Zurich ATTRACTIONS See all

Jungfrau Glacier

Known as the Jungfraujoch, the glacier is a saddled between the mountains Monch and Jungfrau in the Swiss Alps. It is known as the Top of Europe and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. From here you can look down upon the icy wilderness of swirling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 309 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an awesome trip. The scenery was spectacular. We had the most fantastic tour guide, KID. Kid was informative and very helpful. He took the best pictures for us, and we proudly show everyone and brag about this fantastic trip. Jungfraujoch is a must see destination!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Dario M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is great and we our tour guide was fantastic- he helped us taking great pictures of the Jungfraujoch, making this experience a 5 stars The full day has been perfect, having fun and enjoying the breath-taking views from the mountain. A must do during your stay in Zurich!!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Renee Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Grindelwald was amazing! Awesome experience to get to Jungfrau, the top of Europe.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

mmnakayama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful trip. We stopped at Lauterbruanen, Wengen, and Klein Schidegg. In the little town of Lauterbruanen, we saw beautiful Staubbach Falls. in Wengen, we asked a local where to see an awesome view. He told us to go to a church nearby. We saw an entire valley and snow capped mountain ranges. In Klein Scheudegg, we had a cup of coffee and admire Eiger and Jungfrau. We were not dropped from bus at the same place we started, so were lost going back to our hotel in Lucerne. We should have been notified in advance, then we could have prepared. Otherwise, it was a beautiful weather and we had a traffic day.

Doing what: Eiger and Jungfrau Panorama Day Trip from Lucerne

darshan.danda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jungfraujoch tour is Very Costly. Did both Mount Titlis and Jungfraujoch
If you have to choose between these, would recommend Mount Titlis.
Jungfraujoch tour involves too much travel time but yes has more Scenic beauty to see.
So the tour as such would rate at kind of 3 star
Giving it 5 Star just for Tour guide Kid
He is the BEST Tour guide have ever seen.
He keeps everyone updated on what to expect and when. He knows exact spots for good pics.
He himself took some good pics for each member and gave good personal attention
We made our Day Really thankful to him!! Big Thank you Kid If you happen to read this

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Never regretted booking this tour because we will be at a loss on how to take the trains up to Jungfraujoch. Thumbs up for tour guide Peter!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was so amazing! I absolutely loved it and would definitely recommend it to anyone! The mountains are beautiful, there is a lovely scenic trip up to jungfrau joch, and jungfrau is completely amazingly indescribably stunning! Well worth the trip!

Francisco was our guide and he was the best!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

madmortons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour - our tour guide, Kid was wonderful, so helpful and he made the trip memorable. the views are outstanding, the photo opportunities just amazing, and i would say this was the trip of a lifetime - you will never forget it! the train journey was so interesting and beautiful - the time passed so quickly. Definitely worth the expense. We travelled from Zurich to Jungfrau, so a longer bus journey, but we were entertained by Kid all the way there, and rested on the journey back. Kid also gave us great times to maximise the time we had at the top of the journey - recommended.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Daniella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an absolutely out of this world amazing experience! Yes, it is expensive, however it was worth every penny. Our tour guide Minu was very friendly and informative, and was very organized. The train rides up to the Jungfrau was awesome and the scenery was so breathtaking. This is truly a once in a lifetime experience and I recommend it to everyone!!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

sanrionjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I greatly enjoyed this tour I booked via Viator. It was run by Best of Switzerland Tours, which was outstanding. The guide, Michelle, was wonderful. She was very nice, kept the group in order, and provided a lot of interesting information. After the stop in Interlaken to walk around for a bit, we took the train from Grindelwald to Jungfrau with train change at Kleine Scheidegg, and then the way back was to Lauterbrunnen from Kleine Scheidegg so this allowed for different scenic views. The complex at Jungfrau was very fun and interesting with various activities. The views were wonderful and I was blessed to have great weather. I was watching the weather reports and cameras on the Jungfrau website prior to my trip and booked as late as I possibly could for the day with the best chance of weather, though I know everyone does not have this flexibility in their plans. There are areas where you can walk in snow at the Jungfrau, so if you plan to do this I recommend boots or some other type of waterproof shoe that has a non-skid bottom. The ice cave was beautiful but a bit slippery to walk around so for those with mobility problems they may want to think twice about seeing this section of the complex.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If I could rate this 6 stars I would! This trip was absolutely amazing, especially if you do not have enough time to spend longer in the Jungfrau region. Our tour guide Kid went above and beyond his duties and is honestly the best tour guide I've had. He is fantastic. Loved this trip!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Joan Y W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed our trip to the top oif Jungfraujoch in Lucerne. Our guide Kid was very good. He did an excellant job keeping us together and informed us about things. Told us where to meet him after we got to the top. Took some pictures of us at the top. We where so pleased. It was just beautiful and very impressed with the whole trip.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Michael A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed every minute of this Tour! Our Guide, Kid, was entertaining ,friendly and spoke several languages . the Train Ride to the top of the Jungfrau Joch allowed us to see the beautiful Swiss Mountains and Valleys ! The Ice Cave on top was amazing! We would highly recommend this Tour!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour to Jungfraujoch was absolutely amazing. The scenery was breathtaking. Everything about the tour was great - the bus ride, the train ride, the scenery, the tour guide - all really good. I suffered from the high altitude, but would highly recommend everyone to do this trip. This was the highlight of our visit to Europe this year.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Cherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Grindelwald was amazing, the small house up in the hills, the Jungfraujoch view on that day is amazing, our tour guide very friendly and manage to watch all of us, coz we are very big group, amazingly everyone very ontime. the night we spend on Grindelwald is worth it.

Doing what: 2-Day Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Tour from Zurich: Interlaken or Grindelwald

Agaprita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is awesome! It's really worth it. The tour guide, Kid, is amazing and very helpful for taking good pictures. You can enjoy the trip from the beginning and do not have to worry about anything because all are arranged nicely. Jungfraujoch also amazing and I was so thankful that the weather was really nice!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Raymond who was energetic and did an excellent job taking our cameras and providing us tourist photos. We were fortunate to have a sunny day and the villages and landscapes we rode past were as amazing as the top of Jungfraujoch itself. Highly recommend this tour as there is a lot of scenery to take in from start to finish.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

joshuayamdogo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cannot recommend this tour enough. It was snowing at the top of Jungfraujoch when we went, along with being cloudly. We really didn't get to see too much from Jungfraujoch. However, the journey traveling to Jungfraujoch was amazing. The Swiss countryside has the most spectacular views I've ever seen. Even if the weather is bad, you will still have a great time - no doubt.

Our tour guide Peter was great. He gave us enough information without being annoying. The Lindt chocolate shop at Jungfraujoch is very overrated and expensive. Their chocolate is not very good. I recommend going to Confiserie Sprungli in Zurich instead.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm so glad I decided to add the rest of the mountain to my trip. Definitely DO IT. Pedro was so helpful with that and did a great job overall. He knew his stuff. To be on the glacier, to see the cloud shadows dance over the landscape. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Bernese Oberland Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch Panorama

Choudhury N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Interlaken and Jungfraujoch were amazing. When you stop at Interlaken, take a cappucino at the Hooters and enjoy their croissants, the best I have eaten in my life. The trip unto the summit in train is amazing. On top of Europe enjoy the chocolates, nice food and the panoramic view of Alps.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was overcast we had a lovely day on the Jungfraujoch tour. The scenery is breathtaking! It's cool to be at the Top of Europe. Our tour director, Kid, was a fantastic tour guide. This is something you should not miss if you are in Zurich or Lucerne!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Frank V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This, to me, is a truly bucket list experience that you must not miss if you are in the area. We started our trip via motor coach in Lucerne. Our tour guide, Kid, took some getting used to but he ultimately made the whole trip even more enjoyable. The first segment via coach was to Interlaken. This ride was very scenic and Kid's dry wit commentary was both informative and funny.
A short coach trip from Interlaken to the train station started our trip up the mountain. Two different cog wheel trains took us to the summit which is over 11,000'feet in elevation. It was foggy and misty on the trip up often preventing us from seeing all the sites. Kid air dropped us numerous photos which he had taken on previous sunny days so all was not lost.
At the summit, we exited into brilliant sunshine on the observation platform. The views of the surrounding peaks and the glacier were great taking. Next back inside and down into the Ice Palace which is literally carved into the glacier and another amazing experience.
We then went back outside into a driving snow storm with a temperature of 23F in mid July. You could walk all the way to the summit here if you chose to.
Our train trip back down the upper part of the mountain was often in large beautiful snow flakes allowing us to experience all that the mountain had to offer. We then returned via coach to Lucerne making this all day trip and sbsuloutely amazing experience.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Nishalized

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Yes this is expensive. but YES, it is worth every penny. From Lucerne, I actually found this cheaper than doing it by ourselves. The bus came on time at an easy to find location. Peter the tour guide was very very friendly and informative. The whole experience was amazing. Yes you travel a lot, 2 hours on bus, 1.5 hours on trains, but the scenery is so gorgeous that it doesn't even feel long. The train is part of the whole experience and the time flies by. Jungfraujoch itself was spectacular! The time on the top is a bit short. I would have liked to squeeze in some snow sledding. However some people from our group managed to squeeze this in and be back on time so it's manageable. BRILLIANT experience! a must-do! Make sure to check the jungfrau weather before you book this. I heard it's not worth it if the weather isn't great, but luckily the day we went on was literally the best day of the year. Booked this 3 days before the tour and everything worked out perfectly.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Daren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

KID our guide was AMAZING!!

I travel for a living and the last thing I need is a tourist experience! KID was able to keep 45 people moving through a fantastic experience on the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe.

My wife said it best ..... As a professor at a major university for education ..... if KID can control all of these adults he would be a great elementary school teacher!! There is no better compliment. We were always ahead of the majority of the other tour groups and never had to be behind any other group. An absolutely OUTSTANDING experience!! Thank you!!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

ALOK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderfull Trip and service provided by BEST OF SWITZERLAND TOURS SPECIALLY OUR GUIDE ...and they are quite helpfull..Value for money we were family of four with kids and trip went seamless to Jungfraujoch..as it was sunny day and we have less cold at the top ...i really recommend Viator and best of switzerland tour for arranging your trips ...

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message