Union Buildings Tours

1 review
South Africa's national government is split between three cities, and in Pretoria, the government is housed in the Union Buildings, which were built in the early 1900s after Pretoria became the administrative capital of the newly united Union of South Africa. The two wings of the structure represent English and Afrikaans, with the court between the two representing the Union of South Africa.
The offices of the president of South Africa is still in the Union Buildings, and the country's flag flies over the left wing if the president is there. The amphitheatre was renamed in 2013 as the Nelson Mandela Amphitheatre, and a 29.5-foot-tall statue of Mandela stands in front of the Union Buildings now.

Practical Info

The Union Buildings are not open to the public, but the gardens that surround them are.
Address: Government Ave., Pretoria, Gauteng 0002, South Africa
Hours: Gardens - 24hrs
Read More

11 Tours & Activities to Experience

Clear all
Select Dates
Sort by:Default

Recommended for Pretoria

Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785