Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

thepitchers18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. The whole day was amazing. The cable car journey was incredible and we met a lovely couple from America. The view and whole experience from the top of Mount Pilatus was breathtaking. The cog train was brilliant. The driver was very friendly. The boat trip was good even though it rained. A good day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Marolyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All the details were carried out to a T. My husband an I happened to be the only ones on our coach to spend the night at Hotel Bellevue on Mt. Pilatus. Trudy, our guide, personally went to the desk to verify all details for the morning descent, etc. The next day in Lucerne we met up with the group going to Mt. Titlis for the day. What an Alpine experience in the glacier and snow! It could not have gone smoother- I have taken student groups to Europe since 1980 and this was the best! I will be checking possible Viator excursions on upcoming trips.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Wayne I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of mount pilatus with views that will take your breath away, not to mention a cable car ride, a cog wheel train ride and a steam paddle boat ride. This trip should be on everyone's itinerary.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing experience. Lucerne was our favorite part of our trip and we traveled throughout France and Switzerland. The ferry ride was beautiful and relaxing. Our guide had booked us a lunch reservation at the restaurant on top of Mount Pilatus without even talking to us about it and we were so thrilled as we were all hungry by the time we got there. The food was wonderful. We had a great time on the mountain. There are several hikes you can do while up there and our guide allowed us to spend whatever time we wished while she answered questions and waited for us. She even went on the Luge with the kids. Her name is Debra and I strongly recommend her. We asked her nonstop questions all day about Switzerland and it's customs and incomes and way of life. We even got her number to book more tours with her when we return again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

rjhenry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A marvelous outing - cable car ride into the clouds, a walk to the top of Mt. Pilatus followed by the cog railroad ride down through forests and meadows offering beautiful views of Lake Lucerne. Then topped off by a pleasant cruise across Lake Lucerne back to our hotel. Truly one of the highlights or our sojourn in Europe.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day trip from Lucerne with fantastic views from cable car and cogwheel and plenty of time atop Mount Pilatus. Food is very expensive at the top so advice would be to pack your own lunch.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Miriam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour starting in Zurich. Drove through many scenic towns to Mt. Pilatus for the gondola rides to the top. The cog wheel train ride down the mountain was spectacular! All of this was topped off by a cruise across Lake Lucerne.
Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Shannon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to experience the golden triangle to Pilatus. Our guide was knowledgeable but not pushy. Lots of time at the top. We did arrive in a snowstorm, so the views weren't great, but the whole thing was magical anyway.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Bruce T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite a very overcast, snowy, and cloudy day, the excursion was most excellent. We enjoyed the variety of modes of transportation, including bus, Chairlift, Gondola, cog train, and water taxi. The facilities at Mt. Pilatus were quite a surprise. Better weather and we would have enjoyed hiking the trails around the hotels. We intend to return some day when the sun is shining.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Chris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed Mt Pilatus very much, was a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a stand out tour we had an amazing time the views from the top of Mt Pilatus are spectacular the ride up in the Gondola's are superb we had a great lunch and then went down in the steep decline train 50 degrees amazing then on to lake Lucerne what can you say highly recommended

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Monica, our guide, was very informative! Beautiful day above the clouds on Mt. Pilatus via a cog railway! Nice restaurant with German style buffet! Good food, great chance to hike with beaut
I full camera shots of snow covered Alps! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Carrie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very nice and well paced. When we were able to walk around Lucerne the tour guide was very helpful in explaining the points of interest and to walk around the old town section. I met a wonderful Indian couple on the trip and we enjoyed the gondola ride up the mountain. Mount Pilatus had a few trails to take that were very nice and some places to eat lunch or for a quick snack. The cog train ride down the mountain was exciting since it is the steepest cog railroad. The boat ride to Lucerne was wonderful as well.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

MARY L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed this all day tour. Beautiful views from Mt. Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our only tour that we had booked when visiting Lucerne, we thought it would be great to see this attraction, having never been to Lucerne. We met our guide at the information center and I'm sorry to say, I cant remember her name, but she was very very good, very friendly and was full of knowledge on what we would be seeing today. On the bus we went to where we would be catching the cable car to most of the way to the top of Mt. Pilatus. We loved the cable car ride, seeing the lush green fields below and was fun hearing those cow bells which one associates with Switzerland. We arrived to where we would be getting onto the new 'Dragon car' this sounded so exciting to us, took some photos, always taking photos, this ride was amazing, loved it even though my partner was holding on to the pole with clenched hands. The view from the top of this Mt. Pilatus was something to behold, the stunning views of these high mountains this just made our day. The clouds were rolling in on one side but the other side was so clear, great for photo taking. My partner stayed behind to have a look through the shop, getting some souvenirs while i ventured out along the walkways up to the lookout area, We were there for a good 1 1/2 hours, there are pathways for the more adventureous to take, it was just great to sit back and to take in the magnificent view. We would highly recommend this tour to all who visit Lucerne. Our stay in Lucerne was something else, loved it all and yes, we would love to come back again one day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Christopher P N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was excellent, with the cable car rides to the top of Mt Pilatus, the cog train descent, and then the boat trip back to Lucerne. All good experiences, magnificent views, and a great day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Travelling up to Mount Pilatus was a fun experience. LOVED the gondola ride. Unfortunately it was a foggy day so we didn't see much until the end of the tour when the fog lifted. The boat cruise of Lake Lucerne was a lovely ending to a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

the1stnowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My private tour of Mt. Pilatus was fantastic. Tour guide Mike was very knowledgeable and accommodating. I was travelling alone and he took the time to personally answer my questions prior to booking and immediately felt at ease upon meeting him.

Mike took me to all of the sites that I wanted to see and shared great information about the region. I would definitely recommend using Viator and requesting Mike as your tour guide. His coordination of all the entrance tickets and travel itinerary was well worth it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to spend an afternoon. Great thrill to venture to the top of Mt Pilatus and experience the unbelievable views from 7000 feet.
You cannot go to Lucerne and not do this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

John Skylar M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Experience! There was no rush. The trip up was broken up by a stop at a half-way point for pictures and the view. We had plenty of time at the top to eat lunch and explore the Dragon Caves. There happened to be some paragliders jumping off the side of the mountain on the day we were there. The trip down was an opportunity to see Lake Lucerne and take pictures. Our boat ride back to Lucerne was a nice change from being on top of Mount Pilatus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Rich S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great experience! If you have a day to spare, this is a great way to see some great sights. The bus got off the main highway for the trip down to see some of the countryside, we had a short stay in Lucerne but enough time to walk around the old town and the trip to Pilatus was just stunning. Got lucky with a fairly clear day. You have a lot of time to see the sights and get some lunch on the mountaintop. You'll never forget the gondola ride up nor the cogwheel train ride down. An hour on the boat back to Lucerne was a pleasant end to the day. The highlight of the trip, though, was our tour guide Daniel. He was the perfect guide -- knowledgeable, friendly and had the perfect touch to keep us together and on time. Thanks for a memory of a lifetime!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip to Mount Pilatus. Gondola, Cogwheel and boat ride were amazing. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Benjamin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, very much enjoyed it and was worth the price! Got to view Lucerne from the top of Pilatus and the lake by boat. Great way to spend a day with beautiful sights all around!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was Beautiful!!! We loved everything from the cable car to the cogwheel train to the boat trip across Lake Lucerne. Mt. Pilatus was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The views from Mount Pilatus were extraordinary!!! This tour is very worth while.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message