Tumbling from a height of 75 feet over a 450-foot stretch of rock, the mighty Rhine Falls are the largest waterfalls in Europe. Located just outside the medieval town of Schaffhausen, the Rhine Falls make a popular day trip from Zurich and standing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jodi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Just stunning! Pay the extra franc to go into the waterfall on a boat, but be prepared to get a little wet.

Doing what: Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich

Amots A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip to Rhine Falls. The bus ,the guide and the driver were very good and did good job!

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

sanrionjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this tour and I am glad I did it, though I must say of the 5 tours I booked through Viator while in Switzerland, this one was my least favorite. I had never been to the Black Forest before and I'm glad I took advantage of this opportunity, though the town was very, very touristy. It was fun looking in the shops, learning about the clocks, and having some black forest cake, but I prefer stops with more cultural opportunities and historic sites. I enjoyed the Rhine Falls and thought the views were very pretty. I've been to Niagara and Iguazu so friends told me to not bother going here, but I am glad I did. Of course it is incredibly small compared to other falls, but still beautiful and scenic, and the boat ride was fun. I wish we had more time there to walk around as I saw there was more to do there in the brochure. If I ever go back to Switzerland, I plan to go back here on my own to spend more time. Also, honestly, the guide for this tour was my least favorite of my tours I did in Switzerland- provided very little information about the area, especially compared to the guides I had on other tours, and did not seem as professional.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, what an amazing place. I had very limited time on my trip to Switzerland and this tour was fantastic, the Rhine Falls is breath taking. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we even popped across the border to Germany on the way back, which was an added bonus. The city highlights was thoroughly enjoyable and insightful. Highly recommend both tours.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Waterfall was amazing. You couldn't get any closer to it.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Santosh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lovely Places. Titisee and Rhine falls experience was really amazing. Tour was organized very well. Enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Ziling O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such a fun day out with the loveliest tour guide driver Tomas and Michael! Informative commentary throughout the journey, great sense of humour and some traditional German/Swiss music to make our trip even more authentic, scenic drive into the beautiful Black Forest with breathtaking views, plenty of time to sit back and relax by the lake enjoying the sunshine followed by another scenic ride towards the magnificent Rhine Falls, where some had the boat trip experience getting real close to the falls. We absolutely loved the day. Thank you :

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Anna O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Please note this is a two-part excursion with Best of Switzerland Tours. Our first guide, Daniel, took us on a 2.5 hour double-decker bus ride around Zurich and told us of the history of the old and new parts of the down. He was very polite and knowledgeable. After city tour, we had a one hour break. Rather than walk to the train station 5 minutes away we ate at the Starbucks across the street from the bus depot where the tours start for the free wi-fi :-. After lunch, we boarded a different bus with Monika to head to Rhine Falls. We were allowed 1.5 hours to walk down to the falls. The boats that go directly to the falls was an extra charge I think 10 CHF. The falls were amazing and powerful! Then we headed to Stein Am Rhein where Monika provided us with a short walking tour of this small village. We were allowed approximately 30 minutes to view on our own. We then headed back to the Zurich bus depot.

Both buses were air-conditioned and comfortable.

Doing what: Supersaver: Zurich Highlights Tour, Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein from Zurich

Siew Kim New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was really excellent - the guide sorry, forgot her name was informative but not overwhelming us with heaps of details. The experience of the waterfall was just awesome!

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great overview of Zurich which really isn't much as a city unless you are into private banking, FIFA HQ and insurance companies. Rhine Falls is spectacular, but a word of caution for seniors. It is a bit of a hike up the steps after the boat ride. Stein am Rhein has beautiful buildings with some time for you to do some quick shopping or a quick bite.

Doing what: Supersaver: Zurich Highlights Tour, Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein from Zurich

Sehrish K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was lovely and gave us a lot of information on the drive there. Once we got there, we had some free time - some of the group went on boats to the centre but unfortunately, you needed cash to buy a ticket which I didn't have. I think it was the perfect amount of time for me to explore the Rhine falls but for those who went on the boat, they only had enough time for their boat ride, they didn't really get to walk around!

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Barry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see Zurich town and Rhine falls boat trip was memorable experience. The coach station pick up is opposite central rail station

Doing what: Supersaver: Zurich Highlights Tour, Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein from Zurich

amit77kumar83

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very good guided tour. Our guide was sharing the history, the background of all kantons on our way to Rhine falls. The duration at the fall could have been a bit longer. The boat ride to go closer to the fall was worth it. The views from the various viewing platforms were spectacular.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Trudy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the perfect day trip into the countryside of both Switzerland and Germany. AND the Rhine Falls were amazing! Add the boat ride that gets you close to the falls and it is perfect!!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Christina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I did the two tours together but did not opt for the third simply because my chocolate preference is Sprungli! Really enjoyed leaving early for the Rhine falls. The optional boat tour to go on the water and near the falls is super super worth it- the glacial water is so fresh and clear you can even see the fish swimming in it! It was a really powerful and moving place to visit.

The city tour was also really nice. We stopped to go to Fraumunster where Marc Chagall's famous windows are and also up to the Zurichberg district which has really gorgeous views all around.

Very recommended.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Motty S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tours were superb. Optional boat ride at Rhine Falls was very much worth it. Tour guides were very helpful and friendly. Very pleased we went. Would definitely go again if and when opportunity presented itself.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is one of my favourites! The tour covers the old town of Zurich before reaching the Rhine Falls and there were beautiful old houses well preserved with beautiful gardens, something worth seeing. Rhine falls was beautiful with a panoramic view and one could either take a lift and go down or take the stairs. After getting down, those who wish to go on the boat ride can pay and join the group. There are many view-points at the falls and they are as close as one can get near a water fall. You really feel the strength and the power of the water gushing towards you! Our tour guide was Earl who was an elderly gentlemen. He was informative and was able to relate how Zurich transformed from his generation to the city that it is now. But we were travelling with our 11 month old baby and he did not give clear direction on from where to take the stroller to the falls so we faced a lot of trouble with it. He was too busy selling tickets for the boat ride! The tour also took us to the German border and we had a quick ride in a small German village as well, which was a bonus and a surprise!

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

GENIUS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rhine falls...Excellent trip with superb tour guide. Highly recommended.
Best of Zurich city tour..... Very informative and our guide Andreas was the best.
The 3rd part. The Trip to the chocolate outlet shop was short and in a rush because of the traffic. It happened because the first part was obnoxious. Walking through those old buildings and factories was really a total waste of our time. We could just spend it going straight to the outlet choco store. Obviosly, the tour guide named Urs knows the traffic situation in Zurich, BUT he did nothing but stayed longer to the coffee shop and burnt our time. We only stayed in the outlet store for 10 mins as the store is about to close. In fairness to him, he did his best for this tour to be better BUT we were disappointed because of poor time management. This trip to chocolate outlet store and old factories of Zurich is to be avoided. It's a total waste unless you have loads of patience, and plenty of time to waste!

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Vikram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We started this tour at Zurich and realised on the way that it is ideal for people who have either just landed or will depart from Zurich in few hours as it directly picks up and drops off people from/to the airport which we felt is a great option for people travelling on the same day.This tour has loads of beautiful sights to witness throughout as it passes through Schaffhausen which has peculiar old houses and a cosy village which makes you feel as if you are in a wonderland as such sights are hard to find in today's fast paced world.The Rhine falls is europe's biggest waterfall and a sight which you certainly cannot miss while in Zurich.It is majestic and wonderful,taking a boat ride is highly recommended as it takes you to the center at the rock drops you safely wherein you climb the stairs to the top and enjoy breathtaking views from the top and picks you back after giving you ample time to enjoy this wonder.As this tour is guided it made the whole experience a lot easier and informative,Our guide was very nice who later guided us towards vineyards,farming village and some parts of a German village.Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Rhine Falls are a must. The rainbow created through the mist generated by the falls is a sight not to be missed. The Black Forest and the beautiful Swiss countryside were also impressive. The guide was very informative and friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Yash A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had nice time at Rhine Falls and Best of Zurich City Tour. We highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Perri W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide Ana was great and informative. The views on the way too and from Titisee through the Black Forest were awesome. Cuckoo clock demonstration was interesting and do yourself a favor and get a piece of Black Forest Cake while there. Boat ride at the Rhine falls got you up close and personal with the falls.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour with a great guide. Rhine Falls was such a treat.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic and allowed us plenty of time to be able to walk around the edge of the falls and take photos, we were also given the opition to go out to the middle, which we chose not to do, but several people did do this. The bus was clean and tidy and the tour guide was really informative and made the journey really interesting. The tour of the city itself was not as fun as the tour to the Rhine Falls but we still totally enjoyed the time we had with both of these tours.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

VENKAT GIRIDHAR V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was excellent. Rhine Falls was amazing. The tour also goes to villages and the guide explains interesting information on the culture in Switzerland. We also went to the German side across the border for 10 to 15 minutes.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message