Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum

The 1974 discovery of thousands of life-sized Terracotta Warriors near Xian was one of the archeological sensations of the 20th century. The figures date from 210 BC and were meant to guard the first emperor of China in the afterlife. A huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. The guide provided the appropriate amount of information and was able to answer questions. While the day was hot, we enjoyed our tour.

My only suggestion is to go to the Emperor Qin's Mausoleum, the site of the Terracotta Army, first before going to Banpo. It was very crowded at the Terracotta Army site, and I don't think it would be as crowded at Banpo.

The vehicle had air conditioning and was in good repair.

I would recommend this tour, but not in mid-July! Wait until it is cooler if you have a choice.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Terrence O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a wonderful experience on this tour. Michelle is an excellent guide! She provided me with great knowledge of the city of Xian and the Terracotta Warriors. She is very pleasant and a great host! After the tour, I had plenty of time to explore the city of Xian. What a great city!

Doing what: Private Tour: Terracotta Warriors with Xi'an Airport Transfer

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours in China this was the one we were looking forward to the most! And it didn't disappoint!
We were picked up from our hotel at 9am, taken to a terracotta warrior factory - where I must say the sell wasn't as pushy as other factory tours. We then visited Banpo, an ancient village settlement followed by lunch. Then onto the Terracotta Warriors....breathtaking! More than enough time to visit and explore, our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer any questions that we had.
When we visit China again Xi'an is a definite must for a second visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I initially thought about getting a taxi to see the Terracotta Army and get a guide there. So glad I opted for this tour instead. Our guide, Xin was very good and knowledgeable. The 6000 year old village was fascinating. The tour to the factory was good and a great opportunity to buy a momento of the day. Seeing the Terracotta Army is impressive and going to the Emperors Tomb topped off a perfect day.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and thoroughly recommended - given the time needed to travel from central Xi'an to the site of the Terracotta Warriors, the full day experience is definitely recommended. Our guide was great and even arranged a traditional dumpling meal for us in the evening and to experience a local opera

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our group was small - just my three family members - so it was a very comfortable personal tour. We were picked up from our hotel at 1pm by our guide Michelle, a local. Her English was very understandable, despite not being her first language, and she was perfectly capable of conveying lots of interesting information about the surrounding area and the Terracotta Warriors themselves.
The Terracotta Warriors was crowded at 2pm that Tuesday, but not so crowded that we felt uncomfortable. We just had to be a bit patient and wait for the people to move away from the railings to get a nice clear view of the humungous viewing areas in all 3 pits.
The dumpling banquet was more for the fun of trying dumplings of different flavours and shapes, but not so much filling. Also, we were supposed to arrive by 6.30pm, even though the show which is in the same location only starts at 8pm. So, eat your dumplings slowly otherwise be sure to let a hostess know to save your table if you want to walk around outside.
The show itself was very nice, with a mix of dancing and music but bear in mind that this was all performed as if for the Emperor, i.e. a ONE person audience. So sitting dead centre tends to be better for viewing the dances. We especially enjoyed the two instrumental solos - the performers were really good and added a touch of humour.
Overall we had a really good time, and would most definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi’an

Emel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I happened to be the only person who signed up for this tour so I ended up getting a private tour without really signing up for one. The Terracotta Warriors were great and the guides estimate of spending 2.5 hours there was the perfect amount of time. I saw everything I wanted to see. I mentioned for lunch that I had a few dietary restrictions and they had no issues accommodating them. There was so much food and I definitely left full! The Hot Springs were relaxing but the English at the spa isn't great. You just have to be willing to get into a pool and see what happens. Most were hot and had plants floating in them but I did find one pool that had the fish that nibble at your feet. It was unexpected but a fun memory! I would have loved to stay there longer but I was there for 2 hours so I can't really complain. They were sticking to the schedule of having me back around 5pm.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

ghirasaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Terracotta Warriors. Our guide Sally was great. We were pleased to have a small group and would work with Viator again if need a guided tour. I would recommend the company and especially the guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

senemsezek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thank you very much Lucia and the driver for an unforgettable day...the terracotta army and Bampo are truly a great experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour, Hangtang Tours was amazing.
We enjoyed this tour, the warriors were wonderful a must see site in Xi'an.
Our tour guide Lucia was friendly, informative and welcoming.
This tour included a visit to the Banpo Village, a great bonus for those who love archaeological sites. A visit to the traditional terracotta museum where they make life size warriors. Then to the Warriors site where after view Pit 1 we had a nice buffet lunch.
This tour was great and one of our top picks for China.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

semaj USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations. Great driver and clean van with heat. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Touring the Terracotta Warriors was something Ive always wanted to experience and it was exceptional. Also, the lunch provided included a buffet with different types of noodles and a set menu. It was more than enough for us. Perfect end to a great tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I joined a group of 7 others from several countries, and totally enjoyed my day viewing the Banpo village and the Terracotta Warriors. This is the reason most people will go t Xi'an, and the knowledge of a good guide can make it much more interesting. I've wanted to see these statues since I was a little kid, and even though it was busy, if you are patient you can great some great photos. I bought 2 ten inch high statues from the pottery/workshop where you can see how they are made - these are much better quality than the 'tourist' shops stuff. They added a third for free. I fully recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

JOHN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once again Viator has provided me with even better than I exactly wanted ! The tour guide Vicky spoke perfect English and the driver and van were excellent. She rang shortly after I arrived at my hotel in Xi'an and picked me up right on the arranged time the next day. Even though there were no other passengers they still took me on what was a most brilliant tour with a great lunch. The neolithic village Banpo from 6000 years ago is amazing as a first stop off then the Terracotta Warriors are far beyond any expectations. To sum up what Viator means to me is that I can go 20,000 kms from home and know that I will be shown the best sites in town by the best guides in town from the Colosseum to the Terracotta Warriors ! To me Viator means: "Reliability, Quality and Value !" Thank you so much for being so great !

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Galo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing experience, Terracotta warriors is a must in China! The guide called me on the night before the tour to my hotel to tell me the pick-up time. She was very friendly, with a good attitude always with a smile in her face and responded all our questions. Her English level was good enough for keeping a good conversation with all of us, even though it was a mixed group from different countries and different English levels. In overall, it was a great experience, 100% recommended.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The best way to see Xi'an! We really had so much fun on this tour, from start to finish! Our primary objective was to see and learn about the Terracotta Warriors and we were so happy we did this in a small group. Our guide was amazing and explained to us about the significance the warriors had to Emperor Qin. The bike tour around the Xi'an city wall was great as well - such a cool way to sight see!

Doing what: Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

Charles S. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I was picked up on time and was called the night before to get the time. I was with a couple so only 3 on tour. This included a trip to Banpo village; a 6000 year old village that was found and excavated. This was really cool to see. The Terracotta Warriors far exceeded my expectations and was just awe inspiring. I even bought a book and had it signed by the farmer that discovered them. Definitely a trip well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jason L Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I was lucky enough to get a private tour since no one else booked the tour on that day! My guide was extremely accommodating and knowledgeable, and a lady driver who was highly skilled on the roads! It also helped that the guide was able to converse in both English and Mandarin. The whole tour was really a big history lesson of Xi'an. First, we went to the Big Goose Pagoda for a walkabout. Then we went to the Banpo Museum, which I rather enjoyed! It was akin to seeing the Roman ruins, except the Banpo version is a matriarchal Chinese settlement thousands of years ago. After the museum, we went to this factory where they make the terracotta warriors. Admittedly, while it was interesting to see, prices here are way higher than what you can get at the street markets in town. Unless you want to purchase a life size warrior, you are better off getting them at 10 yuan a set somewhere else. Of course, the highlight was after lunch, the Terracotta Warriors Bing Ma Yong. My guide took great effort to explain in detail what was going on. We went to all the pits and the museum. Even though it was absolutely freezing there's no heating nor doors, I enjoyed the visit very much! Our last stop was the South Gate of the city walls, which was a good hour back into town. I imagine that if the tour was in summer, it would be brilliant, but as I was the only one on the wall, there's really nothing much to see with the pollution and fog surrounding us. Overall, I felt that this tour was comprehensive and absolutely worth going for.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Shirley T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We travelled with a small group-only five- and the program was excellent. Our tour guide was most informative and pleasant and I would thoroughly recommend him. The terracotta warriors surpassed expectations and the other sites we visited were well worth the trip.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jill F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour incorporating Terracotta Warriors and good local lunch. Terracotta warriors were amazing to see, and would highly recommend this. Downsides to the tour was the numerous stops at shops to browse at local souvenirs.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Maribel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

An impressive experience to the Terracotta Warriors.The home-cooked Chinese lunch in a local familys home also very nice experience, good food and some way to experience the local cuisine. Our tour guide, very experienced and fluent in English and very knowledgeable about the warriors and her city - Xian. We didn't like too much the bike tour. Bikes kind of old. We could have avoided that part of the trip, but in general very happy with the booking.

Doing what: Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

leona.tooley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We first stopped at the Banpo ruins. This was a very quick, but interesting, site. Next, we visited the factory where they are making terracotta warrior statue replicas. This was a great stopover! Here, you have the chance to buy a terracotta statue made from clay that is actually excavated from the terracotta warrior site. They are very reasonably priced, although much more expensive than the 'fake' clay replicas you can buy in the tourist markets. The visit to the terracotta warrior site was great. Very busy though and I felt we were rushed for time a little. All up, a great tour and I would highly recommend it :

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Stephen W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Seeing the Terracotta Warriors is a must see in your life. The day trip was well organised and the guide spoke very good English. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

Belmont United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

KEITH R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day and informative and pleasant guide Lucia. Enjoyed having a private tour as we were the only passengers Advantage of travelling at quiet time of the year. Terracotta warriors are amazing. Trip did not include the advertised "After lunch, you will travel to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a symbol of the city. Step on the Xi'an's city wall. It is the most complete and best preserved city wall in all of China, dating back some 600 years" but did include an unexpected shopping stop at Terracotta Warrior reproduction shop. We would have preferred to see the other sights as advertised if given a choice.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message