With an abundance of medieval architecture and historic landmarks to admire during the day and a lively bar and restaurant scene to enjoy once the sun goes down, there’s plenty to keep you busy in York. Here are a few ideas for how to spend 3 days ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

superb fun for everyone in the group we joined. very interactive - there's no hiding in the shadows thats where you'll jump the most!.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Jillian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved loved loved this place. You definitely will enjoy it!

Doing what: Castle Howard Entrance Ticket

SUSAN T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I went on the mini bus to tour the Yorkshire Dales. It was really wonderful. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We were given ample time to explore the various locations and take photos. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone coming to York.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

SUSAN T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I went on the mini bus to tour the Yorkshire Dales. It was really wonderful. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We were given ample time to explore the various locations and take photos. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone coming to York.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely place very clean and comfortable, great food and the staff were brilliant nothing too much trouble
Would definitely stay again

Doing what: York Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

E. Charlotte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great introduction to York's spooky history. My cousin and I enjoyed the commentary, the jokes and the special effects. We were delighted to learn that our cozy accommodation was actually one of the haunted highlights.

Doing what: York Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Colin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great experience for our group of 6. It started with the guy in character outside who kept our party busy while one of our party went to use toilets elsewhere since there are none in the building. There was no line to skip as such since we arrived around 10 in the morning. The actors were definitely into their roles. We had a good time and learned a few things on the way. It's good that you are told up front that the actors will not touch you, since they made some dramatic scary up close and personal appearances at times when the lights have gone out.

Note that once you've done this, you will not get anything big out of it a second time. It is a smaller, but more enthusiastic version of the London Dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Tyree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it! Genuinely scary but in a giggly way. Be warned,I thought that I was going to have to take my 12 year old out at one point as she was so freaked out!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We hopped on and off 3 times, and all the drivers were pleasant and helpful. The recording was very informative, although it would be helpful if there were short pauses to allow for thinking!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carol L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The staff at the entrance was wonderful and caring in explaining what to expect so that younger members of our group were comfortable entering the experience. The characters were excellent in portraying the roles. There was a good balance of expectation, unexpected and humor as well as facts about the history involved.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Anthony E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took my grandchildren aged 10 and 9 and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I would recommend using priority booking as we went to the front of the queue and only had to wait a short time before we were in the dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see an overview of the City and then decide which bits you want to go back to. Drivers helpful and informative. Would definitely recommend this tour and try other cities as well.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amelios K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I took my wife and two teenage daughters to The York Dungeon while on holiday in Yorkshire. We were looking for something to do on a cold, damp Summers day! This attraction was ideal, very informative well presented and fun. The actors who played various characters engaged the audience and kept everyone entertained. Maybe a little spooky in some places for very young children. Great fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing and scenic. Top flight. Comfortable minibus and guide Mark wasexcellent and informative without being intrusive

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Punctual buses, which were clean, tidy and comfortable. The commentary was enjoyable and informative with a touch of humor. The drivers were polite and friendly. Great experience all round.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

GIEDRE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very nice tour. I enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative, interesting to myself, and my 11 and 6 year old...although upstairs in the open air essential and a great way to find out about some of the past of this beautiful historic city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great overview of York!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see and hear about all the history York has to offer. Fully recommend the tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic our tour guide/driver Mark was full of interesting information. We were so glad we did this tour as it was so full of deverse landscapes and Mark made sure we had time to see everthing.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Right off the train and onto the bus outside. York is not a big city so it takes about one hour to complete the ring road tour seeing and being pointed towards the main sites. Good commentary on board with regular stops to visit the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message