Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth every penny, this is a must, it's huge and spectacular, the only thing I didn't like was the lunch, it's a very busy place so you had to fight your way in to get photos, tour guide was very good, I can't remember her name but she had lots of information

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Owais U H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with great insights from our tour guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

clarkwh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The sights, of course, are spectacular. In terms of the tour, the guide was excellent. Very personable and very good English. Arrangements were great. Pickup at my hotel and transfer to the airport. Pickup at Xi'an airport. Pickup back in Shanghai and return to my hotel. All were professionally handled. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Barry F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and the time at the Terra Cotta Warrior site was very interesting. Due to crowds and some of us getting separated from the larger group we were not able to get to the Paleolithic Site. I would recommend starting the tour at 8am rather than 9am in order to take in both sites.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Carolyn A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

An incredible experience!
A few issues with the pick-up the local tour company didn't phone us to let us know the pick-up time and were uncontactable when we tried to phone but otherwise great, really good guide.
The lunch is terrible though, as others have commented!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

CLARE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very crowded for picture taking but worth the visit. We enjoyed our trip to see this famous site. Lunch was HORRIBLE!! The lunch was cold, unflavored, and did not include sodas or drinks. We shared this with our tour guide. Everyone on our tour bus was appalled that the lunch selection was as bad as the service.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great fantastic tour I had a private tour in shanghai as I was only one booked for that day. Kimi my tour guide was very pleasant, and very knowlegable. I enjoyed the day, which was VERY long ,tremendously. Day began with pickup at hotel at 530 AM , flight to Xian, and return to my shanghai hotel at midnite. The warriors were highlight of day,or maybe even my entire stay in China. Kudos

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Glynis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip from Vhengdu to Cian was superb. The taxi arrived early to take us to the airport and gave us our e tickets. I think this information should have been given to us prior the this as I was worried we wouldn't get the the airport. We were met in Xian by an excellent guide called Rosa and her driver. Rosa's knowledge was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the Terracotta Warriors, City Wall and My slim Street. Our flight back was good and the driver was there to meet us on arrival as arranged. We would recommend Viator and will book with them again.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

Rick W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with enough time to see what we wanted to see and get plenty of photos.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Lesley B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was really good and they idea was great and spoke very good English and very informative. It was good to be in a small group, only 3 of us. We did not go to the Bao ruins though..... and lunch was awful! I have never had lunch of steamed rice and Friday onions before!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Maribel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

An impressive experience to the Terracotta Warriors.The home-cooked Chinese lunch in a local familys home also very nice experience, good food and some way to experience the local cuisine. Our tour guide, very experienced and fluent in English and very knowledgeable about the warriors and her city - Xian. We didn't like too much the bike tour. Bikes kind of old. We could have avoided that part of the trip, but in general very happy with the booking.

Doing what: Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

U Chang E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We had purchased a Xi and #39;an Tour from you ; product code: 2042XASIX_01. Tour date June 24. Booking Reference BR-571887355.

We are very disapppinted with your tour today due to the below:

1. The tour guide had failed to find us at the Citadines Hotel where we had been waiting since the appointed time at 8.00 am. She found us late at 8.45 am. We had expected the Tour Guide to carry a sign board with my name on for recognition.

2. Your tour guide had put us with two other people that had bought a different tour package. These two people needed to go back to hotel earlier before our tour was completed. As a result, your tour guide had tried to convince us not to visit one of the tourist spot; The Qin Emperor Tomb. They had also been pushy in trying to hurry us throughout the tour.  After we had insisted and they finally relanted to let us visit the Tomb. We feel that your tour guide have been unprofessional.

3. The lunch is bad. We are paying a USD108/pax and we expect a better food than that.

4. The van provided was for 7 people, but 8 people, including the Tour Guide and driver were packed in the van.

5. The van condition is also poor;dirty.

Overall, we are very unhappy with your local tour service. We may lodge a complain with the Chinese Authority.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

nhatha3432

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I were picked up from the hotel promptly at the appointed hour of 9am by our tour guide 'Susan'. First stop was the Wild Goose Pagoda where are tour guide gave a marvellous briefing about what we would see and why, and while there gave full and excellent explanations of what we were looking, explaining the importance of what had taken place there. Fascinating place! Next stop was the museum. Again our guide gave us very good advice about how to get around the place, mainly to focus upon what interested us directly rather than aimlessly wondering around. It was a little busy and we were grateful that the weather was cool as the press of people in the museum could have been quite oppressive otherwise. Next stop was lunch. We were taken to a genuine, local Chinese restaurant where we had an excellent, substantial and tasty meal that comprised of two dishes that we chose with advice! We were very surprised at just how good the food was as we had never had those dishes in Chinese restaurants anywhere else in the world. Following our lunch we were taken to the City Wall just breath-taking! After taking a stroll in both directions to view the ramparts and sentry buildings we vowed to return and circumnavigate it! Our last destination was the Great Mosque. Now, what was surprising upon our arrival there was that we realised that in complete ignorance, that we had walked right passed the entrance two days previously not knowing it was there. Indeed, I would sum up this excellent private tour with that fact in mind. We would never have seen the sights that we saw if we had not booked this tour, I really mean that we would not have made it on our own we would never have had the very erudite explanations of what we were looking at if we had not taken this tour we would have been stressed out for sure trying to get to these sights on our own. It was an excellent tour, the guide was excellent, and it was exceptional value for money. I recommend it!

Doing what: Xi'an Private Day Tour: City Wall, Great Mosque, Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours in China this was the one we were looking forward to the most! And it didn't disappoint!
We were picked up from our hotel at 9am, taken to a terracotta warrior factory - where I must say the sell wasn't as pushy as other factory tours. We then visited Banpo, an ancient village settlement followed by lunch. Then onto the Terracotta Warriors....breathtaking! More than enough time to visit and explore, our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer any questions that we had.
When we visit China again Xi'an is a definite must for a second visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Barrie C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour content was very good including the courier. We were, however, quite disturbed by the manner of the driver whose aggresive driving certainly unnerved us

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Stephen M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nana was a great guide, the only comment we would make is regarding the order of the day, start with the Warriors and the digs finish with the shop.

Do you do tours in Athens?

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Aaron W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The best of the tours we took. Our tour guide was great she really explained everything to us and really looked for questions and feedback. Unlike the other tours we took this guide even gave us time to explore and even buy water or a snack when needed. The only reason this wasn't rated higher is because you're forced to shop which is dumb. I know that not one person in my tour group bought anything we all just stood around waiting to leave. Also, while this says it's a full day tour keep in mind it takes about two hours one way to get there so four hours of your day is spent traveling and that doesn't include pick ups and drop offs. So this is really a half day tour of the actual tour site.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! The tour covered a lot of ground, but it was conducted at a comfortable pace.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Tamineh F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day, though stupidly we didn't realise we booked on a national holiday and the place was incredibly busy. Well cared for and informed throughout and would use again and recommend. Well worth the money rather than a cheaper tour with a large group.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

VINAY J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

this tor was very good . The tour guide was very good . He was very communicative and with clear English. We enjoyed our time

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message