The Elms Tours

The Elms
Built as a summer residence, The Elms is one of almost a dozen properties cared for by Rhode Island's Preservation Society of Newport County. It was designed and constructed in 1901. Modeled after the mid-18th century French chateau d'Asnieres (c.1750) outside Paris, it cost the Berwind family approximately $1.4 million to build. (Calling both Philadelphia and New York home, Edward Berwind made his fortune in the coal industry.)  After the house was finished, elaborate gardens were planted in the early 1900s.

The house remained in the Berwind family until 1961. The Preservation Society of Newport County purchased The Elms in 1962 and opened it to the public. In 1996, it was designated a National Historic Landmark.

Practical Info

An audio tour is included with admission to The Elms. Plan on an hour and a half to explore the mansion and grounds. The operating schedule varies according to the season, and free off-street parking is available. Children are welcome at The Elms, but strollers are not permitted inside the mansion. 
Address: 367 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Hours: Vary
Admission: Varies
Read More

3 Tours & Activities to Experience

Clear all
Select Dates
Sort by:Default

Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785