LOTR.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Knowledgeable guide Michael/Chewie. Very good lunch. WETA Studio tour duplicated some of gift shop video. Very interesting about prop production.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Rebecca C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with a very knowledgeable guide who had a fantastic sense of humour. Just wish the Weta tour was bigger itself as it would be great to see further areas of the workshop and design spaces.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Mike H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Laura was a very personable, knowledgable tour guide. WE enjoyed it!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Ian M New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and very good helpful guides, from start to finish

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Fay L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

very good guide

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Bob O Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

A good tour which turned out to be very personable since my wife and I were the only ones.
The guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Valmai C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the most enjoyable tour of Wellington ,our tour guide was incredibly informative and helpful.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good tour bus driver was lovely and the cable car was great

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message