With an abundance of medieval architecture and historic landmarks to admire during the day and a lively bar and restaurant scene to enjoy once the sun goes down, there’s plenty to keep you busy in York. Here are a few ideas for how to spend 3 days ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amelios K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I took my wife and two teenage daughters to The York Dungeon while on holiday in Yorkshire. We were looking for something to do on a cold, damp Summers day! This attraction was ideal, very informative well presented and fun. The actors who played various characters engaged the audience and kept everyone entertained. Maybe a little spooky in some places for very young children. Great fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing and scenic. Top flight. Comfortable minibus and guide Mark wasexcellent and informative without being intrusive

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Punctual buses, which were clean, tidy and comfortable. The commentary was enjoyable and informative with a touch of humor. The drivers were polite and friendly. Great experience all round.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

GIEDRE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very nice tour. I enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative, interesting to myself, and my 11 and 6 year old...although upstairs in the open air essential and a great way to find out about some of the past of this beautiful historic city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great overview of York!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see and hear about all the history York has to offer. Fully recommend the tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic our tour guide/driver Mark was full of interesting information. We were so glad we did this tour as it was so full of deverse landscapes and Mark made sure we had time to see everthing.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Right off the train and onto the bus outside. York is not a big city so it takes about one hour to complete the ring road tour seeing and being pointed towards the main sites. Good commentary on board with regular stops to visit the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Ian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the tour twice, once on Saturday, with the recorded commentary,and then a repeat on Sunday morning with a live guide who was brilliant, both informative and funny.
Would highly recommend the trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ANDREA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the bus tour, entertaining commentary as we travelled. gave us ideas of parts of city to visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great day was had by all. The attraction gives you a brief history of the City of York from the Romans to present day. The actors get the crowd involved which adds to a great experience that will not be forgotten.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Huzefa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is helpful for checking out the city quickly, specially if you have about 1.5 hours to spare in the city. Quickly takes you to places around the downtown York area. It was also USD 19, so it is cheaper to take this bus for a day pass instead of paying the same to a cab to go everywhere. Alternatively, one could walk the city, but this is a nice ride if you wanna take it easy and not walk.

Commentary is in english and it gives a decent idea about the layout and some basic history of the place.

Overall, I would say 'not bad' in British terms, but 'fabulous' in American terms...:

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

nod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent place to visit lots of history. Many statues going back to BC period. Garden good to walk around. Used the tripadvisor voucher. Interesting reception staff said had not seen one of these before. But no trouble getting in.

Doing what: Castle Howard Entrance Ticket

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alot cheaper than on the door, very funny. Worth a visit!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative and funny!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Beverley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Funny, jumpy, good entertainment, crowd involving and thoroughly enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

wally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Not really a dungeon. Actors were wonderful. Really involved the audience. learned all about torture.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

lucybel56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A worthwhile way to see York as it went to all the main attractions and gave us a chance to see places of interest. We were able to use it as transport to our pre-booked York Dungeons experience. We were able to visit York Minster and the Chocolate Story.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ricky B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An audience participation trip back to ye olde York. Great trip back in time. Cant say anything else without spoiling it. You will laugh and you will get the odd scare. I give this 5 stars :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message