Newfoundland Memorial Tours

Newfoundland Memorial Park opened in June 1925 as an homage to members of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment that served alongside the British Army in World War 1. It is one of only two Canadian historical sites that exists outside of Canada (the other is in France, too). 

Visitors enter the memorial through the main gate and are immediately met by a large dedication stone with a bronze cast statue and an engraved quote by John Oxenham. The somber reminder sets the tone for what many describe as a truly unique experience. A large triangular stone reminiscent of the 29th Division’s badge recognizes the men who lost their lives at the hands of the Germans and five Caribou statues mark an important place in the battle or serve as a tribute to fallen soldiers. The memorial park is also home to three cemeteries: Hawthorn Ridge, Hunter’s and Y Ravine. 

Practical Info

The park is located at the Somme Battlefield near the Beaumont Hamel. The Visitors’ Center is open daily and guided tours lead by Canadian students sponsored by Veterans Affairs Canada are available free of charge.
Location
Address: Rue de l'Église, Beaumont-Hamel 80300, France
clock-o
Hours: Daily 24/7
Read More

3 Tours & Activities to Experience

times
icon-filterFilter
Clear all
Select Dates
Sort by:Default




mobile_o
Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785