This historic Charleston home, now part of the Charleston Museum, is a well-preserved example of Federal architecture. Built in 1803 by architect Gabriel Manigault for his brother Joseph, a Charleston rice baron, the 3-story townhouse is now a National Historic Landmark, showcasing the wealthy family’s 19th-century lifestyle.
An impressive central hall, with its spiral staircase leading to the upper floors, greets visitors entering the Joseph Manigault House. Many of the rooms have been restored to what they might have looked like in the 19th century, complete with original color schemes and a collection of French, American, and English period furniture. Entrance to the house also includes access to a period garden and several historical outbuildings, such as stables, kitchen, and former slave quarters.
Choose between a single admission to the Joseph Manigault House or a combination ticket that includes the Heyward-Washington House or the Charleston Museum as well. Some bus tours also include an optional upgrade that includes a visit to the house.
Things to Know Before You Go
- The Joseph Manigault House is a must-see for history buffs and those interested in antebellum architecture.
- Flash photography and the use of cell phones are not allowed within the historic house.
- The house is not wheelchair accessible.
How to Get There
The house is located on Meeting Street between John Street and Ashmead Place, one block south of the Charleston Museum. It’s easy to reach on foot from most areas of the city’s historic district.
When to Get There
The historic home is open daily throughout the year, with shorter hours on Sundays. Tours of the house are offered every 30 minutes, with the last tour departing a half-hour before closing time.
In addition to the Joseph Manigault House, the Charleston Museum also manages the Heyward-Washington House. This Georgian-style double house, built in 1772, was once the home of Thomas Heyward, Jr., a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Visitors can tour the mansion, formal gardens, and a kitchen building from the 1740s.