Zurich ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Zurich (Zürichsee)

Lake Zurich is big: 25 mi (40 km) long and 1.9 mi (3 km) wide. At its deepest it reaches 469 ft (143 m). The water is very clean, coming off those Swiss mountains, and is used for supplying water to the cities around it. The largest of these is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour covered it all. The old world, historical section, Lake Zurich and a cable car ride.
Beautiful, interesting and picturesque...

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Lawrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

we really enjoyed the tour it gave us a good idea about the city. we loved the tour on th lake as well as the cable car tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone wo has a few hours in town and wuld like to get an all encompassing tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Albert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour of the surrounding neighborhoods of Zurich, as well as information about old town. Friendly, courteous and helpful guides. Enjoyed the ferry ride across Lake Zurich and cable car to Felsenegg.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

V Jordan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide, good choice of sites visited. Going across lake to mountains was much appreciated. Great views and enough time to actually enjoy the place.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

kukdai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour in Zurich. A quick ride to the old and new city area. A stop in Zurich lake. Cruise the lake in the bus
your bus will cross the lake in the ship, you can get out from the bus and take a peek of the views. Cable car ride and breath taking views of Zurich city. We have very good and informative guide, Sonia, and it was a great time being in this tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Despite the rainy day, this tour was great to explore the city, cross Lake Zurich and the cable car ride.
Thank you for this tour

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Joseph E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

If you have a couple days and not much time and energy to explore the Alps, this tour gives a great overview. Take the longer two part tour some tourists just took the shorter and were let off half way through in the town center which is about 5 hours and includes the ferry ride across the lake and the cable car ride to the mountain top. Peter the guide was a native, knowledgeable, personable, and helpful. You get a lot for your tour money and theres not much you can say that about in Switzerland.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. We were able to see many different aspects of the city and surrounds, not to mention the amazing view of the alps and lake zurich.
Our guide Anna was great, very informatime and delivered a great tour. I would certhinly recommend this to others visiting the city.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Susan A South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a short stay in Zurich so chose this tour as it included many aspects of this lovely city in one tour.
A comfy coach with a delightful and informative guide, Bettina, afforded us a wonderful and interesting overview of the city , a stop on Lake Zurich to see the Lion, then a further stop for a walk in the Old Town with a visit to Fraumunster with the amazing Chagall windows.
A scenic drive along vineyards on the beautiful Gold Coast found us in Mielen where we boarded a ferry which took us over Lake Zurich, a great experience. A further beautiful drive took us to the cable car station where we headed up to Felsenegg for exquisite views over the whole of Zurich and the lake. Spectacular! Excellent hot chocolate, the restaurants terrace, spectacular views...all just fabulous .
The return trip along the Silver Coast was equally scenic and back in Zurich 5 hrs later, so happy we'd chosen this tour.
We'd recommend it highly to anyone with limited time in Zurich as it covers so much..

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Peter was fun and knowledgeable, and this was a nice introduction to the city and lake area as our first day after the long overnight flight from the US. The boat ride back from Rapperswil was relaxing and scenic. Very nice and worth doing.

Incidentally, we saw Peter again the next day as he was running a Jungfrau tour that was slightly different from the one we were on, and he remembered us.

Doing what: The Great Tour of Zurich

Colin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent quick tour around Zurich showing us the beautiful sights and majestic buildings, with stops at Lake Zurich and the Fraumuster Church, then out of the city to the Felsenegg cable car for magnificent views over Zurich. Our guide, Bettina did a fantastic job, plenty of information and in a very friendly manner.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Goldie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well thought out tour which includes a ferry ride across Lake Zurich. Our guide, Annette, was great, even in the face of some very rude sub-continental passengers who felt wronged even though they not only turned up extremely late but then, apparently, decided that everyone else should wait even longer while they enjoyed another cigarette. The verbal abuse started when their taxi finally caught up with the bus and continued throughout the tour. Annette maintained her decorum in spite of the abuse throughout and made the tour interesting and enjoyable. Thank you Annette.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Happy Wanderer Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This afternoon tour was an excellent chance to receive an orientation to the city and to stay awake after arriving in the morning! I took a cab from my hotel to the bus depot but it can be reached by tram and train readily. It is always informative to have a guide explain background history of places you pass or visit and our guide was very professional and relaxed in her role. I loved strolling around the old town and admiring Marc Chagall's windows in the church. We were also entertained by a passing band taking part in a Carnivale. The cablecar ride, jaunt through the bush and afternoon tea was scenic and pleasant. Having the chance for a cruise on the lake was a bonus ... aboard our coach on the ferry! There is a lot packed into one afternoon of enjoyment and I think it is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Gregory K G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Zurich City Highlights Tour was excellent. A great combination of tour bus, boat and cable car ride with a guide. A great way to get acclimated to the city and see the surrounding sights. Lake Zurich is such an integral part of the whole area and seeing it both from the ground, a ferry and at the top of the cable car ride was fun.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

great introduction to Zurich. Timely pick up from airport followed by gondola ride with great views of Zurich followed by car ferry ride on Lake Zurich were the highlights.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

ShelleyQuinney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

great whistle stop tour seeing parts of the old town before a short motorway drive to a beautiful town by the lake where you can stop for lunch, ice cream or a coffee. we took the boat back to zurich rather than going on to heidiland. a lovely boat ride back taking in the beautiful views.

Doing what: The Great Tour of Zurich

mmkenne84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

What made this tour was the scenery! Zurich is sooooo beautiful! Be mindful of the boat trip back across the lake though. 2 hours is quite a long time.

Doing what: The Great Tour of Zurich

smdagit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We did the city tour which included a ferry ride (on the bus, no less) across Lake Zurich and a trip up to Felsenegg. Great tour! Our guide was Antje and she was extremely knowledgable. There were two opportunities to get off of the bus and sightsee/get coffee/use facilities prior to the trip up to Felsenegg. That was good because you could opt to go in your own direction. For example, the group went into the old part of the city area for a short walk while my husband and I went into the cathedral to see the Marc Chagall stained glass windows. The tour was a great way to see a lot of the city in a short time. I would recommend it early in your stay in Zurich as it gives you a great overall summary and lets you then decide where you may want to return later for more time based on your preferences.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Chris Ann Branson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable and a professional. The trip was great and a must do. The city, the lake, the Gondola and ferry ride made the afternoon go very quick.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Ronald L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Good overview of important sights and historical background. The Felsenegg Cable Car and ferry across the lake were wonderful

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Barry O Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Perfect introduction to Zurich. The city, the lake ,the Gondola and ferry ride made for a great afternoon. The tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Irina R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

It was a good way to see not only the city, but also its surroundings - a nice combinaition of bus, elevator to the mountain and a ferry across the lake. What is great that there was an option to be picked up straight from the airport.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Gintas Z Lithuania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

First of all - we just loved it. The tour was very comprehensive and covered very nicely the City and its surroundings. We loved the old town, getting up to Mt Felsenegg with amazing views, crossing Lake Zurich on a ferry - incredibly nice views again. All in all I would definitely recommend the tour to anyone who doesn't have much time to discover Zurich by themselves. And I reckon you can't possibly see so much in one day of Zurich if on your own. We had a very nice lady for our guide who spoke English, German and Spanish. The coach was very convenient and it was a nice mixture of walking and just being driven around. So well deserved Four Stars.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Maxine W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

With less than 24 hours in Zurich, this was an excellent way to get an overview of the city. We not only had a drive through the city, but stopped to have a look at the lake, walked around the old town, went across the lake and up on the cable car to see Zurich at a distance, so a lot was covered. The guide was very informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

diane.burkert

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The cable car ride was a highlight of this tour. The commentary on the city highlights tour was fine, and the cruise is just a trip across the lake with the bus driving onto the ferry boat. You can get off if you wish, but it's a quick 10-minute ride across. We liked the afternoon format of the tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message