Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barry E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely wonderful! We weren't sure what to expect from this tour, but it was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed every element of the two day tour. Our night's stay on Mount Pilatus was magnificent - the views spectacular, the setting perfect. The included dinner and breakfast were excellent, and the ambience and service exceptional. Our experience was fabulous and definitely 5 star.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Stephanie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I absolutely LOVED this tour!! It was everything I had hoped for and more. Lucerne was spectacular. Strolling through the streets we stopped to enjoy a choir singing in one of the buildings, it was heavenly! Then the cable car up to Mt Pilatus was breathtaking! I truly didn't grasp just how high we were going and was blown away by the views, especially on the second cable car. Just amazing! Once up at the top we ate first as it we super hungry by then. I highly recommend the Schnitzel! Delish. The views from the top of Mt. Pilatus were stunning! There are so many areas to explore once you are at the top. I climbed one of the vistas and then explored the Dragon Caves. All in all a wonderful Day Trip and one that I will not forget.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Lorraine Ross H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip. 5 methods of transportation for the round trip. Excellent lunch at the Hotel atop Pilatus.
Can you do something about the fog and cloud cover at the top?

Doing what: Golden Round Trip with Lake Cruise to Mount Pilatus from Lucerne

Carlo Antonio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent day tour! Passed by Meggen, Lake Lucerne for a 5-minute bio break. Then 1-hour stopover at Lucerne: enough time to visit the Lion Monument, take pictures of the Chapel Bridge, shop for souvenir items and grab a quick meal at the drop off point. I forgot the name of the cafe but their soup and sausage croissant was delicious! Two cable cars to Mt. Pilatus - the first accommodated 4, the second, 60 standing up. Fortunately, it was bright and sunny so we got to take tons of amazing pictures! Spent about 2.5 hours there total which is pretty tight if you want to go up both peaks available. The Dragon Trail is pretty steep so if you have elderly companions, might be better to skip that one. The cog ride down is about 35-40 mins. long then aboard another 45-minute trip via boat along Lake Lucerne. Excellent tour guide as well, shared plenty of interesting trivia both historical and current and knew when people needed to rest. Bring a good camera, warm jacket and scarf.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kathleen D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day. Antje was our guide and she did a wonderful job. From Zurich we bussed to Lucerne, took a cable car up to Mt Pilatus, which was fun and very scenic. Unfortunately when we got to the top it was foggy, but you can't control the weather. At the top we explored a little bit, we heard a great band, shopped and had lunch. Then it was time for the cog-wheel train ride down. That was so cool. Once back down in Lucerne, we took a boat cruise around Lake Lucerne. Very picturesque town. Did a little shopping and back on the bus to Zurich. Overall we would do this excursion again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was awesome! I will say that we got very lucky with the weather and had a gorgeous day....it could be a different experience if the weather was bad, but that wouldn't be the fault of the tour. It was organized very well. On the way there the tour guide provided some history and fun facts about Switzerland and the villages we were driving through, then once we got to Lucerne we had a little bit of time to explore before heading up the gondolas to the top of Mt Pilatus. The views were so breathtaking. We had a good couple of hours to roam freely to different peaks and down different hiking paths, and there was food and drink up there as well. Afterwards we took the cogwheel railway down which was unique, followed by an hour long boat ride across Lake Lucerne with a quick trip home. It was very well run, you got to see a lot and on a beautiful day this simply can't be beat.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Marolyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All the details were carried out to a T. My husband an I happened to be the only ones on our coach to spend the night at Hotel Bellevue on Mt. Pilatus. Trudy, our guide, personally went to the desk to verify all details for the morning descent, etc. The next day in Lucerne we met up with the group going to Mt. Titlis for the day. What an Alpine experience in the glacier and snow! It could not have gone smoother- I have taken student groups to Europe since 1980 and this was the best! I will be checking possible Viator excursions on upcoming trips.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing experience. Lucerne was our favorite part of our trip and we traveled throughout France and Switzerland. The ferry ride was beautiful and relaxing. Our guide had booked us a lunch reservation at the restaurant on top of Mount Pilatus without even talking to us about it and we were so thrilled as we were all hungry by the time we got there. The food was wonderful. We had a great time on the mountain. There are several hikes you can do while up there and our guide allowed us to spend whatever time we wished while she answered questions and waited for us. She even went on the Luge with the kids. Her name is Debra and I strongly recommend her. We asked her nonstop questions all day about Switzerland and it's customs and incomes and way of life. We even got her number to book more tours with her when we return again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Miriam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour starting in Zurich. Drove through many scenic towns to Mt. Pilatus for the gondola rides to the top. The cog wheel train ride down the mountain was spectacular! All of this was topped off by a cruise across Lake Lucerne.
Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a stand out tour we had an amazing time the views from the top of Mt Pilatus are spectacular the ride up in the Gondola's are superb we had a great lunch and then went down in the steep decline train 50 degrees amazing then on to lake Lucerne what can you say highly recommended

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carrie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very nice and well paced. When we were able to walk around Lucerne the tour guide was very helpful in explaining the points of interest and to walk around the old town section. I met a wonderful Indian couple on the trip and we enjoyed the gondola ride up the mountain. Mount Pilatus had a few trails to take that were very nice and some places to eat lunch or for a quick snack. The cog train ride down the mountain was exciting since it is the steepest cog railroad. The boat ride to Lucerne was wonderful as well.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

the1stnowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My private tour of Mt. Pilatus was fantastic. Tour guide Mike was very knowledgeable and accommodating. I was travelling alone and he took the time to personally answer my questions prior to booking and immediately felt at ease upon meeting him.

Mike took me to all of the sites that I wanted to see and shared great information about the region. I would definitely recommend using Viator and requesting Mike as your tour guide. His coordination of all the entrance tickets and travel itinerary was well worth it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Rich S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great experience! If you have a day to spare, this is a great way to see some great sights. The bus got off the main highway for the trip down to see some of the countryside, we had a short stay in Lucerne but enough time to walk around the old town and the trip to Pilatus was just stunning. Got lucky with a fairly clear day. You have a lot of time to see the sights and get some lunch on the mountaintop. You'll never forget the gondola ride up nor the cogwheel train ride down. An hour on the boat back to Lucerne was a pleasant end to the day. The highlight of the trip, though, was our tour guide Daniel. He was the perfect guide -- knowledgeable, friendly and had the perfect touch to keep us together and on time. Thanks for a memory of a lifetime!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The views from Mount Pilatus were extraordinary!!! This tour is very worth while.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Yao D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

overall, the tour experience is very good. I hope next time we can stay in Lucern for a little bit longer. to do that, maybe we can short the time on the top of the Pilatus

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Xtin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay on Mt Pilatus. We were very lucky as it started snowing again on the night we were there (it was not suppose to be snowing anymore in April). The hospitality of the staff from Mt Pilatus was great. Lunch, dinner and breakfast were provided and it was delicious. Highly recommended if you are visiting Switzerland. It was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

loongsung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour is my trip of a lifetime. The arrangements made by Viator is as smooth as can be. The bus guide gentlemen speaks perfect English. Hotel Bellevue 6000 feet on top of Mt. Pilatus was clean, spacious, comfortable and warm. We were above the clouds with Luzern below us. We watched sunset and sunrise. The next day, the tour took us to Mt Titlis 10,000 ft above Luzern. We were standing at the same height as snow clad mountains around us. What a breathtaking view. The trip is every bit worth it.
Yang, Yuen and Yuen

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Teik Ling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A memorable and wonderful trip up to Mount Pilatus that should not be missed when you are in Zurich. The whole journey to Mount Pilatus was very scenic, starting from a comfortable bus ride from Zurich to Lucene, one hour tour in beautiful Lucene city and cable car and train ride to and from Mount Pilatus. The boat ride back to Lucene was just fantastic with spectacular and breathtaking scenic mountain and lake views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Diana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip provided a great way to spend a day. Lucerne is a beautiful city. We really enjoyed spending time walking around observing the activity and sitting around the pristine lake. The gondola ride up to the top of Mount Pilatus was fun and the rail car ride down was steep. Make sure to get a seat on the window of the rail car, as opposed to getting stuck in the middle like we did. The ferry ride was a great way to see all the shoreline of the lake. Great day! Well worth the $.

One piece of advice... Our tour guide gave us the option to ride the toboggan sled track down a portion of the mountain at the point where you make the switch from one gondola car to a second to get to the summit of the mountain. My wife and I decided to do it, while the rest of the group went straight to the summit. We took the sled ride, which was fun (supposedly the longest in the Alps) and then took the second gondola ride up after and met the rest of the group at the Summit later. While the sled was a good time, it was a longer than expected line to get a sled and took a about an hour out of our time that we had to view all the breathtaking views from the top of the mountain when we finally got there. Therefore, we felt rushed and only had about 20 minutes to hike around and see all the views at the top, which is not near enough time. It was our decision to do the sled, so we had no one to blame but ourselves for feeling rushed at the top. So if you are a thrill seeker that enjoys sleds and speed, etc. you can attempt the toboggan sled ride. However, if you want to be sure to have ample time to view all the sites from the top of the mountain then skip it. We wish we would've in this case, but overall, the trip was still a blast!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Gili.I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing view from the Pilatus mountain! Lucerne is so beautiful, green and calm.
Our guide- Robert was so nice!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Allan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful day tour with magnificent scenery. Tour was well organised and departure point was easy to locate. tour guide was very helpful and gave lots of useful and relevant information. We had beautiful weather to the views from Mt Pilatus were incredible. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

ALEXANDER K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour and good variety, as you get to ride a cable car, cogwheel train and take a boat ride. Almost 2 hours at the top of Pilatus, which was ample time. View from the top was amazing. A full hour in Lucerne would have been nice.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Ashley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY EUROPE TOUR; THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN LAND EVER; YUMMY CHEESE IN MT PILATUS HOTEL PREPARED JUST FOR THIS HOTEL. LOVED ALL THE SCENERIES. THE WAITRESSES AND WAITERS IN HOTEL BELLEVUE IN MT. PILATUS WERE EXTRAORDINARY!

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Ashley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY EUROPE TOUR; THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN LAND EVER; YUMMY CHEESE IN MT PILATUS HOTEL PREPARED JUST FOR THIS HOTEL. LOVED ALL THE SCENERIES. THE WAITRESSES AND WAITERS IN HOTEL BELLEVUE IN MT. PILATUS WERE EXTRAORDINARY!

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Lucerne and lake cruise was lovely. Top Mt Pilatus awesome. Guide very knowledgeable, timely and friendly

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message