Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Jewish Tour in Rio de Janeiro

star-4.5
|
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Small group
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Learn about the Jewish heritage of Rio de Janeiro on this 4-hour private tour. With a local guide, enjoy the flexibility to customize your own tour according to your interests. Visit Itzhak Rabin Park to enjoy spectacular views over Botafogo beach and Sugar Loaf. See Chaim Weitzman Square and a public school named after Anne Frank. Head to the Jewish Museum and the Grand Temple, a beautiful building from 1932. See the Clube Israelita Brasileiro and Beth El Synagogue in Copacabana, as well as the Beit Lubavitch Synagogue and the Midrash Cultural Center in Leblon. Along the way, enjoy personal attention and informed commentary from your guide. Round-trip transportation from Rio hotels is included.
  • Learn about the Jewish heritage of Rio de Janeiro
  • Visit Itzhak Rabin Park to enjoy spectacular views over Botafogo beach and Sugar Loaf
  • See the Clube Israelita Brasileiro and Beth El Synagogue in Copacabana
  • Enjoy personal attention and informed commentary from your guide

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
14 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-5
Leonrdo was superb!! He explained everything and answered questions thoroughly
GaryR_L
, Feb 2020
Leonardo was animated and gave excellent information about each temple.In addition,he gave interesting personal experiences that each of us enjoyed.
star-2
A good guide would have made all the difference.
Susan_L
, Feb 2020
We did a shore excursion and were told to be on the dock at 8:30. The other couple from the ship on our tour was told 9:00. After beginning the tour with a half hour wait, we drove to a hotel to pick up a third couple and waited about another half hour with the tour starting a full hour late. Not a good start! Also a tour booked as “shore excursion” should never make hotel pickups! Ephraim, our leader, said he was a tour guide teacher at one point. I don’t know what kind of teacher he was, but as a guide, he was extremely a poor. He had a hard time understanding us. He told us next to nothing while driving around the city. In one temple he simply handed us a sheet of information and sat down to wait for us to look around. The same happened at the Jewish museum where he handed us a pamphlet and waited for us to look around. The worst part in my opinion was when he pointed out a bathroom we could use. I went in and when I came out, he was gone with the group, having left no instructions as to where I could meet them. After looking all over two floors of the building without finding them, I spent the balance of that stop waiting in the van. After I had spent one hour waiting for the tour to start, I was outraged that he could not wait a few minutes for me or at least let me know where to find him when I was finished. The sights were worth seeing but the aggravation with Ephraim’s lack of leadership made this a very frustrating experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Good morning, we would like to thank you for your comment. Good or bad comments are always important to us. We would like to respond the points mentioned as bad by you, one by one. *Departure time* - Our tours usually start at 9am. We always ask the customer to contact our company to confirm the pick up location and pick up time. We use a system to book our tours that does not differentiates the pier from the hotels, so it gives a time gap as it would be from a picking up point to the other. And for that, we are sorry about this misunderstanding. However, according to our guide Efraim, there was a 15 minute difference as the passengers with the 9am pick up arrived 15 minutes earlier at the meeting point. *Shore excursion* - The Jewish Tour is not sold as a shore excursion. We regularly do pick ups at Copacabana, Ipanema, Leblon and by the pier as well. So, the pier is just another pick up location. *The guide* - Efraim has excellent teaching skills and a vast experience as a Brazilian, Carioca, Jewish and as a guide who's been working in this business for many years. As it is a group tour, various informations are passed inside the vehicle to facilitate explanations since the group is all together. In the attractions themselves, the guide go along to clarify doubts when necessary. In this specific case you mentioned what happened at the Jewish Community Center, the whole group waited with the guide and nobody in the group, including your husband, knew where you had gone. Efraim put the whole group in one place and went looking for you. We are deeply sorry that you feel frustrated after your tour because we all work hard and try to give all of our clients the best experience possible. Once again we thank you for your testimony and we hope to have clarified your comment. Gisela Vayda
star-4
Enjoyed the tour
ltk8779
, Feb 2020
Katya (Kathie) was great. It was good to visit the various synagogues which were all different. The Jewish Museum is rather sad for a Jewish community as large as it is in Rio - just one room in an office block. Yitzchak Rabin park is not accessible at the moment. Enjoyed it but overall not masses to see.
star-5
Heritage tour in Rio
anotherjstone
, Feb 2020
Whenever I travel outside the United Staes I also try to include a Jewish content to my visit. This was a great morning full of Jewish heritage and history. Leonardo was so personable. The tour was personalize to our interests. It also served as a wonderful introduction to the whole city of Rio De Janeiro.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you very much to share your experience in Rio with us. We are always at your disposal in Rio! Best regards Gisela Vayda
star-5
Jewish community tour
371joanw
, Jan 2020
Very interesting Jewish history and presence in Rio. Our guide Leonardo was extremely engaging and knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate a lot. Hope to see you again in Rio and have the chance to show you more of the city! Regards, Victoria
star-5
jewish rio
Voyager33546
, Dec 2019
outstanding tour outstanding guide. visited many Jewish sites including synagogues and holacost museun
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you! We are very happy you enjoyed your tour! Best regards, Gisela
star-5
Jewish Rio
Climber52142458010
, Jan 2019
We had a wonderful Guide (Edwardo) and Driver (Bernardo). They made the tour interesting and enjoyable
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Thank you for booking your tour with us and great that you enjoyed it. regards, Gisela
star-5
Excellent guide and explanations at...
Norman
, Feb 2018
Excellent guide and explanations at each site. Would recommend it to all.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 7287P4

Explore Similar Things to Do