Zurich ATTRACTIONS See all

Jungfrau Glacier

Known as the Jungfraujoch, the glacier is a saddled between the mountains Monch and Jungfrau in the Swiss Alps. It is known as the Top of Europe and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. From here you can look down upon the icy wilderness of swirling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joan Y W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed our trip to the top oif Jungfraujoch in Lucerne. Our guide Kid was very good. He did an excellant job keeping us together and informed us about things. Told us where to meet him after we got to the top. Took some pictures of us at the top. We where so pleased. It was just beautiful and very impressed with the whole trip.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Michael A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed every minute of this Tour! Our Guide, Kid, was entertaining ,friendly and spoke several languages . the Train Ride to the top of the Jungfrau Joch allowed us to see the beautiful Swiss Mountains and Valleys ! The Ice Cave on top was amazing! We would highly recommend this Tour!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour to Jungfraujoch was absolutely amazing. The scenery was breathtaking. Everything about the tour was great - the bus ride, the train ride, the scenery, the tour guide - all really good. I suffered from the high altitude, but would highly recommend everyone to do this trip. This was the highlight of our visit to Europe this year.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Cherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Grindelwald was amazing, the small house up in the hills, the Jungfraujoch view on that day is amazing, our tour guide very friendly and manage to watch all of us, coz we are very big group, amazingly everyone very ontime. the night we spend on Grindelwald is worth it.

Doing what: 2-Day Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Tour from Zurich: Interlaken or Grindelwald

Agaprita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is awesome! It's really worth it. The tour guide, Kid, is amazing and very helpful for taking good pictures. You can enjoy the trip from the beginning and do not have to worry about anything because all are arranged nicely. Jungfraujoch also amazing and I was so thankful that the weather was really nice!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Raymond who was energetic and did an excellent job taking our cameras and providing us tourist photos. We were fortunate to have a sunny day and the villages and landscapes we rode past were as amazing as the top of Jungfraujoch itself. Highly recommend this tour as there is a lot of scenery to take in from start to finish.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

joshuayamdogo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cannot recommend this tour enough. It was snowing at the top of Jungfraujoch when we went, along with being cloudly. We really didn't get to see too much from Jungfraujoch. However, the journey traveling to Jungfraujoch was amazing. The Swiss countryside has the most spectacular views I've ever seen. Even if the weather is bad, you will still have a great time - no doubt.

Our tour guide Peter was great. He gave us enough information without being annoying. The Lindt chocolate shop at Jungfraujoch is very overrated and expensive. Their chocolate is not very good. I recommend going to Confiserie Sprungli in Zurich instead.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm so glad I decided to add the rest of the mountain to my trip. Definitely DO IT. Pedro was so helpful with that and did a great job overall. He knew his stuff. To be on the glacier, to see the cloud shadows dance over the landscape. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Bernese Oberland Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch Panorama

Choudhury N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Interlaken and Jungfraujoch were amazing. When you stop at Interlaken, take a cappucino at the Hooters and enjoy their croissants, the best I have eaten in my life. The trip unto the summit in train is amazing. On top of Europe enjoy the chocolates, nice food and the panoramic view of Alps.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was overcast we had a lovely day on the Jungfraujoch tour. The scenery is breathtaking! It's cool to be at the Top of Europe. Our tour director, Kid, was a fantastic tour guide. This is something you should not miss if you are in Zurich or Lucerne!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Frank V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This, to me, is a truly bucket list experience that you must not miss if you are in the area. We started our trip via motor coach in Lucerne. Our tour guide, Kid, took some getting used to but he ultimately made the whole trip even more enjoyable. The first segment via coach was to Interlaken. This ride was very scenic and Kid's dry wit commentary was both informative and funny.
A short coach trip from Interlaken to the train station started our trip up the mountain. Two different cog wheel trains took us to the summit which is over 11,000'feet in elevation. It was foggy and misty on the trip up often preventing us from seeing all the sites. Kid air dropped us numerous photos which he had taken on previous sunny days so all was not lost.
At the summit, we exited into brilliant sunshine on the observation platform. The views of the surrounding peaks and the glacier were great taking. Next back inside and down into the Ice Palace which is literally carved into the glacier and another amazing experience.
We then went back outside into a driving snow storm with a temperature of 23F in mid July. You could walk all the way to the summit here if you chose to.
Our train trip back down the upper part of the mountain was often in large beautiful snow flakes allowing us to experience all that the mountain had to offer. We then returned via coach to Lucerne making this all day trip and sbsuloutely amazing experience.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Nishalized

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Yes this is expensive. but YES, it is worth every penny. From Lucerne, I actually found this cheaper than doing it by ourselves. The bus came on time at an easy to find location. Peter the tour guide was very very friendly and informative. The whole experience was amazing. Yes you travel a lot, 2 hours on bus, 1.5 hours on trains, but the scenery is so gorgeous that it doesn't even feel long. The train is part of the whole experience and the time flies by. Jungfraujoch itself was spectacular! The time on the top is a bit short. I would have liked to squeeze in some snow sledding. However some people from our group managed to squeeze this in and be back on time so it's manageable. BRILLIANT experience! a must-do! Make sure to check the jungfrau weather before you book this. I heard it's not worth it if the weather isn't great, but luckily the day we went on was literally the best day of the year. Booked this 3 days before the tour and everything worked out perfectly.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Daren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

KID our guide was AMAZING!!

I travel for a living and the last thing I need is a tourist experience! KID was able to keep 45 people moving through a fantastic experience on the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe.

My wife said it best ..... As a professor at a major university for education ..... if KID can control all of these adults he would be a great elementary school teacher!! There is no better compliment. We were always ahead of the majority of the other tour groups and never had to be behind any other group. An absolutely OUTSTANDING experience!! Thank you!!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

ALOK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderfull Trip and service provided by BEST OF SWITZERLAND TOURS SPECIALLY OUR GUIDE ...and they are quite helpfull..Value for money we were family of four with kids and trip went seamless to Jungfraujoch..as it was sunny day and we have less cold at the top ...i really recommend Viator and best of switzerland tour for arranging your trips ...

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Freda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The most perfect day during our rainy few days in Zurich! We were so lucky - sun makes the spectacular scenery even more perfect. Plus - on the way down from Jungfraujoch the clouds cleared so we could see the majestic north face of the Eiger. Brilliant trip, glad we took our own lunch thanks to reviews we'd read!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Roop Singh B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip to Jungfraujoch, Top of Europe was amazing and beautiful experience. Our tour guide was very nice and jovial and kept us occupied throughout the journey. Visiting Ice palace and the longest glacier was really an amazing experience. The trip was also very comfortable without any problem.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Jun J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Antje is amazing!!! She is the best tour guide I had met ever!!! She has great knowledge of Jungfrau, clear instructions and sweet voice, nice smile, patient and polite, which makes the trip even better! She even has suggestion on where to sit on the train for better view!

Doing what: 2-Day Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Tour from Zurich: Interlaken or Grindelwald

nkinnari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour staff was very friendly and helpful.The tour guide Karin was very nice and gave very good background on Switzerland. The bus was very comfortable. We stopped at Interlaken and had adequate time to see the main street. The time allowed for sight seeing was adequate. The tour started and ended on time.They had me stay in this beautiful Hotel Derby. The view from my room 412 were incredibly beautiful. They gave decent breakfast. I had to manage coming down from Grindelwald to Grind with my luggage but the bus ride was free.The Jungfrau train ride was included. I could not see much on the top because of the fog/ clouds, better luck next time. I highly recommend this two day tour from Zurich to Jungfraujoch via Grindelwald.

Doing what: 2-Day Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Tour from Zurich: Interlaken or Grindelwald

Rob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide, Antia, was excellent, and everything was really well planned. We had plenty of good breaks for food and toilets, and the itinerary was very fun. The bus rides were extremely scenic. The only downside to the tour is that it's very weather dependent. We had quite a foggy day and so the view atop Jungfrau was less than ideal.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Yehidaah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience being on the top of Europe. The guide was awesome and carefully and skilfully guided the group giving us interesting nuggets of information along the way.
Walking through the heart of a glacier in the Ice palace was an additional treat in addition to scenic views at Jungfraujoch.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kid, the tour guide, really made this experience worth every penny. Not only did he provide relevant commentary along the entirety of the trip from Zurich, through the winding mountain pass, to Interlaken, to Jungfrau, he also gave great tips on where/when to take the best photos as well as acted as a photographer for each of the participants on the trip.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Raymond was fabulous. He was humorous, provided interesting insights and even knew where we could hear the sounds of cowbells from the train as we came down from Jungfrau from nearby cows. The entire day was filled with dazzling vistas of Switzerland. Kudos to our driver

Doing what: Jungfraujoch: Top of Europe Day Trip from Zurich

Rahul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. The trip was very well organised. The guide was very informative. He would be ready to inform where to take snaps from 5 mins before the actual spot so that you could be ready with your cameras.

We had great cog wheel train ride from Lauterbrunnen to Kleine Schiedig. Our heart sank when it started raining. But to our utter astonishment, as we started climbing higher and higher, the rain turned into sleet and then snow! Snow in the middle of May.

The entire landscape changed from green to white in 30 mins! And we were yet to start our 2nd leg of the journey from Kleine Schiedig to Jungfrauhoch.

While we did not get to see views from the 3 stops that the cog wheel train made since there was a heavy wind and lot of snow flying around, when we reached the top of the mountain, we had our experience of being in subzero conditions with strong winds blowing with snow! And that was thrilling!

Marvelled at the ice sculptures in the ice palace. Be prepared - very crowded with a lot of people who try to click with their cameras keeping others out of the way and then rush to the next place by pushing through others.

The Lindt shop is nice. It's cheaper than duty free and the flavours and variety is more.

The ride back is nice too. While it was snowing at Jungfrauhoch and Kleine Scheidig, it was serenely green although wet till Grund.

Lovely experience and good ride!,

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

KANDA SAMY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Mr.Marseille from the local tour oeprator was an excellent guide who really made us feel welcome and comfortable throughout the whole journey. His timely jokes and entertaining description about the Swiss landscape, swiss culture etc. was really entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip as we took in the breathtaking views especially when we ascended and descended the Bernese Oberland. And of course, the visit to Jungfraujoch is something that me and my wife will always cherish for our entire lifetime.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Lucerne: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome! One of the best highlights of my 7 week tour of Europe. We had a great tour guide who managed the group well, was really helpful and had some great stories. Plenty of time to look around once up at Jungfrau. An excellent tour. Do it!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message