Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

Badge of ExcellenceHobart, Australia

From USD 27.44

Select Date and Travellers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Book a 1- or 2-day pass on a Hobart hop-on hop-off bus tour for an easy way to explore the city's top attractions at your own pace. Travel by double-decker red bus to 20 stops around the city, where you can hop off whenever you wish to visit the places that interest you. Or opt to stay onboard the bus for the full loop.
  • See Hobart independently with provided transportation
  • Choose between a 24- and 48-hour pass
  • Listen to commentary about the city when you're on the bus
  • Stops include Battery Point, Salamanca Place, and Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens

What's Included

  • 24-hour or 48-hour hop-on hop-off city loop ticket
  • A free copy of Red Decker’s The Official Sightseeing Guide to Hobart
  • WiFi on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Departure Point

  • You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Return Details

  • You may disembark at any of the available stops.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?

A:The policies on sanitisation are:
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?

A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


I recommend starting early morning if you plan a few stops as the buses come to each stop hourly.
I'd recommended the 48 hour pass as there is way too much to fit into one day.
Reviews
4.5
273 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 273 reviews
Everything was great -...
PamelaJ_K, Dec 2022
Everything was great - narration was right on! We really enjoyed ourselves. Hobart is a great city and we saw almost everything. Great tour!
Hobart experience
Dona_S, Dec 2022
Helpful informative drivers and very friendly . Nothing was rushed so very relaxing. Would definitely recommend.
Hitting Hobart
ddebbiedhotmailcom, Dec 2022
Very easy to purchase tickets, extremely friendly staff and what an amazing experience. I wish we could've stayed longer.
Value for Money.
Enid_L, Nov 2022
When ever we go to a new town or country, we always join a bus trip as they are good value and you get a preview of what you may like to see in more detail. We loved seeing all the sites of Hobart., the commentary was very good, our buss driver was very friendly. He gave us some more tips as to where visit, that we would otherwise not have found out about. We would highly recommend this tour.
Great lap of Hobart
krshaw, Nov 2022
Great way to get a taste of Hobart, while learning a bit about this fascinating city and it’s history.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear krshaw, thank you for writing Red Decker this 5-star review! We really appreciate it! We are so glad you had such a good time seeing our beautiful city and learning about its history. Thank you for travelling with us, and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Love this experience
Jane_P, Nov 2022
The best service and friendly staff are always welcome and helpful to anyone. We will come back and telling everyone about your journey
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Jane_P, wow thank you so much for your glowing comments about the Red Decker Company! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this for us! We are so glad you loved your experience, and that you found it the best service. All our staff members do work really hard to ensure that passengers like yourself have a fantastic time! We really look forward to seeing you again! And thank you so much we really appreciate that! Thank you for travelling with us, and we can't wait to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Bus was late
Chrissy_W, Nov 2022
We found this bus tour to be very informative however due to the bus running late, we missed our tour at the Hobart penitentiary and also received a parking fine for returning late. Not a great experience overall.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Chrissy_W, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and write us this review. Firstly it is so great to hear what a good time you had on the tour. But I am sorry that on the day you travelled with us the bus was running late and that this impacted another tour you had booked, that is disappointing to hear. Please give us a call at our booking office so we can discuss your trip further on 6236 9116. Thank you once more for leaving us your feedback. Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
What a disappointment
Debbie_O, Nov 2022
We booked the 11am tour but received a text the night before that the time has been changed till 12 pm , the bus was then 30 minutes late overbooked and it was freezing, due to the time change we didn’t get to stop at the attractions we had wanted to because of the time and the overbooking
Loved the bus drivers and...
Janice_C, Nov 2022
Loved the bus drivers and their extensive knowledge of the area and the help getting on and off the bus (middle aged lady here)! One disappointing thing was firstly the walk that we had to do to actually get on the bus and the second was the actual wait to get on. I realise (or heard through the grapevine) that a bus had broken down but the queue was around the corner and down the street. A few strategically placed bus seats may help
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Janice_C, thank you for writing us this review and giving us your feedback, we really appreciate hearing back from our passengers. Firstly it is fantastic to hear what a great time you had while travelling on the bus, and what a positive experience you had with your driver! They all work really hard to ensure every passenger has an enjoyable experience! I am disappointed to hear that there were a few things that marred your time with us. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the walk from the Cruise Ship Terminal to the Travel Centre which is where stop A is, as our Double Deckers cannot stop there, but thank you for pointing this out though and we will review other solutions. As to your second point, unfortunately, as I am sure you can appreciate, Hobart is a small city with lower visitation than other bigger cities where hop-on hop-off services operate, and sometimes with large cruise ships like on the day you travelled, many people all converge at the same time, and yes that day we did have the very rare occurrence of a bus break down. Feel reassured that we do everything humanly possible in the background on these busier days to accommodate all passengers wanting to travel and aim to provide 100% positive customer experiences at all times. We have extra buses and staff rostered on these days, and we clear queues as fast as we can, and the good news is this does clear promptly. But I am sorry that you were left waiting on this day. Unfortunately, we cannot place bus seats, but it is a good suggestion and I will look into it. Thank you for providing your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Definitely worth doing over a whole day, or as a quick highlights of Hobart tour.
Shelley_K, Nov 2022
We didn't have much time in Hobart, so thought we would do this where we could get a quick history of Hobart.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Shelley_K, wow thank you so much for writing us this fantastic 5-star review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this for us! Yes, Red Decker's Hop-on Hop-off is fantastic whether you have a long time or a short time in Hobart I totally agree! We are so glad you had a great time with us, and we hope we will see you again in the future! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Great introduction to Hobart
Lisa_W, Nov 2022
Plenty of stops covering most tourist attractions in Hobart. Informative commentary. Great introduction and overview for someone new to city. Good way to get around too.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Lisa_W, thank you for writing us this review, we really appreciate it! It is a great way of seeing Hobart and hopping on and off at our 20 stops allows you to experience the best of Hobart! Thank you so much for travelling with us, and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Hop on, hop off in Hobart
Barrett_H, Nov 2022
Relating places and buildings to historic events, being able to observe in a relaxed manner, rather than being responsible for operating a personal vehicle.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Barrett_H, thank you so much for writing us this fantastic 5-star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do so! It is so great to hear what a relaxing time you had on Red Deckers, Hop-On Hop-Off Bus. Thank you for travelling with us, and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Great bus driver/ tour guide
Narelle_M, Nov 2022
Our guide/ bus driver was so kind to me and my daughter! She was super happy with her bus key ring. Thanks
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Narelle_M, firstly thank you so much for taking the time to write us this fantastic 5-star review! It is also so great to hear what a nice time you had with us, and we are so glad she loves the keyring! You are very welcome, we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Great, Thank You
Jesse_S, Nov 2022
The locations it visits while explaining the other important landmarks to visit which is not exclusive to the bus tour
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Jesse_S thank you for taking the time to write us this great 5-star review! We really appreciate it! We are so glad you had such a good time, and you are welcome, we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Bit if a flop
Lesley_C, Nov 2022
They had a bus breakdown and didn't handle it well. But I do appreciate how you at Viator handled the situation and I'll definitely use you again. Thankyou
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello Lesley_C, Thank you for the time you have taken to provide feedback about your recent tour. Feel reassured that we very rarely have vehicle breakdowns and never when a cruise ship has been in port. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We were working very busily in the background to rectify the vehicle breakdown. All procedures were followed. A replacement vehicle was dispatched and arrived to the broken-down vehicle within 20mins to minimise the impact on customers. We apologise for any inconvenience, frustration or annoyance caused. We work very hard to provide consistent high-quality tours and want all our customers to have fantastic tour experiences on all our tours on all occasions. As is our policy we offer full tour refunds if our tours do not meet expectations. Thank you for taking up this offer. Once I received your refund request I attended it as a matter of priority so I appreciate your positive comments in this regard. If you would like to discuss your feedback further I can be contacted via our ticket office. Kind regards. Fiona Tour Manager
Great way to see the...
Rachel_W, Nov 2022
Great way to see the beautiful city of Hobart. Bus was comfortable and driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. Overall an enjoyable experience.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Rachel_W, thank you so much for writing us this fantastic 5-star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so! Thank you for your kind words about our service and our drivers, we are so glad you had such a good time travelling with us around beautiful Hobart, and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
HEALDS HIT HOBART
Dale_H, Nov 2022
Sitting up high watching the city go by listening to all the history of Hobart. The kids were certainly excited for the ride.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Dale_H, thank you so much for writing us this great 5-star review! Yes, the top deck of the double-deckers is an awesome experience, it is such a great way to experience all Hobart has to offer! That is so great to hear! Thank you so much for travelling with us, and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Bianca C. Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Fabulous winter tour, but wrap up!!
Jane_C, Aug 2022
A very good tour. We went on the last tour at three pm. Advantage was no drop offs and seamless. Informative recording supplemented by a knowledgeable bus driver. Note: if you go upstairs in winter you will need several layers, gloves and a warm hat. I froze myself unnecessarily!!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Jane_C thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is very much appreciated by all of us at Red Decker! We are so glad you had such a great time on the Double Decker, even if it was a little chilly up the top! We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Hobart!
Review
Caroline_P, Aug 2022
The information on the bus and the views, was a bit to chilly but we did sit up top so expect Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Caroline_P, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review of our Hop-on Hop-Off Bus. We’re a small, family-run local business here at Red Decker and every bit of feedback is greatly valued! We are glad you had such a good time! We hope to see you again when you are next in Hobart!
Great time
Ingrid_M, Aug 2022
Very informative as well as the audio guide the driver also gave great information too. Good to be told which colour timetable to follow when hopping off.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Ingrid_M, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re so happy to hear that you found the Red Decker tour so informative. Thank you for travelling with us, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Hobart!
...

Questions?

Product code: 63526P1