Located in Tamsui, New Taipei City, Fort Santo Domingo was built by the Spanish in 1629 during their occupation of the north of Taiwan. It has a varied and fascinating past, being owned, controlled, and renovated by various nations ever since.
The fort was rebuilt by the Dutch in the 1640s, who replaced the original wooden structure with one made of stone, before the Chinese Qing Dynasty took over, adding a stone wall with gates around it. In 1868, the British took control, using the building for their trade consulate. They undertook massive renovations and changed the previously white building to red, adding its redbrick verandah and red roof tiles.
Fort Santo Domingo was not handed over to the Taiwanese government until as recently as 1980. It is now a designated grade one historical site and serves as a museum, with various photographs and artefacts on display depicting the fort’s history. Its location on top of a hill overlooking the Tamsui River also makes it a scenic spot to visit, particularly at sunset.
To reach Fort Santo Domingo by public transport, take the subway to the Tamsui MRT station and change for the number 26 or 836 bus.