Away from its big cities, Switzerland remains a country of jaw-dropping mountain vistas and cherished rural traditions. You won't have to venture far from urban boundaries to plunge into another world. Leave the city pleasures of Zurich behind and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 892 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dceleridad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anybody who visits Switzerland who doesn't have enough time to see places as much as they like. Visiting Heidiland and Liechtenstein in one day with our very informative but with a great sense of humor guide Walter made the almost 7 hour trip amazing. We were given enough time to eat, take bathroom breaks, and most especially to take photos. The driver Armando took us to the destinations with ease and professionally. Thank you to both Walter and Armando for ensuring that we had a great time visiting Switzerland.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Jocelyn Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Heidiland and Liechtenstein are two places I really want to visit. Personally, for me, the trip was just ok. The vscenery was amazing.

The Liechtenstein portion was disappointing. Not a lot of information was given during the trip

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

abdullah.ash.rashdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I was dreaming about visiting this place since I was young. Heidi cartoon was famous in my country during my generation. The scenery was amazing. The tour guide Peter was the best tour guide ever. He was very knowledgable and provided lots of information about the different locations we visited and about Switzerland in general. He was very helpful.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I absolutely LOVED our Viator trip to Heidiland and Lieichtenstein. Our fabulous tour guide was Walter and if you are lucky enough to have him on you tour, you will have an excellent day!
We got on the clean and spacious bus on October 24th and it departed right on time. Our first stop was in Rappersvil, a small and beautiful village just outside of Zurich. We loved the village, stayed for lunch and walked the surrounding area. Returning to the bus, we soon saw the beautiful Alps in the background, just beginning to how snow on the mountain tops, as we approached Liechtenstein and the villages nestled on the mountainsides were very much like what I thought Switzerland would be like gorgeous. Liechtenstein itself was interesting for me as it was a goal destination since I was about 10 years old. It took 56 years for me to make this trip. We walked a small central area, saw the Vaduz castle perched high on the mountain though it was not open to visitors that day and did a bit of shopping. I explored every inch of this tiny country, as much as our approximate 1 hour would allow and of course, had my passport stamped.
Coming back, the tour stopped in Heidiland which also gave my wife and me an opportunity to have a nice walk in the beautiful countryside and visit Grandfathers farm as in the famous book, Heidi. This was not overly touristy at all but did offer a small gift shop. The cows with their clanging bells, chickens, goats and beautiful mountain scenery made me think of times long past and it was a truly beautiful and peaceful experience.
This trip took most of the day and I would not change a thing! I think it may well have been the highlight of our 7 country tour. My wife and I returned to Zurich after another fabulous and scenic ride home on the bus very pleased with our day and with many very happy memories of the tour, and our guide, Walter. In my mind, this was an absolutely wonderful day.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Losttraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

beautiful places are worth every penny :

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Rohini R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was so funny and informative! Switzerland is a beautiful country to drive through...so clean. Liechtenstein was short stop and mostly shopping. Heidiland was a 15 minute trek to reach the house but the scenery along the way was amazing. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Phil T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an amazing time. The tour guide Marcelo was full of jokes. The views were amazing I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Maria F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the tour was a good opportunity to have a look at the countryside around Zurich.
The guide Marcello was knowledgeable and always ready for a joke.
I felt that the 45 minutes in Vaduz were a little bit wasted. we have only been given direction to the souvenirs shops. maybe more information on what to see in the town itself could be good.

other that that I enjoyed the day. I have also forgot a bag of chocolate on the bus and the main office was able to find it.

thank you!

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

babbinthelab

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

While I did enjoy the background information on Switzerland and Zurich, I would have appreciated more than 30 minutes in Liechtenstein. The tour states that you visit Heidiland and Liechtenstein, with an eight hour tour thus I expected at least 90 minutes in Liechtenstein. We first ended up on a tour of Zurich for over an hour with a stop at a small Swiss town for 2.5 hours. By the time we reached the highlight, Liechtenstein, we had only 30 minutes. I truly feel this was a significant bait and switch. The tour of Zurich was not discussed in the description at all. The tour company actually was giving two tours together, so some had booked a city tour of Zurich and then got off at the Swiss town to take a boat back with views of Zurich. Unfortunately, those of us booking Liechtenstein also had to take the undisclosed Zurich tour.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Sreedharan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing trip that we thoroughly enjoyed...not to miss...

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

marving99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour and guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

takcsp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful mix of city touring and the countryside.
Liechtenstein was primarily a tourist shopping stop
And not much to see. Heidiland was the surprise -
A bit of an uphill trek, but the scenery was beautiful and it was a great time to be in the mountains.
The guide spoke multi- languages and handled the three languages superbly.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Robert B. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed our day, and our guide was great. We had a chance to see the beautiful countryside and the Switzerland that you often read about.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour! I loved the beautiful mountain views, the cheese factory and the stop at the Lindt Chocolate Outlet. The cable car ride and the views up the mountain and of the countryside were to die for! I also loved that this was a small group tour so we were able to get to know other travelers really well. I would have loved more cheese and chocolates, but overall this tour was amazing!

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

molly.nicole90

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the most amazing day and I would do it again in a heartbeat! It was so beautiful and such a wonderful tasting day! You will not regret taking this tour!

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

aiperjc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Marcelo is very funny, not a dull moment in this tour. The view is spectacular. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Julia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The scenery along this trip is exceptional and breathtaking. The bus brought us to countryside that were surrounded by nearby mountain ranges and peaks, with rolling pastures or villages dotting the slopes or valleys. The characteristic Swiss chalets along the way in farms or villages are delightful. The tour guide Peter was enthusiastic and friendly, and gave us in depth and interesting explanations along the way. I'd highly recommend this memorable tour as it gives an insight into the essence of Switzerland.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Tracey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

LOVED this tour!! We didn't have a lot of time in Switzerland but really wanted to see something other than the city. This tour was simply wonderful! Our tour guide, Tomas was very knowledgeable and along with our driver Hoffritz, I think? they made the journey loads of fun! We loved the stop in Rapperswil as well as our short time in Liechtenstein and of course, Heidiland! The beauty of the landscape and buildings was breathtaking...even on a cloudy, wet day. And the special extras we were able to take part in thanks to Tomas and our driver made the tour even more enjoyable! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Maria Melissa S Guam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Nice views and pace just right for a day in between long tours.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Maria Melissa S Guam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Nice tour...great cheese tasting , chocolate stop was to only see their outlet store....overall, a good slow paced tour, great scenery

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Erik d

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgable and did a great job explaining the Swiss culture and all of the locations we visited. It was a bit of a downer that we couldn't actually see the making of the chocolate but the cheese factory was pretty awesome to see. The gondola ride and the views at the top of the mountain were amazing! I would suggest taking some time to walk around there on your own after eating lunch.
Be aware that this is a long tour--we did not get back into Zurich until after 7:00PM. Lunch is also pretty late didn't get it till after 2:00. I would suggest asking for a timeline of the day so you can plan accordingly.
Overall I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Jacquelyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was an alright tour. The tour guide Peter, creeped me out a bit. He was nice enough there was just something off-putting about him. Liechtenstein is an hour trip and it's really nothing just souvenir shops... I felt everything in this tour was short, rushed, and just not done well.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Soheyl Sim.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was a nice tour, our tour leader was nice, it is a nice experience but nothing special, we were not happy that our tour leader was driving and talking at the same time and we thought she might not be able to focus enough on driving, mountain and snow experience was very nice and the only good part of the tour.

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Brad S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The scenery on this tour was incredible, and the tour guide gave good commentary on most of the trip. We really liked stopping in Rapperswil. Lovely little town, and the cheese pie a savory tart the tour guide recommended was excellent. We could have used another half hour here, though. We felt rushed to walk around and have lunch in a short time.

The Heidiland scenery in Maienfeld is pretty, and we paid to enter the Johanna Spyri house to see how the Swiss lived at that time.

Our trip to Liechtenstein, which was really the thing we were most looking forward to, was a complete waste. We had to wait for the Disneyland-like train to take us up to the village. It plays a little jingle about My Liechtenstein that sounds suspiciously as though the it was written by Disney's It's a Small World composer. We had 45 minutes there, and basically walked up and down the main street and then had an apple strudel which was good because that was all there was to do. If you want a fake tourist stamp in your passport, you can pay 4 franks to get one at the post office. Really? This is a real place with gorgeous scenery and its own history! When you go to visit another country or region, you want to learn something about it. We should have had a museum tour included, a visit to a castle, discussion of its history -- something! The best we could say was that we crossed the Rhine River.

My advice to the tour leaders is to drop the first part of the tour, which is the bus ride through Zurich. People can always take a separate Zurich tour. That will give more time in Rapperswil and Liechtenstein. And please work on providing serious information about Liechtenstein and something interesting to do there.

Doing what: Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message